We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (6)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (1)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent8%
  • Very good17%
  • Average26%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible36%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Pool
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
2
4
5
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
2
4
5
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshuge rooftop terracebar underneathunder new managementthe kitchenearplugs
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

The hostel is okay. The kitchen is nice and the bathroom is fine. So I’m pretty satisfied. Only the music was a lot louder than I thought. I knew the hostel was above a bar but I thought earplugs in and than it’s okay. But...More

Thank Rian6
Response from Steve G, General Manager at BoBs HostelResponded 7 May 2018

Very sorry about that, we try our best the mitigate the issue, thanks for your review though.

Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

Loud, dirty, cold and tired - unfortunately this is how I’d describe Bob’s hostel, and I really wouldn’t recommend it. I fully understand that the hostel is above a bar, but there could be a lot more done to reduce noise; e.g. double glazed windows...More

2  Thank Peter B
Response from Steve G, General Manager at BoBs HostelResponded 16 April 2018

Sorry you had an unfortunate experience, new carpet is indeed on its way, as are further upgrades.

Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

I understand the hostel is currently under refurbishment. In its current state it is in poor condition with dated decor. It was also not cleaned to a high standard. There is a good sized kitchen and large outdoor terrace (which could be lovely when done...More

Thank tripping742
Response from Steve G, General Manager at BoBs HostelResponded 6 April 2018

Thanks for the review, hope you come back once we have finished the upgrade

Reviewed 17 February 2018

We had to stay the night here as this was the cheapest room in Taupo for 1 night. Check in was good and staff were very friendly and informative but the room itself was absolutely basic. We had no expectations other than expecting it to...More

Thank Diving-Addiction00
Response from Steve G, General Manager at BoBs HostelResponded 19 February 2018

Thanks for your review, renovations are underway.

Reviewed 14 February 2018

The staff were friendly upon check-in. I was given a bed in a 6 bed dorm room however the bed did not have a ladder so I could not get onto the top bunk, all the other 5 beds were taken. I returned to reception...More

Thank 1sam
Response from Steve G, General Manager at BoBs HostelResponded 28 February 2018

Thanks very much for your review. I am glad that our staff were able to move rooms for you.

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Taupo
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Self-Serve Laundry
Details
Price range
US$25 - US$54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$25 - US$54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (6)
Room & Suite (12)
Dining (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from BoBs Hostel staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Never stay this place"
Read review
"another place"
Read review
"Go for a double room rather than a single, as the staff told me that it was in the quieter section of the..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing