Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Sundowner Motel

132 Middle Renwick Road, Springlands Springlands, Blenheim 7201 New Zealand
Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (13)
Pool & Beach (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
No prepayment needed
$162
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
Get rewarded with One Key
$142
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
$145
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#13 of 19 motels in Blenheim
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Sundowner Motel in Blenheim, Marlborough, NZ, is an ideal motel complex for business and pleasure. Carol and Peter offer you quality, well-appointed self-contained, spacious, ground floor units with parking directly outside the door. The Sundowner Motel is renowned for its quietness and the convenience of Springlands Shopping Complex directly opposite. We provide our business guests with competitive rates and chargeback facilities. With the Wine District on our doorstep, the beautiful Marlborough Sounds to the North, and Kaikoura and Nelson within easy reach, the ASURE Sundowner Motel is ideally placed for you to enjoy all aspects of the Marlborough Region.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Fence around pool
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Blackout curtains
Dining area
Housekeeping
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English

Location

132 Middle Renwick Road, Springlands Springlands, Blenheim 7201 New Zealand
93Reviews0Q+A17Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 47
  • 33
  • 7
  • 3
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
60stravellers2014 wrote a review Nov 2020
Tauranga, New Zealand394 contributions123 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We found the Asure Sundowner Motel a central place for us to stay. It was 10mins from relatives that we were there to visit and not far from the township. Comfortable place to stay, clean, friendly staff. Would certainly recomment.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Noeline M wrote a review Mar 2023
Christchurch, New Zealand1,068 contribution50 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
A great place to staff, very friendly staff & accommodating for our needs,it was very spacious & comfortable bed . It was so handy to everything , wineries, biking trails, walking ,& was on the main road through to Nelson, it was quiet, main road did not bother us . Across the road was a supermarket, chemist , cafe. Had a great stay & will definitely be back. Would Highly Recommend
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joey95 wrote a review May 2011
Cardiff, United Kingdom47 contributions112 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
+ve
Service - all friendly and helpful
Rooms - large for a motel and well equipped, design amusing with 3 part bathroom and Sky TV
Spa - free spa available which was relaxing
Next to a big supermarket
-ve
Location - quite a way out of Blenheim and not a lot going on around the hotel
Read more
Date of stay: April 2011
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leonard K wrote a review Mar 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Definitely the worst motel I have experienced in 35 years . Filthy unvacuumed carpets. Kitchen hot plates greasy not cleaned. Rancid food smells. Cupboards chipped and swollen . Food dribbles on cupboard doors. Holes in walls where items had been removed. Walls very marked, stained and scraped. Cracks along bathroom joinery. Dirty stained bathroom and shower recess brown with built up scum. Dining and bedside table sticky. In fact most surfaces sticky and scummy. Ants crawling on our bed. No kettle base.
Interior of lower kitchen cupboards dank, smelly. Window coverings old and smelly.
Unfortunately we had no other option for this night’s stay. This establishment is completely devoid of the care and amenities that most other motels offer. I would not recommend it to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kirsty N wrote a review Feb 2024
2 contributions
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Pulled in and barely missed the abandoned shopping trolley. Walked past the rubbish laden laundry delapitated shack and opened my room and felt my heart sink. 1970's decor. Filthy carpet and floor. Dusty and musty. Broken fan plugged into an extention cable. Dirty table. One dirty small pot. Ants. Flies. Broken window. Filthy shower. Small dated TV. Hot 🔥 with no air-conditioning or security so not safe to have open window (broken) or doors. Would NOT recommend unless you have absolutely no other option available.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Advertised as 4 stars but deserved 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DetDuke wrote a review Apr 2023
Toronto, Canada267 contributions66 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The motel was clean but dated. It was quite wart when we checked in and discovered there was no air conditioning. They provided a fan which we had to move from the sitting area to the bedroom so we could sleep. We stayed in the former “honeymoon suite” which had a two person tub with jets. One look at the tub Keillor put you off using it.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
David S wrote a review Feb 2024
3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The motel is rated as 4 star, this may have been in the past, the pictures don’t reflect the property as it currently is, if only the pool looked liked that!!! Tiles missing on the bathroom floor, missing kitchen items, no air con, dated sad rooms. The only bonus is the free washing machine and dryer. It is a shame, as with some effort the property and rooms could be made to be 3 star and more pleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sheilaphillips wrote a review Feb 2015
Liverpool, United Kingdom11 contributions14 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at this motel recently for 2 nights whilst finishing off
a tour of the South Island, New Zealand. A clean airy, tidy motel
with plenty of space. The owners made us feel very welcome.

However, on the second night I was kept awake by a large
wedding group which decided to continue their celebrations
in the outdoor pool into the middle of the night. I wasn't able
to find an out of hours telephone number for the owners so
needed to deal with it myself at 1.30am by going outside to
ask the group to be quiet as we were getting up early to
catch the Ferry.

The owner apologised in the morning but quite frankly we
should have been offered at least a partial refund.

Only stay here if you can cope with the potential for noise.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sundowner_9, Owner at Sundowner Motel
Responded 6 Feb 2015
Sheila, you seemed to have been the only person in the whole complex that was kept awake by our guests who were sitting around the pool, and not all of our guests in all of our units were here for the wedding. You mentioned your husband slept through any noise. There was another bedroom in the unit that you were in that had another king bed in it and you could have shut more doors between you and the people by the pool had you chosen to do that. You were in Unit 1 - the unit that is furtherest away from the pool and there are 7 units in that block between you and the pool. No one else in the complex in units 3 and 4 and 5 that weren't here for the wedding complained re any noise or even mentioned it. Our after hours number by the telephone is in a framed notice and we are in the unit right beside Unit 1 and we didn't hear any noise. All our units have 'double block' between them and are very quiet. Enjoy the year ahead. Kind regards Dorothy & Doug
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Terry F wrote a review May 2015
Toronto, Ontario, Canada1,585 contribution109 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The motel is well situated - right across the street from a shopping centre and a Speight's Ale House. The rooms are a good size, well appointed with a kichenette and wifi. I stayed there at the suggestion of a good friend in Blenheim on the night of March 9th of this year.

The best thing about the Sundowner though was the management. They were friendly, informative and helpful in all aspects of my visit.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: My room was set well back from the road. There was no traffic noise and I don't think anyone...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sundowner_9, Owner at Sundowner Motel
Responded 25 May 2015
Thank you taking the time to review ASURE Sundowner Motel. We do appreciate your feedback and are only too happy to recommend to our guests the activities that are available around Blenheim and Marlborough. Look forward to you staying again when next in New Zealand. Kind regards Dorothy & Doug
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark J wrote a review Jul 2014
Christchurch, New Zealand11 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This motel part of the Asure Accommodation group (check them out) is also one of the best! Having said that they are all good!
Doug and Dorothy sure do run a great motel here in a lovely South Island town. Rooms are spotlessly clean and spacious - love the spa baths, 50 Sky Channels, kitchens etc...
Plenty of local knowledge to boot ...check out the Aviation Center and the local Sav is pretty good too.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sundowner_9, Owner at Sundowner Motel
Responded 1 Aug 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review ASURE Sundowner Motel. We appreciate your comments as we do endeavour to offer our guests a comfortable and pleasant stay and are happy to offer information about the activities in our stunning region. As the Blenheim members of ASURE Accommodation Group it is always nice to have good feedback about our fellow ASURE.properties. Look forward to having you stay again when you are next in Blenheim. Kind regards Dorothy & Doug
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Kirsty N wrote a tip Feb 2024
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Advertised as 4 stars but deserved 1 "
Read full review
Tanya G wrote a tip Feb 2019
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't forget your togs!"
Read full review
rosspkeane wrote a tip Dec 2017
Toowoomba, Australia28 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room at the back, to avoid road noise."
Read full review
Gjn347 wrote a tip Mar 2017
Auckland, New Zealand37 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"easy to find good accessibility"
Read full review
Wendy C wrote a tip Nov 2016
Christchurch, New Zealand4 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Nice big room. Number 10"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Blenheim area.
PRICE RANGE
$136 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandMarlborough RegionBlenheim
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SUNDOWNER MOTEL - Now $137 (Was $̶1̶6̶2̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Blenheim, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sundowner Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Sundowner Motel?
Nearby attractions include Omaka Aviation Heritage Centre (3.2 km), Pollard Park (1.4 km), and Seymour Square (1.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sundowner Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and an outdoor pool.
Which room amenities are available at Sundowner Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Sundowner Motel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Sundowner Motel?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sundowner Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Arbour, The Burleigh Gourmet Pies, and Gramado's.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sundowner Motel?
Yes, guests have access to an outdoor pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Sundowner Motel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Sundowner Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Blenheim HotelsBlenheim Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BlenheimHotels near Sundowner Motel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire