We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Victoria Hotel Dunedin

Save
Share
137 St Andrew Street PO Box 5737, Dunedin 9011 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$128
View Deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
SnaptravelUS$136
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (94)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (6)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#24 of 60 hotels in Dunedin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Kia ora, Welcome to the Victoria Hotel Dunedin. Our hotel is located in the heart of Central Dunedin, minutes walk away from the city's attractions, shops and businesses. At the Victoria Hotel you can expect a warm welcome, a comfortable stay and an excellent location. We take pride in the level of service we offer and are dedicated to going the extra mile for our guests. Our reception desk is open 24/7. When you come to stay at The Victoria Hotel you have two restaurants to choose from, both of which offer room service at no extra cost. You can also relax in our Lounge Bar and make use of the Wi-fi we offer in the bar area free of charge. For modern New Zealand cuisine, you can come to our Well Manor restaurant for Breakfast between 7-10am and Dinner from 6-8pm 7 days a week. We hope to see you soon!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
24-hour check-in
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Japanese
371Reviews6Q+A61Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 151
  • 138
  • 62
  • 13
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Paige wrote a review Dec 2020
1 contribution
Stacey made the stay extra enjoyable with her willingness to help and going the extra mile. Her service was awesome her boss needs to give her a pay rise.Thanks Stacey you are the true nvp. Also the lamb shanks were tender and fell off the bone. Full of flavour also I recomend asking for a random shot makes the experience that much more of an adventure.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Leo Pan, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Responded 29 Dec 2020
Dear Poogie15, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is wonderful to hear you were satisfied with the service of our staff! We're also happy to hear that your dining experience with us was great and a little bit adventurous! We hope to see you at the Victoria Hotel again in the future. Kind regards, Victoria Hotel Management
Read more
roaming_kiwi58 wrote a review Dec 2020
Christchurch, New Zealand2,632 contributions514 helpful votes
This was our third stay at this hotel and we stayed for 2 nights. On the previous occasions we have been in rooms in the new block, but this time we were put in a room in the old main hotel building. Rooms not quite as modern, but perfectly comfortable. Staff are helpful. We had free parking included as we had booked via the hotel website, but if the hotel is busy they clearly do not have enough car parks available. On our second day when we returned to the hotel late afternoon the car parks were all full. Fortunately someone left shortly after we arrived so we got a park. I presume you have to pay for parking offsite if the hotel and car parking is full. But it was good to see the hotel busy post COVID lockdowns. The location of the hotel is good, in easy walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Despite being on the corner of a busy intersection we had no problems with traffic noise. We will continue to use this hotel as our base when in Dunedin.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Leo Pan, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Responded 9 Dec 2020
Dear roaming_kiwi58 Thank you very much for choosing The Victoria Hotel and I am glad to know that you have been enjoying your stays with us. Our Superior Rooms in the new block definitely have better facilities, such as double glazing windows and air conditioning, than the main block rooms. But please be assured that we had renovated the main block rooms just two to three years ago, and have regular maintenance done to all rooms to make sure they are up to the standard. As for the car parking, we have almost 40 car parks onsite while it would certainly still not be enough for some days when everyone checks in with a car. However, we have been working with the Wilson Car Parking beside the Farmers Department store and opposite to our hotel's parking area. In case the hotel's onsite car park is full, our reception can pass an exit ticket to the guest to park at the Wilson Car Park for the night. Please feel free to contact our reception if you have the trouble of finding a car park on your next visit. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards Hotel Management
Read more
Vicky J wrote a review Nov 2020
Palmerston, New Zealand31 contributions13 helpful votes
This is a wonderful hotel. Perfect location of a night out in Dunedin. The staff are super friendly and the prices are more than competitive. I won’t be staying anywhere else. You have to pay extra to park your car. Small price to pay for knowing it is off the street and safe. 🤩 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️💫
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Leo Pan, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Responded 9 Dec 2020
Dear Ovickyj, Thank you for taking your time to review your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that our property ticked most of the boxes for you, in terms of our location, staff, room rates. We look forward to having you stay with us again and We also recommend booking directly on our official website which includes exclusive free parking that isn't available on any other website! We look forward to seeing you next time. Kind Regards, Management
Read more
B N wrote a review Oct 2020
Palmerston North, New Zealand59 contributions32 helpful votes
Stayed here for one night. Service is very poor so people should be trained to NZ service standards. Went to restaurant for dinner at 8.02pm only to be told dinner finishes at 8pm and even though only 8 people in the Restaurant they would not serve us. Asked for a room with a view and they gave one with a roof right next to the window. so our view was a roof. Paying $10 for parking as well. Breakfast was a joke. the Continental Buffet was the saddest Buffet i have ever seen and they do not do a hot food Buffet. Luckily was only for one night but this is a 3 star hotel with 1 star service.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Location
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Leo Pan, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Responded 10 Dec 2020
Dear BN151, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave us your review. It is unfortunate to read that your stay with us was not up to your expectation. This is definitely not the standard we strive to deliver to our valued guests. Due to the ongoing shift in business caused by covid-19, our restaurant has been running at reduced timings and capacity, and we offer our sincerest apologies however we do hope this provides some understanding. With the hotel being situated in the city centre, not all of our hotel rooms come with a view. With our standard rooms being located on the first and second floor these do not offer a lot in terms of view from the rooms apart from the roof and the car park. We feel that our nightly car parking fee of $10.00 per vehicle is very reasonable compared with other similar properties located in the city centre with parking being premium in Dunedin. However we would like to highlight to you that we do offer free parking when booked directly on the hotel's official website. Although we do not currently offer a hot buffet at breakfast, due to the uncertainty with demand, however we do offer an a la carte menu for guests who prefer hot food rather than the continental option. We acknowledge that your experience with us left you feeling disappointed. However, if you would like to give us the opportunity, we would do our utmost to turn your experience around to a much more pleasant one. Kind regards, Management
Read more
Maria wrote a review Oct 2020
New Zealand3 contributions
We highly recommended staying at this hotel. We booked on arrival to Dunedin after checking out this site for recommendations. We had a modern tidy room with what looked like a single king and a king size bed, a balcony and a shower over bath. Best asset is their helpful reception staff - they were nice to deal with both on arrival and taking our order. Our dinner and breakfast were cooked in no time and tasted delicious.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Leo Pan, General Manager at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Responded 9 Dec 2020
Dear mariaChchTraveller, Thank you for your glowing review, it is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay in one of our Deluxe room and all the facilities it has to offer! I am pleased to hear that our property ticked most of the boxes for you, in terms of our staff, rooms, service and food. We look forward to seeing you again! Kind Regards, Management
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$71 - US$113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western dunedin, dunedin best western
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandOtago RegionDunedin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
72
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Victoria Hotel Dunedin
Which popular attractions are close to The Victoria Hotel Dunedin?
Nearby attractions include Otago Farmers Market (0.3 km), First Church of Otago (0.4 km), and St. Paul's Cathedral (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Victoria Hotel Dunedin?
Conveniently located restaurants include Potpourri Vegetarian Cafe, The Perc Cafe, and Best Cafe.
Is The Victoria Hotel Dunedin located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Dunedin.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does The Victoria Hotel Dunedin offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Victoria Hotel Dunedin?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, and Japanese.
Are there any historical sites close to The Victoria Hotel Dunedin?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Olveston Historic Home (0.8 km), Northern Cemetery (1.7 km), and Dunedin High And District Court (0.3 km).