We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Maruia Hot Springs

336 reviews
Save
Traveller (139)
Pool & Beach (42)
Dining (13)
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good35%
  • Average19%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
“hot pools”(70 reviews)
“private spa”(28 reviews)
“lewis pass”(26 reviews)
Paid Wifi
Free Parking
Indoor pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
Suites
Bar/Lounge
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (336)Write a Review
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveller rating
76
107
63
24
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
76
107
63
24
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot poolsprivate spalewis passblack algaenew ownersrock poolsjapanese bath housemassage chairplunge pooljapanese stylesteam roommountain view roompork bellyan upgradeen routejapanese menucooked breakfast
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 320 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Unforgettable. What a magic place. A world away from the busyness of modern life. Beyond the reach of pinging cell phones, emails and crowds of people. Soaking in the minerals from a natural hot spring while overlooking spectacular mountain scenery. No chemicals just natural mineral...More

Thank Laurence C
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We stayed here for three nights. This resort is in the middle of major renovations. The areas which have been renovated are great. The remaining areas were disappointing. Our room had been renovated and was modern and clean. The guest lounge and dining room were...More

Thank Laureen L
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We stayed one night at Maruia and ate dinner in the restaurant. The hot pools are small yet very relaxing and we appreciated the quirkiness of leaving the black algae in the water. The location is just perfect - very beautiful and peaceful. We saw...More

Thank Jean R
Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and myself stayed here and were very disappointed. We arrived after doing a big trek and were excited to relax for one night. The hot springs were nice however, the sand flies were in abundance which would of been fine if there was...More

Thank clementineosssemer
Response from MaruiaHotSpringsnz, Guest Relations Manager at Maruia Hot SpringsResponded 1 week ago

Dear clementineosssemer, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit. We are disappointed to hear that after your trek you did not have the relaxing experience you required. Unfortunately due to our outdoor location in the middle of the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in the campervan area that is fairly new and despite an abundance of sand flies (like EVERYWHERE around this area), we loved our night here. We were exhausted so we had a snooze and then got up around midnight to access the hot...More

Thank pollydoo
Response from MaruiaHotSpringsnz, Guest Relations Manager at Maruia Hot SpringsResponded 1 week ago

Dear pollydoo, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our campervan space and got to experience the magic of bathing under the stars. We also believe bathing at night is the best...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345664
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Multilingual Staff
Meeting Rooms
Room amenities
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$177 - US$275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#50 Spa Hotel in South Island
#260 Luxury Hotel in South Island
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms, Suites
Details
Price range
US$177 - US$275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#50 Spa Hotel in South Island
#260 Luxury Hotel in South Island
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms, Suites
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (139)
Pool & Beach (42)
Dining (13)
Room & Suite (6)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Steven C
30 December 2017|
Answer
Response from James W | Property representative |
The natural spring is about 56 degrees C. today we cool it with natural mountain spring water to between 38 and 41 degrees C.
0
Votes
Katie S
4 November 2017|
Answer
Response from James W | Property representative |
Yes we do offer wheelchair access. However it is a nature oriented mountainous environment that may not suit everyone. Please call us on 03 523 8840 to discuss your personal requirements.
0
Votes
20 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from MaruiaHotSprings | Property representative |
Hi, Please ring us on 03 523 8840 or email info@maruiahotsprings.nz and one of our friendly staff can help you book your stay. Thanks for the enquiry.
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"camping would be much more beneficial"
Read review
"If you can afford the extra expense, go for a superior room to take advantage of the new bathroom, TV, tea..."
Read review
"I would ask for one of the new rooms next time but being close to the pools with our 24hr access was good"
Read review
"No children allowed. Check that you get a renovated room."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing