We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

QT Museum Wellington

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
QT Museum Wellington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,517 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,454: English reviews
Start your review of QT Museum Wellington
 Click to rate
Aylesbury
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was our second visit to Wellington and we chose to stay closer to the Museum at this Hotel . It is very funky , with pieces of Art placed everywhere. Our room was a well equipped Apartment on the 6th Floor, with everything you need if you decided to go self catering which we didn't. The room and bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chillywasps
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Chillywasps, Thank you for your kind words! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed our art and curiosities! We hope to welcome you back on many more occasions. Kind regards, Chris

Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

What an amazing hotel! Everywhere there is art and something to look at! Fantastic checkin and concierge staff. Lovely room and very funky decor. The balcony was very large and had a lovely view. Right across from Te Papa and only 2 x blocks to Courtney Place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah S
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Hannah S, Thank you for such a lovely review. We love hearing our guests enjoying the quirky collection we have adorning our public spaces. We hope you made of our fab central location! All the best, Chris

New York, NY
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Located near the Te Papa Museum and many restaurants, QT was a clean, quiet, comfortable stay with an artsy and hip energy. Friendly staff and good wifi. The hotel restaurant seemed pricey, so we skipped eating there. With lots of great eateries nearby, we didn't mind. Only negative was the boring alleyway view from our room, but we didn't mind.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank esl2008
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review

Dear esl2008, We appreciate you sharing your recent experience with us! We're thrilled you enjoyed our quirky, eclectic nature! Hippopotamus is French fine dining and definitely worth a visit for High Tea or if you're in the mood to treat yourself! Until next time, Chris

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visually loved this place, great room and great art around to look at. Receptionists didn't blow me away to be honest which is weird cause Wellington is a really friendly city. A good little stay if you're in town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deadmanstrain
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review

Dear deadmanstrain, Thank you for sharing your recent review with us. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed our eclectic collection of art! Best regards, Chris

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

QT Museum Wellington (Formerly Museum Art Hotel) I first heard about this hotel on UK TV on a Henry Cole motorcycle aound NZ programme - at that time the hotel was called Museum Art Hotel When we arrived we were upgraded to an apartment -very quiet and comfortable room Cocktail bar on 3rd floor had good views and ambiance Central...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndyB1250
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review

Dear AndyB1250, Thank you for taking your time to share you recent stay with us. It's great to hear you're so well versed with the Hotel and it's history! We look forward to welcoming you back on future occasions. Kind regards, Chris

Chicago
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was formerly known as the Museum Art Hotel, appropriately named due to the impressive and extensive contemporary art collection in the lobby and throughout the hotel. Not for everyone as the hotel is dark and sleekly modern. Rooms are also sleek but very comfortable and bathrooms are the latest posh design. Do ask for a room on an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Camille H
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Camille H, Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We're not for everyone, but I'm glad we're for you! Until next time, Chris

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

first, i will say the breakfast was terrific - good food, attentive efficient service, well done. the rest was fundamentally disappointing. the concierge did not know how to get to Cuba street (a few blocks away, as it turns out). Nor did they know if any of the art in the hotel was for sale. Whether it was or not...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We're glad to hear there were some positive aspects to your stay. We're disappointed that our Concierge in training were unable to assist on some occasions, with all the wonderful things Wellington holds, it can take some time. We're constantly improving our facilities to make sure we're providing 5 star quality, however we're sorry the message was not...

Collinsville, IL
Reviewed 1 week ago

Cool concept that they took to far. Parking right now is a joke. Be aware that you are going to park at the museum across the street for a pretty penny. Pulling up to the door is confusing and you can tell from the frustrated people pulling in we were not the only ones. Checking in was not a problem,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark1Rob
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Mark1Rob, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We're sorry to hear that you found aspects of your stay pretentious. Inviting the guests to purchase the items in our rooms makes sure that guests are not confused as to what is complimentary - no misunderstandings! Our staff's talents lie in customer service -...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Love the decor in the hotel and all the artworks. Some staff were exceptional some so so..my room was lovely with updated decor and it smelled nice and fresh. My friends rooms were rather dark and dated

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda J
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Lucinda J, Thanks for taking the time to share you recent experience with us. We love guests taking the time to explore our extensive collection and a bit of quirk! We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Until next time, Chris

Reviewed 1 week ago

We absolutely loved our one night stay and personally thanked the staff as they were excellent. The problem came when we left our vehicle in the Valet parking. We noticed on the day we arrived that our car was parked facing the foyer but when we came to leave it had been turned around so the back was facing us....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clive S
QTMuseumWellington, Public Relations Manager at QT Museum Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Clive S, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are thrilled that you had a wonderful stay with us, however disappointed it ended on a not so positive note. I believe our Head Concierge has been in correspondence with you regarding the damage to your vehicle. As there is no footage of...

512 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (489)
Viewed
Room/Suite (102)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (120)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (189)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.9 km away
InterContinental Wellington
1.5 km away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,340 reviews
0.2 km away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
1.3 km away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,753 reviews
0.3 km away
Amora Hotel Wellington
Amora Hotel Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Immerse yourself in a fascinating fusion of high and low-brow art as you explore the creative depths of one of New Zealand's most eccentric art collections set in the country's Coolest Little Capital. QT Museum Wellington is both a backdrop and an active muse. This hotel is where those in the know come to create and hunt for a taste of the avant-garde, all while indulging in their most creative selves. Sitting harbourside in the heart of Wellington's cultural hub this creative haven and design driven hotel indulges you in cool luxury, including acclaimed French inspired dining at Hippopotamus. Art, design, curiosities and a dash of the absurd - QT Museum Wellington. ... more   less 

Additional Information about QT Museum Wellington

Address: 90 Cable Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Price Range: $213 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — QT Museum Wellington 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your QT Museum Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel Wellington
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wellington
#5 Family Hotel in Wellington
#7 Business Hotel in Wellington
#8 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#9 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from QT Museum Wellington staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Longmont
3 months ago
Canberra, Australia
8 months ago
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Amelia Island, FL
4 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from QT Museum Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose an apartment if you want self catering .”
 of 5 bubbles Chillywasps, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Hotel fairly Central - near free museum, harbour bars, theaters and restaurants within walking distance to high street shops and cable car”
 of 5 bubbles AndyB1250, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure they don't give you the rooms looking into the fitness center”
 of 5 bubbles Mark1Rob, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Perfect location.”
 of 5 bubbles mheruc, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Select a room with a balcony and harbor view”
 of 5 bubbles DacaL_13, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5