We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
26 Marriner Street, Christchurch 8081 New Zealand
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (5)
Room & Suite (20)
Pool & Beach (6)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#48 of 159 hotels in Christchurch
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
4 Star Accommodation Sumner Beach, Christchurch Spacious, modern Studio Units and Apartments in the seaside village of Sumner - just one block away from beautiful Sumner Beach. We are close to Sumner’s cafes, restaurants, shops, and Hollywood Cinema. The Christchurch CBD is an easy 20 minute drive, Christchurch Airport is just 40 minutes away. Sumner Bay Motel and Apartments has been under new ownership and management since 2017. Roger and Kay Evans live onsite - providing attentive, warm and friendly service… You’ll feel less like a motel guest, more like a friend welcomed into their own home. Our 12 luxurious motel Studio Units and Apartments are serviced and each has a private courtyard or balcony. Complimentary guest services include: Free unlimited fibre WiFi Free Netflix Free car parking
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
66Somewhat walkable
Grade: 66 out of 100
28Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
2Attractionswithin 0.5 km
79Reviews3Q+A14Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 53
  • 21
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Gavin M wrote a review Jan 2022
Auckland, New Zealand196 contributions68 helpful votes
Sadly we stayed here for a single night on the wettest day in December - that limited things a bit. However, the apartment was wonderful for our family of four. Large, clean, nicely decorated. Basically next door to some lovely restaurants and cafes. The beach is only a few minutes walk. We plan to come back here and try for some sun in Sumner next time.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
russlo wrote a review Aug 2021
Christchurch, New Zealand102 contributions52 helpful votes
Stayed here for 2 nights, needed a break. Compact, tidy clean units. Close to shops and about a 5-10 min walk to the beach. Perfectly ok for a short stay but I think it might have got a bit cramped longer than that.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
travelpanda56 wrote a review Jan 2021
Taranaki Region, New Zealand33 contributions5 helpful votes
We had a wonderful stay here - the rooms were lovely, immaculate, well-furnished with many thoughtful details to ensure an excellent experience. The downstairs had a queen bed and bathroom, and upstairs was a pullout couch for our 13-year old daughter and she loved having her own space with a TV. Great location in Sumner with everything - beach, cafes, stores - in easy walking distance. Yet still v quiet and we were there on new year’s eve! Roger and Kay are fantastic hosts who saw to all our needs and a dream to work with. V reasonable rates for great accommodations, highly recommend. We’ll be back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
C3115ELpeters wrote a review Nov 2020
Waimate, New Zealand49 contributions30 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed 2 nights with our 8 & 5 year old grand daughters so needed a 2 bedroom unit. The motel unit was perfect for us , very well appointed with excellent amount of room and comfortable furniture. It is perfectly located for the beach and the town, everything within a block of you as well as close to the city and only 9 minutes over the hill to Lyttelton, recommend the Saturday market. We were all made very welcome by Roger, we will be back to stay next time we go to Christchurch .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
PennyHAuckland wrote a review Sep 2020
Auckland41 contributions14 helpful votes
We stayed in studio for one night.Not only all you want/ expect but more. Nice that they have added colour - prints, throws, bedspreads - blues/ yellows. - Comfy bed (not as hard as ours at home but firm). - All items working, very clean, away from main road so not too much road noise. - Walking to everything - beach, cafe's shops. NICE! -And great friendly couple
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Lisa M wrote a review Jun 2020
Christchurch, New Zealand15 contributions2 helpful votes
Wow what a lovely place to stay. The couple very so friendly, welcoming and really just would do anything to help. The 2 bedroom unit was very clean and had everything we needed and more a lovely private terrace but unfortunately wasn’t sitting outside weather. We just had the one night there but most definitely will return. Handy to all restaurants and beach. Just a super place with lovely people.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
NorthLondonDaveR wrote a review Apr 2020
North London135 contributions75 helpful votes
My wife and I initially booked here for a couple of nights before our planned return to the UK just before the Covid-19 lockdown in New Zealand. The motel was comfortable, spotlessly clean and well located close to the beach, numerous restaurants, a small supermarket and interesting walks. The owners, Kay and Roger, live on site and are extremely friendly and helpful. We departed for the airport thinking we should have allowed a little more time at this comfortable motel, little knowing that our flights had been cancelled overnight and we were stranded in New Zealand with lockdown about to commence and no way of getting home and nowhere to stay! A call to Roger was met with an immediate invitation to return to the motel and see out the lockdown or at least await opportunities to get back to the UK. We couldn't have asked for more, they made everything we needed to remain safe and comfortable freely available and supported us throughout this difficult time. In conclusion this is a very comfortable and spotlessly clean motel only a short drive from Christchurch airport, ideally located for a few days or more at either end of a trip to New Zealand's South Island. The beautiful Banks peninsula is nearby and Sumner has plenty to do for a few days, indeed our stay of nearly four weeks during the lockdown was a pleasure, thanks to our location and to Kay and Roger.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Paul L wrote a review Mar 2020
Southwell, United Kingdom199 contributions113 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed in one of the 1 bed apartments with my daughter in the one below. The apartments were very well appointed and spotlessly clean. They both had Netflix access too which was a very nice bonus. The owner was very helpful and the attention to detail in the information pack was outstanding. Overall we loved staying here and thought it was exceptional value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from SumnerBayMotel, Owner at Sumner Bay Motel
Responded 13 Mar 2020
Thank you for your kind review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and managed to relax. Hope to see you again sometime. Regards Roger and Kay
Read more
Charlotte wrote a review Mar 2020
Beacon, New York116 contributions23 helpful votes
My husband (30) & I (28) happened to stumble across Sumner bay on our way to Christchurch and decided to stay for the night. This motel was honestly the best I've ever stayed in. Location: less than a 5 minute walk to the beach. Less than a 2 minute walk to all the eateries. Parking outside room. Room: immaculate!! Very spacious, lovely decoration, fully functional kitchen, wet room bathroom. Hosts: The gentlemen was so lovey and we really enjoyed talking with him. You can tell they take pride in their motel. Why not 5 stars: unfortunately the ground floor has no privacy unless you draw your curtains. I would 100% stay again and 100% recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from SumnerBayMotel, Owner at Sumner Bay Motel
Responded 12 Mar 2020
Thank you for your lovely review, I'm sorry I can't remember what room you were in, but usually the little courtyard fence and the privacy curtains offer our guest a reasonable amount of privacy. So glad you had time to explore Sumner village, hope to see you again sometime. Regards Kay and Roger
Read more
LooksWest wrote a review Mar 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom264 contributions180 helpful votes
My partner and I had stayed here a couple of times before in the pervious year. Standards of hospitality and maintenance had not dropped in the intervening months. The motel remains a welcoming stop in the centre of Sumner.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from SumnerBayMotel, Owner at Sumner Bay Motel
Responded 5 Mar 2020
Thank you for you kind review, so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and Sumner hope to see you again soon. Regards Roger and Kay
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$98 - US$107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sumner bay hotel
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionChristchurch
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sumner Bay Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Sumner Bay Motel?
Nearby attractions include Clifton Hill (0.4 km) and Art Nomad (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sumner Bay Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Sumner Bay Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sumner Bay Motel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Sumner Bay Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sumner Bay Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Xom, Clink Restaurant and Bar, and Joe's Garage Sumner.
Does Sumner Bay Motel have airport transportation?
Yes, Sumner Bay Motel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Sumner Bay Motel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Sumner Bay Motel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Sumner Bay Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Taylors Mistake - Awaroa / Godley Head Walk (2.3 km), Ferrymead Heritage Park (4.5 km), and Cobb Cottage (2.0 km).
Is Sumner Bay Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.