The Birches Bed & Breakfast
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Birches Bed & Breakfast

101 Gladstone Road South Near Mosgiel, Dunedin 9024 New Zealand
Traveller (12)
Room & Suite (18)
The Birches Bed & Breakfast
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#12 of 36 B&Bs in Dunedin
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Birches is a luxury bed and breakfast in a private location with en-suite rooms and ample off street parking. A complimentary full English breakfast is served in a formal dining room or on the breakfast terrace. Your hosts Avril and Karl Power offer relaxed, personable and warm hospitality in their home.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Game room
Books, DVDs, music for children
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Darts
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Shoeshine
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Safe
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
iPod docking station
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Sofa
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Romantic
24Reviews0Q+A5Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 23
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
JPK wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 2 nights here and found our rooom and bath to be large, clean, very well appointed. Breakfast was great, cooked to order. The grounds were beautiful. It was a very safe, comfortable place to stay and I highly recommend. We were treated like guests in their home rather than customers.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KarlP1080, Owner at The Birches Bed & Breakfast
Responded 7 Feb 2020
We are so pleased you enjoyed our hosting, as do try very hard to make "The Birches B&B " a good guest experience. We hope to see you back another time. Kind regards Avril & Karl
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DayTrip56710991207 wrote a review Dec 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a splendid stay at The Birches B&B. We got a very warm welcome followed by a great and tasteful diner.
Our room was lovely decorated and had all or even more what you wish for with a marvellous view on the garden.
Every morning we were surprised with a great breakfast. The best tips for what to do and which hotspots you should visited we got from Avril and Karl.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael P wrote a review Mar 2015
5.0 of 5 bubbles
.... what a great pleasure. We travelled through NZ in February (peak season) and I can assure you the bar for accomodation standards is set very, very high in NZ. This was the best, the very, very best B&B in which we stayed. I see that no photo has yet been supplied by the hosts so I am happy to provide one.

Our trip to Dunedin was causing us some problems with accomodation when, at the last minute, iSite came up with The Birches at Mosgiel just outside the city. The place is a pure delight, set in its own grounds, with the most delightful views all round. The house, although extensively modernised, is historic by Kiwi standards and tastefully done in an English style. The bedrooms were large and finished beautifully - bathrooms too. The hosts are Avril and Karl, originally from Essex, who moved to NZ about 10 years ago. They are great fun and very helpful. I'm not a breakfast person, being content with a couple of poached eggs but my wife and friends were delighted with Karl's efforts in the lovely kitchen. Pricing was competitive but in my opinion too low and I told Karl so.

