We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alpine Lake Motel

141 Heuheu Street, Taupo 3330 New Zealand
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (28)
Room & Suite (28)
Dining (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.


#12 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Taupo
Relax and enjoy all that Lake Taupo has to offer in our centrally located motel featuring spacious modern rooms, BBQ facilities, kitchenettes, underfloor heating, air-conditioning, free ultra fast WiFi, MySky 50+ Channels, spa baths, king size beds, free car parking and friendly local operators. Alpine Lake is located within five minutes walk to shops, restaurants and lake activities. It is perfect for families, couples, corporates or groups. A large, free off street car park is available for convenience. Contintental breakfast boxes are available to purchase for $15 each. Your Taupo adventure starts here... We are as close to the action as you can get! #lovealpinelake
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary instant cofffee
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Laundry service
Complimentary tea
Highchairs available
Outdoor furniture
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Whirlpool bathtub
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
On-demand films
Bath / shower
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
226Reviews0Q+A37Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 136
  • 68
  • 18
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Waikato Tainui wrote a review Jan 2021
6 contributions2 helpful votes
We stayed in Room 20, and when I opened the door I was blown away at the view. The room is so big and spacious. I've never encountered an open space all-in-one layout like this before. It might not be for everyone to have their bed, living room/TV, dining and kitchen area without any walls, but I think it was a clever way to maximise the space available. This experience has taught me to pay better attention to how efficient a room layout is rather than purely judge by square meter. We were incredibly fortunate to get such a good deal, I was looking around at all of the stuff in the room and couldn't understand how it was so cheap. The hosts were professional, grounded and I look forward to staying here again, to see the changes that will be made to this room.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Room Tip: stunning view, great use of space, lots of value
See more room tips
Mary H wrote a review Jan 2021
Wellington, New Zealand4 contributions1 helpful vote
Room was ok, the kitchen was right by the front door so other people walking by could see right through which I didn’t enjoy, the A/C took a while to cool down the room which wasn’t great when it’s hot in summer, the spa bath was a lot smaller than I thought, housekeeping forgot to replace our towels but left the drawers all open,
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from Sean and Maria Campbell, Owner at Alpine Lake Motel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Sorry Mary, sounds like you didn't have a very pleasant stay with us. We do have other room layouts if you ever decide to try us again.
Read more
Helen W wrote a review Jan 2021
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand8 contributions9 helpful votes
We enjoyed our stay at Alpine Lake Motel so much we booked a room for our return journey home. The rooms were clean and tidy, with comfortable beds, and good kitchen facilities - everything you could need for an overnight (or multi-night) stay. I also like how the bathroom supplies are eco-friendly (not in individual packets). It's in a great location with only a short walk to shops and restaurants.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Response from Sean and Maria Campbell, Owner at Alpine Lake Motel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks for your wonderful review. We appreciate you taking the time to submit this. We hope to see you again Darrin & Stacey
Read more
Nicole B wrote a review Jan 2021
Wellington2 contributions
The Alpine Lake motel was an awesome place to stay for 3 nights over the NY break. It's just a short walk down to the lake which was absolutely perfect. The facilities and the room were incredibly clean and tidy and the staff service was above and beyond. We had some issues with the hot/cold water and Stacey sorted this really quickly by organising a plumber, and refunding us some money. We were incredibly grateful for their service and trying to resolve the issue quickly. Would 100% stay again and definitely recommend. 10/10! :)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Room Tip: Very clean and amazing customer service.
See more room tips
Response from Sean and Maria Campbell, Owner at Alpine Lake Motel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thans for the fab comments. We were happy you had such a great stay despite the water issues. You will be happy to know these have all been sorted. See you again one day Stacey & Darrin
Read more
FullyNZ wrote a review Oct 2020
Fox Glacier, New Zealand156 contributions28 helpful votes
I had a really awesome stay here in a one bedroom unit. Really well set up, with a lounge, kitchenette, separate bedroom and a bathroom with dual entry from the bedroom and lounge. Ranchslider from the lounge out to a lovely patio. Underfloor heating, wall heaters and a heat pump ensured the unit was toasty and warm. Bed was really comfy with good quality linen. Amazing shower pressure. Staff were really friendly, with a awesome dinner recommendation. Really quiet with no noise from other guests or the road. I cant wait to stay here again! Thanks Alpine Lake for a great stay
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Response from Dolores Butterworth, General Manager at Alpine Lake Motel
Responded 20 Oct 2020
Wow thanks so much for the awesome review, So glad you enjoyed your stay and the dinner spot. See you next time and dont forget to book direct with our Loyal10 promo code. Cheers Sean
Read more
US$84 - US$144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
alpine lake motor hotel taupo, alpine lake hotel, alpine lake motel
New ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionTaupo DistrictTaupo
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Alpine Lake Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Alpine Lake Motel?
Nearby attractions include Lake Taupo (0.7 km), Lake Taupo (0.9 km), and Taupo Museum (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Alpine Lake Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at Alpine Lake Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Alpine Lake Motel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Alpine Lake Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Alpine Lake Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Malabar Indian Restaurant & Bar (Nepalese & Indian Cuisine), Incredible India Restaurant and Bar, and Suncourt Indian.
Is Alpine Lake Motel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Taupo.
Are any cleaning services offered at Alpine Lake Motel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Is Alpine Lake Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.