We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Loft

3 Wakeman Road Acacia Bay, Taupo 3330 New Zealand
avatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (6)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#9 of 23 B&Bs in Taupo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Loft is a lovely purpose built BnB in Acacia Bay, only 5 kms away from the hustle and bustle of Taupo. We have three spacious rooms with ensuites available for you. The property is surrounded by lovely gardens and backs onto a native reserve with abundant birdlife. The lake is just a short 5 minute walk away.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Free airport transportation
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Seating area
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Walk-in shower
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
28Reviews0Q+A5Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 21
  • 5
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Linda wrote a review Dec 2022
Chorley, United Kingdom10 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed in the Shakespeare Suite - a lovely spacious room with a sofa and two chairs at one end, a large comfortable bed and large ensuite. Mary was a warm & welcoming host. Tea And coffee making facilities were available in the room together with wine glasses, outside the room was a fridge with fresh milk home-made biscuits and additional tea and coffee. The decor was charming with additional touches to make it feel really homely. We ate an excellent cooked breakfast with the other guests in the house kitchen. it was nice to chat to fellow holidaymakers and the Hosts provided lots of additional information about the area.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There is a single restaurant a short walk down road serving good food. Otherwise a 10 minute...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Pradoe wrote a review Jun 2022
Whangarei, New Zealand2 contributions2 helpful votes
Beautiful home tastefully furnished with all amenities in pretty peaceful surroundings yet only a few yards from a great restaurant and less than 10 mins easy drive from the town. Comfortable and warm (winter stay) with many choices of fresh and home-made food for breakfast. All delicious. Mary and Ian are friendly and hospitable with lots of local knowledge and make the stay feel like a home away from home. Thoroughly recommend. We really enjoyed our stay. We arrived as guests and left as friends.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ivan and Ruth Smith wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Not only did The Loft have the rooms we needed, but Mary was on hand to welcome us and settle us in, and gave us the best of the best. From the welcome, at the open front door everything was "top shelf" Quality. The Loft would be one of the few places we were sorry to leave! Gracious, Thoughtful, and Kind would be my three words to describe Mary and Ian as host and Hostess.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Loft, Owner at The Loft
Responded 26 May 2022
Thank you both for choosing to stay with us, and thank you for your very kind words. It was a pleasure to have you both with us and delighted you had such a nice stay. We certainly enjoyed your company and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jillian C wrote a review Mar 2022
Wellington, New Zealand27 contributions24 helpful votes
This B and B had such good reviews but it was not to be. We arrived late afternoon. I should have heard alarm bells because she was not masked, did not ask to see our vaccine passes and did not require us to check in. It was quite expensive but the breakfast had such glowing reviews. We were shown our room, quite small by motel standards but adequate.. after I had paid she said that she was not doing breakfast because of the mandate. No offer of a reduced rent. I later wrote asking about it but she ignored my letter. The tea and coffee had both run out, so we left in the morning with not even a morning cuppa. As we left the hostess told me they were not vaccinated and that is why breakfast was off. I could have got a larger, better equipped motel unit on the foreshore for less than we paid.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from The Loft, Owner at The Loft
Responded 22 Mar 2022
We are sad that your experience with us was so terrible. According to the Governments Covid website the accommodation sector is not required to be mandated and here at The Loft we do not discriminate against guests based on gender, race, religion, age or personal medical decisions. All guests are welcomed, included and respected. Our listing on booking.com where you booked, stated that food and beverage services at our property may be limited or unavailable due to Covid-19. We were just trying to follow the rules and had adjusted our prices for this. Unfortunately we cannot remove glowing reviews from previous times which I understand may cause confusion. I am sorry the coffee supplies had run out and I did request if there was anything you needed to just let me know. Also I was unaware of your email until I searched my spam folder. I shall reply now. So relieved we can get back to serving delicious breakfasts again after todays government announcement.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Roger and Pam B wrote a review Jun 2020
1 contribution
Our stay was lovely even though cut short.Very nice room and hospitality. Will visit again. Thanks Mary for everything and your understanding. Enjoyed the breakfast and chat.Taupo was very busy Queens birthday weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Toon wrote a review Dec 2019
Eindhoven, The Netherlands301 contributions38 helpful votes
I was warmly welcomed by hostess Mary. The room, on the first floor was very clean and cozy.The house is close to the road and you can experience some traffic noise. I had little trouble with this myself. The breakfast was great and I enjoyed the hospitality of Mary and her mother. The house is located in Acacia Bay, just 5 minutes from Taupo.The lake and a restaurant are within walking distance.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Robin wrote a review Jun 2019
1 contribution
We stayed one night at Mary and Ian’s. We had our two separate rooms. Rooms were impeccable. We loved the themed rooms. Breakfast was yummy especially with home made fejoa jam and relish. A real familial atmosphere. We will come back and highly recommend. Top class
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from MaryLoft, Owner at The Loft
Responded 6 Jun 2019
Loved having you both stay with us and thanks for your kind words. Please come again soon. We look forward to it.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Karl Dirks wrote a review Mar 2019
1 contribution
We had 3 beautiful nights at the loft. The room was spotlessly clean and the breakfast left nothing to be desired. Acacia Bay is 2 km out from Taupo, so a car is useful. We found Taupo to be quite central for visits to Rotorua and the Tongariro Crossing instead of changing the accomodation daily. Restaurant/Bar within walking distance. Short walk of 5 - 10 min through parc reserve to the lakeside to go swimming.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We had the Shakespeare room and were very happy with it.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from MaryLoft, Owner at The Loft
Responded 3 Apr 2019
It was great to have you both staying with us and thank you for taking time to leave your kind review. We are really looking forward to having you stay with us again on you next visit to Taupo.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
339justine wrote a review Mar 2019
Wellington, New Zealand37 contributions16 helpful votes
So stayed here for two nights and were most comfortable apart from the noise from the road outside our room but of course nothing can be done about that. Mary and Ian are a great couple and made us feel at home, we could not have asked more from the breakfast offered, it was lovely, and set us up for the day. The Acacia Bay area is lovely and there are some lovely beaches not far from The Loft.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from MaryLoft, Owner at The Loft
Responded 10 Apr 2019
Thank you for your kind words and we thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us. Please come again on your return to Taupo.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Waipuka wrote a review Jan 2019
New Zealand35 contributions14 helpful votes
Booked last minute and this was all that was available. Now I know why. Located on a busy road this is a reasonably sized house marketed as something special. Rooms are clean and basic but tired. Hosts are pleasant and welcoming. Breakfast was disappointingly basic with limited choice. Would not stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from MaryLoft, Owner at The Loft
Responded 25 Jan 2019
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. You booked a month before staying and may have overlooked the fact that the rooms are themed. We believe new and modern furniture would not be in keeping with the Shakespearean, Dickens and Bronte periods.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Taupo area.
PRICE RANGE
$197 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
loft hotel taupo
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionTaupo DistrictTaupo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE LOFT - Now $187 (Was $̶2̶1̶8̶) - B&B Reviews & Price Comparison (Taupo, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Loft
Which popular attractions are close to The Loft?
Nearby attractions include Lake Taupo (3.8 km), Huka Falls (7.7 km), and Huka Falls tracks (7.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Loft?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Loft?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a seating area, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at The Loft?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Loft?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Loft?
Conveniently located restaurants include Master of India, Malabar Nepalese and Indian Kitchen, and Incredible India Restaurant and Bar.
Does The Loft have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Loft offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does The Loft have airport transportation?
Yes, The Loft offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.