We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
33 Kaimanawa Street, Taupo 3330 New Zealand
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
FindHotel
Snaptravel
Trip.com
View all 7 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (61)
Room & Suite (31)
Pool & Beach (3)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#21 of 66 hotels in Taupo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
We offer luxury Taupo accommodation with well-appointed apartments and suites. Enjoy breathtaking lake and mountain views from many of our first rate rooms. There aren’t many moments of serenity that compare to gazing out at these picturesque winter views whilst you sit back and relax with a comforting mug of hot coffee. How many places on earth can you enjoy taking in the immense expanse of crystal clear waters, coupled with the grand majesty of the snowy mountains in the backdrop as you and your loved one or family enjoy a relaxing retreat away. Our Taupo motels offer the very best in accommodation in NZ and will ensure you receive the utmost luxury during your stay.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Patio
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Complimentary tea
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Outdoor furniture
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
Languages Spoken
English
383Reviews1Q+A57Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 172
  • 148
  • 44
  • 11
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Zamir wrote a review Jun 2022
4 contributions
WORST STAY !! NO TOILET PAPER !! TOOK EXTRA $200 FROM CARD !!! RECEPTION UNATTENANTED !!! Disliked · WORST STAY EVERY , arrived at hotel and found NO Toilet paper !! the staff are so rude ,they ask question before giving 1 roll of paper !!!, the room have kitchenet and we made egg omelette , and we cleaned the room next day the hotel took $200 out of our credit card . we only stayed at hotel for 12 hours . reception is unattended all the time !! kitchen must have exhaust , why have the kitchen when you not allowed to cook anything !!! IF YOU STAYING AT THIS HOTEL REMEMBER TO ALLOW $200 AS THEY WILL TAKE FROM CREDIT CARD. !!!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Notable Tours NZ wrote a review Mar 2022
Wellington, New Zealand16 contributions1 helpful vote
We brought 45 people here for two nights in late Feb 2022. We did the rounds and looked at other places but Manager Peter could not have been more welcoming and it was this personal service that sold us, along with the really nice and spacious rooms. We were able to entertain our group nightly, and enjoy breakfasts together, in the conference room . It might look a bit austere from the outside but the rooms were lovely and the management could not have been more helpful - we won't even bother looking elsewhere. Andrew London - Notable Tours.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: the North-facing ones above reception have excellent sun and views.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
sandy22NewZealand wrote a review Mar 2022
Lower Hutt, New Zealand215 contributions43 helpful votes
+1
Nice central place a quick walk to town and a stroll along the lake front home. We had a room with the balcony overlooking the lake. The sunsets were amazing. Beds comfy nice and quiet room with everything you need and a big spa bath. This place is wonderful and the heated pool and spa is a bonus.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: adult only rooms on the top floor are the best
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Gavin L wrote a review Jan 2022
Hamilton, New Zealand23 contributions11 helpful votes
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The place was immaculate and had everything we needed. The location was perfect, By far the best place I've stayed in Taupo. oh, and they have the friendliest staff too.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Juanita N wrote a review Aug 2021
Paraparaumu, New Zealand38 contributions29 helpful votes
We stayed here for a girls weekend in 2 x 2 bedroom apartments. The place was brilliant, very clean and with every need catered for. Away from the main road but within walking distance of everything. Would highly recommend staying here if you are in the area, I know we all certainly will be.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
ptcbrizzle wrote a review Aug 2021
Hastings, New Zealand19 contributions29 helpful votes
The owners are extremely accommodating, they even lent me a car to go the supermarket as I'm a truck driver, thats amazing service. Room was totally clean, good location and minimal noise. I stay at alot of places aroudn the country and this is one of the very best.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Debra M wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
Really enjoyed our stay. The location is very handy. Our unit was clean and well appointed. The boys loved the hot pool and spas. The beds are super comfortable. The hosts are fabulous, welcoming and accommodating. We will definitely return and recommend this place highly to anyone looking. Thank you Peter, Stephen and Zoe.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Lake Taupo Motor Inn, Owner at Lake Taupo Motor Inn
Responded 27 Jul 2021
thank you so much for your review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future
Read more
Tania R wrote a review Jul 2021
Manawatu-Wanganui Region, New Zealand20 contributions1 helpful vote
What a lovely place, not on the main road so don’t get the road traffic noise. Easy walking distance to town. Many thanks to Peter, we had a large group (10 rooms) and he made our stay easy and was very helpful. Rooms a top notch
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: All rooms spacious and very clean
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Lake Taupo Motor Inn, Owner at Lake Taupo Motor Inn
Responded 27 Jul 2021
we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and htank you for reviewing us, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future
Read more
Dav wrote a review Jul 2021
2 contributions
Tidy and spacious rooms with fully equipped kitchenette and private balconies, central location great for local shops and restaurants, a heated pool and spa which were a treat in winter, and friendly staff who were very accommodating and can't be faulted on their service.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have private balcony
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Lake Taupo Motor Inn, Owner at Lake Taupo Motor Inn
Responded 27 Jul 2021
thank you so much for your review , very glad you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future
Read more
CJB wrote a review Jun 2021
Tauranga152 contributions43 helpful votes
We loved this place when we last stayed (January 2019) so of course stayed again on our next visit to Taupo. It didn't disappoint. The spa bath is certainly the main attraction but it also offers friendly service, close to lake, easy walk to restaurants / shops. Large and clean room with lovely balcony that catches the sun (if it is out). We will be back. Thanks.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Lake Taupo Motor Inn, Owner at Lake Taupo Motor Inn
Responded 27 Jul 2021
thank you so much for your review and your repeat custom, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$89 - US$125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
lake taupo motor hotel taupo, lake taupo hotel, lake taupo motel
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionTaupo DistrictTaupo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
32
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lake Taupo Motor Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Lake Taupo Motor Inn?
Nearby attractions include Lake Taupo (0.5 km), Maori Rock Carvings (0.4 km), and Taupo Mini Golf (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lake Taupo Motor Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Lake Taupo Motor Inn?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Lake Taupo Motor Inn?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Lake Taupo Motor Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lake Taupo Motor Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Brantry, Plateau, and Fox & Hounds.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lake Taupo Motor Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a heated pool during their stay.
Does Lake Taupo Motor Inn have airport transportation?
Yes, Lake Taupo Motor Inn offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Lake Taupo Motor Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Taupo.
Does Lake Taupo Motor Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
Is Lake Taupo Motor Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.