We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Sails On The Lake

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (114)
Room & Suite (68)
Dining (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#6 of 41 motels in Taupo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Sails On The Lake (Sails Lake Taupo) is just across the road from the main beach on Lake Taupo and most of our rooms have spectacular views of the lake and the mountains beyond. We are just a short drive or stroll to the town centre and very close to all Taupo attractions.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Beach
Hiking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Parking
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Lake View
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch
645Reviews0Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 498
  • 128
  • 14
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Mei-Mei K wrote a review 27 Feb
Estero, Florida2194 contributions390 helpful votes
+1
Taupo was our base for four nights and Sails on the Lake was perfect for us. My adult daughter and I splurged for No. 18, a spacious two-bedroom that is set furthest back from the main road on the second floor, with a direct view of the lake and, often, the beautiful mountains: Mt. Ruapehu, at 9,177 feet with year-round snow; Mt. Ngauruhoe aka Mt. Doom at 7,516 feet; and Mt. Tongariro at 6,490 feet. We had a large living room, dining room with table and two single beds, kitchen, bathroom and fabulous views from the balcony and large windows. The furnishings were basic but fairly comfortable. You can easily sleep six in this room. There is a communal laundry room but we had our own washer and dryer--though they were small and painfully slow. We quickly learned the sun burned into the living room during the day, so we pulled the shades to avoid baking when we returned. Most of the windows opened so that brought in some nice cool air in all the rooms. (There were so pretty loud birds in the night and early morning!) We found the service to be quite hit-and-miss and were told staffing is an issue. It was a hearty mile walk into town along the lake, with a few food trucks and restaurants closer--but there is ample parking in town if you want to drive. We discovered PacNSave, which became our favorite stop, especially for ciders! We mostly loafed but visited the Timberline huskies, Huka falls, and did the Tongariro crossing from here. I had looked at a variety of lodging options and felt this worked really well for us with the location, easy parking, spaciousness, amenities and views. (Note: most rooms with views are closer to the main road. It's not a highway but there is steady traffic.)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: No. 18 is worth the money for space, quiet and views!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
907JLeMay wrote a review 5 Feb
Anchorage, Alaska149 contributions42 helpful votes
This location was excellent and provided fabulous access to the lake. The apartment was spacious and very clean. The window views were amazing. We walked to a couple of different restaurants. On-site laundry was beneficial. Outside patio was a definite plus.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lauren H wrote a review Jan 2024
Melbourne, Australia150 contributions78 helpful votes
We stayed for 3 nights over new year. Friendly host. Comfortable and clean room with house keeping each day. Guest laundry available for use which was great! Good location, short walk to town and just over the road from the lake! Would stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Elle989 wrote a review Dec 2023
Silverthorne, Colorado154 contributions76 helpful votes
We had a one bedroom suite with a view of the lake. The living room had a sofa, table with four chairs, desk and an easy chair. The kitchen had a cooktop, mini-fridge, microwave, sink, dishes, utensils, pots and pans. The bedroom had a bed, nightstand and lamp on each side, and a closet. The bathroom had a toilet, sink, and shower. The place was mostly quiet.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Wta S wrote a review Aug 2023
Silverdale, New Zealand2 contributions
Terrible smell in the room. Could smell it before we got the door open. Smelt of fish. Had to go out and by deodoriser and fragrance candle which burned every moment in the room. Was hard to mask the smell. Asked for a discount on checkout to cover the cost of the fragrance candle. Was refused. The man didn't even empathise or apologise for the experience. Have stayed there before and found him rude. He needs to find a job that doesn't have customers. We won't be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Arthur-Karen George, General Manager at Sails On The Lake
Responded 20 Aug 2023
Thank you for sharing. What you have forgotten to mention was that you stayed 2 days in the room, and while there was an odour in the room which we have spent a considerable time to remove, you only mentioned it on check out,. We had other available rooms, right next door to you in fact which you could have moved into without the odour and given us a chance to remove the smell sooner. Really didn't appreciate the parting words that you will spread this review to every site that you could when we didn't have the chance to remedy the problem. I am sorry you didn't like my demeanor, perhaps on a different day when you aren't demanding discounts for problems that could have been remedied you might find me more pleasant. Arthur
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
JohnandRobynL wrote a review May 2023
Noosa, Australia80 contributions64 helpful votes
Ideally located opposite Lake Taupo on a fairly busy road. We had front room but we did not hear a thing. Very clean and comfortable, had all the facilities we needed and we had a very restful stay. Would recommend
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Arthur-Karen George, General Manager at Sails On The Lake
Responded 8 Jun 2023
Thank you John and Robyn for your feedback. Arthur
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tim K wrote a review Apr 2023
113 contributions12 helpful votes
We had a suite, back bedroom and front area with small table and couch with plenty of kitchen stuff and bathroom in between. The unit was on a parking area set back from the road, which was an advantage, quieter, but then had little on no view. It all worked very well for us to make breakfast, or eat take away food . The management/staff were very nice and informative, and additionally worked with us, when we wanted to change plans and add a day. It would have gotten 5 stars, except the location, a mile or so from the downtown area with no restaurants of shops close by, meant you needed to drive to anything (except a walk on the lake front).
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Arthur-Karen George, General Manager at Sails On The Lake
Responded 8 Jun 2023
Thank you taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the comments. Arthur
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
rwlid wrote a review Feb 2023
Perth, Australia1381 contributions370 helpful votes
Nice little motel right on the lake with a good view of it if you have a lake facing room. We came here on the spur of the moment as our booked accommodation was so awful. Friendly and accommodating reception. No complaints.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Arthur-Karen George, General Manager at Sails On The Lake
Responded 8 Jun 2023
Thank you. Arthur
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
OxfordJulieT wrote a review Jan 2023
Oxford, United Kingdom186 contributions98 helpful votes
Comfortable, clean and welcoming. Just across the road ( which could be busy at times) from the lake. We enjoyed a swim! Room was well equipped. Free access to laundry facilities much appreciated at this stage in our tour. Reasonable distance from restaurants and supermarkets, but driving easy, and there was a good coffee van over the road!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Arthur-Karen George, General Manager at Sails On The Lake
Responded 16 Jan 2023
Thank you for the review we appreciate the comments. Arthur
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
DaveSumnerSmith wrote a review Dec 2022
London, United Kingdom145 contributions162 helpful votes
The care & attention shown by the hosts add genuine value to a relatively ordinary set of apartments. They're set across the road from Taupo lake, some distance from the town centre, and initial impressions are modest. But a lot of care & attention has gone into little details such as blackout window blinds, cutlery, coffee, fresh milk & toiletries etc. Best of all is the fully equipped free laundry facility (including free detergent) - very welcome for anyone on a touring holiday!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Arthur-Karen George, General Manager at Sails On The Lake
Responded 13 Dec 2022
Thank you for the kind review. Arthur
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Taupo area.
PRICE RANGE
$182 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
quality inn sails taupo hotel taupo, taupo quality inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
BEST WESTERN Sails
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionTaupo DistrictTaupo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
19
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SAILS ON THE LAKE - Now $178 (Was $̶2̶1̶2̶) - UPDATED 2024 Motel Reviews & Price Comparison (Taupo, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sails On The Lake
Which popular attractions are close to Sails On The Lake?
Nearby attractions include Maori Rock Carvings (0.8 km), Taupo Mini Golf (1.0 km), and Mount Tauhara (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sails On The Lake?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and kids activities.
Which room amenities are available at Sails On The Lake?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sails On The Lake?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Sails On The Lake?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sails On The Lake?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Brantry, Mole & Chicken, and Embra.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sails On The Lake?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Dutch.
Does Sails On The Lake have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is Sails On The Lake accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.