We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
104 Tuwharetoa Street, Taupo 3330 New Zealand
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (48)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#13 of 48 Specialty lodging in Taupo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
FREE breakfast all year round from 8:00am to 10:30am (selection of bread/cereal) FREE unlimited WIFI all year round. If you're looking for an affordable, relaxed and friendly place to stay in Taupo with spectacular lake and mountain views, then Tiki Lodge is for you! Its prime location ensures excellent views of Lake Taupo with only a 2 minute walk to the town centre and lakefront. Cook up a treat in our large well-equipped kitchen. Make friends in our large lounge, relax in our cosy T.V room and enjoy the views from our balcony. We have onsite undercover parking, high-pressure showers, storage lockers, BBQ and bike hire available. Our friendly staff are here to help with all your booking needs. From the Tongariro Alpine Crossing to skydiving, bungy jumping, rafting trips, trout fishing and kayaking, there is something for everyone. With our relaxed and friendly vibe, cosy feel and awesome staff, we hope your stay with us will be a memorable one! We look forward to having you stay :-)
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Skiing
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Laundry service
Secured parking
Wifi
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Safe
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, French
229Reviews0Q+A13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 99
  • 77
  • 40
  • 9
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lachlan Fleming wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
The bloke that served us was top notch but the actual accommodation was a bit of a letdown. I was travelling with my mates and we were on a tight budget and the price was not horrible but I felt it was a bit steep for what we got. The place was all locked up when we got there giving off the feeling that it was not too popular. The room was alright but the TV was fuzzy and there was no wifi available, even though it says it on the website. We just felt like this place was a bit run down and not as good as we thought from looking online.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
775traveller wrote a review Feb 2020
NSW252 contributions74 helpful votes
Bit far to walk at night after a lake cruise as you walk past bars and strip joints then used car yards which are dark. Room was fine (dorm) with a multi power outlet to charge your gear but there was a very noisy man on his phone outside talking til past midnight so annoying.Nice verandah upstairs to see the view and sit at, ok breakfast of cereal and toast, wifi available.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
plan dani wrote a review Nov 2019
3 contributions4 helpful votes
Rude arrogant woman on reception who does not listen or want to listen, says one price and means another, ABSOLUTE rip off for what it is, place is full and I mean FULL of bed bugs and cockroaches. If you stay here you will get bitten....nuff said
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Solarpowered_12, Manager at Tiki Lodge
Responded 29 Nov 2019
I hope you feel somewhat happier in yourself for a very untruthful rant. Our hostel is not full of bed bugs and cockroaches as you claim and can be vindicated by all the many happy guests who are booked and currently staying with us. We currently have new summer staff and if you had an issue with the pricing they would have phoned the owner for clarification, they did not. If you were disputing an online price then please be aware that we have one price across all OTA's who then may choose to alter those without advising or consulting with us. If these business' choose to discount our prices they are taking that discount out of the commission they charge us to use their websites. This is out of our control, also be wary of what you are looking at on these sites ie # people, type of room and currency, these are common clashes we deal with. We are sorry you seem to have had a less than favorable experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
annasmith92 wrote a review Jun 2019
10 contributions1 helpful vote
Very enjoyable stay! Stayed in a family room- just two of us! We had a kitchenette complete with microwave toaster, kettle and a full size fridge! Shared a bathroom with one other room! We had our own tv and found the room very clean! Girls on reception were very friendly!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lollipop211 wrote a review Apr 2019
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom16 contributions2 helpful votes
The hostel itself is great with very friendly staff who advised me on the beat day to do my skydive. Check on was easy and they offer free luggage storage. The location is ideal, close to the main street with all the bars and restaurants. The room itself was spacious the only downside is the lockers aren't in the rooms. There was also a really bad smell in the room for my entire stay. Ok for a few days but would have asked to move rooms if i was staying any longer.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
DrewCowley wrote a review Apr 2019
Tauranga, New Zealand19 contributions11 helpful votes
Rooms were good, room to move, shower very low and pressure but clean and tidy, kitchen area was great and lounge area good also, close to town for walking to shops and supermarket. Little noisy early evening but everyone was good later
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
dangersquid wrote a review Apr 2019
8 contributions1 helpful vote
This hotel/hostel is located just a few blocks from the down town and waterfront, making it convenient for walking. The private en suit room where we stayed was essentially a normal hotel room. There are laundry facilities on-site.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
rami wrote a review Mar 2019
2 contributions
We stayed at the lodge a couple of times. The hostel is in good condition. Everything is clean. The staff is very helpful and friendly. There is a small free breakfast every morning. If you are planning to do the tongariro crossing, the is your hostel. They always have the latest regarding the hike, shuttles and weather.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from tikiboss, Manager at Tiki Lodge
Responded 31 Mar 2019
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay with us :-) I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels around New Zealand and hope to see you again soon ;-)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
wandering_in_heels wrote a review Mar 2019
London, United Kingdom14 contributions13 helpful votes
I visited the Tiki Lodge last week and was initially very impressed with my private room. It had an en-suite bathroom, TV and appeared clean. However, after the first night I woke up with bites all over my feet and legs. The next day I found a single bed bug in my bed. I should have killed the bug there and then, but I freaked out and went to tell the staff on reception about this. They came up to check the room and we couldn’t find the offending bed bug or any more and they offered to let me wash all my clothing free of charge and change the bedding. Whilst I completely understand that this bed bug could of come from another property I had stayed at previously, I was made to feel like I was over reacting by staff at the Tiki Lodge. At one point I was told “you are clearly not a very good backpacker if you can’t deal with a few bed bug bites”. I have regularly stayed in hostels over the last ten years in a mixture of private rooms and dorms and have been fortunate enough never to have experienced bed bugs, but I found the implication that I was being some sort of princess by being upset by bed bug bites very offensive. The bites have since flared up so badly that I have had to pay to see an emergency doctor who has put me on antibiotics for a week (see picture). All in all it was a very traumatising experience, which I feel should have been handled with more care and sensitivity by staff.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from tikiboss, Manager at Tiki Lodge
Responded 25 Mar 2019
Thank you very much for your review - I’m very perplexed on how you can say we had no compassion towards you during your 2 night stay here at Tiki Lodge when myself and my staff members went above and beyond to assist you! I the hostel Manager was there when you approached my staff member about the possibility of bed bugs in the room which may I add was late in the evening! Yourself and your friend watched us check your room, you saw us tip up the beds, strip the beds and search very thoroughly and there was not one sign of bed bugs inhabiting in the room and no sign of the wondering big you saw! As you stated you may have got the bites from another hostel and the bug you saw may have come from your belongings - at the time you were very grateful in the assistance we gave you! As a precaution we washed your belongings and your friends belongings free of charge and I even gave you some antihistamine cream to assist with the bites! Here in New Zealand there are many insects that bite from mosquitoes, sand flies to ants so you cannot 100% say that you were in fact bitten by ‘bed bugs’ which again you agreed! I’m unsure what more we could have done and I’m sorry your body has reacted in the way it has - it’s actually quite upsetting to hear you think we had no compassion when both myself and my staff member went above and beyond to assist you!! I tried to reassure you time and time again and you agreed there was not much more we could have done at 10-11pm and were happy there was no issue in the room - we offered to put you in another room to ease your mind but you declined as you saw the beds were clear and we gave you clean sheets again to help ease your concerns. But I do feel you were over thinking and getting very paranoid looking for signs and even the following morning you called me into your room to show me what you thought was remains of bugs in your bed and on close inspection it was ‘fluff and a small grain of grass’ which even yourself admitted you were over reacting and we both laughed it off! After you checked out and thanked us for all the help we gave you I can ensure you we re inspected the room and there was no sign of anything in the room. As a precaution we cleaned all linen and steamed the beds incase there was an ‘offending bug’ which you admit may have come from yourself - please note bugs can come from buses, aeroplanes, top star hotels and do google this you will see the list of places is endless - as the Hostel Manager I’m proud and pleased to say we are very proactive in preventing the spread of bugs which can only come into the hostel one way and that’s by our guests - The fact you thanked us and praised us for all the assistance we gave you its very upsetting and very demoralising to read your comments especially when you even admit the ‘offending bug’ may have been brought in by yourself!!! I’m usure what more we could have done?????? I’m sorry if what we did was not enough in your eyes - good luck in finding accommodation providers who would have assisted you in the way we did!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MPS wrote a review Jan 2019
Manchester, United Kingdom28 contributions3 helpful votes
The hostel rooms were quite dirty. The beds were really uncomfortable and whenever we went in the room, our door was always open as you had to flick a catch to shut and lock the door and no one in our room ever bothered. It would probably be helpful to have doors which just lock automatically when they shut. There was a big communal space and an alright kitchen but it could do with a good clean. The hostel lacked atmosphere as it seemed to be just full of long termers which isn’t great if your looking for somewhere social. Location was decent but overall, the place needs a good clean. I wouldn’t stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from tikiboss, Manager at Tiki Lodge
Responded 20 Jan 2019
Thank you for your review - I'm very surprised to hear you did not enjoy your stay and that you would not stay with us again - I remember you both well and no issues were raised during your stay and also you did return to stay with us within a few days of you checking out for a second time. Our kitchen is cleaned thoroughly 2 times a day and reception staff will clean throughout the day but unfortunately some guests just cannot clean after themselves like they can't lock doors. As advised we do try our best to keep the kitchen clean throughout the day as time allows and have since had a chat with all staff to ensure they do regular checks. Apologies for the 2 rooms we had allocated for seasonal workers but as we are a small independently run business this is a great way to increase our revenue over the summer months - they do all stay in the same room and we do not put any backpackers / other guests into their rooms so should not have any impact on your stay we also allocate them their own fridge which is clearly labelled. With regards to atmosphere we are advertised as a quiet hostel which many of our guests like apologies it was too quiet for you but I guess if atmosphere is what you were wanting then you could have stayed at Urban Retreat or Base where the rest of the Kiwi Experience bus in which you were travelling on were staying. Thank you again for your review and hope you're enjoying living in the Bay of Islands - beautiful place :-)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionTaupo DistrictTaupo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tiki Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Tiki Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Lake Taupo (0.3 km), Lake Taupo (0.4 km), and Maori Rock Carvings (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Tiki Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Tiki Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Tiki Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tiki Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Malabar Nepalese and Indian Kitchen, Master of India, and Suncourt Indian.
Is Tiki Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.10 km away from the centre of Taupo.
Are any cleaning services offered at Tiki Lodge?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Tiki Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Is Tiki Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.