We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Avon City Motel

Save
Share
402 Main North Road, Christchurch 8051 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
eDreams
Expedia.com
US$85
View Deal
Free cancellation until 02/02/21
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#75 of 154 hotels in Christchurch
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Affordable, spacious ground floor accommodation located on the Main North Road, Redwood and only 10 minutes drive to the city centre. Avon City Motel is conveniently located 8 minutes from the Christchurch International Airport. Orana Park, and Burwood Hospital are within 10 minutes drive of the motel. Avon City Motel is the ideal base to explore Christchurch's attractions. When staying at Avon City Motel you can enjoy their award winning gardens.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Baggage storage
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Housekeeping
Sofa
Telephone
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Complimentary toiletries
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Thai
37Reviews0Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 28
  • 5
  • 2
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
11spencer wrote a review Dec 2015
Blenheim, New Zealand6 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed at this motel Christmas eve ,it was all you could ask for .Clean, a very warm welcome from the owners and a garden --- well if you love gardens like i do its a must see .Christmas morning we where greeted at the door with a card and a bucket of cookies ,how is that for amazing .We will be certain to stay there again if the need arises.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015
Helpful
Share
Response from David K, Owner at Avon City Motel
Responded 31 Dec 2015
Thank you, 11spencer, for such lovely comments. Our garden is very beautiful and is a credit to our meticulous gardener. It was a pleasure to give a wee gift on Christmas morning. Hope you enjoyed them. We look forward to your next stay with us. Val and David
Read more
A1AsphaltLtd wrote a review Dec 2015
Queenstown, New Zealand1 contribution
Absolutely Fantastic motel, lovely service, very helpful, very tidy and clean rooms, and great prices, food nextdoor makes it easy to get to, il be back and so to our compary A1 Asphalt ltd queenstown crew love this place, the best in christchurch and we have stayed at a few here, Recommend to all. AAA+++
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015
Helpful
Share
Response from David K, Owner at Avon City Motel
Responded 14 Dec 2015
Thank you A1 Asphalt Ltd Canterbury for such a great review. We pride ourselves in all the attributes you mentioned. We have very meticulous cleaners who maintain the high standard of cleanliness that guests expect and we all aim to make everyone's stay here as pleasant as possible. Have a great Christmas and we look forward to seeing you again in the New Year. Val and David
Read more
Andrew D wrote a review Dec 2015
Pukekohe1 contribution
We visited Christchurch recently . staying at avon city motel. A really neat place , which was clean and tidy with excellent service and ideally located, handy to the city and a short drive to Woodford glen speedway
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015
Helpful
Share
Response from David K, Owner at Avon City Motel
Responded 9 Dec 2015
Thank you, Andrew, for taking the time to write a review about your stay here. We are pleased that you enjoyed staying with us and found everything to your satisfaction. We look forward to accommodating you all again in the future. Val and David
Read more
phynnsmum wrote a review Oct 2015
Blenheim, New Zealand1 contribution
We booked our accommodation and advised that we would not be arriving til midnight due to coming over from Australia. Unfortunately our flight was delayed and we go to the motel after 2 am and to our delight the motel heating was on, electric blankets were going and a lovely note from Val, the manager greeted us on our arrival. The next day we called into see her and thank her and she said she stayed up waiting for us til just before 2 am. Such amazing service. Val is great, nothing is too much for her to make our stay comfortable. We have stayed here a number of times and each time our expectations have been exceeded.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2015
Helpful
Share
Response from David K, Owner at Avon City Motel
Responded 22 Oct 2015
Thank you, "Phynnsmum" for your great review. There is nothing better than a nice warm bed and room to come back to, especially if you have been in Australia! We look forward to your next stay with us and guarantee that you will continue to receive the individual service that you are accustomed to. David Keir
Read more
Maria W wrote a review May 2015
1 contribution
We had a wonderful stay at this motel. Val, one of the owners, was so accommodating by stay up until 1am to hand us the keys, some fresh milk and welcome us. She had put on the heating in our room some hours before and it was lovely and warm and welcoming. She also organised a taxi for us and gave us a discount voucher for the taxi. We slept in the most comfortable and warm bed that we have ever slept in. If we could have packed up the bed and taken it back with, we would have. Thank you Val and we will be staying with you again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015
Helpful
Share
Response from David K, Owner at Avon City Motel
Responded 29 May 2015
Thank you, Maria, for taking the time to write such a great review. It was a pleasure to have you both stay with us. We think that it adds a "personal touch" to be met on arrival so late at night, instead of having to find your unit in the dark. We know that it is not very often practical for moteliers to greet their guests for a late arrival, but I am always up late so it gives me great satisfaction to be able to do so. We look forward to your next stay. Val and David
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$71 - US$87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionChristchurch
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing