We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Travellers' Choice award winner
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$97*
US$95*
US$97*
US$97*
US$95*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

700 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 672: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

Great location. Beautifully maintained. Very pleasant walk along the lake into Taopo town. Always something going on on the lake. Plenty of places to eat and a good supermarket in the town. Plenty to see within easy driving distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review

Taupo is a great little town with plenty to do and see. Thank you for your report

Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Decided last minute to stay in Taupo and checked into the Cottage Mews. The landlady who met us at reception was wonderfully friendly and helpful. The availability of kayaks was great we went straight out to the lake, which was literally at the end of a very short path at the back door of our cottage. Very clean and comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank I1095VClucasm
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review

Sometimes the unexpected can be so surprising and we are pleased to hear of your unplanned stop over. Please do call us for your next visit.

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 26 February 2017

I chose this place primarily due to how close this property was to the lake, and it did not disappoint. If you are looking for a spot that is super close to the lake, I would definitely recommend this establishment. Below are my quick pros and cons: Pros: -The fresh lavender planted all around the cottages. When I stepped out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank workanai
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review

Thank you for your comprehensive review, and we're really glad that you enjoyed yourself. The weather was just gorgeous. Lillyput, the short legged cat, (Lilly for short) seeks out new people that she can entice, to scratch her tummy. Thank you for being such great guests.

Reviewed 26 February 2017

We were fortunate to get the Nook, a cozy room that was perfect for our needs. Good kitchenette, wonderful bed and clean bathroom with fantastic shower. Best of all was the private patio, free washer and good cloths drying rack. Easy access to great swimming beach in front. Good parking outside room and nice waterfront walkway into town. From start...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek D
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review

Hi Derek. Thank you for the glowing report and we're glad to hear that you felt at home.

Queanbeyan, Australia
Reviewed 26 February 2017

We stayed two nights here and would have loved the time to stay more. The 'motel' offers more apartment style accommodation. Our room had bedroom (with spa bath) and bathroom downstairs with a kitchenette, lounge/dining room and balcony upstairs offering views of Lake Taupo. There is a small laneway from the property directly onto the lake and the pathway that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leap601
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review

It was great to have you stay with us. Thank you for taking the opportunity to review us.

Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

Excellent value for money. Very friendly and helpful owners, including lily the cat... coolest cat in taupo! Spa bath in room is nice and big and very relaxing. It was very warm while we were there, and the room had a fan which came in handy. Highly recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juliarna H
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review

Thanks Juliarna, for the review. It was great to have you stay with us.

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 19 February 2017

During our visit to New Zealand, we stayed in this motel for three nights. Good bedroom with facility for spa bath in which we enjoyed a lavender flavour bath. The bathroom and toilet too were very clean. Wifi was available. We visited nearby beautifying and scenic places.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ushasivadas
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

We booked here over other places in Taupo due to the great reviews on TripAdvisor. The cottage Mews is exactly what it says it is, little cottages on the lake which are immaculately maintained. I could not fault this place if I tried, if I had to make a bad point it is that it is a long walk to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review

Thank you for a wonderful review. We are so glad that you had fun on the mountain and made good use of the facilities. I believe that Lilly is the lucky one, with so many admirers. If you ignore her, she will usually saunter past to check that all is well.

Chicago
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Cottage Mews is a fantastic place to stay while you're in Taupo. The accommodations are spacious and clean. The cottages have everything you need from a kitchen area where you can cook to an immaculate laundry room (with a free washer). The cottages are exceptionally comfortable and are spotless. Each comes with it's own garden area, which is absolutely lovely....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review

Thank you, Rebecca, for stopping over with us. Please do visit again.

Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

When we first arrived I was amazed by how beautiful the accommodation was and how friendly the owner was. It is located close to the main area and walking tracks close by. The only issue I had was the mattress I slept on was old and I could feel the springs. I was the only one that had this issue....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
Sonja P, Manager at The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo, responded to this review

Hello Rachel, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am really glad you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for pointing out that the mattress has become soft. We have all ready replaced most mattresses in the last year and have ordered new single mattresses which should improve your sleep next time you visit us. Kind...

185 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (165)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taupo hotels
1.6 km away
Gables Lakefront Motel
0.7 km away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
1.5 km away
Sails On The Lake
Sails On The Lake
#5 of 69 in Taupo
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
1,951 reviews
0.4 km away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
1.5 km away
Baycrest Lodge
Baycrest Lodge
#9 of 69 in Taupo
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation

Additional Information about The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo

Address: 311 Lake Terrace, Taupo, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Taupo
Price Range: $135 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Taupo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Taupo
#3 Family Hotel in Taupo
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Taupo
#11 Business Hotel in Taupo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Cottage Mews Motel Taupo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Talk to the host.”
johnkayhodgson, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 9 and 10 overlook the lake although I heard very good things about the other rooms.”
JimR627, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 9 & 10 nicest. Closest to the lake, barbeque area and best views. The Nook also nice, very private (honeymoon), but no spa bath”
  • Lake views even from inside the upstairs rooms
  • Sunsets on the lake breath taking
  • Walking or cycling around the lake for miles and miles. Awesome views
  • To go on a boat trip is an absolute must. We went on the Ernest Kemp Sunset Cruise
  • Lake Taupo!
ZetvdM, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had the smallest room and it was perfect for the two of us”
, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good and walkable distance from the beautiful lake”
Ushasivadas, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$95*
View Deal
Booking.comUS$97
Hotels.comUS$95
TripAdvisorUS$97
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates