We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Blenheim Backpackers & Motorcamp

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (12)
Room & Suite (7)
Pool & Beach (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#5 of 11 hostels in Blenheim
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A great selection of clean & comfortable accommodations with free unlimited wifi to suit all budgets. All rooms have a TV, jug, toaster, fridge and some with own kitchen and also rooms with bathroom and kitchen. Recently refurbished amenities, free showers, local phone, washing machines and BBQs. Rooms available short or long term for backpackers plus contacts available for seasonal work. We have also recently underwent a huge expansion adding another 30 sites! weather you want to park up in your van or pitch your tent you can do it under our large trees and wide open areas right beside the river, in the summer time we have a large pool and sun loungers to chill out after a long week at work, or you can park up in a hammock and meet people in our bbq area, We are a friendly family owned and operated Backpackers in a great location. We are well traveled and incorporate our years of experience to provide backpackers the best service while staying in the Blenheim and Marlborough area. Next door to a 24 hour service station, corner store, pub, Subway and KFC. 5 Minute walk to the town centre and Blenheim train & bus terminal. There is also a courtesy van which if you are licensed you are able to use to get out to the supermarkets instead of walking. If you arrive at the airport and would like to stay with us we will be happy to pop out and pick you up. Thank you for checking us out and we look forward to seeing you.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Airport transportation
Concierge
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Microwave
Refrigerator
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
49Reviews0Q+A8Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 16
  • 13
  • 8
  • 7
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Lucia.jz wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution
We have been at Blenheim Backpackers for 2 months and it was the only hostel in New Zealand that really felt like home. We spent the best moments there, very fun with people from all over the world. we are going to miss it!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jéjé wrote a review Aug 2019
3 contributions
Bad wifi connexion No lot of tools for cook Speaker louder in living room untill more of 5 p.m the weeks ends People take drugs Lot of french peoples The hostel didnt want to give me back my 50$ of bail cause im not stayed three weeks and they found me a job
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Tredz wrote a review Jul 2019
1 contribution
Been staying here for months, location itself near town center ( but the town not huge anyway) and near to several major vineyard. A lot of backpackers staying here for short or long term, travel or working in vineyard. Some are friendly, some are kind , some smoke weed/cigarette that make your room smelly too. Toilet are clean everyday, kitchen clean several times a week , hygiene is guaranteed, but not the communal area, where sometime smokers are camp there. No offend , smokers dont annoy me but the smokes are. Wi-Fi techinically useless, unless you go to the communal area to get the strong signal, even strong signal it still slow, so basically free Wi-Fi provided mean they provide you nothing on internet service. Laundry provided ( with small charges applied ) , yep , you need to insert coins to wash and dry your clothes. I wanted to give better rate, but the price for two person with 280 dollars with the quality of amenities given definitely not worth, not until they upgrade Wi-Fi. 1 star given for cosy room ( with own fridge, water boiler ) , some are complaining their room dirty, but mine perfectly fine. 1 star given for the hygiene of both toilet and kitchen ( so far I did not have any bad experience ) 1 star lost for the bad or nearly useless Wi-Fi 1 star lost for the smoker's smokes ( sorry this is personal ), because they are everywhere.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
sarahsaturn1229 wrote a review Mar 2018
Hastings, New Zealand8 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
There was nothing good about this hostel. The dorm room I was assigned to had swarms of flies in it. There was a fly strip with hundreds of flies on it that no one had bothered to remove. The 2 available beds included one top bunk with no ladder and a single bed in the kitchen area. Most of the guests here are totally insane. They would party loudly every night. Most people here claim to like this hostel, but that's probably only because they're allowed to get away with anything here. Eventually my roommates' behavior got so obnoxious that I complained to a staff member about them, and she told me I could switch rooms the next day, which was great until I got to the new room and there was a bunch of white powder under each bunk in it. At the time I didn't know what it was before; if I did I would've left.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
samy123elfarh wrote a review Nov 2017
Dunedin, New Zealand1 contribution
I was really tight budget when I arrived on Blenheim. I could explain my situation and the staff didn't put me under pressure for paid my rent. Thanks this backpack I found shortly a job and got a nice room with our own fridge. I also met good people and we could do some event/aperitif with who enjoyed to participate. It's a nice place to stay when you work and chill on your day off !!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Adina S wrote a review Jul 2017
1 contribution4 helpful votes
Blenheim Backpackers was mine and my friend's actual home away from home for 8 months and I truly have no bad words to say about this place. The family who runs the camp and the manager are so kind and accommodating-always making sure their guests are comfortable and happy and willing to help in any way that they are able. I could never thank them enough for their hospitality! The backpackers itself is in a perfect location, just a short walk from town if you don't have a car. They are also nice enough to let you borrow the van on Sundays to go to Pak n Save for groceries. The facilities are always clean and tidy. Free wifi is a huge plus as many other hostels in the area will charge you. If you're there during winter, it does get quite cold at night, but nothing a sweatshirt and blanket won't cure. If you understand that just like any where you go in the world, it's nobody's responsibility but your own to find a job, you will have absolutely no problems. They are very helpful with recommendations and provide an extremely convenient list of contacts for many vineyards around the area. We had to call through the list a few times initially but it took us only a week to find a job and there are also postings that often times go up around the camp with vineyards who are looking for workers immediately. We loved our time here so much and would definitely recommend it to any backpackers who plan on staying in Blenheim!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Theresa R wrote a review Oct 2016
Dresden, Germany16 contributions6 helpful votes
We came to Blenheim because we wanted to work here. My friend and I found a job offer on backbackerboard from the hostel every week, so we expected to start working as soon as we arrived. They gave us a list with contacts. No one of them mentioned, that there are no jobs because it is no season. So we paid and had no work while staying there and we really tried to find work. The other guests were pretty nice and we enjoyed spending time with them. Therefore we wanted to visit them again (it's usually allowed when you say it at the reception). Nevertheless the manager kicked us out, shouted at us and was angry without a reason.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2016Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from BlenheimBackpackers, Manager at Blenheim Backpackers & Motorcamp
Responded 24 Oct 2016
Hi Theresa, yes we usually do allow visitors to our guests, but not visitors who lie and deceive the managers/reception, as you both did. We never once promised you anything, and did clearly remind you of the work situation before you checked in. Correct me if I'm wrong but did you not find work while staying here? You both said you had found a job from our list, but it was too late as you had booked ferry tickets to Wellington for Friday 21/10/16. So imagine my surprise when I see you both using the facilities in our Hostel the day after you checked out! Hence my reason for asking you both to leave.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
rise33 wrote a review Jul 2016
4 contributions3 helpful votes
The campground basically is a car park. There's no privacy or free space at all. No grass, just gravel. The sites are literally 2 meters aside the railroad which runs multiple times a night and definitely will wake you up. Facilities are old and not very clean. The Top10 holiday park just 100m down the road is way better and doesn't cost more for long term campers.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from BlenheimBackpackers, Owner at Blenheim Backpackers & Motorcamp
Responded 4 Oct 2016
Hi Daniel, We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience while staying with us for you to say there is no free space or grass only gravel is not very accurate, you must not have seen the 30 sites at the rear of the backpackers which is a large grassy paddock with lots of shade from the large trees and also right beside the river, if the train tracks were 2 metres from the tent sites it would be a huge risk for people staying that close to them so I do not know where you stayed for you to be two metres away. The Kitchens have all been renovated and updated maybe 6 months ago as well.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rae1331 wrote a review Mar 2016
Dunnell, Minnesota72 contributions65 helpful votes
I stayed here for about 5 weeks in October and November. I had a 4 bed dorm room with a kitchenette. It wasn't full at first but filled up after about a week of me being there. The room wasn't super large, but it worked well enough with the 4 of us, and we all happened to really get along so that was great. There's a swimming pool and BBQ but I never really got to use them. Laundry is cheap compared o the rest of NZ but it can be hard to find clips for the clothes lines! You're given a plate, cup and cutlery when you check in, along with cocoa, ramen and popcorn, which is a nice touch. The manager is a big problem however. The cops came twice on Halloween when he caused the backpacker working in the office to quit as he was sexually aggressive to her, and he tried to get in a fight with another backpacker. He was constantly yelling at people and only being there for 5 weeks, I saw 4 new office managers and 3 new batches of cleaners as no one would work for him for long. He shouldn't be allowed to work there. It's about a 10 min walk to the i site and 20-30 to the rest of town. A bit far out but if you get picked up at the i site for work, it's decently located.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2015Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from BlenheimBackpackers, Owner at Blenheim Backpackers & Motorcamp
Responded 4 Oct 2016
Hi Rae sorry you had a bad experience while staying with us, I am glad to say that now we are under new management.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
cubcubtonton wrote a review Feb 2016
Vancouver, Canada7 contributions12 helpful votes
There are only about 8 tent sites, however they are sandwiched between the railway line and the main road of the site. Paid for our site before properly checking it out (biggest mistake ever) and once we realised what it was like we asked for a refund and they said no. The wifi didn't work, and there were no kitchen utensils or plates/cups to use in the kitchen so bring your own. The Top10 campsite is around the corner and is the same price and SO MUCH BETTER. If you're camping, stay clear of this backpackers!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2016Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from BlenheimBackpackers, Owner at Blenheim Backpackers & Motorcamp
Responded 4 Oct 2016
Hi there, sorry you had a bad experience here. When you checked in you would of received a copy of the rules and you would of been asked to read and sign them if you agree and in the rules it clearly states there are no refunds. Yes I agree our wifi does play up but we are working to have that problem resolved. Usually all people that are camping have all of their own utensils and stuff to use in the kitchens but if they don't all they need to do is ask for some and we always have a lot of spare to lend to people. There are also 30 sites in our new extension right beside the river and far away from the traintracks.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Blenheim area.
LOCATION
New ZealandSouth IslandMarlborough RegionBlenheim
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BLENHEIM BACKPACKERS & MOTORCAMP - Hostel Reviews & Price Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Blenheim Backpackers & Motorcamp
Which popular attractions are close to Blenheim Backpackers & Motorcamp?
Nearby attractions include Pollard Park (0.9 km), Seymour Square (1.1 km), and Blue Penguin New Zealand Gifts (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Blenheim Backpackers & Motorcamp?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Is parking available at Blenheim Backpackers & Motorcamp?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Blenheim Backpackers & Motorcamp?
Conveniently located restaurants include Herb + Olive, Eat Thai Restaurant, and Dodson Street Beer Garden.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Blenheim Backpackers & Motorcamp?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Blenheim Backpackers & Motorcamp have airport transportation?
Yes, Blenheim Backpackers & Motorcamp offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.