We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Avon City Motel

Save
Share
402 Main North Road, Christchurch 8051 New Zealand
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#74 of 154 hotels in Christchurch
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Affordable, spacious ground floor accommodation located on the Main North Road, Redwood and only 10 minutes drive to the city centre. Avon City Motel is conveniently located 8 minutes from the Christchurch International Airport. Orana Park, and Burwood Hospital are within 10 minutes drive of the motel. Avon City Motel is the ideal base to explore Christchurch's attractions. When staying at Avon City Motel you can enjoy their award winning gardens.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Baggage storage
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Housekeeping
Sofa
Telephone
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Complimentary toiletries
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Thai
37Reviews0Q+A7Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 28
  • 5
  • 2
  • 0
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Juliemagu wrote a review Feb 2018
Durham, United Kingdom27 contributions9 helpful votes
Just round the corner from our sons ideal location on bus route into town ,spotless rooms with TV ,kitchen and free wifi the exterior is perfect with well maintained gardens and courtyards ,reasonably priced ,highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from David K, Owner at Avon City Motel
Responded 12 Feb 2018
Thank you Julie for your lovely comments. Hope to see you again sometime in the future. Val and David
Read more
brainiacmaniac142 wrote a review Dec 2017
Swindon, United Kingdom21 contributions1 helpful vote
This small motel off main north road is family run ( and has been for years ) .Although is is off a busy road you just don't hear anything at all, which is helpful for a good night sleep. They do have a washing machine and tumble dryer should you need them.(price $5 for wash, 5 for dry. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from David K, Owner at Avon City Motel
Responded 20 Feb 2018
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your positive comments. Hope to see you again next time you are in Christchurch. Val and David
Read more
reynagraves wrote a review Mar 2017
Phoenix, Arizona4 contributions
Best option in Christchurch. Room has everything you need and is super clean. Val the owner is amazing. Kind and unbelievably accommodating. My mom and I were in Christchurch for almost three weeks since my dad was in the hospital in the area. Val did everything she could to help us when we needed it including rides to the hospital. Avon city motel was not the closest place to the hospital but we chose to stay there the whole time since the room s were great and we felt safe and comfortable there. Val has become a friend and if we are ever back in Christchurch we will definitely stay there again. Please recommend Avon city motel to anyone staying in Christchurch.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from David K, Owner at Avon City Motel
Responded 28 Mar 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review, Reyna, especially as you must be busy caring for your dad. It was an absolute pleasure having you and your mum stay with us and we sincerely hope that your dad is on the road to recovery. I enjoyed the time I spent with you and your mum when I took you to the hospital and miss our daily chats. People like you two remind us why we bought into the motel industry. The wonderful guests we meet from all over the world make it all worthwhile. Val and David
Read more
Shamilton24 wrote a review Mar 2017
Christchurch, New Zealand5 contributions2 helpful votes
Would not stay here. If you park in the wrong parking spot, the manager will intentionally park you in despite an otherwise completely empty lot! Not a way to promote business. Have made it a point to tell others not to stay here based on such a poor experience here.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from David K, Owner at Avon City Motel
Responded 9 Mar 2017
Wow - We honestly cannot believe this review!! We are saddened that someone who has not stayed at our lovely establishment can write the above comment. As you can see from the many comments below our guests rate our kind hospitality and clean units. We are a business and to have a member of the public decide they can use our carpark for their own personal use and then write a petty complaint on Trip Advisor, because we would not allow them to park is very unfair and quite worrying as it opens a door for any person to write a damaging review about a business and not have to face any consequences. A little common courtesy from this reviewer would have gone a long way - all they had to do was come and explain their situation to us before leaving their car and we would have taken a different viewpoint. We did not park our car behind this person, a lovely elderly couple was staying here and got a little confused as they had been parking their car in the same place all week so they parked behind this person and gave the keys to the office. Under no circumstances were we rude to this person and we see this comment as a smear on our business. Val and David
Read more
392aldcroft wrote a review Jan 2017
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom1 contribution
every thing about this motel fantastic.from the owners to gardens.and the situation of the motel its handy for every thing.even with a bus stop at the front of the motel. this motel is 10 minuets from every ware.airport. Christchurch city centre.to malls.you are the main rd to go north.e garage and a few shops very close by.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2017
Helpful
Share
Response from David K, Owner at Avon City Motel
Responded 9 Feb 2017
Thank you for your positive review. We hope to see you again next time you are in Christchurch. Val and David
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$71 - US$87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionChristchurch
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing