We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Level 4 181 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011 New Zealand
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 10 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (150)
Room & Suite (132)
Dining (3)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 20/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 20/07/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 49 hotels in Wellington
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
U Residence Hotel Wellington, formerly known as At Home Wellington, we are a cool little Boutique Apartment Hotel in the heart of Wellington’s entertainment and cultural district. U Residence Hotel Wellington offers self-contained accommodation with kitchens and kitchenettes, laundry facilities and individual balconies. This hotel has a total of 13 rooms from Queen Studios to 2 Bedroom Apartments and caters to the needs of all looking for something homely and special right in the coolest Capital in the World!
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Street parking
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Outdoor furniture
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Private balcony
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Family
Languages Spoken
English
1120Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 777
  • 250
  • 72
  • 15
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Eboney King wrote a review Jun 2022
4 contributions
What a great stay with a great view. Clean and tidy. Loved the kitchen set up. I am using a knee scooter to get around. My right foot is in a moon boot. No trouble with getting around in room and building. Friendly stuff thanks Meg for setting our room up. Friendly people. 1min walk and your at the Habour. A minute walk in the other direction your spoilt with many food options. We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
jade h wrote a review Jun 2022
Arrowtown, New Zealand25 contributions2 helpful votes
Shower pressure was poor, heater was broken (was unable to turn off), bin wasn't emptied from previous guest, toilet seat broken, basin in bathroom didn't drain, curtain blind broken, fridge door broken, dirty cutlery in the cutlery draw, oven cleaner left in oven- creating toxic smoke when on. I phoned 10times to get an answer, only to be told by the man at the call centre that I hadn't phoned 10 times as his PBX system didn't show that. No apology for the toxic smoke billowing out of my oven. Eventually the duty manager Anu came to visit me and bought an ionizer to try clear out the smoke. Anu was polite and tried his best to help in a difficult situation. With the hotel being fully booked there was no alternate room to be moved into. I have stayed at the U Residence 4 times now, each time cleaning and maintenance has got progressively worse. Please sort it out. Paying close to $300 a night I expect a clean room with basic maintenance an repairs done!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Katrina Suresh, Guest Services / Front Office at U Residence Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Hi Jadeh655, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for your recent stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies that your needs were not met. We appreciate your constructive comments about the room facilities. We will rectify those problems with our maintenance and housekeeping team. In regards to The Call centre, we discussed with them the next morning the issues you had getting through to them, we have implemented procedures so that this will not happen in the future. We are happy to read that Anuradha did his best to control the situation with the smoke and thank you for your understanding about the hotel being full and not being able to change your room. Further training has taken place with our staff and they will ensure they inform us of any maintenance issues they find while cleaning. Once again please accept our sincerest apologies and we hope that you will stay with us again.
Read more
Loveleena Noorie wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
Stayed here for two nights with my dog. Was not happy with the accommodation. Arrived late evening, staff given us the wrong instructions to access the key. Had to call them up and get the right instructions. Informed staff and they apologised. Carpet was dirty. Construction going on outside. Difficulty finding car park. People were partying next door and smoking weed. Smashed beer bottles at the exit. Would not recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Katrina Suresh, Guest Services / Front Office at U Residence Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Hi nina_xx42, Thank you for posting your review. We apologise that the incorrect information was given out to you on your arrival and that you did not receive the carpark instructions. The Takina Conference and Exhibition Centre is under construction next to the hotel and we are extremely excited with all that it will bring to Wellington. We are always available on the hotel number should there be any problems regarding noises. We are not at the property after 5pm, however, we are based in close proximity and can attend the situation at all times. Once again please accept our sincerest apologies and hope that you will stay with us again.
Read more
Chris wrote a review Jun 2022
Melbourne, Australia2 contributions1 helpful vote
Takes several minutes for hot water to come through and once it does there is no water pressure at all. The room was freezing and the split system unit did not provide heating on any setting. Convenient location despite the building works next door but rooms are plain and the whole place is in desperate need of an uplift, starting with the basic requirment of being able to have a shower.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: dont pay for ocean viw
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Katrina Suresh, Guest Services / Front Office at U Residence Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear ChristophersF8296NO, Thank you for posting your review. We understand your frustration in regards to the water pressure and we are currently working on improvements to this. Due to the location of the cylinders it is challenging to ensure equal pressure. All AC units were recently serviced and the unit was working prior to your arrival. We will ensure heating is on for all guests prior to arrival. Once again please accept our sincerest apologies and hope that you will stay with us again.
Read more
Theresa wrote a review Jun 2022
Singapore, Singapore53 contributions26 helpful votes
I had a week's stay at U Residence. The room I had had a spacious balcony overlooking the harbour. Unfortunately, the wild weather didn't allow me to enjoy the balcony, although I did get some quick shots of the harbour. Detailed check-in info was emailed to me and the process was seamless and easy for me. Just felt quite strange not to meet any front desk staff but I suppose this is part of the new normal. My requests for a slightly earlier check-in and slightly later checkout were both granted, for which I was really thankful. I really enjoyed my stay at this apartment but a few details would have made it perfect: 1) A couple of hangers had nails poking out of them. I left them out for housekeeping to replace them. 2) Since the room wasn't serviced throughout my stay, having a little more cleaning/washing detergent would be helpful, although I acknowledge that I could have contacted front desk and asked for more. Some hotels have a slip or form where you could make your requests on and leave it outside your door before 10 am the next day for housekeeping to replenish coffee, tea, milk, toiletries etc. 3) The trays in the oven had hardened grease on them. Maybe this was overlooked. Overall, I still this I had a wonderful stay here and the location was perfect to walk to many cafés and attractions. I used to live in Welly, this felt like a home I'd have enjoyed staying at. Thank you, U Residence team!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Stu Robertson wrote a review Jun 2022
1 contribution
This place is noisy, tired and worn, it's promoted as having a gym, but they don't give you a swipe card to access it, and the shower is hopeless - either scalding hot or freezing cold! -An absolute rip off!!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Find a better hotel!!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Suresh Subramaniam, Owner at U Residence Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi StuRobo, Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your recent stay. We are distressed that your experience was below average and we will look into your points. We do have a gym and we are easily contacted at any time where we can give you access to the gym when requested. We would like to know what you found to be tired and worn and would appreciate you contacting us at urh6011@uhotelgroup.com so that we can collect your feedback and make good on your comments. Thank you once again and hope to hear from you.
Read more
Meehee wrote a review May 2022
Seagrave, United Kingdom1 contribution
I love this hotel. It has everything you need in the room including a kitchen and laundry facilities, with the addition of a great location, fast and easy service, a balcony, and a gym. Would definitely stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Suresh Subramaniam, Owner at U Residence Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Meehee17, Thank you for your comments and for letting us know of your recent stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to U residence in the near future!
Read more
Alison L wrote a review May 2022
Auckland Central, New Zealand4 contributions1 helpful vote
Excellent location Good space in the room with everything you need Easy to find and visit Te Papa conference centre and museum close by View no longer present due to Convention centre now being built but to be expected when staying in an inncer city apt
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Suresh Subramaniam, Owner at U Residence Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your positive comments alisonl37! We enjoyed having you stay with us and yes the new Wellington Convention Centre is being built by and around us and this has now taken over the TePapa view. Thank you for your understanding and this 5 star review!
Read more
Esra V wrote a review May 2022
Auckland, New Zealand2 contributions
On check-in found dirty dishes in dishwasher, some surfaces dusty. Shampoo dispenser empty and not refilled despite my request. Poor water pressure in shower. Carpet stained and threadbare in places, curtains dirty. Despite it saying on website that daily servicing can be requested, the check-in email stated this is not available, despite staying 3 nights. For the price, I was expecting more. Only positives are location and the fact that i didn't find pubic hair in the bathroom!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Suresh Subramaniam, Owner at U Residence Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear EVJ59 thank you for your message and we are distressed to hear of the issues you faced when you arrived. We sincerely apologise for this oversight and will re-train our staff regarding these points. Staff shortages have seriously hampered us and whilst this is not an excuse we would like to highlight this point especially with not being able to service your room during your stay. Thank you for your understanding and we hope you will give us another opportunity. Our direct email is urh6011@uhotelgroup.com and it would be great to hear from you so that we can make good your concerns. Thank you
Read more
kamilya wrote a review May 2022
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia76 contributions41 helpful votes
What sets this hotel apart is that it does not feel like a hotel. Instead it feels more like serviced apartments guaranteeing utmost privacy. I felt very safe and comfortable during my stay. The location is hard to beat, everything is within walking distance with so many restaurants close by and if you like swimming, the Freyburg pool is only a 10 minute stroll away. The TePapa Museum, the waterfront, Courtenay Place and the New World supermarket is also within a 5 minutes walk. What I really appreciated was the in-room washing machine/dryer, the equipped kitchen, the super comfy bed and Netflix. The balcony was great for a breath of fresh air. Would recommend rooms on the left side of the corridor. All in all, would stay again when revisiting Weliington.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Rooms on left side of corridor don't have a building in front of balcony.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Suresh Subramaniam, Owner at U Residence Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear kamilya, Thank you for your comments and great to see that you've enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to U Residence Hotel soon!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$137 - US$227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
at home wellington hotel wellington, at home hotel wellington, wellington at home hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
At Home Wellington
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandGreater WellingtonWellington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about U Residence Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to U Residence Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa (0.2 km), Hawthorn Lounge (0.4 km), and Frank Kitts Park (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at U Residence Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a fitness centre, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at U Residence Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at U Residence Hotel?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at U Residence Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to U Residence Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Oak And Vine Wellington, Rock Yard Restaurant, and The Old Quarter.
Are there opportunities to exercise at U Residence Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is U Residence Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Wellington.
Are any cleaning services offered at U Residence Hotel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to U Residence Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old St Paul's (1.7 km), Wellington Cable Car (1.0 km), and Government House (1.7 km).
Does U Residence Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.