We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
166 Gloucester Street, Christchurch 8011 New Zealand
eDreams
Priceline
FindHotel
Agoda.com
getaroom.com
Snaptravel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (324)
Room & Suite (129)
Dining (16)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 15/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Updated 15/12/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#29 of 159 hotels in Christchurch
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch is centrally located just one block from Cathedral Square and right next to the Christchurch Tramway, allowing you to jump on a restored vintage tram for a tour around the city. If you’d rather explore on foot, the city’s beautiful Botanic Gardens, Hagley Park, Canterbury Museum, and Cashel Street’s trendy Re:START mall are all an easy walk away. Christchurch International Airport is only 25 minutes by car, meaning you can be off the plane and checked-in by the hotel’s friendly front desk staff in no time. Enjoy a pre-dinner drink in the chic hotel bar or drop by the in-house restaurant to sample contemporary cuisine featuring the best in-season ingredients from around the region.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
24-hour security
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
2996Reviews32Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,273
  • 1,209
  • 375
  • 103
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Daydream661819 wrote a review Oct 2021
7 contributions
It is in a handy location but the hotel itself has very tired rooms with very very small windows and very noisy plumbing. The heating was erratic and when we came back in on Sunday the cleaner had turned the heating off...it took hours to heat it again
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Kate R wrote a review Oct 2021
Cromwell, New Zealand6 contributions8 helpful votes
This property has always been brilliant to stay at. Everything is just right and nothing is a problem. It is always welcoming, the staff are amazing, the rooms are lovely, the location is spot on and the overall experience is fabulous.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Faisal Sayed, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Responded 23 Oct 2021
Dear Kate R, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are truly delighted to hear that you had the perfect accommodation and staff. At the Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch, we take great pleasure in providing quality service to all our guests and it is very encouraging to hear we ticked all the right boxes during your stay. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to having you staying with us again. Kind regards, Faisal Sayed General Manager
Read more
vlbpooxucd wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
Wanted a nice time was nothing like in photos very unhappy for the money spent not enough shampoo or conditioner and off very poor quality had no veiw and surely the hotel wasn't booked out so why werent we give the same as advertised
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Faisal Sayed, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Responded 23 Oct 2021
Dear vlbpooxucd, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are disappointed to hear that the hotel did not meet your expectations, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences this may have caused you. In the hotel, we assign the rooms according to what you booked through online, this is not changed. We would like to know what room you were booked into as that would help us investigate further. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Kind regards, Faisal Sayed General Manager
Read more
marcusmcmahon1 wrote a review Sep 2021
Invercargill, New Zealand32 contributions14 helpful votes
Made the mistake of returning to this hotel with an paid upgrade it was a joke. The rooms small and unkept, no balcony furniture, lights broken and when front desk advised nothing was done. Extremely disappointing would not return,
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Faisal Sayed, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Responded 9 Oct 2021
Dear marcusmcmahon1, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. On behalf of the whole team, please accept my sincere apologies for the unpleasant stay you experienced. We strive to ensure our guests experience the best visits possible during their travels and we fell short of our goal this time. I completely understand how frustrating this must have been and I am truly embarrassed you experienced this during your stay. This is not the kind of customer service we strive for and generally maintain in our hotel. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope one day in the future you may give us the opportunity to atone for this occasion. Kind regards, Faisal Sayed General Manager
Read more
Scenic26406 wrote a review Sep 2021
3 contributions
Excellent accommodation in the heart of christchurch , the staff could not do enough for us and the food was of excellent quality at a realistic price . The hotel room was clean and tidy with everything you would expect from a five star hotel .
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Faisal Sayed, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Responded 9 Oct 2021
Dear Scenic26406, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you were well looked after by our team and that you enjoyed our food, cleanliness, room amenities and location. Excellent to see we ticked all the right boxes and that you had a nice relaxing stay in the city centre. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Faisal Sayed General Manager
Read more
merrin_taratoa wrote a review Sep 2021
Otaki, New Zealand1 contribution
Extremely well located hotel to city shops, attractions and restaurants. Staff extremely courteous. Our room was very clean and was made up even when we didn't request it. Breakfasts were lovely. Would recommend to others.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Faisal Sayed, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Responded 8 Oct 2021
Dear merrin_taratoa, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. It is great to see we ticked all the right boxes during your stay. We are pleased you found our hotel to be in a great location within walking distance to downtown shopping. This makes it very convenient to go out for stroll or to have a coffee in one of the nearby coffee shops. We shared your comments with team, they were delighted to know they took good care of you during your stay. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Faisal Sayed General Manager
Read more
Teressa G wrote a review Sep 2021
Dunedin, New Zealand12 contributions12 helpful votes
Staff were friendly and tried to be helpful. Room was nice and clean and had everything it needed. However... we were staying two nights, were woken at 8.30 on the Saturday morning by frantic knocking by the cleaning staff. We rushed to the door and they wanted to service our room - we were still sleeping! I paid $50 for two nights of valet parking. They took my keys etc, which would have been fine - except they left it park on the footpath side of the security gate so it may as well have been parked on the street. I really don't see why I should have been charged an additional $50.00 for parking I didn't get. Then the second night, we wanted room service - restaurant was open the previous night and no signs were up stating it was closed. So we called... oh, the restaurant is closed during the weekends! What? Where's the signs? My partner requested my car be moved when he went out to get food (he walked) and we were told they were too short staffed. Again, why did I have to pay for valet parking? If my car was going to sit in the driveway all night, I could have kept my keys!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Faisal Sayed, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Responded 9 Oct 2021
Dear teressaw2014, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. I am truly sorry about the housekeeping team member knocking on your door. This is not a common occurrence at our hotel and it should not have happened. This has been reiterated to the housekeeping team to ensure it does not recur. Regarding the car park, this was miscommunication from our team. Your car did not fit in the standard stacker system we use. We have several spaces for sedans, but limited number for larger cars. This should have been communicated to you. The team member decided to keep the car in our driveway due to the fact that it can be monitored by us at all times via our camera system, so we knew it was secure. I checked your bill and you were only charged for one night parking. This, however, has now been cancelled and a refund done to your card. I empathise with your comments regarding the restaurant. We have taken them into consideration and we will ensure we communicate better with our guests in the future. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Kind regards, Faisal Sayed General Manager
Read more
janellemcstay wrote a review Sep 2021
Christchurch, New Zealand1 contribution
Cleaning staff were excellent, food was and up and down, drinks were good. Rooms were small and a lack of ventilation. Parking is a bit expensive, but still better than leaving your car outside overnight. The location is also very good. Reception staff were eager to help with any request.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Faisal Sayed, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Responded 8 Oct 2021
Dear janellemcstay, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are truly sorry that the room and the food did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this caused you. We have taken note of the comments regarding the cleaning staff and have shared them with the team. Once again, thank you for your review and we hope you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Kind regards, Faisal Sayed General Manager
Read more
Bones8686 wrote a review Sep 2021
1 contribution
Absolutely amazing experience, special mention to Duty Manager Sarah who went over and above our expectations. My ute was too tall for the valet parking, so she accommodated us by putting it in a safe driveway with full view of the cameras as I had used street parking the night before and someone had gone through my ute tray
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Faisal Sayed, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Responded 8 Oct 2021
Dear Bones8686, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. It is great that we ticked all the right boxes during your last minute weekend stay. We have shared your comments with Sarah and she is very happy that you had such a great stay and that she was able to help you with your vehicle. Sarah is indeed a great team member and we are happy to have her working with us. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience. We hope your next stay is as pleasant as the last one. Kind regards, Faisal Sayed General Manager
Read more
Kecosddj wrote a review Aug 2021
Auckland, New Zealand1 contribution
Very kind and helpful staff, a welcoming place from check in to check out. Clean and tidy, well looked after and organised :) arrived for business, first time we had been to Christchurch. We were welcomed and swiftly directed to our rooms where they offered to move our car to the parking provided. The menu had a great variety too with the option of delivery or dining
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Faisal Sayed, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Responded 8 Oct 2021
Dear Kecosddj, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to read your review and we sincerely appreciate your acknowledgement of our service leaders who made your stay memorable from your arrival to your departure. The team appreciate your kind words and are very proud that you were well looked after. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we trust your next stay will be as pleasant as the last one. Kind regards, Faisal Sayed General Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$103 - US$154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Marque Hotel
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionChristchurch
NUMBER OF ROOMS
171
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Which popular attractions are close to Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch?
Nearby attractions include Margaret Mahy Family Playground (0.3 km), Quake City (0.5 km), and 185 Empty White Chairs - Earthquake Memorial (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch?
Conveniently located restaurants include Soul Quarter, Permit Room, and Mumbaiwala Indian Street Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Christchurch.
Does Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Riccarton House & Bush (3.1 km), Mona Vale (2.7 km), and Ferrymead Heritage Park (6.6 km).
Is Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.