We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
176 Moffat Road, Tauranga 3110 New Zealand
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Priceline
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Travelocity
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect the total stay price payable through our partners, including taxes and fees that are known to our partners and which are due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (4)
Room & Suite (14)
Pool & Beach (3)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#13 of 59 hotels in Tauranga
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Located close to the Bethlehem Town Centre, restaurants, shopping, cafes and bar, or a short drive to the city centre and the beautiful beaches. Large spacious units provide suitable accommodation for the travelling professional, weddings, family or larger groups, with parking at the door and space for more at the rear of the complex. We offer a tennis court, swimming pool, spa pool, basketball hoop, net - for golf, soccer, cricket or what ever you choose, and large spacious grounds to park the car, bus, trailer or truck. We look forward to being of service.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast in the room
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Meeting rooms
Spa
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Seating area
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese
180Reviews0Q+A28Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 109
  • 56
  • 10
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Eri wrote a review May 2021
Tauranga, New Zealand2 contributions
Loved our stay. The rooms were very clean, tidy, spacious and the bathtub had a jacuzzi. Spa was lovely felt like we were in a resort. Not to mention the playground at the back, the kids loved it. Receptionist was really friendly and nice. Very helpful too. Definitely will be coming back. Thanks so much.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Matt and Saho Gartshore, Owner at Bethlehem Motor Inn
Responded 30 May 2021
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel! We are so glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your little get away with us! Hope you come back soon!
Read more
KBofLB wrote a review Dec 2019
Littleborough, United Kingdom502 contributions160 helpful votes
From my perspective, this motel ticked all the boxes. The rooms were grouped around a courtyard which was set back sufficiently from Moffat Road that traffic noise was not an issue. The room was spacious and bathed in plenty of natural light. The room facilities were excellent. A full range of cooking utensils was provided which enabled me to benefit from the two ring hob and microwave oven. The bathroom had ample toiletries and the shower supplied hot water at a good speed. Being 400 yards from a major district shopping centre meant that food shopping could be done on a daily basis so that I always had fresh provisions. The guest laundry was useful. The cost was reasonable and the efficient wash and dry cycles were not over long. Comprehensive cleaning was undertaken daily with towels and even dishcloths and tea towels being changed each day. The staff who I came into contact with were all polite and helpful. The location 300 yards from the main SH2 highway meant that there was easy access to the expressway and on to the centre of Tauranga and Mount Maunganui. If in the area again I would look to book this accomodation. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Masa176, Manager at Bethlehem Motor Inn
Responded 5 Jan 2020
Wow, thank you very much for such a lovely review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide the service and amenities for your visit to Tauranga. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
shymiser wrote a review Nov 2019
1 contribution
Them rooms are quiet clean and comfortable. All the utensils, cookware, and dining ware that we needed were there, Though we were too busy to use them, there as a pool and tennis courts. We did use the television and free WiFi. A large shopping center with a lot of good eating places is only a 8 minute or 4 minute drive away.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Masa176, Manager at Bethlehem Motor Inn
Responded 4 Dec 2019
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our motel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that both the room and local amenities where suitable for your trip to Tauranga. We are very fortunate to be in the lovely township of Bethlehem so everything is so easy to get to. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Read more
Dandelion8888_121212 wrote a review Jul 2019
Auckland, New Zealand98 contributions64 helpful votes
About the 4th time I have stayed here for work reasons over the years & every time have been a satisfied customer. On a busy main road, but well planned so no road noise. I am a light sleeper, but slept like a baby here- this place has excellent blackout curtains, comfortable bed and pillows and not a peep of noise coming through adjoining walls. Heat pump & small kitchenette. Clean and fresh crisp linen. Friendly & welcoming person on reception. Eateries just over the road, so a good spot.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Masa176, Manager at Bethlehem Motor Inn
Responded 7 Jul 2019
Wow, thank you very much for the glowing review! We hope to maintain this standard each time guests stay and glad to hear our facilities are meeting our guests needs. Bethlehem is great area and yes we are very lucky to have such good amenities close by at the town center just down the road. Thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards Matt and Saho
Read more
TravelLoverNZ wrote a review Jun 2019
Auckland, New Zealand1 contribution
I am a travelling corporate and found this motel in Tauranga very comfortable and well priced in comparison to others I have stayed in. Great shopping complex just down the road so you can get a easy take away if you are tried. Also it was a short drive to my appointments in Tauranga CBD and the Tauranga crossing.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Masa176, Manager at Bethlehem Motor Inn
Responded 2 Jul 2019
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on our motel, we are always glad to hear positive feed back from our guests. Yes, we have a great location here in Bethlehem short drive to where ever you need to get, and have a great shopping center for all the main amenities one needs. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Read more
Cindermargot wrote a review May 2019
Auckland, New Zealand87 contributions13 helpful votes
I booked for two nights here by phone, no problems, I arrived late but the instructions I had as to the unit and where the key was all worked out, as the office was closed. However I became unwell and decided to cut my stay short and only stay the one night and head for home. When I went to the office the next morning they were very polite about it, there was no fuss a great respone. The bed had crispy clean white linen and the white towels in the bathroom were fluffy and wonderful after a great shower. Thenk you Behtlehem Motor Inn I will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: I would go further to the back away from Moffat road as it gets quite busy.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Masa176, Manager at Bethlehem Motor Inn
Responded 29 May 2019
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review for us even though your stay was cut short. Hopefully next time you will bet to see out your stay in good health and visit your friends next time. Kind regards Matt & Saho
Read more
FoodieNZ1 wrote a review May 2019
Auckland Central, New Zealand2 contributions1 helpful vote
We just stayed at Bethlehem Motor Inn in tauranga for family reunion. The place was well maintained. We stayed in a one bedroom suite which slept 4 of us comfortably. we would happily recommend. Thanks you
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book direct on the motel website for better price than booking.com
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
biff2612 wrote a review Apr 2019
9 contributions
We stayed here for 3 days and found the owners and the staff were very efficient, accommodating and happy to serve. The rooms were well equipped and very clean but the bed was not the most comfortable. We had friends in other rooms saying the same thing. The only night I slept well was after the wedding at Mills Reef, alcohol makes a good sleep drug. Also one of the major disappointments was the swimming pool. The water looked clean but the pool had developed that lovely green slime look all around the walls, floor and steps of the pool. Not the best look.There were at least 10 people that had taken swimming gear in the hope of a swim and felt disappointed.Also felt their charges were a little steep. Friends had a 2 room and the fridge was smaller than the one in the studio room beside them with them also complaining about the beds. Would I stay again.......very doubtful.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Masa176, Manager at Bethlehem Motor Inn
Responded 15 Apr 2019
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We are glad to here that our service and cleanliness was up to standard and by the sounds of the feed back we received it was a good weekend for the family over all. Sorry to hear the beds did not meet you expectations unfortunately beds are a personal preference and everyone has a differing opinion and over all we get fantastic feed back on our beds even to the point we have had guest want to buy our beds we replaced the queens size beds in 2015 and got the top of the line pocket spring beds, where most motel would not spend the extra money $400-$500 per bed we did they would just get the standard beds. The pool gets cleaned twice a week and ph levels checked 3 times a week, so it is not green slim that you see in the pool at the moment and it is completely safe to swim in. The pool is 20 years old and I am actually just waiting on a final quote to have it re-surfaced this winter as the colour that you think is due to not being cleaned properly, is just wear and tear of the age of the pool and the different layers of the plaster breaking down causing the confusion, but as you would expect Summer time is not the time to take the pool out of service for guests so this winter it will be done. Anyway thank you again all the best and take care.
Read more
Diana B wrote a review Mar 2019
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand56 contributions15 helpful votes
The Booking was made online, no issues. Location ideal - It is close to a shopping centre and to the wedding venue we were attending so very convenient. It says we have to write 200 words minimum but due to a quick stay there isn't much more to say than has been said 😊
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
grant778 wrote a review Mar 2019
Auckland, New Zealand3 contributions2 helpful votes
Warning the owner/Manager of Bethlehem Motor Inn is a nut case with anger problems. Here is my experience with him so you can judge for yourself. I was staying it the Motel while I completed some work in Tauranga. Thursday afternoon I was going some computer work in the unit. My work Cell phone goes It was a call with caller ID blocked This is unusual as 95% of my incoming calls show their number I answer the call and say my name and the name of the company I work for – I wait. No response So, I repeat my name I’m now suspecting that it an overseas marking company. Then a female Asian voice comes on the line I could not understand anything she was saying. Thinking she had the wrong number I said can you talk in English. She kept on talking and I could not make out anything she was saying. I said again can you talk in English. She kept on talking and I could not make out anything she was saying. This when on a couple more time so I just hung up. After a few minutes There is a knock on my door It’s the manager calling me a racist along with numerous profanities he was very angry going off his head and then threw my courier package in some bushes even though it had fragile on it. He would not listen to anything I tried to say. He then phoned up my boss and said he should sack the racist person that apparently I am. So what had happened was the manager's wife had phoned me to say a courier package had arrived, but I could not understand a word she said. The manager reaction was completely uncalled for. I have found this experience very unsettling as I know I’m definitely not a racist. I would not recommend staying there, as you also may also receive one of his nasty rants. The cleaning was not up to standard, shower still had some strands of hair on the shower walls, I stay in Motels 2 or 3 weeks a month and have not seen hair on the walls before.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Masa176, Manager at Bethlehem Motor Inn
Responded 4 Mar 2019
Dear Grant Chamberlain of Corrosion Control Engineering, I stand by my reaction to your abuse of my wife and we do not stand for racism at our motel what so ever. People of all races have the right to not be discriminated against especially when just trying to do there job. My wife was in tears after her experience with you, repetitively telling her to 'speak English' over and over again in a patronizing tone and talking down on her as if she was second class to you, and not once did you even apologise for upsetting her just stood with smug arrogance. My wife has lived in Australia for 9 years and work in 5 star hotels and we have been back in New Zealand for 7 years, on top of that has been speaking English since she was 15 years old. She has not once encountered such 'problems' with her English so that speaks for the weight of your argument. If you do not understand someone, how about in future instead of telling someone to 'Speak English, Speak English, Speak English' who is speaking English to you, how about just saying 'sorry could you please repeat that i did not hear want you just said', or just try and have an open mind about communication. In a country that is know so multi-cultural and diverse we all need to try harder to be more open minded. All the best to you and your company. There are always two sides to a story (sorry you got caught out mate)
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$115 - US$120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandBay of Plenty RegionTauranga
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bethlehem Motor Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Bethlehem Motor Inn?
Nearby attractions include Sherlock Holmes, The Prime Suspects (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bethlehem Motor Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a spa.
Which room amenities are available at Bethlehem Motor Inn?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Bethlehem Motor Inn?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Bethlehem Motor Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bethlehem Motor Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Somerset Cottage, Patrick's Pies Gold Star Bakery, and The Orchard Bethlehem Restaurant & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bethlehem Motor Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Bethlehem Motor Inn?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Bethlehem Motor Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bethlehem Motor Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Japanese.
Are there any historical sites close to Bethlehem Motor Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Elms (5.4 km), Gate Pa Memorial Reserve (3.2 km), and Brain Watkins House Museum (Tauranga Historical Society) (4.8 km).