We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BoBs Hostel (formerly Finns Global Backpackers)

Is this your business?
Save
Traveller (5)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (1)
Overview
  • Excellent10%
  • Very good20%
  • Average20%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible35%
3 weeks ago
“Needs updating ”
16 Feb 2018
“Backpackers accomodation so do not expect hotel standards”
AMENITIES
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
Restaurant
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
2
4
4
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
2
4
4
1
6
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Loud, dirty, cold and tired - unfortunately this is how I’d describe Bob’s hostel, and I really wouldn’t recommend it. I fully understand that the hostel is above a bar, but there could be a lot more done to reduce noise; e.g. double glazed windows...More

1  Thank Peter B
Response from Steve G, General Manager at BoBs Hostel (formerly Finns Global Backpackers)Responded 1 week ago

Sorry you had an unfortunate experience, new carpet is indeed on its way, as are further upgrades.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I understand the hostel is currently under refurbishment. In its current state it is in poor condition with dated decor. It was also not cleaned to a high standard. There is a good sized kitchen and large outdoor terrace (which could be lovely when done...More

Thank tripping742
Response from Steve G, General Manager at BoBs Hostel (formerly Finns Global Backpackers)Responded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for the review, hope you come back once we have finished the upgrade

Reviewed 17 February 2018

We had to stay the night here as this was the cheapest room in Taupo for 1 night. Check in was good and staff were very friendly and informative but the room itself was absolutely basic. We had no expectations other than expecting it to...More

Thank Diving-Addiction00
Response from Steve G, General Manager at BoBs Hostel (formerly Finns Global Backpackers)Responded 19 February 2018

Thanks for your review, renovations are underway.

Reviewed 14 February 2018

The staff were friendly upon check-in. I was given a bed in a 6 bed dorm room however the bed did not have a ladder so I could not get onto the top bunk, all the other 5 beds were taken. I returned to reception...More

Thank 1sam
Response from Steve G, General Manager at BoBs Hostel (formerly Finns Global Backpackers)Responded 28 February 2018

Thanks very much for your review. I am glad that our staff were able to move rooms for you.

Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

We arrived in Taupo directly to this hostel. We paid 80$ for a double room which was quite expensive considering the regular prices we could see around. The room was okay. This place is noisy but no big deal : when you go to a...More

Thank François V
Response from Steve G, General Manager at BoBs Hostel (formerly Finns Global Backpackers)Responded 12 February 2018

Thanks for your feedback, sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. We have a new team in place now.

View more reviews
Best Value Properties in Taupo, New Zealand
See all 68 hotels in TaupoSee all
About
Amenities
Hotel Amenities
Self-Serve Laundry
Details
Price range
US$27 - US$59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$27 - US$59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (5)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from BoBs Hostel (formerly Finns Global Backpackers) staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Never stay this place"
Read review
"another place"
Read review
"Go for a double room rather than a single, as the staff told me that it was in the quieter section of the..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing