We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
28 - 30 Cathedral Square, Christchurch 8011 New Zealand
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Traveluro
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 15 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (346)
Room & Suite (139)
Dining (18)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#22 of 159 in Christchurch
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2022 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
Christchurch is a long way from the Mediterranean - nevertheless, the opulence of an Italian High Renaissance Palazzo awaits you at the Heritage Christchurch. Designed by Joseph Clark Maddison and opened in 1913, the hotel is listed as a category one building on the Historic Places Trust Register, reflecting its status as a building of national significance. The hotel's grand design is fitting: after all, Christchurch is regarded as the Garden City, and is regarded internationally for its culture and refinement.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Coffee shop
Bowling offsite
Squash offsite
Children's television networks
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Personal trainer
Sauna
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Taxi service
Banquet room
Spa
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Additional bathroom
Housekeeping
Safe
Sofa
Iron
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Minibar
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Hindi, Japanese
909Reviews14Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 519
  • 260
  • 98
  • 18
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Liz L wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution
Could not fault the service from all staff - just outstanding. Rooms were lovely and warm on arrival as it was chilly outside. Good bar with friendly service. We had to arrange parking and it was immediately taken care off (like valet service) I couldn't fault this hotel and loved the decor (suited the age of the building). During the early morning hours we did have noticeable noise coming from an adjoining room on phoning reception this was immediately addressed.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: If you want to be in the center of the City this is definitely worth a stay
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Astrid Hay, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch
Responded yesterday
Dear X8944NNlizl, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on TripAdvisor subsequent to your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and found the staff outstanding, and rooms lovely and warm! Once gain I would like to thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back shall you visit our beautiful city in the future. Kind Regards, Astrid Hay
Read more
Wahinetoa wrote a review 17 May
1 contribution
On arrival, my colleagues were shocked by the lack of hospitality shown by the staff in reception. The South African lady was incredibly rude, and because our company had booked us in, the first lot of colleagues were almost denied their key as the other lot to arrive were down for the booking. Also very annoying not having a restaurant linked up that you can charge back too - and NO breakfast options? what is up with that. It is advertised as luxury hoteland far from it - i get it is heritage building but paint was peeling, everything in the rooms felt incredibly outdated and the only plus was the comfortable bed! Spa was nice but lap pool was dirty - grime on the bottom of the floor. Will not be returning or recommending to anyone. plus $20 parking per day on top of our already costly rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
phelanrobmary wrote a review Feb 2022
Whangaparaoa, New Zealand5 contributions1 helpful vote
Good service. Room very well equipped. Great location. Good bar with friendly service. Combo with Tram Dinner. Recommend the wine mstching. Very good would recommend. Valet parking very reasonable & easy.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Astrid Hay, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch
Responded 24 Feb 2022
Dear phelanrobmary, Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on TripAdvisor subsequent to your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and found the suites well equipped, location great, and valet parking very reasonable! Once gain I would like to thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back shall you visit our beautiful city in the future. Kind Regards, Astrid Hay
Read more
Pat S wrote a review Feb 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Very nice looking hotel, service was ok but nothing flash, Room was spacious and nicely appointed,clean and tidy. However the weekend we stayed was very wet, loads of rain, and the building leaked like a sieve. Our room had 2 leaks where water was dripping from the ceiling. The corridors were covered with buckets to try and catch all the rain which was pouring in. It was absolutely shocking, They really need to fix the roof urgently, Not keen on staying there again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Only stay at this hotel in dry weather
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Astrid Hay, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch
Responded 14 Feb 2022
Dear PatsK2960G, As advised in your previous review, we are pleased you found our rooms to be nice. Cyclone Dovi which passed over Christchurch on Saturday night was Category 3 storm and its impacts were felt across the country. Our Grade 1 Heritage listed building sustained some serious damage from the storm, which resulted in unprecedented leaking within the building, which our team did their best to manage. Christchurch recorded 26.8mm of rain on Saturday and another 41.2mm on Sunday leaving some homes in the city with ankle deep water and our thoughts are with those as they clean up. It is disappointing these circumstances, which were out of our control impacted your stay so severely and that you feel you would not stay again. We will obviously be repairing the damage sustained to our beautiful building as soon possible. Regards Astrid Hay, Hotel Manager
Read more
B. wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
We had a family emergency happen and booked my father into the hotel so he had somewhere to visit the hospital from. The staff where unbelievably unaccomadating, made it unnecessarily difficult for us to book and additional family and extra room. Showed little compassion when arriving late at night after. I rang amd explained our situation so the staff had been aware. Yet they where blunt and quite frankly rude. They stayed in the lines of professionalism but very disappointing. As much as the rooms are nice, Christchurch has such fantastic hospitality at other hotels I suggested booking else where.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Bianca Hay, General Manager at Heritage Christchurch
Responded 3 Feb 2022
Dear Kowhaiflow Thank you providing your feedback on your recent stay at Heritage Christchurch . We are sorry to hear you were unsatisfied with our policies and procedures. As you had made the booking for your father, we had explained that when a reservation is made online, we require the credit card used to be presented on check in for security purposes. This was stated in your terms and conditions. As this was not possible due to your father travelling alone without the credit card that was used, we explained that we could refund the original card and take payment on the card presented on arrival. I understand you found this unsatisfactory, however, we had your best interests in mind. I am sorry if you felt our team had been rude as this was of course not our intent and is why our Hotel Manager spoke to you directly to explain our procedures. I am pleased to hear you found the Suite to your liking and if you do choose to come back and stay with us please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly. Kind Regards
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$143 - US$204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
heritage christchurch hotel christchurch, christchurch heritage hotel
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionChristchurch
NUMBER OF ROOMS
35
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Heritage Christchurch
Which popular attractions are close to Heritage Christchurch?
Nearby attractions include Margaret Mahy Family Playground (0.4 km), Quake City (0.5 km), and 185 Empty White Chairs - Earthquake Memorial (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Heritage Christchurch?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Heritage Christchurch?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Heritage Christchurch?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Heritage Christchurch?
Yes, paid public parking nearby, paid public parking on-site, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Heritage Christchurch?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dosa Kitchen Riverside Market, Soul Quarter, and Jaba Grill and Bar, City.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Heritage Christchurch?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is Heritage Christchurch located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Christchurch.
Are any cleaning services offered at Heritage Christchurch?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Heritage Christchurch?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Russian, Hindi, and Japanese.
Are there any historical sites close to Heritage Christchurch?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Riccarton House & Bush (3.1 km), Mona Vale (2.7 km), and Ferrymead Heritage Park (6.5 km).