U Residence Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

U Residence Hotel

Level 4 181 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011 New Zealand
When the sun shines, Welly shines too, and this great balcony allowed me to enjoy the awesome weather!
Traveller (171)
1 Bedroom Apartment Bedroom
Room & Suite (154)
Dining (3)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

$162
Get rewarded with One Key
$176
Get rewarded with One Key
$176
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#8 of 53 hotels in Wellington
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
U Residence Hotel Wellington, formerly known as At Home Wellington, we are a cool little Boutique Apartment Hotel in the heart of Wellington’s entertainment and cultural district. U Residence Hotel Wellington offers self-contained accommodation with kitchens and kitchenettes, laundry facilities and individual balconies. This hotel has a total of 13 rooms from Queen Studios to 2 Bedroom Apartments and caters to the needs of all looking for something homely and special right in the coolest Capital in the World!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Street parking
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Outdoor furniture
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Desk
Private balcony
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Green
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Level 4 181 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011 New Zealand
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Wellington Intl Airport
Kapiti Coast Airport
46.8 km
See all flights
1,210Review9Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 830
  • 266
  • 83
  • 19
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
HandDWattie wrote a review Jan 2020
Auckland, New Zealand7 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at U Residence as a family of three. We were travelling with our energetic and inquisitive preschooler, and to be honest we were a tad apprehensive about staying in a hotel with him! We needn't have worried! We arrived after-hours (having received crystal clear instructions to access the property from Hiro), and as we entered the room we immediately felt at home. A fold away bed was all set up for our little boy and he was so excited about his comfy bed and slept like a dream both nights of our stay. The room was sparkling clean and had many thoughtful touches, along with a great view of Te Papa. The TV even had Netflix, which kept the wee one entertained. We dined out at Wildfire and received a 25% discount simply because we were staying at U Residence. A really enjoyable stay! Thank you to Sisi who was the Manager on duty during our stay, it was so lovely to meet you!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Honestly, you wouldn't be disappointed with any of the rooms. We had a queen studio with a...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from UResidence1, Manager at U Residence Hotel
Responded 6 Jan 2020
Hello HandDWattie Thank you so much for such a fantastic review! It's wonderful to read that you and your family felt at home! Great to hear that your little wee one slept like a log during the 2 nights you stayed. Thank you so much for noticing the thoughtful touches and the cleanliness of the rooms. We really do give it our best for our guests. I am very pleased that you dined at Wildfire and took advantage of the awesome deal that was being offered. On a personal note, I have eaten there and the food is scrumptious! Thank you for choosing to stay at U Residende. It was such a pleasure meeting you and your lovely family, Hayley! I hope you and your family come to visit us again!! Best wishes Sisi
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Museumite wrote a review Aug 2021
4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Perfect location, excellent hosting. We felt very welcome, along with small dog when we opened our hotel room Kate night to lights on, warmly heated, and some doggy treads too. Great instructions on access and parking made it all easy to be there - thank you
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Katrina Suresh, Guest Services / Front Office at U Residence Hotel
Responded 7 Aug 2021
Hello Sallypapps Thank you for posting a lovely review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our pet friendly hotel. It is also great to read that the after hours instructions were easy to follow. We look forward to welcoming you back if you are ever in Wellington again. Best wishes Sisi
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BengalConte wrote a review Mar 2020
Vancouver Island, Canada19 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We feel very luck to have gotten a room at U Residence to stay overnight so we could attend the opera. We found it to be a lovely facility with very pleasant and helpful staff. The room seemed spanking new and equipped with everything we needed. There was a nice balcony with a partial view of the harbour. The central location was perfect as the opera house was just a short walk away. The parking that was arranged when we booked was not inexpensive but very conveniently right across the street.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from UResidence1, Manager at U Residence Hotel
Responded 10 Mar 2020
Hello BengalConte Thank you for taking the time out of your travel in this beautiful country, New Zealand, to right a brilliant review! It is pleasing to hear that you had a wonderful stay in your room and that it had everything you needed. With the outdoor furniture on the balcony, it would be quite stunning to sit and watch the view from your room to the harbour. It is my favourite room! Great to know that the paid parking we booked for you suited your needs , while you were with us. The team will be happy to know that you found them to be pleasant and helpful. It is after all, about taking care of "U" We hope one day you will visit us again. :) Best wishes Sisi
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Coco-mau wrote a review Mar 2020
Victoria, Canada25 contributions9 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked for 2 nights but had to cancel second night to get home while flights were still available. This owners would not give us a refund or discount on the second night. I realize they had a legal right to deny a refund. Luckily for us , this was the only business that charged us cancellation fees - thank you Air NZ and Omega!!
The accommodation was good - clean bright room in a good location.
Karin
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from UResidence1, Manager at U Residence Hotel
Responded 21 Mar 2020
Hello Karin Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased you found your accommodation, clean, bright and in a good location. You did make your non refundable booking a few days prior to check in. The T&C's were explained clearly over the phone, when you made your booking. You were heading to Napier on the day of your check out - I hope you enjoyed your time there, before flying back to Canada. It was lovely to meet you and your husband. Take care and best wishes Sisi
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vee T wrote a review Sept 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Spacious room with balcony allowing you to relax during your stay. Kitchen, bathroom and washer/dryer all included. Great on site managers to assist with enquiries. Located in the heart of Wellington, its a short walk to restaurants, cafes, Te Papa Museum. They offer parking across from the hotel for a small price and is recommended if you have a vehicle as car parking can be expensive and a mission to find if you intend on staying for a few nights. Will definitely go back
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Katrina Suresh, Guest Services / Front Office at U Residence Hotel
Responded 19 Sept 2020
Hello lessshhgooo_28 Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review. We are delighted to read that your stay was perfect and in the perfect location too! We are so pleased that the the managers were able to help you with your enquires and we look forward to your return at U Residence. Best wishes Sisi
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Theresa wrote a review Jun 2022
Singapore, Singapore62 contributions26 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a week's stay at U Residence. The room I had had a spacious balcony overlooking the harbour. Unfortunately, the wild weather didn't allow me to enjoy the balcony, although I did get some quick shots of the harbour.

Detailed check-in info was emailed to me and the process was seamless and easy for me. Just felt quite strange not to meet any front desk staff but I suppose this is part of the new normal.

My requests for a slightly earlier check-in and slightly later checkout were both granted, for which I was really thankful.

I really enjoyed my stay at this apartment but a few details would have made it perfect:
1) A couple of hangers had nails poking out of them. I left them out for housekeeping to replace them.
2) Since the room wasn't serviced throughout my stay, having a little more cleaning/washing detergent would be helpful, although I acknowledge that I could have contacted front desk and asked for more. Some hotels have a slip or form where you could make your requests on and leave it outside your door before 10 am the next day for housekeeping to replenish coffee, tea, milk, toiletries etc.
3) The trays in the oven had hardened grease on them. Maybe this was overlooked.

Overall, I still this I had a wonderful stay here and the location was perfect to walk to many cafés and attractions. I used to live in Welly, this felt like a home I'd have enjoyed staying at.

Thank you, U Residence team!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kamilya wrote a review May 2022
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia121 contributions41 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
What sets this hotel apart is that it does not feel like a hotel. Instead it feels more like serviced apartments guaranteeing utmost privacy. I felt very safe and comfortable during my stay. The location is hard to beat, everything is within walking distance with so many restaurants close by and if you like swimming, the Freyburg pool is only a 10 minute stroll away. The TePapa Museum, the waterfront, Courtenay Place and the New World supermarket is also within a 5 minutes walk. What I really appreciated was the in-room washing machine/dryer, the equipped kitchen, the super comfy bed and Netflix. The balcony was great for a breath of fresh air. Would recommend rooms on the left side of the corridor. All in all, would stay again when revisiting Weliington.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Rooms on left side of corridor don't have a building in front of balcony.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Suresh Subramaniam, Owner at U Residence Hotel
Responded 7 Jun 2022
Dear kamilya, Thank you for your comments and great to see that you've enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to U Residence Hotel soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pks wrote a review Jun 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
excellent location
safe for family stay
recently went with family for a week trip
near by location easy roadside car parking free from 8PM to 8AM morning.
apart from that there is a lot of parking option there
suggest to download parmate app it will show nearest and cheapest parking bay.

only issue i had is water flow is less in shower.informed to duty manager PJ about this.
thanks PJ for giving me 10% discount code.
Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: best views
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from UResidence1, Manager at U Residence Hotel
Responded 24 Jun 2020
Dear pksfdo Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We are pleased to read that you found our hotel safe and excellent location. It is also good to know that PJ assisted you with the water flow issue. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Hiro Ogata
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Akshay wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The room is a very nice little studio style apartment with all the facilities, washing machine, dryer, dishwasher, oven etc. The staff was lovely and welcoming. I would definitely recommend U residence hotel to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Katrina Suresh, Guest Services / Front Office at U Residence Hotel
Responded 3 May 2021
Hello Akshir1912 Thank yo so much for choosing to stay at U Residence in the last few weeks. We were all pleased to have you stay with us. It was a pleasure getting to know you. It is wonderful to read that you like your studio style apartment. Thank you for reccommending us! :) We hope to see you again. Take care and all the best Akshay. :) Best wishes Sisi, Elena and Chinmay
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anne C wrote a review Feb 2020
Auckland, New Zealand5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is on 4th (top) floor of an office block. Apart from construction going on next door (which only goes on during the day) the rooms are very quiet. Sisi is a lovely host and welcomed my husband and I and our dog, which we greatly appreciated. The room was very clean with a very comfortable bed. The location was spot on for all city amenities, short walk to shops, restaurants, museum, wharf area and Opera House. Only 5 minutes to ferry in the morning so very convenient for us. We parked on the street right in front of the hotel for free between 6pm and 8am and had no issues. We would recommend to others and would like to stay again when we return to Wellington.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from UResidence1, Manager at U Residence Hotel
Responded 20 Feb 2020
Dear H2276RLannec Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at U Residence Hotel. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay very much and Sisi was assisting you well. She would be delighted to read your wonderful message. Thank you very much again and looking forward to welcoming you back when you return to Wellington next time. Kind regards, Hiro Ogata Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from AtHome10
Wellington, New Zealand1 contribution1 helpful vote
Hi SallyMcBucko .. I think our fantastic and very knowledgeable guests have said it all .. most (if not all) guests seem to be very satisfied with location and the fact we are on the top of an office building, therefore very minimal noise I hope that all assists thanks and regards Patrick Manager
Answer from AtHome10
Wellington, New Zealand1 contribution1 helpful vote
Hello Frank50L If, when booking you can indicate date and time of arrival we will be expecting you .. and if you could call the accommodation when you are leaving the airport to come into town we will be waiting at the entrance to our building for you .. we are used to the wait time from landing till exiting the airport to be no usually more than about 30-40 minutes and another 10 mins (at that time of night) to accommodation. Just indicate all this clearly on notes at time of bookings and we will be prepared thanks and regards Patrick / Manager
Tom C asked a question Oct 2016
Hi, do you have car parking area>
Answer from 13out
Sydney, Australia271 contributions85 helpful votes
They have parking spaces available for an additional fee.
Answer from ozallan
Sydney, Australia1,844 contribution373 helpful votes
Yes the manager lives onsite. They need to let you into the building as the apartments are on the top floor of a commercial building and the doors will be locked at that time. So suggest you advice them of your expected arrival time.
Tanman1962 asked a question Jun 2016
Wellington, New Zealand25 contributions4 helpful votes
Your accommodation is listed as pet friendly. Does this include cats?
Answer from AtHome10
Wellington, New Zealand1 contribution1 helpful vote
The only pets we guarantee to accommodate are small, non-shedding dog breeds. Charges do apply for this. For all other pets please contact us directly on 0800 802 085
juholland62 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Whangarei, New Zealand2 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"A coffee plunger is provided but no plunger coffee, - that would have been good."
Read full review
judd r wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t stay here unless it’s cheap."
Read full review
boyd_duncan wrote a tip Mar 2024
Campbelltown, Australia12 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you're staying at U Residence Hotel, you've got a supermarket and convenience stores close by to stock up the kitchen."
Read full review
Suz wrote a tip Feb 2024
Wellington, New Zealand6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask to stay on the Wakefield side for larger balconies."
Read full review
Lisa P wrote a tip Jan 2024
2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Mind the step from the kitchen to the living area!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Wellington area.
PRICE RANGE
$156 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
at home wellington hotel wellington, at home hotel wellington, wellington at home hotel
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
At Home Wellington
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandGreater WellingtonWellington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

U RESIDENCE HOTEL | UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Wellington, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about U Residence Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to U Residence Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa (0.2 km), Hawthorn Lounge (0.4 km), and Cuba Street (0.07 km).
What are some of the property amenities at U Residence Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a fitness centre, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at U Residence Hotel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at U Residence Hotel?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at U Residence Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to U Residence Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include WBC Restaurant, Oak And Vine Wellington, and The Old Quarter.
Are there opportunities to exercise at U Residence Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is U Residence Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Wellington.
Are any cleaning services offered at U Residence Hotel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to U Residence Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old St Paul's (1.7 km), Wellington Cable Car (0.9 km), and Government House (1.7 km).
Does U Residence Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Wellington HotelsWellington Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in WellingtonHotels near U Residence Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire