We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
302-304 Evans Bay Parade Greta Point, Wellington 6021 New Zealand
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (19)
Room & Suite (29)
Pool & Beach (3)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Updated 14/02/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 14/02/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#9 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We welcome you to the Bella Vista Motel Wellington. This property has been independently assessed by Qualmark as 4 star quality accommodation. Wellington is New Zealand's capital and the perfect base for your adventures. From the moment you arrive you'll enjoy the convenience of being located in close proximity to the Wellington CBD for business, shops, entertainment and other activities. At Bella Vista Motel Wellington we cater for all your business or recreational needs. We are easy to find on Evans Bay Parade, just minutes from Wellington Airport. Also just minutes by car, to the Wellington waterfront which is full of restaurants, cafes, shops, galleries and, most famously Te Papa, the Museum of New Zealand. We have ample free safe parking so you can leave your car, Ute or trailer and avoid parking issues. Our comfortable smoke free accommodation includes FREE fast unlimited WiFi.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Bowling offsite
Canoeing offsite
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Outdoor furniture
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Interconnected rooms available
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
53Somewhat walkable
Grade: 53 out of 100
16Restaurantswithin 1 km
2Attractionswithin 1 km
108Reviews0Q+A18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 35
  • 42
  • 26
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Ezra710 wrote a review Jun 2021
Christchurch, New Zealand1382 contributions111 helpful votes
The room was very small [cosy?] but the location worked and parking was easy. One of the most expensive stays on our month away. A couple of ants in the bathroom - not a bother to us but glad we didn't have food to store. Comfortable [firm] bed and we slept well, thanks.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
CiderMonkey wrote a review Mar 2020
Cornwall, United Kingdom233 contributions118 helpful votes
Arrived off a late flight to find a very small room sepated from the car park by a sliding glass door and a curtain. The room was very small, no storage room for travellers clothes so were basically living out of a suitcase. The bathroom was clean but tired and needs to be modified, shower head needs a real clean but the towels were replaced daily. There was tea, coffee, milk in the fridge and a microwave but no aircon. The room really was not big enough for our needs. Access to the city is by bus which stops outside and drops in the cbd so easy. The bus stop is directly outside the place and just $2.50 into town. We didn't have a car. The motel is on the flight path to the airport so expect to be taken at 0600 with the first flights leaving. Apart from a Moroccan restaurant across the road which closes at 9pm there is nothing in the local vicinity to get anything at night. We shared the 2 biscuits in the room as that was all that was available. Site staff were not on site on arrival...we had access arrangements prior...but were helpful when we needed info the following day. This is a place where a car really is necessary as it is 3km from town. Doubt if we would stay there again due to its location and amenities close by but it was just about ok for 3 nights.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
vpmuscat wrote a review Mar 2020
New South Wales, Australia180 contributions82 helpful votes
We have stayed in a couple of Bella Vista Motels during our self drive tour of New Zealand though they have everything the other motels offer their rooms are somewhat smaller, this one was a bit cramped for our liking, with only a very small TV which for some reason was located to the side of the bed, with no space for a couch made it difficult and eventually uncomfortable to watch, everything worked okay and the lady at reception was polite and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Sarah T wrote a review Jan 2020
Melbourne, Australia57 contributions36 helpful votes
A great hotel, we were able to walk into the city (approx 5kms). Fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities available. Nice clean quiet rooms. Big enough to have teenagers happily in a separate room and still enough room to all sit around a dinner table.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from BuggyB001, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Wellington
Responded 8 Jan 2020
Hi Sarah Thank you very much for your review of your stay. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed your walk to the City. As I may have mentioned- I only walk that far if I'm following a Golf Ball! We look forward to your next visit and again: Happy New Year. best Wishes. Ken Tate Relief Manager...for Bhagi & Barney Owners
Read more
NGeorge wrote a review Nov 2019
Auckland, New Zealand14 contributions4 helpful votes
Stayed here for work over the past week. Fairly close to the city and yet tranquil in being away from the CBD noise. Spacious clean room, with free wifi and a lovely host Bhagy. Look forward to staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from BuggyB001, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Wellington
Responded 10 Nov 2019
Hi George, thanks so much for the great review we really appreciate it... you are also a great guest to have staying with us, and you make all this hard work, well worth it, thanks, Kind Regards Bhagi & Barney
Read more
Ezra710 wrote a review Oct 2019
Christchurch, New Zealand1382 contributions111 helpful votes
A convenient stay in a compact unit. Excellent service from friendly staff. Unit was a bit dated and not as clean as expected. Comfortable bed and chairs. Shower had good pressure but temperature varied slightly. Would stay again, thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
WoodgateFamily wrote a review Oct 2019
Brisbane, Australia224 contributions93 helpful votes
We stayed in a Superior Studio on the 2nd floor for 2 nights. Room was beautifully decorated, good size, and very comfortable. Although on a busy road, road noise was very minimal; there was some plane noise, but not late into the night (or not that we noticed). Staff were super friendly and the lady at reception was very helpful. Mentioned we were relying on public transport (after parking the car in their off-street carpark) and they have a bus stop right outside the door. She supplied us with a map of Wellington and a current time table. Took the time to highlight where we should hop off for certain things and where to change buses. Bus was only $2.50 to the city centre. We arrived early and we were able to put our cold items in the fridge while they were cleaning the room. Short walk to Greta Point which is lovely. Had an amazing dinner across the road at the Marrakech Cafe Moroccan & Mediterranean, shame it wasn't open both nights of our stay as we would have gone back to try something else.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from BuggyB001, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Wellington
Responded 3 Oct 2019
Hi Woodgate Family, thanks for staying with us here in Wellington and the super review. Our aim is to help our guests have an enjoyable experience and you’ve made us happy too that we have achieved that, thank you. Hope you had a great time in New Zealand. Kind Regards Bhagi & Barney
Read more
Kangarucci wrote a review Sep 2019
Mt Martha, Australia16 contributions4 helpful votes
Stayed for two nights in a very clean room with a double bed plus a single. Microwave, small fridge, crockery, cutlery and some cooking appliances. Offered fresh milk for supplied tea and coffee, which is a bonus, as well as a cookie! I cannot recall the last time that I was offered fresh milk and a cookie in my travels! Would have been better with two so didn't have to share. :( Shower had great water pressure and bathroom supplied with body soap and tissues! Free wi-fi which worked very well. Breakfast is offered but we decided to have ours at a small cafe, Greta Cafe, a five minute walk away. Lovely area on the waterfront-Greta Point. Bus out front if you do not have a car. We rented a car so no need to use the bus. Short drive from the airport. The host will pick you up from the airport if previously arranged. Hosts were very friendly and helpful and offered suggestions and directions around Wellington. We would stay here again and recommend it to others.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from BuggyB001, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Wellington
Responded 28 Sep 2019
Hi thanks for staying with us here in Wellington and the great review. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback and will take on board you comments - yes, we have changed to a twin pac of bisc. Hope you have a great time in New Zealand. See you next time, Kind Regards Bhagi & Barney
Read more
Darrell Smith wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution
We stayed in an one bedroom apartment at Bella Vista in August. We had an amazing experience with the hosts. Excellent and tidy rooms, comfortable beds, good heating and good bathrooms. Overall an amazing experience with even nicer hosts. Thank you for your hospitality! We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from BuggyB001, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Wellington
Responded 28 Aug 2019
Hi there, thanks for staying with us here in Wellington and the great review. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! Glad you had an enjoyable stay, Yip, see you next time, Kind Regards Bhagi & Barney
Read more
Nessy51 wrote a review Aug 2019
Christchurch, New Zealand9 contributions1 helpful vote
Arrived at room after 5pm and room doors and windows had been left open all day to air so room very cold. Wall heater took forever to heat up so hopped into bed with electric blanket until it warmed up. Room was clean and tidy but bathroom in need of some updating. Bathroom windowsill paint flaking off, window didn't shut properly, and I'm generally not a fan of shower curtains these days. Cell phone coverage is terrible here so thankfully there was wifi. The only local restaurant was shut so had to order Uber Eats for dinner. Didn't find it good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from BuggyB001, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Wellington
Responded 28 Aug 2019
Hi there, thanks for staying with us here in Wellington and submitting a review. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback. Sorry to hear about your experience and surprised to hear about the heater as we had 18 new Devi heaters install in June 2019 which we were sooo excited about heading into winter. We are chipping away at our plans of upgrading... tick to Room #6 bathroom all done. Hope you had an enjoyable stay in Wellington. Kind Regards Bhagi & Barney
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$105 - US$122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandGreater WellingtonWellington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bella Vista Motel Wellington
Which popular attractions are close to Bella Vista Motel Wellington?
Nearby attractions include Mount Victoria (1.0 km), Massey Memorial (1.2 km), and Shelly Bay (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bella Vista Motel Wellington?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Bella Vista Motel Wellington?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Bella Vista Motel Wellington?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Bella Vista Motel Wellington?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bella Vista Motel Wellington?
Conveniently located restaurants include BambuchiSan, Greta Point Cafe, and Nakhon Thai.
Does Bella Vista Motel Wellington have airport transportation?
Yes, Bella Vista Motel Wellington offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to Bella Vista Motel Wellington?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old St Paul's (3.5 km), Wellington Cable Car (3.2 km), and Government House (1.9 km).
Is Bella Vista Motel Wellington accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.