At The Right Place
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

At The Right Place

85 - 87 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013 New Zealand
Traveller (13)
Room & Suite (32)
Impossible de faire la cuisine. Tout est ultra détérioré. Des bouts de carbone dans les plats !!
Dining (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.0
#92 of 97 motels in Christchurch
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
At The Right Place provides diverse and comfortable accommodation and is situated only 10 minutes walk from the city centre, botanical gardens, Hagley Park and Arts Centre. There are also plenty of restaurants & cafes in close proximity. All rooms and accommodation are located at the end of a 70 metre driveway, set well away from busy roads to give you a quieter and more relaxing place to stay.Quality Backpackers accommodation with comfortable common areas, free tea and coffee for all guests and friendly staff. All units have their own kitchen and bathroom amenities, are double glazed for extra comfort and opening direct or overlooking our private garden, bbq and play area. On-site facilities include internet access (broadband and wireless), guest laundry, excellent off-street parking. Proudly Kiwi owned and operated!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Golf course
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Room features
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget

Location

85 - 87 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch 8013 New Zealand
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 78 out of 100
78
Christchurch Intl Airport
81Reviews2Q+A9Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 14
  • 26
  • 15
  • 13
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Judy H wrote a review Nov 2016
306 contributions168 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The important things to know are that

You pay for what you get,

The bed has clean sheets ànd is very comfortable.

Fixtures and fittings are minimal; window blinds have seen better days

The showers are new, hot and have great water pressure. Clean towels are provided. Amenities for disabled are provided.

The Kitchen is communal and 'lived' in, the sink drainer is stacked precariously with washed dishes, which is better than un washed.

Fridges are communal and chock bloc with others named provisions.

The lounge is very spacious comfy and has a warm friendly feel. A flatscreen TV to watch.

There are fresh colourfully painted walls, ceilings are peeling

Staffs are very friendly and helpful.

It is adequate and a cheap, comfortable bed for the night.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CeciliaMah wrote a review May 2015
Johor Bahru, Malaysia40 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stay in apartment instead of backpacker.
The first day I arrive i was offered a free milk, but not for the following day, I suppose I might need to request instead. And some items like kitchen towels/ soap & etc are not replaced by housekeeping too.
Kitchen consider clean and quite fully equipped, but without hood, it is very smelly after cooking even i'd open the window for hours (and it was so cold during my stay at Christchurch).
If you intend to take shuttle to Akaroa, this might be one of the ideal location, as the shuttle offer door step pick-up from At The Right Place. So you no need to rush to assembly point early in the morning.
Easy check-out procedure, just drop the key through the hole on the reception door.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Glen C, Manager at At The Right Place
Responded 27 Jul 2015
Thanks for your review. We appreciate your comments and recommendations. The hostel is not a new building, however we try to keep it clean and tidy for all our guests. thanks again safe travels see you soon denise
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
maggallagher wrote a review Apr 2015
44 contributions38 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We really enjoyed our the night stay in this little gem of a place. We stayed in the Motel part which we found to be reasonably priced, clean, spacious and well equipped. The rooms are lovely and quiet and location offers a perfect base to explore Christchurch. Really enjoyable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Glen C, Manager at At The Right Place
Responded 16 Jan 2016
Hi there, It is always nice to receive a nice comment and help us reinsure that we are doing our best to have happy travelers through New Zealand, hope to see you soon, Denise
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karmakaze303 wrote a review Oct 2014
Amsterdam, The Netherlands21 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here on a work exchange; housekeeping duties for accommodation. I liked that the owners wanted to meet me first, to make sure that I'd fit in well with the team during my stay. I was here for about 2 weeks and really enjoyed it. The owners (Hi, Glen and Co.!) are very well traveled themselves and understand the expectations of their guests.

Good location, easy to walk to the CBD, museum, Hagley Park, etc. Plenty of communal space for mingling with new friends and enforced quiet hours to keep the place pleasant for everyone. They did have one bike to borrow while I was there, would be great to have a few more so guests could adventure together! Other hostels I've worked at also had a separate dorm for workers which would have been really great here as well.

A great stay in Christchurch. This hostel and its crew definitely made the dreary, gray days bright. So glad to have been part of the team, thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: There are plenty of options here. The motel rooms will obviously be the most private and quiet....
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chinmay Pathak wrote a review Apr 2019
Glasgow, United Kingdom36 contributions14 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place could top the list of worst backpackers in CHC. I booked my room 4 months ago and my booking was confirmed, but at check in the receptionist said he has no information about my booking in his system!! Unwelcoming attitude, it took me 20
minutes to check in and the stupid door lock code wasn’t working well.
Room was shabby, bathrooms are tiny and uncomfortable. Worst experience ever!! I cancelled my stay with them in June. 👎🏽
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kelsey B wrote a review Mar 2017
15 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
It's dirty. I get that it's a backpackers but it's just a slum. There is a pile of lost property labelled "free stuff" in the hallway which is just messy. Donate it?
The toilets had very little toilet paper and by the next morning had nothing. The toilet floors were wet with who knows what... it stunk of urine.
I didn't want to shower because I had no sandals with me to wear and it didn't look clean.
The lock didn't work on the disabled toilet, anyone could walk in. We were right next to the front door and it was slamming constantly through the night.
I'll be spending more to stay somewhere nicer next time I have to be in Christchurch.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leon T wrote a review Nov 2016
21 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Been to 2 other hostels on bealey av and this one is definitely not 'the right place'. Not clean, fridge and kitchen sticky and I found out why.
The 1 person they had for cleaning was vacuuming the counters instead of cleaning them.
Owner was not nice. We checked out and cleared our room but wanted to make some food for on the road, he wanted us to pay 10 dollars to use the facilities.. ridiculous, first time in 3 months in NZ that I've seen that..
Beds were fine and the parking was nice.

Will be going to kiwi basecamp again next time.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kevin M wrote a review Mar 2016
5 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The location itself is nice. Near to the city center. But dont stay there for more than one night, and only if you have to!

There was lots of mold in the double room I stayed in.
The Kittchen that we got to use was terrible. The heatplates were not working, except for one.
For poor service pretty expensive.

Free WIFI is only 100mb.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2016
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Watch out for mould!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Denise L, Manager at At The Right Place
Responded 26 Mar 2016
Thanks fro your review . We do appreciate comments that help us improve our business, we really would've love to have the opportunity to listen at your comments before reading them on trip advisor. We do our best to ventilate the rooms, however sometimes guest leaves lots of condensation through long showers and leaving wet towels on the ground. We do our best to keep the place in good conditions and we do apologies for your inconvenience. AS we said before, if you only came to the office and explain your issue we could've solve it straight away and your experience would've been much more enjoyable, Safe travels Denise
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anna wrote a review Jul 2015
Brussels, Belgium180 contributions103 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked 2 beds in a dorm but acutally they had a special promotion so they gave us a private double room for just 5$ more.
The whole hostel is clean and quiet, we didn t noticed anyone untill the next morning when we met some people in the small but nice kitchen.
The only negative is that they provide you with 100mb of free itnernet but it doesn t work in the backpackers section.
Free parking!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Glen C, Manager at At The Right Place
Responded 16 Jan 2016
Hi there, IT is always nice to receive a nice comment and help us reinsure that we are doing our best to have happy travelers through New Zealand, hope to see you soon, Denise
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
peek1982 wrote a review Apr 2015
London, United Kingdom69 contributions27 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Hostel review- Having backpacked around the whole of New Zealand I have stayed in a fair few hostels so I am happy to say this place was the worst bed I have stayed in. The bunk was a lot narrower than normal bunks, balancing on the edge became a game during the night. The bunk above was also very low, I was on the bottom bunk and couldn't sit up. The pillow was so bad that I could roll it up like a cigar and it still wasn't thick enough to support my head. The cold steal bar that ran along the top and bottom of the bunk did nothing to stop my wafer thin pillow from escaping but did manage to bash my head throughout the night. The duvet was equally as thin and if you have ever put a single duvet inside a double cover then you will know the pain of losing the duvet to one corner and trying to stay warm with only the cover part. This brings me to trying to stay warm...I normally sleep in not very much but it was so cold in the room I had to be duly clothed. The windows don't have any curtains only blinds like you are in an office so the single pane glass didn't stop the cold air blowing on top of me. I don't think the entire hostel has heating, everyone sits around the common area wrapped in blankets and sitting on the odd furniture which has clearly been collected off the streets. The place has more of a feel of a crack den than a hostel. Its not even that cold 5 degrees outside but we can all see our breath. The kitchen is small but fully stocked, there is only 2 showers for the whole place. The one I used didn't even lock and u have to be as agile as a gymnasts to manoeuvre to open the shower door and not get crushed against the sliding door. The entire hostel is lit by very weak energy saving light bulbs sporadically situated around the place, badly lighting the place which only adds to the crack den feel. The exception is the kitchen which seems to go to the other extreme and takes a while for your eyes to adjust. The decor is very odd as well, with every room painted a different bright colour, yellow, red, green etc which makes the place feel more like a clown crack den I guess. On the positive note the staff are all very friendly but for $27 a night for a 8 bed dorm(room 6) is not even that cheap, spend the extra dollar if you need to and stay somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Glen C, Manager at At The Right Place
Responded 27 Jul 2015
Thanks for your comments. we always do our best for our customers and we appreciate all feedback. Just to let you know we have more than two toilets and showers (main building we have 4 toilets and 3 showers) and then in the other ones a toilet and shower every 5 perople. Also the maximum beds in a dorm in our backpackers is 6 (six). We provide blankets and heaters in every room, NO EXEMPTIONS, . The hostel is not a new building, however we try to keep it clean and tidy for all our guests. It is a shame you didn't come and speak in reception about the things you complaint in this wall. We could've explain and / or fixed some of the things went wrong for you. We are very sorry you hadn't have a good experience, however, we deal with lots of backpackers and most of them love the place and the ambiance we create. We have lots of people coming back and also recommending our place. So we are very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy and we look forward to may be having a second chance. Hope you have a good day We see you next time hopefully, safe travels
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tony318 asked a question Aug 2017
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia2 contributions6 helpful votes
Do you have a booking for Anthony Brian Webb for December 18
ifbigboy asked a question Aug 2016
Detroit, Michigan
is there a mini-fridge for my insulian
Answer from atrp
Christchurch, New Zealand2 contributions
in the motel units we provide one mini-fridge in each room.thanks
Jane H wrote a tip Mar 2018
Hereford, United Kingdom15 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't bother there are plenty of others on Bealey Avenue to choose from"
Read full review
ika165 wrote a tip Jan 2018
beerot144 contributions19 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"take the upgraded room"
Read full review
Kevin M wrote a tip Mar 2016
5 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Watch out for mould!"
Read full review
KangaRoon wrote a tip Jan 2015
Chicago, Illinois12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I only saw my room, room 6, which was great because it had red walls (my favourite colour) and has two huge bay windows that open and let a nice cross breeze in"
Read full review
Karmakaze303 wrote a tip Oct 2014
Amsterdam, The Netherlands21 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are plenty of options here. The motel rooms will obviously be the most private and quiet. Choose a dorm if you are traveling alone or looking to make friends! Rooms nearest the kitchen will be the noisiest if you are an early to bed type, but the whole place is pretty quiet after 11pm."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Christchurch area.
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Akron Motel
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionChristchurch
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AT THE RIGHT PLACE - Motel Reviews (Christchurch) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about At The Right Place
Which popular attractions are close to At The Right Place?
Nearby attractions include Victoria Street Clock Tower (0.5 km), Red Light District (0.4 km), and The Dirty Land (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at At The Right Place?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, a golf course, and internet access.
What food & drink options are available at At The Right Place?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at At The Right Place?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to At The Right Place?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pedro's House of Lamb, The Goldfinch, and Mexicano's.
Are there any historical sites close to At The Right Place?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Riccarton House & Bush (2.6 km), Mona Vale (1.9 km), and Ferrymead Heritage Park (7.7 km).
All Christchurch HotelsChristchurch Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in ChristchurchHotels near At The Right Place
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire