We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (786)
Room & Suite (335)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#10 of 53 hotels in Wellington
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
2023 Travellers' Choice Best of the Best
Boasting stunning waterfront views, InterContinental Wellington is five-star hotel in New Zealand's capital. Centrally located in Wellington near premier arts, shopping, and culinary destinations, our hotel is a tranquil respite from the vibrant city below. Enjoy exceptional international dining at GPO or an elevated coffee at Two Grey, escape to our award-winning Club InterContinental lounge, and unwind in our serene contemporary guest rooms and suites.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
On-demand films
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Afrikaans and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct & Save with IHG One Rewards
2,104Reviews33Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 1,163
  • 611
  • 220
  • 71
  • 39
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
T E wrote a review Mar 2024
7 contributions1 helpful vote
This is one of the better hotels in Wellington but that is not saying much about the quality of hotels in this city. My IHG Diamond Ambassador status was recognised. I was grateful for the upgrade from a junior suite to a junior suite with a harbour view. The Club Lounge was very good indeed. Food and service in the Lounge was excellent. It is the jewel in the (ageing) crown of the hotel. The staff in the Lounge deserve high commendation. So too do the cleaning staff deserve commendation for swift and efficient service. However, the rooms are tired and in urgent need of renovation. The shower water flow was pitiful; there are no slippers in the room--something one should expect in four star PLUS hotels. The furniture in the suite was showing its age. I almost fell over backwards sitting in one of the broken desk chairs! Overall, this is an average hotel in the IHG stable. As I have noted in previous reviews of IHG hotels in Oceania and the USA, the franchise model used to operate IHG is NOT working to ensure consistent quality across the IHG chain. On the other hand the Kimpton group which is also part of IHG is delivering quality. I wonder if Kimpton is based on the franchise model? It wouldn't surprise me if it was not. In due course, I'll try the new Intercontinental Hotel in Auckland and see how that fares.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Get a Club Lounge access room
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jordie Willis, Owner at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Voyage59513, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you chose to stay with us during your visit to Wellington and are delighted to see you enjoyed the service and Club InterContinental Lounge. However, we do apologise that your stay did not meet all your expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our management team so we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Sincerely, InterContinental Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Andy wrote a review Jun 2023
Washington DC, District of Columbia25 contributions6 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
For my week in Wellington for work and fun, I wanted to make things as easy as possible logistics wise -- and I wanted a good view. The InterContinental provided to be a great choice and well worth it to pay extra for Club access and a harbor view. The Club provided breakfast as well as evening hors d'oeuvres that made additional dinner not necessary. (The hors d'oeuvres were less impressive than some Marriott M Clubs I've been to, but still decent.) The excellent chefs make tasty omelette and egg sandwiches for breakfast. Also, the Club staff -- and all the staff, including the front desk -- were friendly and helpful. I also liked that the rooms were modern. And again, what a view of the harbor!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jordie Willis, Owner at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel
Responded 11 Jul 2023
Dear AndyF_20008, Thank you for your lovely feedback. The team and I are pleased you chose to stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, a positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in and are vey happy to hear your stay was enjoyable. We hope you will visit us again. Warm regards, InterContinental Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ed S wrote a review Mar 2024
Dewsbury, United Kingdom96 contributions20 helpful votes
We spent a couple of nights here and everything was great. We had a spacious room with views over the harbour and the hotel is perfectly situated for exploring. The breakfast was excellent with a lot of choice. We didn't have any other meals there but we did have a nice glass of wine in the bar The concierge could not have been more helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jordie Willis, Owner at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear eds931, Thank you for your lovely feedback. The team and I are pleased you chose to stay with us recently and delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us! We strive to make each stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible, a positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again soon. Warm regards, InterContinental Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Richard wrote a review Mar 2024
4 contributions
Absolutely excellent in all respects. Great service, friendly staff, superb location. It has it all. Don't change a thing! The Club Lounge is to die for and the staff are so attentive and focused on the customer experience. Bedding was immaculate with good sized beds and amenities in room two keep you busy.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jordie Willis, Owner at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear RUBE25, Thank you for taking the time to leave your lovely feedback. The team and I are pleased you chose to stay with us recently and delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us! We strive to make each stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible, a positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in. We will certainly forward your comments to our Club Lounge team, who will be very exciting to see you enjoyed your time and the service they provided. We hope you will visit us again soon. Warm regards, InterContinental Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
nancy e wrote a review Mar 2024
5 contributions
Very clean and beautiful hotel in the middle of the city so within walking distance to everything. Beds are super comfortable. The people are extremely friendly. Our luggage was whisked to our room upon entering the hotel and our check-in took barely 5 minutes.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jordie Willis, Owner at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel
Responded 6 Mar 2024
Dear nancyeK6234IR, Thank you for your lovely feedback. The team and I are pleased you chose to stay with us recently and delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us! We strive to make each stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible, a positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again soon. Warm regards, InterContinental Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
SuperShan1 wrote a review Mar 2024
Singapore, Singapore1191 contributions334 helpful votes
Wonderful staff especially at the club lounge. Lucas is amazing, so is the breakfast team by a very friendly and efficient Pinoy lady. King club suite room is not very big, but considering we can have breakfast at lounge or Level 1 + Happy Hour 5-7pm which is of good quality, I particularly like their selection of cocktails, bubbles and wine. Is great value for money at NZ 650+ a night. Location is excellent. 100m to Woolworths and 150m to Chemist warehouse if you need anything urgent. walking to the museum is just 10min. The shower jet is weak. I wish they can do something with the flow of water. Since all the toiletries are "fixed" to the wall, will be great if they can put one more body lotion on the bedside table too. There's one thing that annoys me. Hotels cannot market itself with "great pool" + "great gym" when they're under renovation. The gym is temporary on Level 1 inside a conference room. Dirty floor, no mat, sometimes no towel and messy. No pool you've to go outside I think 20min. away or something. Of course very few guest will bother. Overall is a good hotel in Wellington and I'll return only when their gym and pool are functioning at 100%.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jordie Willis, Owner at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel
Responded 6 Mar 2024
Dear SuperShan1, Thank you for your feedback. The team and I are pleased you chose to stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, a positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride. We will certainly share with our Club management team who will be very excited to hear you enjoyed your time. We look forward to welcoming you back. Warm regards, InterContinental Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Roy&Pat wrote a review Feb 2024
Norfolk, United Kingdom97 contributions65 helpful votes
This was a return visit for us to belatedly celebrate our Golden Wedding Anniversary. The doorwoman gave us a very warm greeting and took responsibility for unloading and parking our car. She also organised the immediate delivery of our luggage to our room. Check in was equally smooth with another warm welcome, along with thanks for making a return visit, from the front desk team. Having advised the hotel of our belated celebration, prior to our arrival, we were delighted to find a complimentary chilled bottle of champagne, a selection of pastries and a lovely card of congratulations. We were also given an upgraded room, one of the benefits of being an IHG Platinum Member. As normal service from all departments was very efficient, friendly and welcoming. All staff take pride in providing a high quality service and interact warmly with guests. The food at breakfast and dinner was excellent with a wide variety of choices. We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and will stay there again when we return to Wellington.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel, or utilise the IHG web site, to get the best rates.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jordie Willis, Owner at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel
Responded 25 Feb 2024
Dear Daydream802738, Thank you for your lovely feedback. The team and I are pleased you chose to stay with us recently and delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us! We strive to make each stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible, a positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Warm regards, InterContinental Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Craig P wrote a review Feb 2024
Sydney, Australia605 contributions298 helpful votes
Consistent IHG Intercontinental offering. Very good size rooms, large bathrooms, very comfortable bed. We stayed two nights. Disappointingly our first room was directly above renovation works and the sounds of concrete drilling etc was intrusive. Poor on hotel management for letting out the rooms around these works. But good on management for moving us to another room when we raised the issue. But not the level we would expect of Intercontinental. The hotel is well located for the city to shops and easy walk to restaurants…..3 Cafes directly opposite in the street.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jordie Willis, Owner at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel
Responded 25 Feb 2024
Dear Craigp0017, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you chose to stay with us during your visit to Wellington. We do apologise that your stay did not meet all your expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our management team so we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience. Sincerely, InterContinental Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
KimboltonTrees wrote a review Feb 2024
Kimbolton, United Kingdom36 contributions12 helpful votes
Lovely couple of nights at this conveniently located hotel, the concierge guys were particularly pleasant, efficient and accommodating to my husband and I, looking after our car and even getting the battery changed on our bathroom room scales 😀😀
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jordie Willis, Owner at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel
Responded 25 Feb 2024
Dear Huntingdon Trees, Thank you for your lovely feedback. The team and I are pleased you chose to stay with us recently and delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us! We strive to make each stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible, a positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Warm regards, InterContinental Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
ahtram56 wrote a review Feb 2024
Dubuque, Iowa298 contributions96 helpful votes
We arrived for two nights. Beautiful accommodations. Clean room and very comfortable bed with all the luxury amenities. Helpful staff. Had trouble parking in the car park but the kind bellman parked it for us. Highly recommend this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jordie Willis, Owner at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel
Responded 10 Feb 2024
Dear ahtram56, Thank you for your lovely feedback. The team and I are pleased you chose to stay with us recently and delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us! We strive to make each stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible, a positive guest experience is something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Warm regards, InterContinental Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Wellington area.
PRICE RANGE
$301 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
intercontinental wellington hotel wellington, wellington intercontinental
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandGreater WellingtonWellington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
234
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

INTERCONTINENTAL WELLINGTON, AN IHG HOTEL - Now $267 (Was $̶4̶3̶7̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape Mate (0.2 km), Tarot Zamm - Tarot Reader (0.3 km), and Wellington Museum (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Shed 5 Bar & Restaurant, Boulcott Street Bistro, and Pravda.
Are there opportunities to exercise at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Wellington.
Are any cleaning services offered at InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does InterContinental Wellington, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.