We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
104 Tuwharetoa Street, Taupo 3330 New Zealand
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (48)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#13 of 46 Speciality lodging in Taupo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
FREE breakfast all year round from 8:00am to 10:30am (selection of bread/cereal) FREE unlimited WIFI all year round. If you're looking for an affordable, relaxed and friendly place to stay in Taupo with spectacular lake and mountain views, then Tiki Lodge is for you! Its prime location ensures excellent views of Lake Taupo with only a 2 minute walk to the town centre and lakefront. Cook up a treat in our large well-equipped kitchen. Make friends in our large lounge, relax in our cosy T.V room and enjoy the views from our balcony. We have onsite undercover parking, high-pressure showers, storage lockers, BBQ and bike hire available. Our friendly staff are here to help with all your booking needs. From the Tongariro Alpine Crossing to skydiving, bungy jumping, rafting trips, trout fishing and kayaking, there is something for everyone. With our relaxed and friendly vibe, cosy feel and awesome staff, we hope your stay with us will be a memorable one! We look forward to having you stay :-)
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Skiing
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Laundry service
Secured parking
Wifi
Vending machine
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Safe
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French
229Reviews0Q+A13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 99
  • 77
  • 40
  • 9
  • 4
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lachlan Fleming wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
The bloke that served us was top notch but the actual accommodation was a bit of a letdown. I was travelling with my mates and we were on a tight budget and the price was not horrible but I felt it was a bit steep for what we got. The place was all locked up when we got there giving off the feeling that it was not too popular. The room was alright but the TV was fuzzy and there was no wifi available, even though it says it on the website. We just felt like this place was a bit run down and not as good as we thought from looking online.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
775traveller wrote a review Feb 2020
NSW254 contributions72 helpful votes
Bit far to walk at night after a lake cruise as you walk past bars and strip joints then used car yards which are dark. Room was fine (dorm) with a multi power outlet to charge your gear but there was a very noisy man on his phone outside talking til past midnight so annoying.Nice verandah upstairs to see the view and sit at, ok breakfast of cereal and toast, wifi available.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
plan dani wrote a review Nov 2019
3 contributions4 helpful votes
Rude arrogant woman on reception who does not listen or want to listen, says one price and means another, ABSOLUTE rip off for what it is, place is full and I mean FULL of bed bugs and cockroaches. If you stay here you will get bitten....nuff said
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Solarpowered_12, Manager at Tiki Lodge
Responded 29 Nov 2019
I hope you feel somewhat happier in yourself for a very untruthful rant. Our hostel is not full of bed bugs and cockroaches as you claim and can be vindicated by all the many happy guests who are booked and currently staying with us. We currently have new summer staff and if you had an issue with the pricing they would have phoned the owner for clarification, they did not. If you were disputing an online price then please be aware that we have one price across all OTA's who then may choose to alter those without advising or consulting with us. If these business' choose to discount our prices they are taking that discount out of the commission they charge us to use their websites. This is out of our control, also be wary of what you are looking at on these sites ie # people, type of room and currency, these are common clashes we deal with. We are sorry you seem to have had a less than favorable experience.
Read more
annasmith92 wrote a review Jun 2019
10 contributions1 helpful vote
Very enjoyable stay! Stayed in a family room- just two of us! We had a kitchenette complete with microwave toaster, kettle and a full size fridge! Shared a bathroom with one other room! We had our own tv and found the room very clean! Girls on reception were very friendly!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Lollipop211 wrote a review Apr 2019
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom16 contributions2 helpful votes
The hostel itself is great with very friendly staff who advised me on the beat day to do my skydive. Check on was easy and they offer free luggage storage. The location is ideal, close to the main street with all the bars and restaurants. The room itself was spacious the only downside is the lockers aren't in the rooms. There was also a really bad smell in the room for my entire stay. Ok for a few days but would have asked to move rooms if i was staying any longer.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$27 - US$73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionTaupo DistrictTaupo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tiki Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Tiki Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Lake Taupo (0.3 km), Lake Taupo (0.4 km), and Maori Rock Carvings (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Tiki Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Tiki Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Tiki Lodge?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Tiki Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Malabar Indian Restaurant & Bar (Nepalese & Indian Cuisine), Suncourt Indian, and Master of India.
Is Tiki Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.10 km away from the centre of Taupo.
Are any cleaning services offered at Tiki Lodge?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Tiki Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Is Tiki Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.