We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Waterloo & Backpackers

Save
Share
Traveller (73)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (2)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget"}}
Overview
1 Bunny St PO Box 3071, Wellington New Zealand See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
Accessible rooms
Laundry Service
4 Star accommodation
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveller rating
76
159
125
47
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
76
159
125
47
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationguest kitchenbluebridge ferryacross the roaddorm roomown bathroomcommon areassouth islandfree wificentral locationte papawaterfrontstadiumaucklandparliamentbeehivewharf
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 427 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

WiFi is not the best. It is very limited. Can’t drink your own alcohol outside of room. Our room wasn’t the nicest. Shared toilet was similar to a run down public bathroom but price wise was ok I suppose. Small basic room. Cheap for anyone...More

Thank Jack V
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is such a great little place to stay with the best facilities in a building that shows off how grand it was many years ago and still has a style of its own. Great value for money, a fabulous dining area with a great...More

Thank KIWI333111
Response from Silvia_vdBrelie, General Manager at Hotel Waterloo & BackpackersResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely feedback. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very helpful and appreciated. We hope to see you back again soon.

Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for a night as a one off in a 6 bed dorm. I’d never stayed in a backpacker like accomodation before so I thought I’d give it ago. I’ve heard horror stories and I was hoping I would be in one. Have you...More

1  Thank joshmelville86
Response from Silvia_vdBrelie, General Manager at Hotel Waterloo & BackpackersResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and we have taken this all on board. We will work hard to resolve the issues you encountered and appreciate the fact that Backpacker accommodation isn't for everyone. The Waterloo does offer private, ensuite...More

Reviewed 3 August 2018

The "mattress" was flat, the kitchen noisy, poor utensils, no luggage storage for free. Ensuite bathroom was nice. didn't order food, but having the option to order meals is great. too expensive for what you get

Thank StefanL3207
Response from Silvia_vdBrelie, General Manager at Hotel Waterloo & BackpackersResponded 6 August 2018

Thank you for your feedback. Your feedback helps make a difference and is very much appreciated.

Reviewed 21 July 2018

My stuff was stolen in the kitchen of this hotel, though there’s monitor, the staff just asked me some useless questions and tried to get rid of me from their reception. That makes me feel like I was looking for their troubles. And actually my...More

1  Thank Edith S
Response from Silvia_vdBrelie, General Manager at Hotel Waterloo & BackpackersResponded 23 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Waterloo Hotel & Backpackers. I was very disappointed to hear about your experience and that you got the impression we do not care. This is far from the truth, we do...More

View more reviews
About
Description
Welcome to the Hotel Waterloo – Budget Accommodation Wellington, NZ You’ll find a warm welcome at our comfortable and clean Art Deco heritage hotel. We offer a wide range of hotel and dormitory rooms at ...More great value rates. The hotel is conveniently located next to all major travelling connections (rail, sea and road) as well as being a short walk from Wellington city’s retail shops and major tourist attractions. Enjoy our on-site cafe for an affordable breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel also has a popular bar with pool tables, sky sport features and some of the best beverage prices in the city. We specialise in catering for groups on school excursions, sports tours or club events and can tailor a package to suit your budget. Our in-house travel desk offers free bookings for all your transport and tour requirements. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Shuttle Bus Service
Beachfront
Free Parking
Spa
Breakfast included
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Accessible rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
120
Price range
US$16 - US$64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Formerly known as
Downtown Backpackers
Also Known As
Downtown Backpackers Hotel Wellington
Location
New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Photos
Traveller (73)
Room & Suite (22)
Dining (2)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 46 hotels in Wellington
Rydges Wellington
2,144 reviews
.17 km away
Wellesley Boutique Hotel
313 reviews
.25 km away
Aitken on Mulgrave
37 reviews
.35 km away
Quest on Johnston
192 reviews
.39 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,040 restaurants in Wellington
The Thistle Inn
612 reviews
.28 km away
Portlander Bar & Grill
593 reviews
.17 km away
Wagamama Wellington
530 reviews
.31 km away
La Cloche Central
32 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 375 attractions in Wellington
Northern Explorer Train
465 reviews
.11 km away
Wellington Railway Station
142 reviews
.05 km away
Old Government Buildings
109 reviews
.18 km away
Bluebridge Cook Strait Ferries
535 reviews
.12 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
WarrenW509
25 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from notagain9 | Reviewed this property |
I stayed in an ensuite room bathroom recently renovated
0
Votes
lizcase1987
25 October 2014|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from BevAnnM123 | Reviewed this property |
There is parking across the road - but you have to pay - a daily rate - I think if you get a receipt from the hotel reception there might be a discount - can I suggest you contact the hotel I found them very helpful and... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"So handy to public transport, local supermarket and the waterfront."
Read review
"away from main street"
Read review
"The mattress is totally sinking down in and making terrible of noise."
Read review
"Provided free bag storage awaiting a 2 pm check in, but charged $4 for storing the next day."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing