We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Haka Lodge Taupo

Save
Share
56 Kaimanawa Street, Taupo 3330 New Zealand
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (114)
Room & Suite (44)
Dining (9)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#5 of 46 Speciality lodging in Taupo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Haka Lodge Taupō is an up-market backpacker's hostel located in central Taupō. Our ethos places the guest experience at the heart of everything we do. Come and stay in backpacker luxury with FREE unlimited Wi-Fi, hot-tub and stunning views of Lake Taupō! Haka Lodges are a modern New Zealand hostel network with fresh ideas, smart design and an eco outlook.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Bicycle rental
Hiking
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Laundry service
Parking
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German
647Reviews1Q+A68Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 441
  • 148
  • 32
  • 17
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
thenikkibella wrote a review 24 Jan
1 contribution
Love it! Well worth the money! + saved me money on Petrol to the city as it was convenient! Staff were awesome and giving me and my friend the night to catchup! Also handy to have a laundry room in the area aswell! Well worth the money
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2022
Helpful
Share
deanwhelch wrote a review 10 Jan
Auckland Central, New Zealand3 contributions1 helpful vote
This would have to be one of the best backpackers in New Zealand very comfortable beds excellent kitchen and dining room facilities bathrooms, bedrooms everything exceptionally clean and tidy very highly recommended. And a bonus was an excellent deck with views over lake Taupo
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: As we are a mountain bikers we were very pleased to find a lockup for our bikes
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kirsty Malone, Other at Haka Lodge Taupō
Responded 2 weeks ago
Kia ora deanwhelch, What a lovely review, thank you for taking the time to share it with us. It's a really great spot isn't it? We really hope to welcome you back soon. Nga mihi Timo and the Haka lodge Taupo team
Read more
SuperTravelGirlNZ wrote a review 7 Jan
Auckland, New Zealand4 contributions
Excellent location (walking distance to the lake, cinema, bars, restaurants and supermarkets). Lots of parking. Well constructed wooded bunks in dorm room which don't shake when other people on bunk move, bunks also have privacy curtain, 2 power plugs and an individual light. Large lockable (bring own padlock) storage areas below bunks. Easy after hours check in process (they email you a code for the lockbox which has your room key). Great that it has quiet hours, so you get a good quiet night sleep. Good wifi.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2022
Helpful
Share
Response from Kirsty Malone, Other at Haka Lodge Taupō
Responded 2 weeks ago
Kia ora SuperTravelGirlNZ, Thank you for taking the time to share your review, It's a great location isn't it? We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again very soon. Nga mihi Timo and the Haka Lodge Taupo team.
Read more
AbsINTJ wrote a review Nov 2021
1 contribution
Stayed the night here during a road trip with my partner and had a great experience. It was for a work move and our covid test results were delayed so we were late, but it was no worries as our keys were left in a lockbox and we were sent an email explaining how to unlock it, which was very helpful as I was stressed about arriving too late to check in! It is also very close to the center of Taupo, only about a 10 minute walk or 2 minute drive, and there was covered parking. We got a bunk room because we thought bunk beds would be fun, and I can highly recommend this as they come with curtains, charging stations and lights so theyre very cosy. Reception was also very helpful when we thought we had lost my partners glasses, they replied right away to tell us they weren't there but would keep us updated. All in all, a very good place to stay with very helpful and kind staff!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Kirsty Malone, Other at Haka Lodge Taupō
Responded 29 Nov 2021
Kia ora AbsINTJ, Thank you for your lovely review, I am glad you had a seamless check in and we were and enjoyed our bunk beds, they are pretty great aren't they? We hope to welcome you again soon. Nga mihi Timo
Read more
Riripeti H wrote a review Oct 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand5 contributions
I enjoyed my stay at Haka Lodge. It was clean and booking in was easy. It was also quiet which is probably unusual at the height of the summer season so nice and quiet. Easy to follow instructions becuase I arrived after the office closed. Easy check out and friendly staff. I will book again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Kirsty Malone, Other at Haka Lodge Taupō
Responded 31 Oct 2021
Kia ora Riripeti, Thank you for your lovely review, Our staff are pretty great aren't they? We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Nga mihi Timo
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$40 - US$98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionTaupo DistrictTaupo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Haka Lodge Taupō
Which popular attractions are close to Haka Lodge Taupō?
Nearby attractions include Lake Taupo (0.6 km), Lake Taupo (0.7 km), and Taupo Museum (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Haka Lodge Taupō?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and a hot tub.
What food & drink options are available at Haka Lodge Taupō?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Haka Lodge Taupō?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Haka Lodge Taupō?
Conveniently located restaurants include Malabar Indian Restaurant & Bar (Nepalese & Indian Cuisine), Incredible India Restaurant and Bar, and Suncourt Indian.
Is Haka Lodge Taupō located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Taupo.
Are any cleaning services offered at Haka Lodge Taupō?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Haka Lodge Taupō?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and German.