Trinity Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Trinity Hotel

Traveller (116)
Room & Suite (9)
Arborist rooftop bar.
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
$156
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#34 of 53 hotels in Wellington
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located in the heart of Wellington, Trinity Hotel offers rooms with satellite TV. Guests have access to a well-equipped fitness centre, a restaurant and a bar. Guests enjoy unlimited free WiFi. Trinity Hotel Wellington is only 5 minutes’ walk from Lambton Quay, famous for its cafés and boutique shopping. The Wellington Harbourfront and Te Papa Tongarewa Museum are 10 minutes' walk away. The Arborist rooftop bar and eatery is open most days from midday, weather permitting. It offers a selection of grilled meats and specialty salads. You can even cook it yourself at the tabletop BBQs, or dine at the downstairs restaurant. All rooms at the Trinity Hotel have an en suite bathroom, and include a work desk with WiFi access. Each room has a minibar and tea/coffee making facilities. To book a car park, guests will need to contact the property prior to arrival, using the contact details found on the booking confirmation.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Laundry service
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Rooftop bar
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, Russian

Location

166 Willis Street, Wellington 6001 New Zealand
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Wellington Intl Airport
Kapiti Coast Airport
46.9 km
See all flights
660Reviews4Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 84
  • 231
  • 217
  • 84
  • 44
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
MoolooSwampy wrote a review May 2021
Auckland, New Zealand214 contributions64 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I've stayed here a couple of times before, and it has improved markedly. The rooms are clean and spacious, beds very comfortable, and there's a desk and free WiFi for those wanting to work. The Arborist provides excellent food and beverages either on the rooftop (bar) or ground floor (restaurant). However, avoid the 6th floor if you are a light sleeper, as the noise from the rooftop bar above can get intrusive. I would also ask for a room facing 'inward' rather than out to Willis or Dixon St, particularly on a Friday or Saturday night when the revellers wandering the streets get a bit noisy.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Avoid the 6th floor if you are a light sleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Trinity Hotel Smith, Marketing at Trinity Hotel
Responded 20 May 2021
Thanks for the review! Delighted to hear you enjoyed our new beds and the fabulous Arborist Rooftop Bar. We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MariceNZ wrote a review Jul 2022
Wanganui111 contributions70 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed on the third floor. Our room overlooked Dixon Street. It was advertised as a Basic room without aircon. Quite a small room for the three of us, if we had been traveling with suitcases there would have been little space to place these. While there was a cupboard it was filled with an ironing board, extra heater and other things that left little room for actually putting jackets or clothes in. The room was tidy and clean and the beds comfortable. There was quite a lot of noise from the outside road, and other guests coming and going. The fridge was also noisy but there was a switch to turn this off. We did stay a Saturday and Sunday. The Sunday evening was quieter.

Overall it suited us for our stay but there were a few small things that could have been improved. No pen/paper. The hotel booklet said there were earplugs available in the room for our use...never saw these. The top part of the window is double glazed but the bottom panel not. There was quite a lot of condensation on this window in the morning. You would not want to have left your spare pillows on the floor here or anything else.

Staff were pleasant and I had a very nice breakfast down in the restaurant. While room service is available I think it would have been awkward eating in the room. Location was great.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Might be worth looking at a Deluxe room. Maybe the higher floors wouldn't be so noisy.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
riggersrock wrote a review Jan 2020
Port Ludlow, Washington116 contributions70 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is walking distance to the water which is great. Reserved a space in the carpark, very tight and we had to call them to open the garage. The call went to voice mail! Had to go back into the hotel and ask to open, this would have been a 2 star review if we only felt with the female staff but fortunately everyone else was very nice. The room are small but well appointed. The Arborist roof top bar can be a problem, there is only one elevator so you will be stopped by the bouncer if the bar is full. Having to tell someone you have a room is strange, do note the public going to the roof top bar has the ability to get off on any floor they choose. The Arborist restaurant attached/next door is good. There service and beer selection and especially the breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel
Responded 26 Jan 2020
Dear riggersrock, Thank you for your feed back. I will pass your comments regarding the Arborist and the Hotel lift onto their staff for review. I am delighted the staff you encountered were helpful. Thank you again for providing your comments. Regards, Andrew
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
bengold90 wrote a review Mar 2020
404 contributions132 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is located near all central activities, but other than that, I would recommend you go elsewhere if you stay in Wellington and here is why.

There is currently construction on the street which means that early AM, you can start hearing the workers and their drill/sledgehammer, etc, since the windows are not really soundproof. The carpet and the bed are not particularly looking or feeling clean, as it feels as if this was a very old installment. The rooms are also not soundproof, meaning that you can pretty much hear everything that is happening in the corridors, particularly when someone opens/closes their room doors. There was only half an existing toilet paper roll the first night I was there. The checkout was at 11 AM and the cleaning staff was there at 11 AM, and I told her I would be leaving in 10 min, and within that timeframe, I had already received a call from the front desk to ask him to leave. All in all, an experience I will not keep in mind for the right reasons and I will not be recommending the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel
Responded 15 Mar 2020
Dear bengold90, Thank you for your email. It is great you enjoyed our location. Unfortunately the road construction is totally out of our control as explained on all booking channels due to emergency roadworks by Council and Wellington Water being currently conducted. 11am is the check out time and we follow up with guests at 11am as to their departure time as we need to clean the rooms prior to a 2pm check in for other guests, not an unreasonable request I am sure you will agree. As you would have been advised at check in, if you had any requests make sure you contact reception. Noise, and additional toilet paper requests would have been dealt with straight away for you. We do appreciate you sending us your feedback. Regards, Andrew B
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jevtash wrote a review Apr 2022
Whakatāne, New Zealand81 contributions18 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel or hostel? I couldn’t quite figure this one out. Booked two double rooms on booking.com for a family of four for $350 (As recommended by website) Sent a message with the booking requesting rooms to be side by side or interconnecting because of children and in the refurbished area of hotel as apparently half refurbished. Message came back stating can not have side by side rooms and would have to pay for a upgrade to refurbished room..this option wasn’t available at booking. Was pressed for hotel options due to long weekend last minute booking and didn’t manage to research better. The “Hotel” is the worst I’ve ever been in with stains, worn carpet, pubic hair in shower head, someone’s boogie on shower wall, unfolded blanket shoved into cupboard, mold in bathroom, a loading zone across the road, and unhelpful morning staff. The noise of the paper thin windows leave you hearing every single outside noise keeping you up all night (fell asleep after 3am due to street noise). Our children were located around the corner but at least on the same floor as us. Bed was uncomfortable and flow of room is completely wrong with lumpy thin carpet, no space and poor airflow with no aircon. Perfect for a drunken night with late check out 11am and stumbling distance to bars. Only Pro was the poor guy at check-In reception felt sorry for us and gave us two breakfast vouchers for the hassle.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don’t stay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Travelling wrote a review Oct 2020
Wellington, New Zealand8 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay in Wellington was for a family occasion so thankfully only had to sleep and shower in room as it was very small. On arrival we noticed the bed cover was very faded and had stains on it. The sheets also had black grease mark's on them. The bathroom was at least clean but very dated. Next morning went to make coffee and there was none in the room. The room servicing is absolute minimum. No vacuuming over the whole three days. On the third day there ,the bed was left unmade.
The onsite roof top restaurant was open and we were advised at reception that it was a good place for a drink, but on getting there the staff member was very unhappy with us not having a reservation and was frankly rude, accused us of queue jumping. Obviously we went elsewhere.
Over all not a very pleasant place to stay and for what is offered it is over priced.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Bramwell, General Manager at Trinity Hotel
Responded 26 Oct 2020
Dear ltrave123, Thank you for posting your comments. I will pass on your comments to the Manager of the Rooftop bar to investigte as to how this happened. Regarding your room, I have passed these comments through to our Housekeeping Supervisor to review. My sincere apologies you found your room in this condition. This is not our usual standards. Regards, Trinity Hotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rydeboi wrote a review Nov 2022
Sydney, Australia37 contributions40 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Room: 305 Stay November 6-11
Pros: location. Front of House Staff
Cons: House Keeping. Bins not emptied on some days. Toiletries not replaced everyday day. Stayed 5 nights bed sheets not replaced during this time. Carpet clearly needed vacuuming but never done during the 5 days.
Room: Bed was comfortable. Room had a bar fridge, which was set to the lowest setting and still every thing including the milf for the coffee froze
Bar/Restaurant: N/a as did not use
General This is a budget hotel, with a great location but the housekeeping standard needs to be improved.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: My Room was on the side street not Willis St, this is where you want as I think the rooms facing...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hilary A wrote a review Aug 2020
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand11 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Pretty nice place to stay for a night. First impression was that it looked nice, however it seemed that everything was just a little bit crooked. From the broken door on the wardrobe, the light on the wall and even the electrical socket. It gave me an impression of a place that needs a bit of renovation. The room was a little on the small side but overall we enjoyed our stay, especially the central location and comfy bed. My main piece of advice is to only stay here if you are okay with hearing ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING your partner does in the bathroom as it sounds like they are in the same room as you. The Arborist downstairs does yummy coffee and breakfast! I have heard the rooftop bar is sweet too.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Request a room away from Willis Street, there are also roadworks on the side road.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Bramwell, General Manager at Trinity Hotel
Responded 19 Aug 2020
Hi Skitter Salai, Thank you for your review. I will certainly ensure we get the maintenance items attended to immediately. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I will pass on your kind comments regarding the Arborist - thanks very much. We hope to see you back again soon. Regards, Andrew B
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sheila P wrote a review Jan 2020
5 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Very disappointed in the hotel. Firstly when booked there was no word of having to get separate parking. With coming from UK which all hotels have parking you would expect if to say if no parking available. Cost an extra $50 to park!! Rooms very dated and smelt musty. No air con so had to open windows so very noisy. Rooftop bar is awesome. Only advantage was it was in middle of town
.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew B, General Manager at Trinity Hotel
Responded 29 Jan 2020
Dear SheilaP1047, Thank you very much for sharing your feed back. As you would have seen, there is multiple roadworks occuring around the Hotel due to sewer & wastewater council infrastructural issues. It is important to know this is completely out of our control and would have been communicated to you as we are informing all guests prior to their arrival to stay with us.. This information is again beingl communicated to all guests on arrival. If you had spoken to reception you would have been given a car parking slip to park over the road in a council owned car park. The cost is $25 per day or 24 hour period. You are correct, there is no air conditioning in our building and this is documented on all bookings channels and our website. I am pleased however, you liked our location. Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments. Regards, Andrew B
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marion E wrote a review Jul 2021
Whangarei, New Zealand146 contributions86 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Average hotel pics look better than reality. Worn woodwork , cracked bayhroom tikes in bathroom, smudged walls. Very central opposite food court and good dairy. Cabs Ola Uber all handy. Nice little designer shops nearby. Reception got it wrong We had already paid on Bookings.com insisted We hadnt paid then had to reimburse. Other than that very friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Check your room first
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
royalMerseyside asked a question Jan 2018
merseyside19 contributions16 helpful votes
Do the rooms have a safe
Answer from Andrew B
Wellington, New Zealand
I am sorry, no. There is a safe in the office that can be used for small items. Thank you
763rajindars asked a question Dec 2016
New Delhi, India1 contribution
While coming by bus from airport where should I get down to reach Hotel
Answer from KimMcF
Nelson, New Zealand20 contributions6 helpful votes
I'm not sure what the name of the stop was sorry. I had the name of the street of hotel and I asked the bus driver when I got on the bus which stop to get off at. When we got off we pretty much turned left and walked about 5mins up I slightly inclined street and the hotel was on the right on a corner just across from the night market.
Jessyhos asked a question Jun 2016
Tauranga, New Zealand
Is there any car parking?
Answer from Phil A
Auckland Central, New Zealand153 contributions63 helpful votes
Yes and around $25 per night
Jaye N asked a question Sept 2015
Adelaide, Australia50 contributions15 helpful votes
Do they offer an airport shuttle?
Answer from tham2015
Singapore, Singapore421 contributions118 helpful votes
No, but the hotel front desk staff was very helpful to help us book a cab for the early morning flight. Cab will be cheaper if there are a few of you as the Airport Flyer charges per head but you can book the cab at a fixed price of NZ$20 from hotel to airport, as what the hotel staff did for us.
mykim09 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Portland, Oregon13 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring ear plugs if you're a light sleeper. It can be loud with city noise"
Read full review
Hoc Etiam wrote a tip Oct 2023
Christchurch, New Zealand119 contributions46 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get up to the rooftop early as it gets packed and closes and you have to go on a waitlist to get up on top."
Read full review
Jem Matt wrote a tip Jul 2023
4 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Before booking online, call the hotel and ask if there will be appliances such as microwave and cutlery provided. We had to ask several time"
Read full review
622suziej wrote a tip May 2023
Auckland, New Zealand175 contributions48 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Another floor might be nicer but the 6 th floor is not."
Read full review
Andrew M wrote a tip Apr 2023
9 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Read instructions for parking access."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Wellington area.
PRICE RANGE
$96 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
trinity hotel wellington
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandGreater WellingtonWellington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TRINITY HOTEL - Now $98 (Was $̶1̶5̶2̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Wellington, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Trinity Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Trinity Hotel?
Nearby attractions include City to Sea Bridge (0.4 km), Fear Factory Wellington (0.3 km), and City Gallery Wellington Te Whare Toi (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Trinity Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Trinity Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Trinity Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Trinity Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include WBC Restaurant, Jano Bistro, and Neo Cafe & Eatery.
Is Trinity Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Wellington.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Trinity Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Russian.
Are there any historical sites close to Trinity Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old St Paul's (1.7 km), Wellington Cable Car (0.7 km), and Government House (1.9 km).
Is Trinity Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Wellington HotelsWellington Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in WellingtonHotels near Trinity Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire