We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay

Save
Share
100 Oriental Parade Oriental Bay, Wellington 6011 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$179
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$144
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/08/22
Expedia.com
US$180
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.comUS$180
travelup.comUS$192
TravelocityUS$180
View all 17 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (444)
Room & Suite (277)
Dining (24)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 25/11/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 25/11/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 48 hotels in Wellington
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located on Wellington's premier Oriental Parade, overlooking the stunning Wellington Harbour, Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay is a 4-star apartment hotel with 118 rooms, perfect for exploring the city.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Street parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Refrigerator
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Room service
Safe
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
City View
Languages Spoken
English
1993Reviews39Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 862
  • 791
  • 246
  • 66
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
georgematthews wrote a review Jul 2022
Bangor, United Kingdom404 contributions180 helpful votes
Stayed here fo six nights with a large group here for the rugby and I have to say the hotel handled the large number extremely well.Breakfast was extended until 10am and the buffet was good and frequently re supplied. A buffet dinner service was provided on three nights which didn’t suit as it was three courses for $49 which was too much for everyone. The bar menu food was varied and a good alternative. The room was a good size with great views over the harbour. It was a 10/15 minute walk into town depending on where you wanted to go. Would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Copthorne OrientalBay, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear georgematthews Thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Wellington. We trust you had a safe and pleasant journey back home to Ireland. It was our pleasure to host your group and congratulations on the series victory. Kind regards
Read more
TheRuscoes wrote a review Jul 2022
Waikato Region, New Zealand12 contributions4 helpful votes
We booked a 3 Bedroom Appartment and a Deluxe Family Room with Harbour views. Although the decor may be a little dated, It is very clean, amazing views, very friendly and helpful staff, had everything you need, walking distance to cbd, Te Papa and restaurants, will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Copthorne OrientalBay, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear The Ruscoes Thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Wellington. We trust you had a safe and pleasant journey back home. Kind regards
Read more
Lynda wrote a review Jun 2022
38 contributions5 helpful votes
A superior room turned out to be a small room . Call it a basic room in the advertising and I would still have booked it as it was fine. There were no bathrobes as advertised. The deal was a bottle of bubbly and chocolate when booking a grab one. I booked 2 nights with 2 separate vouchers but had to ask at reception for the bubbly and chocolate which turned out to be one lot per visit, not per voucher. The bubbly was a $9.00 bottle of Australian white wine and the chocolate 2 very small macaroons on a large plate so no chocolate was provided. The breakfast for both mornings as per voucher was provided for both days and was excellent. The restaurant food at night was overpriced and very little provided so much so the second night we dinned elsewhere. $9.00 for 2 small cheeses rolls ! The service was friendly apart from a male involved with the breakfast on Monday morning. He was extremely rude. It’s advertised as being near restaurants and bars but it’s not although there is a bus stop nearby or a 10- 15 minute walk to Courtney Place. I wouldn’t take a car there as parking provided advertised turned out to be $25.00 a night on the information you have to download on your phone when you get there. Also the traffic was horrendous on such a busy street at peak times. I guess if you live in a city normally and have money to throw away this is the place to stay but it wasn’t the relaxing break away I expected, particularly when advertised as a superior room with free breakfast, bubbly and chocolate. Honest advertising wouldnt have given me such high expectations.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Not above the 7th floor.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Maturecoupleholiday Thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Wellington. We trust you had a safe and pleasant journey back home. Kind regards
Read more
John B wrote a review Jun 2022
Gatehouse of Fleet, United Kingdom26 contributions17 helpful votes
Stayed for two nights and the restaurant was closed for dinner on both. Facing the sea but just on the edge of a reasonable walking distance to the main attractions. Most of the staff tended to give one word answers when questions were asked but made no effort to engage or be helpful and there was a general impression of slack management. The hand sanitiser dispenser on the 7th floor (restaurant level) was empty for the duration of our stay and one of the two lifts was out of action all of the time (a review here mentioned the same thing earlier in the month).