This was our first trip to NZ but if I should have the chance to return this is one of the places I would stay for a few days at least just for the pleasure of being there. Well done Avril and Karl!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: All rooms are first class
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Emmysmomlori wrote a review Mar 2018
Houston, Texas
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for 2 lovely nights. The accommodations were great and it was like visiting two old friends. Avril and Karl are fun hosts that you can enjoy a cup of coffee and long chat with. They are also happy to give you your privacy. They are very helpful if you need to make or alter your plans. It is also nice to get a transplanted local’s viewpoint of NZ and Dunedin. They are also happy to drive you to Dunedin if you don’t want to drive your self. They are located an easy 10-15 minutes outside of Dunedin. I highly recommend The Birches for your stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karl P, Owner at The Birches Bed & Breakfast
Responded 13 Mar 2018
It was a pleasure to host you and especially to help assist with your Dunedin Itinerary. We also enjoyed sharing our personal immigration experiences with you over morning coffee. Thank you for your helpful suggestions with regards to visiting The USA Kind regards Avril & Karl
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bqfamily4 wrote a review Dec 2017
Milford, Delaware
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Birches is a beautiful bed and breakfast located just outside Dunedin. Avril and Karl were perfect hosts, answering all our needs, providing wonderful full breakfasts, referring us to great restaurants for dinner and even assisted in finding our lost suitcase. We missed our cruise in Sydney and the cruise sent us to The Birches in Dunedin to catch the ship. We were unprepared for travel, but Avril and Karl provided transportation to and from the town, restaurants and the ship docks. They even gave us a tour of Dunedin! They turned a disappointing situation into a wonderful time with friendly, good people. Thank you Avril and Karl!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karl P, Owner at The Birches Bed & Breakfast
Responded 10 Dec 2017
Great to here from you, and we trust you both enjoyed the remainder of your cruise. We were delighted to have helped make your extended visit to Dunedin an enjoyable and memorable experience while you waited for your cruise ship to arrive at Port Chalmers. We know just what it feels like to loose luggage on an international flight, it happened to us in Tuscany only this year, so we were more than happy to help as best we could. We would love to host you again should you find yourselves back in Dunedin. We hope you have a restful Christmas and that 2018 brings you more great experiences.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rick B wrote a review Dec 2019
5.0 of 5 bubbles
First class accommodations; this lovely home is updated to meet five star expectations. The en suite bath consisted of a huge shower, separate tub along with heated floors and mirrors. WIFI was fast (thanks Karl), and breakfast was superb.
What exceeded expectations was the hospitality Avril and Karl offered. They spent time with us just visiting, sharing stories back and forth about our lives. They are truly wonderful people who happen to run a fantastic bed and breakfast. We would definitely stay with them again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Upstairs corner room has that great bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 330karlp, Owner at The Birches Bed & Breakfast
Responded 25 Dec 2019
Thank you for your very positive review, we are so pleased your stay at The Birches was memorable as we make every effort to provide our guests with an experience truly worthy of New Zealand’s good reputation for hosting visitors. Kind regards Avril and Karl
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PerthShane57 wrote a review Nov 2019
Perth, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the moment we drove into The Birches we knew we would enjoy our stay. Met by hosts Karl and Avril we were soon chatting away like long lost friends over freshly made barista coffee and tea. Our ground floor room was beautifully appointed. Luxury bedding, thick white towels, heated bathroom floor, quality coffee and tea with fresh milk. Fantastic shower also. a la carte Breakfast did not disappoint either. Reluctantly we said our goodbyes to catch our plane which was nearly cancelled due to strong winds. Karl and Avril heard this on the grapevine and phoned us to offer to pick us up from the airport and put us up for another night. We did not need to take them up on their very kind offer but this gives you a good idea of the kindness and generosity you experience when you stay at The Birches. Thoroughly recommend and hopefully we can return one day soon.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KarlP1080, Owner at The Birches Bed & Breakfast
Responded 25 Nov 2019
It was a pleasure hosting you both at The Birches B&B. We also enjoyed our chat over coffee and tea and we were so pleased Dunedin provided you both with a great experience. We hope to see you back at The Birches B&B soon Kind regards Avril & Karl
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dctc wrote a review Jan 2019
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Birches three wonderful nights. Every aspect of our stay with Avril and Karl was exceptional. The hospitality we experienced was truly extraordinary. When we arrived, Avril and Karl welcomed us with afternoon tea ( and yummy bakeries) on their beautiful patio. As this was our first trip to New Zealand and our first location, they provided very useful and helpful information about Dunedin and New Zealand. Karl generously provided transport to and from town one evening for our Pukekurra Penguin Adventure (and we didn’t get back to Dunedin until after 10pm!). Another day he took us on a wonderful city tour. Avril and Karl present delicious breakfasts (extensive offerings of hot and cold selections) in their beautiful dining room overlooking the garden. The Birches is a stunning property with beautiful architectural detail and luxuriously appointed interior spaces. We stayed in the ground floor suite which is spacious with a lovely Chesterfield couch/chair. The bed is very comfortable Avril assures no detail is overlooked : lovely bath amenities, in room tea/coffee , biscuits, milk / filtered water. The ensuite bathroom is well designed with in floor radiant heat (which we loved!)
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KarlP1080, Owner at The Birches Bed & Breakfast
Responded 12 Jan 2019
Hi DCTCTravellers Thank you for your wonderful review which is very much appreciated. We try so very hard to live up to our promise to deliver a “hosting without compromise” experience, knowing our guests are discerning and have spent time carefully selecting their NZ accommodation. We hope you will one day return to enjoy more of what NZ has to offer. Kind regards Avril & Karl
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
PeterBaarn wrote a review Feb 2018
Baarn, The Netherlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We started our trip to NZ near Dunedin on the golden mile in Mosgiel. Our hosts Karl and Avril gave us a very warm welcome! Karl chauffeured us around the area and showed us a nice restaurant. Avril offered us tea and sweet delights, so we felt at home immediately. Breakfasts are amazing and our room was spacious and very clean. Avril and Karl are so thoughtful, they exactly feel what your needs are! We were very sorry to leave and can highly recommand this place.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karl P, Owner at The Birches Bed & Breakfast
Responded 15 Feb 2018
Hi Peter Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at The Birches B&B It was a real pleasure to have you both stay and to see each day your joy on discovering Dunedin. There is a lot to see in NZ and we know time is always limited, but we are sure if you both have a chance to return to Dunedin their will be more gems for you to discover. Kind regards Avril & Karl
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KuwaitiBob wrote a review Feb 2018
Los Angeles, California
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
So we stayed in New Zealand for over month, all over the country. 10 different hotels, ranging from big international chains to small B&B’s. Not one of them a bad stay, all ranging from average to excellent, but THE BIRCHES was the best of all, and the only one we give 5 stars.

Huge home built in 1907 but lovingly restored/remodeled by the current owners less than a decade ago. They did an EXCEPTIONAL job on the remodel, the rooms and bathrooms are HUGE, with exceptional attention to detail. Every detail. The owners clearly gave substantial thought to having their B&B provide all sorts of little amenities, comforts, and personal touches that show they truly care about the experience for their guests. The morning breakfast was huge, fresh, hearty, well prepared. Coffee the best we had our entire stay in country. The hosts were warm and wonderful and so clearly enjoying their roles as hosts, a wealth of local tourism information, soooo helpful.

One note – The Birches is in Mosgiel which is actually about 15 km outside Dunedin proper. Do NOT let dissuade you from staying here, it is not an overcrowded area, traffic flows freely, and driving is easy. You will be able to access everything by car within minutes, and will want a car anyway to visit outlying areas like the Otago Peninsula. Quite, low-key, peaceful; this is where you want to stay.

Over the past 30 years we’ve stayed in hotels, motels, shanty shacks, beach cabins, urban closets, desert palaces, jungle tents, dumps and dives all over the world. This quite possibly ranks in our Top 10 favorite stays of all-time, anywhere. The house is stunning, the hosts exceptional…
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Karl P, Owner at The Birches Bed & Breakfast
Responded 13 Feb 2018
We trust you are home safely and with your “batteries recharged”, ready to face the challenges of 2018. We hope you enjoy lasting memories of New Zealand, its people as well as its varied landscapes. Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our hosting, we do strive very hard to provide our guests the best hospitality. I still have some way to go with my latte art as the NZ fern pattern remains elusive to me but I’m getting there. If time and tide allows we would love to see you back at ‘The Birches’. Kind regards Avril & Karl
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Rick B wrote a tip Dec 2019
4 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Upstairs corner room has that great bath"
Read full review
timbo1terrors2017 wrote a tip Jan 2017
Brisbane, Australia15 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We only one room, it was very pleasant."
Read full review
bonniedoon80 wrote a tip Aug 2016
Kirribilli, Australia3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed on the north east room"
Read full review
Marg A wrote a tip Dec 2015
Nelson, New Zealand62 contributions20 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Every Room is large and have been completely redecorated to an extremely high standard."
Read full review
Michael P wrote a tip Mar 2015
50 contributions62 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All rooms are first class"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dunedin area.
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionDunedin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
2
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE BIRCHES BED & BREAKFAST - B&B Reviews (Dunedin) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Birches Bed & Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to The Birches Bed & Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Wal's Plant & Fun Land (1.2 km), Lady Thorn Rhododendron Dell (7.0 km), and Silver Stream Horses (7.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Birches Bed & Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Birches Bed & Breakfast?
Top room amenities include a refrigerator, a seating area, and a sofa.
What food & drink options are available at The Birches Bed & Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Birches Bed & Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Birches Bed & Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Topiary Cafe, Nellies Restaurant and Bar, and Blackstone Cafe & Bar.
Does The Birches Bed & Breakfast have airport transportation?
Yes, The Birches Bed & Breakfast offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to The Birches Bed & Breakfast?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Olveston Historic Home (12.6 km), Speight’s Brewery (12.2 km), and Northern Cemetery (14.3 km).
All Dunedin HotelsDunedin Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in DunedinHotels near The Birches Bed & Breakfast
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire