Airport Motor Lodge
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Airport Motor Lodge

Corner Broadway & Hobart Street Miramar, Wellington 6022 New Zealand
Traveller (10)
Premier Studio
Room & Suite (14)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#4 of 10 motels in Wellington
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Conveniently located 6 minutes walk or 650 metres from Wellington Airport, in the heart of Miramar where Weta Film Studio has made its impact with Lord of The Rings. There is a collection of wonderful cafe's and restaurants in the area, with one of our favorites right across the road. We provide a courtesy coach for airport pick up and drop offs (from 7.30am daily). We offer you a great location weather you are travelling to and from the airport, visiting the Weta Film Studio or with a bus stop right at the door you can travel into Wellington city. We offer you a modern, friendly and secure stay. We look forward to welcoming you !
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Golf course
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free airport transportation
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Shops
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Modern
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Corner Broadway & Hobart Street Miramar, Wellington 6022 New Zealand
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 48 out of 100
48
Wellington Intl Airport
Kapiti Coast Airport
49.5 km
See all flights
1 Attraction
within 1 kilometer
182Reviews2Q+A31Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 83
  • 68
  • 22
  • 2
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Barry H wrote a review Mar 2020
Bournemouth, United Kingdom666 contributions242 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Decided to stay here overnight as we had to checkin for an early flight at 4.30am next day. The airport is approximately 5 minutes walk away from the lodge and by using the left luggage facility at the airport overnight this made the early start quite simple.

On arrival we were welcomed and shown to a spacious room, that was comfortable and more than adequte for our needs. Facilites were fine and the WiFi proved efficient. Surprisingly quiet at night allowing us to get some decent rest pre-flight.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joy R wrote a review Feb 2015
3 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our flight from Brisbane arrived after midnight and we phoned the owner from the free phone at the airport. He was there to collect us within 5 minutes. Our room was very clean, comfortable and spacious. We were exhausted and had a great sleep - our room, which faced the main road - was extremely quiet and peaceful. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Richard0110 wrote a review Jan 2015
Perth, Australia62 contributions27 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived here at 11.55pm and the gentleman couldn't do enough to find us a room and make sure we had everything sorted for a perfect sleep which was what we needed. I will certainly stay here again and despite it being near a busy road it was unbelievably quiet. I recommend the Motor Lodge to anyone needing a motel close to the airport and city.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NEVER USE BOOKING.COM wrote a review Jul 2019
1 contribution12 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
THE ABSOLUTE WORST EXPERIENCE I’VE EVER HAD. SO BAD A POLICE STATEMENT WAS GIVEN BY ME. I am an avid traveler who have experienced many highs and lows of travel in over 36 countries. This is by far the worst I have ever been treated. I arrived at 6am with many bags (as I am moving home after 5years) and was waiting out the front of the hotel for only 30mins. All I wanted to do was leave my bags so I could get food and pass the time until check-in at 2pm. Within minutes the lady was aggressive in her speech, told me she was locking the door and I couldn’t sit in the lobby or leave my bags. Once the man returned he began to get angry and treating me in the most unexpected way. He were rude, he began shouting at me saying things like SHUT UP, he told me I couldn’t be there, they told me they called the police, and then once I was outside with my belongings the man kicked my bag along the ground. I was expected to go back there that night. No way! I was shaking, crying and shocked. Furthermore, Booking.com said they could not refund me regardless that I felt threatened and unsafe. Its rated a 9 out of 10 but it was a 0 out of 10. A bit of advice, get out of the hospitality business if you can’t treat people with respect.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AML6022, Owner at Airport Motor Lodge
Responded 27 Jul 2019
Unfortunately at the time of your arrival 6am, our office was not yet open for the day and our guests were still asleep in their rooms, as check out is not till 10am. Check in for you was from 2pm. We were not able to give you your room booked for the night until guests from the night before vacated their rooms and we cleaned the room ready for you. Our normal check in time is from 2pm, but if we can get our work completed we try hard to allow an earlier check in time when necessary. We understand you had been travelling through the night, but in this instance our hands were tied. We gave you our WiFi password to allow you to sort out some issues that you were dealing with. We offered to keep you bags until your room could be cleaned.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
203steven wrote a review Jul 2014
Whanganui, New Zealand1 contribution4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
the couple running this hotel are incompetent. i booked a room for three adults over the phone and was told there would be a queen bed and a bed settee this would cost $155 for the night .what i got was a bed no settee and charged $165 and was told to expect mistakes .i will not be staying again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vincent L wrote a review Jun 2014
1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We choose this hotel because of the location, need to stay the night to catch a morning flight the next day. The location is convenient but the place is really rundown.

The shower area in the toilet is separated by curtain only so the toilet gets really messy and wet after use. Heater in the room not working and you can not find any power point to charge your phone/notebook in the room.

