Astelia Apartment Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Astelia Apartment Hotel

lobby seating
Traveller (83)
Room & Suite (67)
Kitchen / Dining
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#1 of 14 apartments in Wellington
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Why you travel to Wellington is your choice, how you sleep is our focus. With a choice of studio style or open plan one bedroom options, Astelia Apartment Hotel combines space, value and location to allow you to enjoy Wellington. Astelia Apartment Hotel is a highly rated boutique apartment hotel, located on Willis Street, within easy walking distance to The Terrace and central business district. Each apartment has a kitchenette, plus in room laundry facilities and complimentary WiFi. Please note that Astelia reception hours are between 7am-9pm weekdays/8am-9pm weekends, with 24-hour customer service available and contactless entry for after hours.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Street parking
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Blackout curtains
Dining area
Seating area
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English

Location

156 Willis Street, Wellington 6011 New Zealand
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Wellington Intl Airport
Kapiti Coast Airport
46.9 km
See all flights
326Reviews7Q+A83Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 99
  • 153
  • 54
  • 15
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
traveller#01 wrote a review Jan 2020
London, UK
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Astelia for 3 nights in November whilst exploring Wellington. We had a rental car which were taking on the ferry and decided to park it up and walk everywhere for a few days. The Wilson's car park opposite is used by the hotel and they give you a paper permit to put in your windscreen for the advertised price per night.

Staff at the desk were friendly and helpful, allowing me to pay later so that I could withdraw more cash to avoid the credit card surcharge. The apartment itself was on the whole huge, with a massive living/kitchen area containing a sofa for two facing the TV and a dining table. The bedroom was of a sufficient size considering it opened directly into a large living area. The bathroom however, for such a large apartment was tiny, making it difficult to move around in when taking a shower. It contained a combo washer/dryer, which was handy however since the dryer runs on steam it takes double the time a normal dryer would take.

We also found the rooms were cleaned very late each day, arriving back around 3pm to find they still were not done, although they did not miss a day.

Hotel is in an excellent location, 100 yards from a fantastic cafe and you can go in either direction to find the main sights of Wellington.

All in all a very good place to stay. Its a shame when designed they didn't make the living area slightly smaller and bathroom slightly bigger
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from VillageGroup, Manager at Astelia Apartment Hotel
Responded 6 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, Many thanks fro your comprehensive review. We appreciate it and feel it helps other guests to make their selection of hotels. We're delighted the team were helpful and you were able to use the inner city location to your advantage and walk around the city. We wish the bathrooms had been better designed as well!! However they came with the building on occupation. Warm regards, Tamara
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sonja I wrote a review Aug 2021
Wellington, New Zealand
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The location was convenient and the price was acceptable, for an apartment hotel they have thought about somethings to make life convenient such as providing washing powder for the washing machine.

The bed was comfortable and I slept well.

The lighting was not great, in the bedroom there were only two small bed side lights so it not great for reading in bed.

The shower head was falling into the wall and when I asked to get it fixed so i could stand under it they moved it to the other side where it fell slightly less towards the wall. There was shampoo/conditioner and body was provided however no hand soap for washing hands

The one window that opened was open when i arrived and one of the window closures was too high to reach easily and i couldn't fully close the window initially until i got a chair to stand on it to do so

The other little thing that would make things easier for anyone staying is to move the fridge door to open from the other side so you can open the door and against the wall

I struggled with the lighting over all but at least they had a separate light in the lounge that i could turn on so i could actually read my book as there was very little ceiling lights

The woman on reception desk was very good and a credit to the hotel. she remained calm when things turned chaotic at the announcement of a lock down and lots of guests having to check out early to get home
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Balaji Raj, Guest Services / Front Office at Astelia Apartment Hotel
Responded 2 Sept 2021
Kia Ora Sonja, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Astelia Apartment Hotel. I am sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Village Accommodation, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore, your feedback is very important to us. We will definitely consider your recommendations on room facilities in our next room refurb. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. If there is anything else I can do to assist, please contact me directly at feedback@villagegroup.co.nz and let us recommend you a room to suit your preference on your next stay with us. Kind regards, Balaji Raj Customer Service Team Leader
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rachel M wrote a review Mar 2020
Sydney, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 6 nights. Out initial impressions were not positive due to a mix up with our booking which was done through expedia, and resulted in us moving rooms twice within the same day, we put that behind us and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were spacious, clean and there was even a proper wardrobe to hang coats, put your things and store your luggage out of the way. All necessary amenities required for a long stay such as washing facilities and a great equipped kitchenette. Cafes, restaurants, supermarkets and markets are all within walking distance as are lots of the attractions. We found most of the staff friendly and welcoming but a couple of staff made us feel like we were imposing on them! Parking is available across the road for a fee and is organised through reception.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Avoid staying on Willis Street it is noisy especially on the weekend, as for a room at the back...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from VillageAccommodation, Manager at Astelia Apartment Hotel
Responded 19 Mar 2020
Dear Rachel, Many thanks for taking the time so place your feedback and review. We really appreciate your detailed descriptions and information to others about the dining options close by. We are so happy you enjoyed the amenities in your apartment as well. Warm regards, Tamara
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
simpleas1992 wrote a review Jul 2021
Wellington, New Zealand
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This property is quite run down. I have no complaints but just want to advise not to expect anything above a local motel level.

It is convenient to all of central Wellington however and has a fairly appropriate price point

Housekeeping staff are absolutely lovely. Hope they're being rewarded for their efforts.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Try to stay at their Boulcott suites property it's a little bit newer.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Village Accomodation, Other at Astelia Apartment Hotel
Responded 27 Jul 2021
Kia Ora, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy we were able to assist in providing you with a comfortable and convenient stay in central Wellington city. All our team members at Village Accommodation group are lovely as you rightly mentioned and strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon at Astelia Apartment Hotel. Kind Regards, Balaji Raj Customer Service Team Leader.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
666pecker wrote a review Jan 2020
Bowen, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 3 nights here room was very comfortable and clean. Location was great easy walk to everything across the road an array of eating places for takeaway. Staff friendly and accommodating they have umbrellas for guests to use which was great and we made use of this.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from VillageGroup, Manager at Astelia Apartment Hotel
Responded 28 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, We are very happy to see you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to place your feedback. We agree the location makes it very easy to access the sights in the city. Warm regards, Tamara
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ash P wrote a review Feb 2021
Perth, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed here 4 times in the last 4 years, and wouldn’t stay anywhere else in Wellington. Incredibly handy location in Willis St, just 5 minutes walk to Cuba St, a very handy late night New World Metro shop about 4 minutes walk. Well equipped for cooking, doing washing, superbly comfortable bed, exceptionally clean. The staff can’t do enough for you, and we’re very proactive about providing for our mid- evening arrival. We have no connection with this business, just very satisfied customers!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Balaji Raj, Guest Services / Front Office at Astelia Apartment Hotel
Responded 7 Aug 2021
Kia Ora, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us. We are very happy to hear we were able to provide you with a comfortable and convenient stay in central Wellington city and look forward to welcoming you back again soon Kind Regards, Balaji Raj Customer Service Team Leader
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Elekule wrote a review Jan 2020
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a great idea it was to stay in Astelia Apartment hotel: we enjoyed its convenient location, and clean and spacious rooms! Our apartment had a washing machine & dryer as well as an equipped kitchen. We were even allowed to check out a bit later.
The only downside is that there is no free parking and it wasn’t explicitly stated on their page. But overall, excellent! Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from VillageGroup, Manager at Astelia Apartment Hotel
Responded 15 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your lovely feedback and rating. We're delighted to read that you especially enjoyed the location and facilities of the apartment during your stay with us. Warm regards, Tamara
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dom wrote a review Nov 2022
Murwillumbah, Australia
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Very poor service. Supposedly self catering but without essentials like chopping boards and spoon/spatula to cook with. Took 3 days and 3 requests to get that solved. No servicing of the room. Insufficient washing up liquid - never resolved despite requests. Lazy, inattentive service. Plus a considerable walk into town. Shop around
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Village Accomodation Group, Owner at Astelia Apartment Hotel
Responded 17 Jan 2023
Dear Trek52407504732 Thank you for your feedback and accept my sincerest apologies for the shortcomings during your stay. I have shared your feedback with the relevant head of departments and I can assure you correctives measures will be put into place. Trek52407504732 we thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again. All the best Sebastian Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yoshio F wrote a review Aug 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 5 nights during the World Cup. Perfect location, walkable to everything with supermarket 5 min walk, and great coffee/food everywhere.

Keep an eye on front desk hours since they have somewhat limited hours. Requesting extra paper products took a bit longer than what I’m used to, but still arrived at the door nonetheless while we were away.

The rooms were quiet and spacious. Bathrooms can be small but honestly can’t complain with the sink in bathroom, another in the kitchenette, and laundry in unit! Had an amazing time here.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: This is rare but if you have two separate reservations, give a heads up because our access key...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CS Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Astelia Apartment Hotel
Responded 25 May 2024
Kia Ora Yoshif407, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us and that our central location came in handy for you. We apologise for any inconvenience caused by our limited reception hours, if you ever need any assistance our customer service team are always available via our 0800 phone number. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Nga mihi, Josie Customer Service
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Georgia Lydeamore wrote a review Jan 2023
Melbourne, Australia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was good but nothing spectacular. It is a great central location in Wellington and a close walk to many places to eat, drink and visit. The staff were friendly, however, there were no staff manning the desk from 10am to midday each day of our stay. The room we stayed in was in need of a good dust and unfortunately I suffered bed bug bites from this experience. In saying this, the staff were understanding and allowed us to switch rooms for the last night to accomodate for this issue.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is across the road and costs $28 per day. It is a convenient carpark but not great for...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Village Accomodation Group, Owner at Astelia Apartment Hotel
Responded 17 Jan 2023
Kia ora georgialydeamore, Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences during your stay. Village Accommodation Group has very strong processes to deal with potential bed bugs’. As per the email sent to you on Monday, 16th of January, our certified and qualified contractor has inspected the room and found no evidence of bed bugs, and as a gesture of good faith a compensation was arranged. As a matter of precaution, we have treated the room, and share your comments with the housekeeping team. Georgialydeamore we thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again. All the best Sebastian Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Alex F
Taito, Japan8 contributions2 helpful votes
Basic cooking facilities. A few sauce pans and one mini oven/microwave
Wellington, New Zealand
Hello, Please email our customer service team to reserve carparking. This is $25 per night and limited spaces meaning it is best to book in advance. Our customer service team will provide you will further details on parking.
Wellington, New Zealand
Yes, we can provide a free standing pedestal fan for the room should you require one. You can request one from our front desk staff and it will be delivered to the room.
GSMBrisbane asked a question Aug 2015
Paihia, New Zealand11 contributions2 helpful votes
Hello , Do you have car parking and if not how much does it cost nearby ?
PJ wrote a tip 6 Jul
Brisbane, Australia8 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"The wind rattles throughout the apartment making a fair bit of noise"
Read full review
Kara-Lee C wrote a tip Aug 2023
Ngaruawahia, New Zealand119 contributions14 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check about time to check in and out for you as not always there."
Read full review
Yoshio F wrote a tip Aug 2023
7 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"This is rare but if you have two separate reservations, give a heads up because our access key got rejected after the end of the first"
Read full review
marklarge wrote a tip Mar 2023
Auckland Central, New Zealand57 contributions54 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"No Aircon - place over heats in summer "
Read full review
Georgia Lydeamore wrote a tip Jan 2023
Melbourne, Australia3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is across the road and costs $28 per day. It is a convenient carpark but not great for bigger cars."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Wellington area.
PRICE RANGE
$138 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
central stratford apartment wellington
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandGreater WellingtonWellington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
74
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ASTELIA APARTMENT HOTEL - Now $138 (Was $̶1̶7̶4̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Wellington, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Astelia Apartment Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Astelia Apartment Hotel?
Nearby attractions include City to Sea Bridge (0.4 km), Cuba Street (0.4 km), and Frank Kitts Park (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Astelia Apartment Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, laundry service, and self serve laundry.
Which room amenities are available at Astelia Apartment Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Astelia Apartment Hotel?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Astelia Apartment Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Astelia Apartment Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include WBC Restaurant, Neo Cafe & Eatery, and The Old Quarter.
Is Astelia Apartment Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Wellington.
Are any cleaning services offered at Astelia Apartment Hotel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Astelia Apartment Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old St Paul's (1.6 km), Wellington Cable Car (0.7 km), and Government House (1.9 km).
Is Astelia Apartment Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Wellington HotelsWellington Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in WellingtonHotels near Astelia Apartment Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire