We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
159 Manchester Street, Christchurch 8011 New Zealand
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Official Hotel
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (50)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#103 of 159 hotels in Christchurch
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Room features
Air conditioning
Refrigerator
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
41Reviews1Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 23
  • 7
  • 4
  • 1
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Marlaina C wrote a review May 2022
New Plymouth, New Zealand2730 contributions194 helpful votes
+1
I was so pleasantly surprised by this hotel, don’t be put off by it’s grey exterior, because the bright art works dotted around more than make up for it. The amuse was clean, bright and ultra friendly. What I loved was how I was made to feel so welcome by staff. This hotel was spotless. What I also loved was that there was coffee bar adjacent. Another popular feature was a rooftop bar and a restaurant on another floor. My room may have been small but well positioned furniture, made it seem larger. The bed was so comfortable and wonderful large towels. Nespresso machine, mini fridge. Being alone this size room was perfect. Plus it’s slap bang in the middle of the city. What’s not to like for sure. I will most certainly be back and I highly recommend x10.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: If you can go without a car it’s so easy, walking distance plus Ole cabs are cost effective.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
katie8383 wrote a review Mar 2022
Wellington, New Zealand123 contributions88 helpful votes
We stayed here for 1 night in January. Before I begin, this hotel has the potential to be so much better with just a few changes. The room was comfortable and spacious enough, however as stated by other reviewers the cleaning standards are not as good as other hotels, our bathroom had marks all over the mirror. Additionally when we checked in there were a bag of dirty towels outside our room, they weren't moved until the following day, not a nice thing to come out and see every time we left our room. The carpets in the halls also need replacing as they are very worn and dirty. The reception staff were also not very friendly or welcoming, however the team up at the pink lady rooftop in the hotel were very friendly and personable when we visited for drinks. We would probably look to stay elsewhere when we visit Christchurch again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Josephine S wrote a review Feb 2022
3 contributions
The hotel has all aspects to the city life, the style is very Lux and it location is perfect for a quick walk around the city. However we booked a standard king room and we where situated under the pink lady, constant noises from that level - till 11am of knocking assuming someone was cleaning. The room was freezing along with the water but that warmed up, the cleaning was 4/10 very dusty, bathroom was not clean with previous guest leaving marks on shower doors and tv was damaged. I would recommend staying here that if the cleaning and making the space feel warmer was provided.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
SententiaOnTravel wrote a review Feb 2022
Auckland Central, New Zealand69 contributions58 helpful votes
I booked this hotel purely on the idea from the Australian Art Series hotels. High-bar set! It was a good hotel, I loved the art and the room. The rooftop bar - very impressive visually, and my partner loved the cocktails. The wine was 50/50 at best (oxidised.) Being fair, most bars don't train their staff in oxidisation. But it was outside the room that was below par. Carparking, not sure what to say about that. I understand there was an earthquake, but the carparking is a free-for-all on gravel. Very uneven gravel. Twice I used the elevator, and it was full of other stuff, no staff, just other stuff. I think it will be a very good hotel, but they are not quite there yet.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Muse Hotel, Other at The Muse Christchurch
Responded 9 Feb 2022
Thank you for staying with us; we much value your feedback on your overall good experience at The Muse Art Hotel. Greatly appreciate the time to raise these concerns with us. We'll use the feedback to improve and prevent it from occurring again. We hope to see you again in the near future. Sincere Regards, Anshul Nagpal Hotel Service Manager The Muse Art Hotel
Read more
KiwiDavebr wrote a review Nov 2021
Taupo, New Zealand193 contributions133 helpful votes
6 of us stayed here for three nights which was our second visit I have to say the standard wasn’t quite as good as it was in the past The house keeping has become. Bit slack with us having to ask for extra bits and pieces Disappointing now that they don’t do breakfast any more which used to be very good Still good value for money
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Muse Hotel, Other at The Muse Christchurch
Responded 1 Dec 2021
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at The Muse Art Hotel. We are working with the related businesses to open their services in the upcoming days for our guests to experience the full hospitality. We'll talk to the staff about your issues and make sure they're aware that our service was not up to par in this case. We recognize that it is all about consistency, and while the majority of our guests compliment us on how well the crew looks after them, we are always reminded that we are only as good as the last guest we served. Once again we apologize if you felt this situation could have been handled differently - we do hope that you enjoyed your time and we will look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Warm regards, Anshul Nagpal Hotel Service Manager
Read more
Arthur880 wrote a review Aug 2021
Auckland, New Zealand11 contributions2 helpful votes
Really different and cozy decor. Comfy beds, high quality bathroom. Capsule coffee machine. The Pink Lady rooftop bar is one the top of the hotel, great for a late night drink. Will definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
John boyd wrote a review May 2021
Wellington, New Zealand14 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
Well where do I begin... Room on Saturday 22nd was not ready at 3.30pm, was offered a drink nothing. Got into room around 4pm the room look liked it wasn't done properly, poo in the toliet yes thats right poo how could you miss that ? Rubbish bin wasn't clean, water in the coffee machine, soap still left for a guest before, face cloths were dirty, shampoos etc wasn't topped up, no pillow case on the pillow, bed looked like it was remade. Not to mention the carpets arr disgusting like they were the last time I stayed. I asked to speak the the manager of the hotel 4 times all I got was he's busy or he's not here manager seems not the care about this place. Worse hotel in Christchurch for a weekend away!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Manager Muse Hotel, Other at The Muse Christchurch
Responded 24 Jul 2021
Hi Thanks for your review, we tried to check from your arrival date mentioned above and your name, we couldn't find any reservation under your name. You have mentioned you asked to speak to the manager 4 times, and all 4 times you were told manager was busy?? it shouldn't have been the case. Appreciate if you could please give us a call. We have room check process in place, after the room is cleaned thoroughly, it is normally subject to be inspected by Housekeeping Supervisor before being issued to Guest. To take up this matter ahead we look forward to your call. We are extremely surprised by your review.
Read more
FoodLover wrote a review Apr 2021
Dunedin, New Zealand12 contributions2 helpful votes
Cosy rooms and good bathrooms. Service was alright, and the breakfast was good. The packages were very confusing with the breakfasts tho - and I found some stains on our blankets, aswell as our face towels getting taken away during room service but not replaced?
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
83114 wrote a review Mar 2021
31 contributions4 helpful votes
I had purchased a 2 night stay voucher via grabone, I thought as I wasn’t going to use the voucher I would Surprise my sister, her husband and the child a night away. Before I booked anything contacted the hotel with a copy of my voucher and asked if it was ok if a child stayed as well and to only use it for one night not the two. This was all ok so booked it. They booked it in for 2 nights so rang a couple of days before to change to just the one night and then to check about car parking, was allocated a park at no cost due to only staying 1 night. All fine until they got back at midnight after the event they went to and there was no carparks available, decided it was easier to grab things from the room clock out and drive home that night than try find a carpark somewhere else and carry a sleeping child how ever far they found a carpark away. The hotel has since tried to charge them for breakfast, something that was included in the voucher but something that also wasn’t had as didn’t stay, would definitely not recommend to stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
62Peter1952 wrote a review Mar 2021
Ashburton, New Zealand216 contributions37 helpful votes
My new accommodation when staying in Christchurch. A new hotel on Manchester street, which offers quality accommodation. The rooms are well laid out, and the bathrooms have very good facilities. A restaurant, is situated on the ground floor , unfortunately, doesn't open until 7.00 am. Also, a roof top bar, to enjoy a pleasant night. A good place to stay, that is so handy, to the bus centre, trams, and open spaces.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$95 - US$125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionChristchurch
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Muse Christchurch
Which popular attractions are close to The Muse Christchurch?
Nearby attractions include CodeBreakers (0.5 km), 185 Empty White Chairs - Earthquake Memorial (0.3 km), and Cardboard Cathedral (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Muse Christchurch?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and complimentary tea.
What food & drink options are available at The Muse Christchurch?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to The Muse Christchurch?
Conveniently located restaurants include Dosa Kitchen Riverside Market, Soul Quarter, and Jaba Grill and Bar, City.
Is The Muse Christchurch located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Christchurch.
Are there any historical sites close to The Muse Christchurch?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Riccarton House & Bush (3.3 km), Mona Vale (2.9 km), and Ferrymead Heritage Park (6.3 km).