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Responded 16 Jun 2022
Hi johnbJ72VX Thank you your insights regarding your accommodation experience. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your holiday in New Zealand and had a safe and pleasant journey back home. Kind regards
Read more
Ant C wrote a review May 2022
Auckland, New Zealand80 contributions82 helpful votes
I don’t normally like to stay at this hotel but decided to give it another go as I do like the location and views from the harbour view rooms. Mistake. The room was well over-priced at $340 for the night and the service was poor at every step of the way. Parking is limited, tight and if it is raining, you can get quite wet if parking across the road. If parking, there is no way to enter the hotel as the door at the car park side requires a room key to access. Impossible when you haven’t yet checked in. I rang the bell for service several times with no response. I eventually knocked on the door when a staff member saw me, she let me in and promptly turned her back without acknowledging me. Reception is actually 7 floors down but this staff member certainly wasn’t going to tell me that. After checking in, and paying $25 to park across the road, I was then told to put a pass on my dashboard. Yep, they have all the vehicle details from check in, but insist on you then going up 7 floors, and walking out of the hotel and across the road to put the pass on the dash otherwise you risk being towed! Reception already has all the details. This all took longer because one of the two lifts was out of service. Check previous reviews - this is not new. I thought I’d go to he bar for a drink after this however it was closed to the public for a private function and I was told I could not be in that area. At this point I decided to go elsewhere for dinner. On exiting the one lift that was working, it was blocked by a vacuum cleaner that had been placed across the lift door by a staff member. I chose to eat breakfast elsewhere and got out of there as soon as I could. I used the express checkout - but never received a GST invoice / receipt. I had to follow that up also. I stay in hotels regularly for business - it won’t be this one again. No part of this experience was well executed. I advise businesses on how to deliver a great customer experience. This hotel is a case study in how not to do it and that is the only thing that I am grateful for from this visit.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Responded 30 May 2022
Hi Ant C Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your accommodation experience. With regards to car parking, customers must check-in first before entering the property and/or car park. This is a reasonable expectation the public would expect. I am not sure how we would have your vehicle details already if you had not checked in yet. We regret you were unable to enjoy your accommodation experience like so many of our other customers and trust you had a safe and pleasant journey back home.
Read more
TCC133 wrote a review May 2022
Palmerston North, New Zealand15 contributions
Website does not inform that there is a charge for car parking $25/night. Was told this was on the website, but Receptionist could not find it, also told it was detailed when you scan the QR code. Not available at the time of booking! Restaurant also closed for the 2 nights I was there, only room service available. Choice of room service was poor and main course was cold. Menu is not called room service on the electronic version. One of the two lifts was out of service. Bed collapsed on the second night as I went to stand up. Cars were parked in no parking areas making it difficult to reverse all the way out of the car park. They did eventually agree not to charge for car park.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Responded 19 May 2022
Hi terricoopland Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. The car parking information is located on the hotel policy section of our website. It is also located in the hotel compendium. The restaurant menu is available each night, on Monday and Tuesdays, service is conducted in the lounge bar but the full menu is available. We trust you had a safe and pleasant journey back to Palmerston North.
Read more
Roger G wrote a review Mar 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
A good centrally situated mid grade hotel which we returned to for its location and affordability. Good room needing upgrade. But breakfast service just another episode of Faulty Towers. Our group were asked to advise our selection the night before but that was a waste of time. The chefs were working well but the wait staff were not up to the task. They played with the computer to try and ascertain our orders but to no avail. Food arrived haphazardly, simple things like apple juice just seemed beyond them and finally poured at table from a large 2 litre plastic bottle. Pancakes delicious but everything else such as serials, toast etc finally delivered without care or any service. A panicked dining room just unable to cope with 20 or so diners.appalling.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Nick L, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Responded 9 Mar 2022
Hi Roger Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your accommodation experience. We apologise for the service during breakfast and assure you this service standard is not normal. We have taken the necessary steps to address the issues highlighted in your response. Kind regards
Read more
Nicky wrote a review Jan 2022
Auckland, New Zealand5 contributions1 helpful vote
Fantastic location. We stayed in a Deluxe Harbourview Family Room with two teenagers. Amazing views. Great staff. We have stayed here a number of times and highly recommend it. Easy walking distance to CBD, Te Papa, Cable Car etc. Good coffee at neighbouring Lola Stays cafe downstairs.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Mett H wrote a review Jan 2022
Hamilton, New Zealand13 contributions2 helpful votes
Stayed in the harbour view room and was definitely worth the few $$$ extra. Dont think any other hotel in wellington can beat it on that. Other than that, the room was perfectly fine and the staff were very friendly. Only things stopping me giving the hotel a 5/5 would be that the restaurant windows need a clean and the bathroom which was wheelchair accessible (which is fantastic for those who need it) looks a bit on the cheap side. Still definitely worth the stay!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
danigross88 wrote a review Dec 2021
Christchurch, New Zealand463 contributions191 helpful votes
This was a very average stay. We came here on their breakfast and beverage voucher package. We were put in a very old and run down room on the 8th floor at the back. Nothing wrong with it, but nothing really good either. Staff during the stay were fine. Went to the bar for happy hour between 4 and 6. For fifteen minutes of this the staff were all on breaks and then the house beer taps stopped working (they did offer bottles as a replacement). One of the lifts wasn’t working which made going up and down in Covid safe individual bubbles VERY slow. Breakfast was ok but nothing special. Wifi was good. Not sure I would bother to pay the extra to stay here if it wasn’t on a special offer, but it was ok!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$132 - US$235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
copthorne hotel wellington
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandGreater WellingtonWellington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
118
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Which popular attractions are close to Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay?
Nearby attractions include Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa (0.5 km), Harbourside Market Wellington (0.3 km), and Embassy Theatre (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and room service.
Which room amenities are available at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ortega Fish Shack, Rock Yard Restaurant, and Nicolini's.
Are any cleaning services offered at Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old St Paul's (1.8 km), Wellington Cable Car (1.5 km), and Government House (1.7 km).
Does Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.