We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Arden Country House Bed and Breakfast

712 Waitati Valley Rd, Dunedin New Zealand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (50)
Room & Suite (10)
Dining (7)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#23 of 36 B&Bs in Dunedin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Come and stay at Arden Country House next time you are visiting Dunedin, or even if you just want a little break from the city. Please note: This property is under NEW management so some photos from previous clients may be out of date. We have 3 beautiful and cosy rooms, with comfortable beds, linens, towels, and more! Everything is modern and clean, especially the gorgeous bathroom and shower. In the living room you will find a plush lounge-suite and a 39" Smart TV with Chromecast and Freeview. There is also a kitchenette with a kettle so you can prepare tea and coffee, a toaster, a microwave, plunger coffee, and a mini fridge. Breakfast cereals and muffins are included as well as fruit, milk, and maybe even some treats! In the area we have a lovely pub, cafes, beaches, the Orokonui ecosanctuary, but Dunedin is only a short 12 minute drive away, so there's definitely plenty to do! The Bed and Breakfast is self-contained, and you get the entire place all to yourself when you book. Check out our photos for more! Looking forward to meeting you!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Private check-in / check-out
Wifi
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Separate living room
Sofa
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Charming
Languages Spoken
Afrikaans
34Reviews0Q+A3Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 21
  • 6
  • 2
  • 0
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Alan Henderson wrote a review Feb 2023
Sutton, United Kingdom27 contributions20 helpful votes
This is an amazing place even being 20 minutes outside of Dunedin well worth having to do that journey. Host could not do enough for us. The property was clean with lots of character. Well equipped kitchen and fantastic breakfast, home made jam.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Geoff N wrote a review Dec 2020
Dunedin, New Zealand56 contributions27 helpful votes
This place is very comfortable and cosy. There is a lovely lounge with large flat screen TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Three bedrooms upstairs - two of which are very spacious. There is a bathroom and separate shower. There are heat pumps in every room and the lounge. There are a number of beaches, walking areas etc within easy driving distance. There are a couple of cafes/craft beer places close by. The hosts are very warm, attentive, and committed to making your stay as relaxing as possible. When booking - be aware that this is a bed and breakfast; so there is not a kitchen to make main meals or a separate dining area. There is no outside space which is spacious if you have children. The other thing to be aware of is that Arden Country House is under new ownership since 2020. So some photos which give the impression that there are dining rooms, a fire etc being available relate to previous ownership. Also the less that ideal reviews relate to previous owners - not the new ones.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maritsa Hansen, General Manager at Arden Country House Bed and Breakfast
Responded 30 Dec 2020
Thank you for the thoughtful and kind review! It's always a pleasure to host you!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Erin C wrote a review Jan 2020
Brisbane, Australia135 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
Was looking forward to this one, we loved that it would be old & quaint & didn't have high expectations given the price. It looked abandoned when we arrived. It was unkempt & up for sale. We drove past a big bag of rubbish next to the drive & weren't greeted for some time. The host was friendly. We had to walk past a trailer full of wet, mouldy stinking carpets & through a shed full of dusty boxes & junk to get to our room door. Upon opening we were hit by a stale, musty smell of damp & mould. The apartment was tidy but the furnishings were stained & musty. There was evident damp damage to the vanity, the shower & a wall behind a daybed. The rafters & sills were dusty, the windows heavily Cobwebbed. The kitchenette had dirty open shelving & appliances. My son's pillow was actually heavy & crunchy, It was very old. The fridge hadn't been turned on, there was no milk & when he brought some it was in an uncovered jug. The water pressure was very low & apparently had to be run for ages until hot water came through. There was a heater that he said we could try but probably wouldn't work- it didn't. I started to wheeze within minutes so we left. The property is refusing to refund any of our fully prepaid money despite my offer of a cancellation fee. We went through Booking.com who have offered $40 so we still lose around $160 & had to pay a premium for emergency accommodation. I can't even review it on Booking.com as our booking is cancelled. I don't mind old or untidy but dirty & air full of mould spores is a no go for me. We got photos of everything but the Smell
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Maritsa Hansen, General Manager at Arden Country House Bed and Breakfast
Responded 30 Dec 2020
I'll start by saying: We bought it! The rubbish is long gone and everything has been tidied up and upgraded. The smells are also long gone, replaced by the fresh air of the Waitati hills and plains. If you were to visit again, you'll find that the rooms are a bit different from before. For starters, we only book to one group at a time, and we provide all the breakfast materials you need for you stay (the fridge will be on and full of milk!). We've installed heat pumps, new shower and bath facilities, NEW carpets(!!), gas water heating, and much more. If you should ever be our way again and would like to come and stay, check out our new photos and send us a message - we'd like to offer you a 20% discount!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Craig R wrote a review May 2019
Melbourne, Australia22 contributions10 helpful votes
Daytime arrivals would be fine but we arrived at night and it'd be far better to have had lighting from the gate all the way to the front door. Took several attempts to find the house and the front door, had to phone them as the door bell isn't heard. The owner was pleasant and friendly, as we entered the house is uncomfortably old, warn out and musty but not dirty. Led to the the back kitchen, then outside into a shed area. Cold and exposed so immediately reaction was to turn around and leave. We had no alternative so we stayed. Into the back living area, two levels. Main bed felt slightly damp, bedding didn't feel fresh, we covered with towel/blanket and slept on top. All the decor is very old, bathroom ancient, toilet isn't great. Upstairs kitchen is basic, seating really poor. No TV but wifi works. Communal area inside main house is shared with other guests which we didn't use, we were tired so tolerated a quick sleep and up early and gone. Didn't want to try the breakfast, dropped the keys off and left. Won't be back, less than a 2 star experience.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Natalie wrote a review Dec 2018
Brisbane, Australia28 contributions
The loveliest couple run this B&B, so welcoming and helpful. It is extremely reasonably priced particularly considering breakfast is included. People need to be aware they are staying in someone’s home. It is like a proper, traditional B&B. If you are expecting motel/hotel standards, you will be disappointed. Take it for what it is and enjoy the genuine hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
xime f wrote a review Apr 2018
Santiago, Chile18 contributions8 helpful votes
Very dirty! The place has good potencial, but needs a lot of job! For the old couple is impossible to maintain. The dog and cat all arround inside the house, smells awfull. The Roms are dirty! Too dirty! The breakfast was ok, I do not recomend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
k1w1Spirit wrote a review Apr 2018
Waimate, New Zealand60 contributions15 helpful votes
We were caught out with no accomodation due to a major Rugby Game in Dunedin and as a last resort we were recommended to call the above . We were so glad we did and could not recommend this House and Hosts enough. There were others staying from other countries and the interaction was great. Fantastic Full breakfast served and any thing we wanted we only had to ask. The Hosts were very interactive which we enjoyed. Beautiful off the road country setting only 10 mins North of Dunedin... Would recommend...and return.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
John M wrote a review Mar 2018
Brisbane, Australia66 contributions34 helpful votes
Booked at Arden House because of the pictures we saw on-line.... and were not disappointed! A really quaint and extremely comfortable old fashioned English-style country house full of character. Think "Lilliput Lane"... The rooms we had were an up and down apartment with a tight staircase to negotiate, so maybe not suitable for older people or folks with walking difficulties. Check the accommodation first. Owners were delightfully welcoming and breakfast was excellent. We would definitely make this one to return to.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Explain requirements if you have trouble with stairs.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ky N wrote a review Jan 2018
3 contributions2 helpful votes
We had a very good time to stay here. Faye and Geoff treat us like we are their family members. The house is old but well maintenance. We love the breakfast and the way they set up the table. Definitely I will stay here next time I am in Dunedin and recommend this place for everyone.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Papst Lukas wrote a review Jul 2017
Dabendorf, Germany25 contributions9 helpful votes
Sorry, I cannot understand all those good reviews. Yes, for sure, the B&B ist in a good location in Dunedin, but the room was very dirty and the place is very bad maintained. Colour comes down from the walls and the bathroom is just awful. In addition, it is very cold as well, much more colder than in every other kiwi house (which is a wonder!) Furthermore, Joyce the owner seems to had a bad day. She was very unfriendly and not interested in guests at all. Cannot recommend that place.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Just don't go there
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Dunedin area.
PRICE RANGE
$227 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionDunedin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ARDEN COUNTRY HOUSE BED AND BREAKFAST - Now $162 (Was $̶2̶1̶7̶) - B&B Reviews & Price Comparison (Dunedin, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Arden Country House Bed and Breakfast
Which popular attractions are close to Arden Country House Bed and Breakfast?
Nearby attractions include Ōrokonui Ecosanctuary (4.0 km), Port Chalmers Maritime Museum (7.6 km), and Organ Pipes Track (3.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Arden Country House Bed and Breakfast?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Arden Country House Bed and Breakfast?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Arden Country House Bed and Breakfast?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Arden Country House Bed and Breakfast?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Arden Country House Bed and Breakfast?
Conveniently located restaurants include Carey's Bay Historic Hotel, The Portsider, and The Galley Cafe and Bar.
Are there any historical sites close to Arden Country House Bed and Breakfast?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Iona Church (7.5 km).