We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre

Save
Share
14 Northcroft Street PO Box 837, Taupo New Zealand
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
US$138
View Deal
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (116)
Room & Suite (102)
Dining (5)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 13/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
Updated 13/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#26 of 64 hotels in Taupo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Suncourt Hotel and Conference Centre takes pride of place on the beautiful shores of Lake Taupo, Qualmark rated 4 star, with magnificent uninterrupted views of stunning Lake Taupo, and Tongariro National Park. Enjoy a leisurely 3 minute stroll to the CBD boutique shopping & nightlife. With 52 accommodation rooms on offer, varying from lake studios to 2 and 3 bedroom self-contained units, you will enjoy spacious yet affordable accommodation. Suncourt is the perfect location for families, business travelers and corporate groups. Experience a conference, function or wedding at our fabulous conference venue and on-site restaurant the Lake Bistro.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Boating
Hiking
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Mini golf
Canoeing offsite
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Electric blanket
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, German, Hindi
414Reviews1Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 136
  • 183
  • 72
  • 16
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Phil M wrote a review Oct 2020
36 contributions7 helpful votes
Mixed feelings about Suncourt- a 3.5 on an extended rating scale. Arrival went smoothly, we had a two bedroom garden unit overlooking the children's playground and a carpark. The front units overlooking the lake are clearly the pick, not sure why I didn't choose one of those, price I suspect. I clearly didn't look closely enough at the website as the rooms have a microwave only in the kitchen, no other cooking facilities, presumably as they are encouraging you to eat at the on-site bistro. We ended up having takeaways both nights so no problem there. Would probably have tried the bistro if there was an in-house discount or similar as enticement. The room itself was fine, bed in the adult bedroom very comfortable, that's a plus. Couches old and a cigarette burn on the arm
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Chloe VanderSlik, Guest Services / Front Office at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded 10 Oct 2020
Good morning, Thank you for placing a review with us, we appreciate it. Kind regards, Chloe
Read more
shazzzalongley wrote a review Oct 2020
Cambridge, New Zealand1,214 contributions132 helpful votes
+1
We spent two nights at the Suncourt Hotel. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. The location is perfect as it is opposite the lake and only a short walk into town. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. A very minor negative was that we had no toilet paper or milk on the second day of our stay, this was quickly sorted out by the staff. The main window in our room had black out curtains but right opposite the bed was a small window with a useless blind that did not keep any light out. This is not a major, just annoying.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Chloe VanderSlik, Guest Services / Front Office at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded 7 Oct 2020
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Suncourt Hotel. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay here and appreciate your feedback.
Read more
Tiffany C wrote a review Aug 2020
Hamilton, New Zealand20 contributions20 helpful votes
A great location close to town and walking distance to any restaurants. A little disappointed with the room, very small and pokey, for the price expected a bit more. The wall next to the toilet was covered in long strands of hair, about 5 of them. Cleaners should have picked up that. Bed was comfy enough. Room OK enough to rest your head at night, about it really. Toiletries not great, if you offer shampoo, there should be a conditioner, not that I use motel toiletries. A cake of soap would have been nice for people who detest body wash. Nice to have both options. We usually travel with our own, but forgot on the first night. Getting a knock at the door at 9am on a Saturday is a bit much, asking if we want a room service. why so early??
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Chloe VanderSlik, Guest Services / Front Office at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded 20 Aug 2020
Hi Tiffany, Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate all comments and feedback as it is important to us that our Guests have a good experience when they stay. With this information we can better our offering. We do apologise if you were woken early on your getaway for your room service. Some mornings our housekeeping team have a high turnover of rooms and like to make an early start. Hopefully, you asked them to return at a time when it suited, which they are happy to do. We have adopted an environmentally friendly regime with our toiletries, which means refill bottles. Our hairwash is a combined wash and conditioner product. We are extremely unhappy that you were checked into a room which was not serviced to our normal high standard. If we had known we would have moved you to a new room immediately. We do hope you enjoyed some of our great cuisine and drinks in our Lake Bistro during your stay with us. Regards, Chloe
Read more
Pao M wrote a review Jul 2020
Wellington, New Zealand44 contributions10 helpful votes
We stayed in a lake view room over the Queen's birthday weekend. This hotel has a great location. It is not right in front of the main road but close enough to still have the views of the lake. It's good because then you won't hear the cars passing by. It is also very close, walking distance even, to the restaurants. The room is warm and clean. Bathroom very spacious. WIFI ok. We'll be happy to stay here again if we return to Taupo.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Chloe VanderSlik, Guest Services / Front Office at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded 19 Jul 2020
Good afternoon Pao, thank you for your lovely feedback, we appreciate it. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards, Chloe
Read more
Linda H wrote a review May 2020
Thames, Waikato, New Zealand2 contributions
I travel a lot giving talks. I have never stayed anywhere where every staff member is so helpful and happy. As we were coming out of lockdown I had quite a few questions about what our options were to still have a group of people together for a business meeting. Sarah researched this for me promptly and very quickly we were both very clear on the requirements. I really appreciated this and the free room upgrade to give us more social distancing space. Just and awesome team, thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Chloe VanderSlik, Guest Services / Front Office at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded 2 weeks ago
Good afternoon Linda, Thank you for the brilliant feedback, we are always here to help and assist with the organisation of business meetings and conferences/functions. You were all a pleasure to have. I will pass your lovely comments on to the conference department and all other members of our team. Thank you and kind regards, Chloe
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$85 - US$190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
suncourt hotel and conference centre
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionTaupo DistrictTaupo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing