The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Grange Guesthouse & Motel

56 Armagh Street Central City, Christchurch 8011 New Zealand
Traveller (246)
Ground Floor Executive Studio
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (18)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 22 guest houses in Christchurch
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Grange Boutique B&B and Motel is situated on the corner of Cramner Square, making us the closest Motel to the re:START Cashel Street mall & the Botanic Gardens. We are the ideal location for guests involved in the rebuild of the City Centre.Classic & contemporary, the newly renovated Grange B&B holds 5 large individually decorated, boutique Suites; all with Queen or Super King beds. The Motel at the rear of the Manor has 4 Studio and 4 1-Bedroom self-contained apartment style units on 2 levels, with modern decor & fittings. Make sure to stop in and grab a complimentary Latte or such from our Barista on your way out for the day!In the vicinity:A leisurely 5-10 minute walk east will find you at Cathedral Square, leading back to The Arts Centre, The Art Gallery & The Canterbury Museum. To our west, is the lovely Botanic Gardens & Hagley Park. We are only a short walk to top class restaurants such as 'Tiffany's' and 'Cook N with Gas' & the newly re-opened 'Coffee House' is 300 metres from Cathedral Grammar & Christ's College. Strolling down the Avon River will lead you to the 're:START' Cashel Street mall. Entertainment can be found at The Christchurch Casino & Victoria Street has many bars & cafes to visit.Free wireless Internet access is available to all guests. Sightseeing tours & onward travel can be arranged. Special requests & group bookings are most welcome.All rooms are Smokefree.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Iron
Kitchenette
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Chinese

Location

56 Armagh Street Central City, Christchurch 8011 New Zealand
1,064Review6Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 789
  • 251
  • 16
  • 6
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Nicole_Zhang wrote a review Jan 2020
Sydney, Australia6 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Grange is at a great location of Christchurch, with easy stroll to the Art Gallery, Cathedral etc. And the room is clean, with open view and offers everything necessary.

What’s most amazing is the great hospitality. We only stayed for one night there and had to leave at 5am next morning for an early flight so we mentioned casually at check-in that we would not come down for breakfast. The lady there was so nice and offered to bring us two continental breakfasts to our room in the prior evening. As we thought it might just be a simple toast or two, she actually came with a full whole plate of porridges, yogurt, milk, butter, toasts, oranges and strawberry jam, peanut butter and other varieties of sauces. She did not have to do that but she went above and beyond to accommodate us. I would highly recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
middleageoe wrote a review Mar 2021
Tauranga, New Zealand109 contributions90 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We only needed one night’s accommodation in Christchurch before flying home in the morning and chanced upon the Grange, delighted we did. We booked an executive studio (ground level) in the motel which was clean, spacious, well appointed and simply very pleasant to be in. The bed was a king size and the bathroom modern and also very spacious with underfloor heating! No doubt very welcome on a cold winter’s morning. Also a pleasant outdoor area to sit at and enjoy a cup of tea in the afternoon. Nice helpful lady on reception.

Centrally located on Armagh Street it was an easy walk to the city, convenient to the bars and restaurants on Oxford Terrace and shops on Cashel St.

Rounded off by a very competitive price, there seems to be a discount for booking direct. Recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Motel ground floor was fine, book direct.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
405Sally wrote a review Dec 2020
Wellington, New Zealand152 contributions28 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed in the motel units attached to the B&B. The unit was spacious, clean and well appointed. I also took the option of breakfast and it was a continental and/or cooked breakfast for a very reasonable price, including barista coffee. The Grange is located a block from the Arts Centre, Art Gallery, Earthquake Display, and Museum and is on the tram route with a stop outside so perfect for visitors to the city. I recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: The motel units are at the rear of the property and quiet.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bob A wrote a review Aug 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We were very disappointed by the facilities which the Grange offered. We have stayed in this part of Christchurch many times but never in The Grange. We always admired this place. However, reality was very poor. We thought we had booked an "Executive Studio Unit" complete with breakfast. After all, this was described as "The Grange Boutique B&B and Motel". The charge of $140 became $150 when we insisted on breakfast!
The room was not "Executive" by any means. The central light was hideous, there was not even a single drawer in which to place underwear etc, there was one uncomfortable easy chair, the bed, described as "king bed" was a queen at best,
The best part of the accommodation was the poached eggs. They were done to perfection. That apart, a very poor experience. This was for a booking made 4 weeks before arrival date.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Insist on the room that you wanted, not the one the place offered.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Owner at The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
Responded 16 Aug 2021
Dear customer, Thank you for your reviews above. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed for your stay at The Grange this time. I remembered that you told me you would like to stay at The Grange B&B main house not Motel blocks when you checked in. Your original booking was one of the Executive Studio Units with a king bed @$140.00 excluding breakfast. When you watched one of B&B Queen Rooms with a queen bed, you told me you preferred this B&B Queen Room, not motel rooms. and I gave you the discount rate for $150.00 per night including breakfast for both of you. You were happy to accept it. The Grange B&B was built in 1874 which is one of the heritage buildings in Christchurch. There are 6 rooms in total in the main house with tastefully decorated individual character, all with private en-suite bathroom. It should have one you would like to. We hope your next stay at The Grange will be a pleasant journey and look forward to welcoming you back again. Best regards, Kimberly
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
harald s wrote a review Mar 2020
North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany34 contributions15 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent the last night of our NZ vacation at this place. The bed and breakfast is situated very close to the city center, all the sights are in walking distance. It offers really big and well equipped rooms and a good breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Familytravelmaven wrote a review Nov 2022
Milwaukee, Wisconsin877 contributions213 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spacious room with a comfortable bed in this charming bed and breakfast. The couple running it couldn’t have been nicer and breakfast was delicious. You need a car to stay here as it’s not accessible otherwise. We had originally booked two nights but on our return we decided we wanted a full service hotel when we had returned our rental car.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Pure bed and breakfast with no other services. Clean and friendly.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CPACHIC wrote a review Mar 2020
Boston, Massachusetts37 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Grange Guesthouse deserves its high rating. It's a family-run, traditional B&B. We had an upstairs room with a king bed and sitting area. The bathroom was squeaky clean. We loved the mix of old and new styles. Hot breakfast was included in your rate with plenty of selections. Great central Christchurch location with off-street parking. Keep in mind that there is a flight of stairs to the second-floor rooms so if mobility is an issue request lower floor rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Keep in mind that there is a flight of stairs to the second-floor rooms so if mobility is an...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TheGrangeGuesthouse, Manager at The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
Responded 26 Mar 2020
Hi Cpachic, Thank you for your reviews above. Hope to meet you next time when you visit Christchurch. Take care and all the best. Kind regards, Kimberly
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lottie1 wrote a review Aug 2021
Papamoa, New Zealand113 contributions20 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed overnight before the TranzAlpine in a one bedroom motel unit. Was pretty clean - just need to check the back of the curtains and the bathroom sink plug hole for pesky mould but it wasn’t much to worry about. Comfy bed and big bathroom. There were two comfy chairs to sit on to watch tv and if you wanted to cook or eat in the room you could microwave or make breakfast and eat at dining table. Room was really quiet and location not bad on the edge of town centre. The man who checked us in was very nice and gave us a map and marked hotel location.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Excellent off-street parking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jo S wrote a review Jul 2020
9 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a room in the motel out the back, upstairs, do not book this type of room if you have heavy or a lot of luggage, there are no lifts, the passage way was very damp & wet on our arrival, the room was adequate, but I wouldn't say "boutique" unless they're referring to the front bnb. Pluses were the parking & location, friendly welcome. Just an average motel room
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lyn R wrote a review Feb 2023
Trinity Beach, Australia527 contributions211 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Grange is right in the heart of Christchurch and offers everything you may need at a reasonable price. A good breakfast is included. There is parking on site and the hosts are helpful and efficient. The stairs upstairs are a little steep if you have heavy bags or bad knees like me, so ask for a ground floor room.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from zhena
Glasgow220 contributions77 helpful votes
I agree that you should contact The Grange directly. We got excellent rate and service when we did that. Not a fan of Agoda, what you describe is not uncommon!
Robert W asked a question Dec 2015
Camano Island, Washington4 contributions
what is the cancellation policy
Christchurch Central
Hi there, Cancellation or amendments need to be made 3 days before arrival. Cancellation fee is 100% of the stay. Best Regards, Eva.
Mandy P asked a question May 2015
Auckland Central, New Zealand6 contributions1 helpful vote
Hi there what does the breakfast include? thanks
Christchurch Central
Hi Marcelina, Breakfast includes a Continental Spread (fruit, cereals, juice, yoghurt) and an option from our Gourmet Menu (Bacon & Eggs, Eggs Benedict or Cinnamon Pancakes..) Regards, Eva.
Christchurch Central
Good Morning Jeff, Thank you very much for your inquiry. Is this booking request for December? If so, I do have an Executive Studio available for the 2 nights and we are able to add a roll away bed for the extra person on the second night. Please e-mail us directly if you need any further assistance. Best Regards, Eva.
794rod wrote a tip May 2024
Brisbane, Australia17 contributions6 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lacks a small room table and chairs"
Read full review
Familytravelmaven wrote a tip Nov 2022
Milwaukee, Wisconsin877 contributions213 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pure bed and breakfast with no other services. Clean and friendly."
Read full review
Shigamm wrote a tip Aug 2022
London, United Kingdom1,287 contribution215 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Limited number of car parking spaces."
Read full review
Jocelyn W wrote a tip May 2022
Auckland Central, New Zealand4 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a quiet room"
Read full review
Bob A wrote a tip Aug 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Insist on the room that you wanted, not the one the place offered."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Christchurch area.
PRICE RANGE
$124 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionChristchurch
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE GRANGE GUESTHOUSE & MOTEL - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Christchurch, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
Which popular attractions are close to The Grange Guesthouse & Motel?
Nearby attractions include Quake City (0.2 km), Canterbury Museum at CoCA (0.1 km), and Christchurch Art Gallery (Te Puna o Waiwhetu) (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Grange Guesthouse & Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at The Grange Guesthouse & Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Grange Guesthouse & Motel?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Grange Guesthouse & Motel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Grange Guesthouse & Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Craft Embassy, Zen Sushi and Dumplings, and Fiddlesticks Restaurant & Bar.
Is The Grange Guesthouse & Motel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Christchurch.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Grange Guesthouse & Motel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Chinese.
Are there any historical sites close to The Grange Guesthouse & Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Riccarton House & Bush (2.5 km), Mona Vale (2.1 km), and Ferrymead Heritage Park (7.1 km).
Is The Grange Guesthouse & Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Christchurch HotelsChristchurch Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ChristchurchHotels near The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire