We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre

Save
Share
14 Northcroft Street PO Box 837, Taupo New Zealand
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
US$136
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/02/22
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (120)
Room & Suite (105)
Dining (5)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 13/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
Updated 13/09/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#26 of 66 hotels in Taupo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suncourt Hotel and Conference Centre takes pride of place on the beautiful shores of Lake Taupo, Qualmark rated 4 star, with magnificent uninterrupted views of stunning Lake Taupo, and Tongariro National Park. Enjoy a leisurely 3 minute stroll to the CBD boutique shopping & nightlife. With 52 accommodation rooms on offer, varying from lake studios to 2 and 3 bedroom self-contained units, you will enjoy spacious yet affordable accommodation. Suncourt is the perfect location for families, business travelers and corporate groups. Experience a conference, function or wedding at our fabulous conference venue and on-site restaurant the Lake Bistro.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Boating
Hiking
Children's playground
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Mini golf
Canoeing offsite
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Electric blanket
Walk-in shower
Private balcony
Room service
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Harbour View
Lake View
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans, German, Hindi
421Reviews1Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 140
  • 184
  • 72
  • 16
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
poohtravel wrote a review Mar 2021
New Zealand330 contributions88 helpful votes
My main disappointment with my room was that there were absolutely no toiletries. I did not complain or ask for any as there was no spot where they obviously would have been. Fortunately I by chance had some with me. The sliding door to the wee deck looking out to the lake was locked. There were no instructions on how to open it. A coffee out there watching the sun rise would have been lovely. Not only were there no toiletries but I was phoned by someone from the hotel accusing me of having taken them with me. I assured them that I had not as there weren’t any there to start with. I was told they would check it out and come back to me. I’m still waiting for the apology. Shame because I would have gone back again and recommended them but I cannot recommend a place that
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Chloe VanderSlik, Guest Services / Front Office at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded 26 Mar 2021
We are sorry to find out via email and this review that there were no toiletries in your room.  This is unusual and if we had known we would have delivered toiletries to your room immediately.  We appreciate this must have been an inconvenience for you.  Our reception team followed our process by contacting the guest when these products are not in the room on departure (which are part of our sustainability initiative, where these bottles are refilled after each departure).  Some guests take these refillable bottles unknowingly thinking they are complimentary.  In your situation our receptionist checked with you and listened to your explanation and there has been no charge against your reservation.
Read more
Kej5 wrote a review Jan 2021
Auckland, New Zealand208 contributions37 helpful votes
Friendly staff on check in; we had a trainee who was under the supervision of someone else, but he was friendly and courteous. The room was clean, with some basic cups and glasses, but not much in the way of other facilities. The outside area was nice with comfortable seaing to watch people moving around as it was a public holiday and quite busy. Noisy neighbours with a young child spoilt this trip for us as they did very little to consider all of the other guests staying at the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Chloe VanderSlik, Guest Services / Front Office at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded 26 Mar 2021
Thank you for your lovely feedback, we will pass your comments on to the staff members involved. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the outdoor seating with your room and also apologise for your noisy neighbor. We do hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Chloe
Read more
Gursharan wrote a review Jan 2021
2 contributions
Owner deducted extra money from my account after checkout making false statements, I don't recommend this place, you will end-up paying more than they say upfront, avoid this place so you don't get a bad experience.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Chloe VanderSlik, Guest Services / Front Office at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded 4 Jan 2021
Good afternoon Gursharan, This is standard procedure when items are missing from rooms on departure. We have emailed you. Kind regards, Chloe
Read more
EggGirl wrote a review Dec 2020
Whanganui, New Zealand89 contributions102 helpful votes
Room was very nice and was very comfortable. Was great having a seating space outside the room with a grass view and comfortable chair. Room and bathroom were very clean. Had breakfast at the hotel one morning. Took a very long time to be served and wasn’t worth waiting for the next day. Service in the bar and reception was good.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Chloe VanderSlik, Guest Services / Front Office at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded 6 Jan 2021
Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to place a review with us, we are pleased to know you enjoyed your room and were comfortable. All feedback is important to us, it helps us improve what we have to offer. Kind regards, Chloe
Read more
Lotoguns wrote a review Nov 2020
Wellington, New Zealand6 contributions16 helpful votes
Arrived on Saturday with a group of friends and was met by a rude indian woman on reception. Soured my day. Had I had not prepaid 1k I would have taken my business elsewhere. Lots of others options to stay in Taupo. Recommend you stay somewhere else. Never staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Chloe VanderSlik, Guest Services / Front Office at Suncourt Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded 3 Dec 2020
Good afternoon, We do apologise that you felt this way. This is one of our receptionist who we value very much. She may have been caught slightly off guard when you arrived for check in at 9.30am whilst we were processing our check outs from the previous night. To my knowledge you were all checked in and into your rooms ready to relax for the day/night with no delay. Kind regards, Chloe
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$85 - US$190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
suncourt hotel and conference centre
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionTaupo DistrictTaupo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing