We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Bella Vista Motel Wellington

302-304 Evans Bay Parade Greta Point, Wellington 6021 New Zealand
Traveller (18)
Room & Suite (44)
Pool & Beach (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#3 of 6 small hotels in Wellington
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We welcome you to the Bella Vista Motel Wellington. This property has been independently assessed by Qualmark as 4 star quality accommodation. Wellington is New Zealand's capital and the perfect base for your adventures. From the moment you arrive you'll enjoy the convenience of being located in close proximity to the Wellington CBD for business, shops, entertainment and other activities. At Bella Vista Motel Wellington we cater for all your business or recreational needs. We are easy to find on Evans Bay Parade, just minutes from Wellington Airport. Also just minutes by car, to the Wellington waterfront which is full of restaurants, cafes, shops, galleries and, most famously Te Papa, the Museum of New Zealand. We have ample safe free parking so you can leave your car, van, Ute or trailer and avoid parking issues. Our comfortable smoke free accommodation includes a variety of studios and one bedroom units. The purpose built access units have been designed with parking at the door for your convenience. You have a choice of king, queen or single beds with electric blankets for those cooler nights. Free Unlimited WiFi internet is available with a spacious work desk in every room. Units vary from just tea and toast making facilities to those with cooking facilities. We offer continental breakfasts delivered to your room daily. Your hosts Bhagi and Barney look forward to meeting you. Come enjoy all the great experiences Wellington has to offer.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Canoeing
Hiking
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Electric vehicle charging station
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Baggage storage
Outdoor furniture
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English

Location

302-304 Evans Bay Parade Greta Point, Wellington 6021 New Zealand
Bella Vista Motel Wellington
114Reviews0Q+A20Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 39
  • 44
  • 26
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Ljv wrote a review Feb 2024
Spokane Valley, Washington8 contributions
Rooms were clean but small. Older hotel that has been remodeled. Reminds me of the Motel 6’s from the 60s and 70s. Will not stay in this chain of hotels again. Was very disappointed. We were told by a staff member that there Continental breakfast consisted of a small individual box of cereal and toast. Not worth $20.00.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Do a lot of research and don’t believe the reviews.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bhagvati Bhana, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Wellington
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hi Dan & Lori, we’re sorry to hear that your stay was less than perfect. We pride ourselves on meeting and exceeding our guest expectations and wish we had done better. Our small rooms are small, hence the name “Compact Queen” studios, please note we do have many other larger studios available for your choosing. Last year our motel had just completed upgrading all the bathrooms and new renovations in each studio – we are so sorry you were disappointed. The Cont. breakfast conversation was short and we do recommend our guest to go to the very popular Leo’s Bakery across the road or around to the well-known Greta Point Café instead for better satisfaction, as we know our Cont. B/fast may not be to your liking, consisting of… juice, fruit, yog, cereal in a box/pkt, toast & condiments. We hope you guys have a great time in New Zealand and take home many enjoyable memories, safe travels, Regards Bhagi & Barney
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Anwil51 wrote a review Jun 2023
Queenstown, New Zealand552 contributions306 helpful votes
The Bella Vista range tends to provide basic but good accommodation and this is no different. Good service, clean room, comfortable bed and a range of amenities. The parking was easy and the wi-fi was good. No restaurants in walking distance but a few a short drive away. A good budget option for a stay in Wellington.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bhagvati Bhana, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Wellington
Responded 3 Jun 2023
Hi there, thanks for staying with us here in Wellington and the great review. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback, have a great day, keep safe & well, Regards Bhagi & Barney
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sue F wrote a review Feb 2023
14 contributions
This was a lovely clean motel with well equipped rooms and parking. It was in an excellent location just out of the city with bus stop right outside to take you into the CBD (parking in the city looked like it would have been a bit of a nightmare!) The owners, Barney and Bhagi were just amazing - they could not have been more charming and helpful throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble. The ferry company bumped us off our crossing causing us to have to remain in Wellington for an extra 18 hours. Bella Vista were unable to extend our room booking for us but phoned and found us another hotel room just up the road so that we weren’t homeless!! This couple deserve their success and would recommend the motel without hesitation.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: We had ground floor room because of accessibility but wouldn’t have thought there would be...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bhagvati Bhana, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Wellington
Responded 28 Feb 2023
Hello there, thank you! you have definitely made it all worth while for us, and we really appreciate your lovely words. Hope your time in New Zealand has been enjoyable, catch you next time you come our way, safe journeys, Regards Bhagi & Barney
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
BJL83 wrote a review Feb 2023
New Braunfels, Texas351 contributions142 helpful votes
We spent 2 nights here. Owners were very accommodating and friendly. Rooms were satisfactory for our needs and very clean. There are a couple of places to eat within walking distance and several others within 2 miles. A pleasant stay. I recommend this small motel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bhagvati Bhana, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Wellington
Responded 7 Feb 2023
Hi there, thanks for staying with us here in Wellington and the great review. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback, have a great day, keep safe & well, Regards Bhagi & Barney
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jackie G wrote a review Dec 2022
Timaru, New Zealand33 contributions4 helpful votes
Excellent location, very handy to Wellington airport. Airport shuttle service avail business hours was perfect. Can honestly say, cleanest accommodation I’ve ever stayed in. Lovely owners, very welcoming. Highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: No close food venues, so make sure and take something with you, or go into town. Adequate, clean...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bhagvati Bhana, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Wellington
Responded 3 Dec 2022
Hi there, thanks sooo much for the great review and we are so happy that you had a great time here in Wellington! See you next time, Kind Regards Bhagi & Barney
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Patricia A wrote a review Oct 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
A very convenient motel foe us as we were visiting family just along the road. I was amazed at how well equiped it was for a double room - enough equipment to prepare breakfast as well as a simple dinner. It was very clean with lovely towels and comfortable bed. The managers were very kind and helpful and it was lovely to be dropped at the airport .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Hiralal and Bhagvati Bhana, Owner at Bella Vista Motel Wellington
Responded 30 Oct 2022
Hi Patricia, thanks for staying with us here in Wellington and the great review. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback, have a great day, keep safe & well, Regards Bhagi & Barney
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ezra710 wrote a review Jun 2021
Christchurch, New Zealand1394 contributions119 helpful votes
The room was very small [cosy?] but the location worked and parking was easy. One of the most expensive stays on our month away. A couple of ants in the bathroom - not a bother to us but glad we didn't have food to store. Comfortable [firm] bed and we slept well, thanks.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
CiderMonkey wrote a review Mar 2020
Cornwall, United Kingdom254 contributions130 helpful votes
Arrived off a late flight to find a very small room sepated from the car park by a sliding glass door and a curtain. The room was very small, no storage room for travellers clothes so were basically living out of a suitcase. The bathroom was clean but tired and needs to be modified, shower head needs a real clean but the towels were replaced daily. There was tea, coffee, milk in the fridge and a microwave but no aircon. The room really was not big enough for our needs. Access to the city is by bus which stops outside and drops in the cbd so easy. The bus stop is directly outside the place and just $2.50 into town. We didn't have a car. The motel is on the flight path to the airport so expect to be taken at 0600 with the first flights leaving. Apart from a Moroccan restaurant across the road which closes at 9pm there is nothing in the local vicinity to get anything at night. We shared the 2 biscuits in the room as that was all that was available. Site staff were not on site on arrival...we had access arrangements prior...but were helpful when we needed info the following day. This is a place where a car really is necessary as it is 3km from town. Doubt if we would stay there again due to its location and amenities close by but it was just about ok for 3 nights.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
vpmuscat wrote a review Mar 2020
New South Wales, Australia192 contributions82 helpful votes
We have stayed in a couple of Bella Vista Motels during our self drive tour of New Zealand though they have everything the other motels offer their rooms are somewhat smaller, this one was a bit cramped for our liking, with only a very small TV which for some reason was located to the side of the bed, with no space for a couch made it difficult and eventually uncomfortable to watch, everything worked okay and the lady at reception was polite and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sarah T wrote a review Jan 2020
Melbourne, Australia57 contributions36 helpful votes
A great hotel, we were able to walk into the city (approx 5kms). Fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities available. Nice clean quiet rooms. Big enough to have teenagers happily in a separate room and still enough room to all sit around a dinner table.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from BuggyB001, Manager at Bella Vista Motel Wellington
Responded 8 Jan 2020
Hi Sarah Thank you very much for your review of your stay. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed your walk to the City. As I may have mentioned- I only walk that far if I'm following a Golf Ball! We look forward to your next visit and again: Happy New Year. best Wishes. Ken Tate Relief Manager...for Bhagi & Barney Owners
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Wellington area.
PRICE RANGE
$213 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandGreater WellingtonWellington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BELLA VISTA MOTEL WELLINGTON - Now $219 (Was $̶2̶3̶3̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bella Vista Motel Wellington
Which popular attractions are close to Bella Vista Motel Wellington?
Nearby attractions include Mount Victoria (1.0 km), Massey Memorial (1.2 km), and Shelly Bay (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bella Vista Motel Wellington?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Bella Vista Motel Wellington?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Bella Vista Motel Wellington?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Bella Vista Motel Wellington?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bella Vista Motel Wellington?
Conveniently located restaurants include BambuchiSan, Greta Point Cafe, and Uncle Leo's Bakery.
Does Bella Vista Motel Wellington have airport transportation?
Yes, Bella Vista Motel Wellington offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to Bella Vista Motel Wellington?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old St Paul's (3.5 km), Wellington Cable Car (3.2 km), and Government House (1.9 km).
Is Bella Vista Motel Wellington accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.