Lastly, although advertise that it provide free internet what they actually provide is an hour access or 20MB max data only.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AirportMotorLodge, Manager at Airport Motor Lodge
Responded 29 Jun 2014
Hello from the Airport Motor Lodge in Wellington, New Zealand. We were alarmed to read your comments on our accommodation and cannot understand your feedback about our property being rundown. You will notice that we have an average of 4.5 out of 5 on Trip Advisor – one of the highest ratings in all of Wellington. We have also just won the Trip Advisor Excellence Award for 2014. We pride ourselves on great service and cleanliness of our property. We continue to invest in upgrading the property to ensure our guests have a great stay with us. Because your comments seem inconsistent with any others we have had, would like to check that it is all our property that you were rating? To address your points raised – were do not advertise free WIFI, we charge for this service as it costs us for the amount of data a customer uses – however, we do offer our guests enough free data to allow them to check and send emails for their convenience. Only our mobility rooms have a curtain area around the shower and this is for wheelchair access, with a seat and a large space within the curtained area. All other rooms have glass shower surrounds. We do not have heaters in our rooms but heat pumps which are maintained regularly. In each room, we have power points at each side of the bed, at the writing desk, just above the skirting board for the standard lamp and above the fridge for boiling the kettle. We would have been very happy to help you with your concerns whilst you were staying with us, and we are sorry that you did not talk with us at the time. Kind regards Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andrew P wrote a review May 2019
Turramurra, Australia132 contributions111 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I was stuck at the airport overnight due to weather and the Airport Novotel was booked out so I stayed here as it’s a 10min wall from the terminal.

The room was clean and check in was friendly. There was a strange clicking/mechanical noise through the night that kept disturbed my sleep.

There are two restaurants across the road and I ate at the Greek option which was excellent. Otherwise there is nothing else nearby. Apart from being very close to the airport there is not much else going for it.

If I was in a similar situation I would probably look for a better option even if it required a shuttle rather than being walking distance.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AML6022, Owner at Airport Motor Lodge
Responded 4 Jun 2019
Thank you Andrew for your review. Our location services the Airport (as we are just 650m away) and local businesses or travelers on the Miramar Peninsula. You are right we have two great restaurants over the road and we get great feedback on them both.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BigGus7759 wrote a review Jan 2019
Sydney, Australia4 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
When booking I was asked for my flight times to co-ordinate the courtesy transfer from Wellington Airport which I duly did by return email.
When I arrived at Wellington Airport, there was no one there to collect me or my luggage so I rang the Airport Motor Lodge only to be met with a recorded message that their hours were something like 7 a.m. to 9 p.m. and I should leave a message so they could return my call the next day.
Problem was it was only 6.45 p.m. !!
Anyhow, being somewhat tired, I just caught a cab.
When I questioned the lady upon arrival at the front desk, she advised me that couldn't have happened as their phones were working.
She then proceeded to get her superior who said I didn't book a transfer so, even if someone was available, they would not have picked me up anyhow. He did agree that their phone was indeed switched to their message service as he was "out the back".
I produced the email to them confirming my flight arrival times they had requested when making the booking to which he said,"I don't care, I'm right and you are wrong."
I then asked why he bothered asking for my flight detail in the first instance and he became even more abusive.
As such, I gave up and just went to my room,freshened up and went out for dinner.
Upon return, there was another Scottish couple also experiencing the Airport Motor Lodge's "hospitality" having just got off a flight and were unable to access their room.
I won't be returning anytime soon.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Howard E wrote a review Oct 2018
Gilford, New Hampshire164 contributions61 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for one night as we flew in and the next day we were catching a long international flight. Had a decent nights sleep here but the nice thing is that it is easily reached by foot with baggage.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Convenient To Airport
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ulla L wrote a review Apr 2018
Melbourne, Australia13 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived after midnight from Melbourne and had walking directions to this hotel. It was an easy 10 minute walk from the terminal. The manager on duty was very pleasant and helpful and the room we had was spotless and very comfortable. Not luxury but it had everything we needed. The check out was also very easy and friendly. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AML6022, Owner at Airport Motor Lodge
Responded 6 May 2018
Many thanks for your positive feedback. We work hard to provide a great experience for all our guests. See you again on another visit.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Waynedvh
Hokitika, New Zealand4,159 contributions146 helpful votes
Shuttle starts from 7am, but taxi available hope this helps regards Wayne
Answer from Chappers64
Sandwich, United Kingdom964 contributions83 helpful votes
We run a B&B and probably check Trip Advisor once a week, wouldn't advise anyone wanting a pick up, etc using TA as the method of asking. Pick up the phone and call.
NEVER USE BOOKING.COM wrote a tip Jul 2019
1 contribution12 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay somewhere else"
Read full review
Susan E wrote a tip May 2019
Bonny Hills, Australia25 contributions11 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Simply perfect airport hotel"
Read full review
Howard E wrote a tip Oct 2018
Gilford, New Hampshire164 contributions61 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Convenient To Airport"
Read full review
353penny wrote a tip Aug 2018
8 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We enjoyed being on the ground floor in a spa bath unit."
Read full review
PaulineTAntrum wrote a tip Jun 2018
Paraparaumu, New Zealand476 contributions85 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Look out for specials on booking.com"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Wellington area.
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandGreater WellingtonWellington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AIRPORT MOTOR LODGE - Motel Reviews (Wellington) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Airport Motor Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Airport Motor Lodge?
Nearby attractions include The Roxy Cinema (1.1 km), Akau Tangi Sports Centre (1.2 km), and Whirlwind Design Store (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Airport Motor Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Airport Motor Lodge?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Airport Motor Lodge?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Airport Motor Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Airport Motor Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Oikos, CoCo at the Roxy, and Spruce Goose.
Does Airport Motor Lodge have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Airport Motor Lodge offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Airport Motor Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Airport Motor Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to Airport Motor Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old St Paul's (6.0 km), Wellington Cable Car (5.5 km), and Government House (3.2 km).
Is Airport Motor Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Wellington HotelsWellington Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in WellingtonHotels near Airport Motor Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire