We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Willis Wellington Hotel

355 Willis St Te Aro, Wellington 6011 New Zealand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (182)
Room & Suite (96)
Dining (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#53 of 53 hotels in Wellington
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Centrally located in the heart of the Cuba Quarter of Wellington, Willis Wellington Hotel is a short walk to local attractions, dining, shopping and 15 minutes away from the renowned Te Papa Museum. Offering 90 well-appointed rooms with amenities and facilities suited for both business, conference and leisure guests. With Individual Sky TV decoders in each room with recording capabilities, Willis Wellington Hotel is the perfect base to meet friends for a drink or dinner in the Cuba Quarter before returning for the night and watching your favourite recorded programme.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
24-hour check-in
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Hindi
506Reviews11Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 37
  • 139
  • 159
  • 93
  • 78
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
KiwiRoama wrote a review Jan 2024
New Zealand19 contributions7 helpful votes
The air con wasn’t working. In actual fact, there is no aircon. The room was grubby. The worst were the windows. Possibly never been cleaned. Ever. Worse than filthy. They need to employ a cleaner! This hotel is built from concrete. Years ago. There is evidence of home handyman level repairs to the concrete beams on ceilings. Possibly hiding earthquake damage. Don’t worry, strong earthquakes aren’t common in Wellington. Not at all.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Avoid looking at the dirt. It’ll make your stay much better
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Janusz S wrote a review Dec 2023
1 contribution
Horrible place. Very old and in need of demlition. Rooms very small, no toilet paper and windows so dirty like they were never washed before.To prevent guest from opening them there were nails inserted into the frame.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Tour38941183506 wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
My partner and I stayed overnight in room 316 last night. We arrived and was quickly given our key card. The lady at the desk seemed nice enough. We got to the third floor and noticed the carpet in the hallway was filthy and lumpy. We felt like we would trip over! Entering the room, the linens were clean and the room had obviously had a 5 minute clean, but parts that were missed bothered us the most. On the textured ceiling, there was a thick layer of dust, so thick in fact, that it looked like dust bunnies were about to fall off, as shown in the photo. This made for an uneasy sleep, as it seemed very unhygenic. Splatters above the toilet and on the mirror in the bathroom were also noticed, as well as black spots from the ceiling due to mould. Wifi and the TV worked fine, but the heating element in our jug had turned black on the inside, and black bits were showing in our cups, so tea was out of the question. The next morning we had breakfast. This was the best part of our stay. Good options and plenty of food. Overall 2 stars. For this price, you'd expect better.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Merehana wrote a review Oct 2023
Wellington, New Zealand3 contributions
Had previously stayed here before, so decided to stay again as it was a good hotel close to Cuba St etc. Room was perfect for night and highlight was it had a bath. Buffet Breakfast was yummy. Staff were all friendly and helpful which always helps.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from CPG Hotels, General Manager at Willis Wellington Hotel
Responded 25 Oct 2023
Dear DatTrip26410140203, Thank you for taking time to review our Willis Wellington Hotel. We are very pleased that your return visit was a good as the last and we look forward to seeing you again in the very near future. Regards Willis Wellington team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Companion23246623385 wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
As soon as we walked into the building it had a tired look. When we were show to the room, after been made to pay first, we were disappointed beyond words. The photos look nothing like the rooms at all. There was mould on the windows and they were full of condensation. The carpet was disgusting and pulled throughout the building. The pillows were dirty, the linen wasn't clean and there was an overall smell of mould throughout the hotel and strong in the rooms. This hotel is disgusting and I would not recommend anyone waster their money on it. We left as I had my mum and daughter with me and there was no way I could have them sleep there - it wasn't safe. As you can imagine.... no refund, no apologies, no communication at all!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don't stay here. The photos are not what it looks like and as one person posted "earthquake prone...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from CPG Hotels, General Manager at Willis Wellington Hotel
Responded 25 Oct 2023
Dear Mrs Kilday, We note you have, in your words, " find as many avenues to write a review" in regards to your recent visit. You have however omitted that you have actually received a refund. We trust you found satisfactory alternative accommodation whist you visited Wellington. Regards Willis Wellington team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Steve B wrote a review Oct 2023
Tauranga, New Zealand11 contributions7 helpful votes
Heater didn't work, no spare blankets, WiFi didn't work and was told just wait for people to get off their phones later. Was left dirty had crumbs from previous guests. Ceiling was fulling off into the floor. Also couldn't sleep because all of the above. Had a real Comphy matress
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Don't book here
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from CPG Hotels, General Manager at Willis Wellington Hotel
Responded 25 Oct 2023
Good morning stevebN1737KD, Thank you for your comments in regards to Willis Wellington Hotel. It would appear that your stay with us was not up to your satisfaction and which we apologise. We would love to see you return so we can make amends. Regards Willis Wellington team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Radiant C wrote a review Jun 2023
9 contributions2 helpful votes
Room was definitely basic and quite dated but clean. Can tell that the rooms are pretty old and sometimes there would be a slightly musty smell when i first stepped in but not noticeable after awhile. Small TV, fridge and hot water flask was sufficient for me. Could probably do with a little more table space to put things though, but I managed. A quick 10min bus ride from town so was easy to get home quickly after dinner/shopping, about 20mins walk to waterfront. Convenient location to get around Welly. Staff was friendly and free buffet breakfast was great. When I complained of ongoing noise from 11pm-12.30am, the staff took action quickly and silence returned soon after. Wouldn't mind staying again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Willis Wellington Team, General Manager at Willis Wellington Hotel
Responded 26 Jun 2023
Good morning radiantc, Thank you for taking time to comment on our Willis Wellington Hotel. The team are pleased that you found them friendly and efficient. As noted in many a review, our complimentary fully cooked breakfast buffet is a sure drawcard. We are currently signing off on a soft refurbishment and trust that we can welcome you back in the near future. Regards Willis Wellington team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
gaz0072018 wrote a review Mar 2023
Masterton, New Zealand71 contributions26 helpful votes
We often stay at the Willis Hotel in Wellington, the price is resonable plus you get a fantastic breakfast included in the price which makes it very good value. Easy walking distance to Cuba mall or head on down to the water front. Limited car parking avaiable for $20 per night.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book a carpark when booking room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Willis Wellington Team, General Manager at Willis Wellington Hotel
Responded 10 Apr 2023
Dear gas0072018, Arguably the only CBD hotel in Wellington that provides a complimentary cooked breakfast buffet, we are very grateful for your kind words. We would however take this opportunity to advise all our readers and contributors that parking is limited and reservations are essential. gas0072018, please do not take too long to revisit us once again. Regards Willis Wellington team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
markrds wrote a review Feb 2023
8 contributions1 helpful vote
I chose the Willis Wellington because, compared to most of the other properties that were available at the time in central Wellington, it was very reasonably priced. The room was not huge or partciularly luxurious, ut it was comfortable and quiet. The added free breakfast was also an unexpectedly good bonus.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Willis Wellington Team, General Manager at Willis Wellington Hotel
Responded 10 Apr 2023
Dear markrds, Thank you for taking time to share your comments. We appreciate we are not 5 star however with a 5 star complimentary cooked breakfast buffet for all guests who stay, we certainly have a point of difference. We hope to see you again in the very near future. Regards Willis Wellington team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Wirazzin wrote a review Feb 2023
Sydney, Australia80 contributions60 helpful votes
The council certificate on the front door telling you the building is not earthquake safe is a good place to start! Had to park on street, not an easy thing to do in Wellington. Room as hot as hell with no air con. Twin room with one bed broken on a lean. Shower time - no towels Tea/ Coffee - no spoons Sheets on beds cream in colour not white. Pedestal fan in room with dust hanging off it. I could go on! Enough said
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Willis Wellington Team, General Manager at Willis Wellington Hotel
Responded 15 Feb 2023
Hi Wirazzin, It seems the first impression from our council regulated certificate set the tone for your stay. Having this morning suffered a 6.3 magnitude quake with no damage, the hotel has always been deemed safe by the council as opposed to several hotels that have been closed. Off street parking is available however with a small overnight charge, guests do sometimes prefer to pay this charge and park on the street and as you have alluded to, very hard in Wellington. We trust you will have an enjoyable stay in New Zealand and hope to see you in the future when our refurbishment programme has concluded. Regards Willis Wellington team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Wellington area.
PRICE RANGE
$127 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mercure wellington willis street hotel wellington, accor wellington willis street
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Leisure Inn Wellington
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandGreater WellingtonWellington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WILLIS WELLINGTON HOTEL - Now $139 (Was $̶2̶0̶2̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Willis Wellington Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Willis Wellington Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Light House Cinema Cuba (0.4 km), Nairn Street Cottage (0.3 km), and WellyPutt Mini Golf (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Willis Wellington Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast buffet, and meeting rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Willis Wellington Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Willis Wellington Hotel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Willis Wellington Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Willis Wellington Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lola Rouge, Jano Bistro, and Logan Brown.
Does Willis Wellington Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Willis Wellington Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Willis Wellington Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old St Paul's (2.4 km), Wellington Cable Car (1.3 km), and Government House (1.4 km).
Is Willis Wellington Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.