We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Baycrest Lodge

79 Mere Road, Taupo 3330 New Zealand
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (113)
Room & Suite (72)
Pool & Beach (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#11 of 61 hotels in Taupo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Experience the latest in quality service and surroundings, where traditional elegance blends with a restful ambiance. Baycrest Lodge, Qualmark rated 4 Star Plus is 100m from the main swimming beach of Great Lake Taupo. All 16 units are spacious and elegantly appointed and have tasteful European bathrooms and fully self contained kitchen facilities, including fridges, ceramic hotplates and microwaves. Ground floor suites have individual hot thermal tubs, up to 50'C, 2 of which are full disability access units. First floor suites have large champagne spa baths, balconies and superb Great Lake Taupo views. Super King beds are available in all the studio suites. The 2 room family suites can have either singles or a super king bed as well as the queen bed in the lounge area. Some suites interconnect to make more sleeping configurations. Baycrest Lodge also has a stunning swimming pool thermally heated to between 30'C and 35'C all year round. There is a guest lounge/bar area and a guest laundry on site. Baycrest Lodge is close to a number of restaurants and is about 1 kilometre (flat and easy 15-20 minute walk) from the town centre. It is also in a perfect position to watch many of the major events such as the NZ Ironman. All the suites offer free WiFi (limits apply), Sky's all new 'Guest Select' meaning 50+ channels in every room, 32" LCD TVs with inbuilt DVD player and I-Pod docking. Baycrest Lodge is the ideal place for the discerning traveller, anyone away on business or those just wanting to get away and relax for a time. We look forward to welcoming you to Baycrest Lodge and Taupo.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Fishing
Spa
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Hot spring bath
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Sofa
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
On-demand films
iPod docking station
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Family
Languages Spoken
English
412Reviews1Q+A94Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 291
  • 87
  • 31
  • 2
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Michael R wrote a review Jan 2024
Hove, United Kingdom21 contributions
2-night stay. What a wonderful find! The motel met every expectation and we had a superlative stay. Booked here because of the private thermal pool, which was tremendous; we also had a private garden and a view (albeit, standing up) of the lake - which we hadn’t expected. The room (allocated the accessible option) was a great size, with an exceptionally comfy bed and everything we needed for a perfect stay. The motel team were brilliant and so helpful; nothing was ever too much trouble. I particularly liked the power outlet hub on the bedside table which had x3 USB ports, making the multiple charging requirements of this modern age simple and convenient. The local town was within walking distance for me, even needing to push my disabled wife in her wheelchair. However, I enjoy the exercise - I guess it may be a little far for some as probably close to a mile each way. In summary, very highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Try and have a room with a private plunge thermal pool
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Dave B wrote a review Jan 2024
9 contributions1 helpful vote
This is an upscale motel with good amenities. I liked how close it was to the beach/boardwalk. Best of all was the fantastic lake view from our room. Very clean place, and the coin laundry was much appreciated. It's not really within walking distance of downtown, but that's a-okay. Lovely, good value motel, with friendly proprietors and ample parking. Note: no elevator for folks on the second floor.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring coins for the laundry.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Fiona B wrote a review Dec 2023
40 contributions34 helpful votes
+1
The motel room was very spacious and had everything needed - toiletries in bathroom were a plus - bed and pillows very comfy - parking easy - pool was gorgous and hot - we had a thermal spa at our room - was lovely
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Journey34217897976 wrote a review Dec 2023
Auckland, New Zealand1 contribution
The managers have been there just a couple of months and we put their customer service skills to the test when our daughter was sick in the middle of the night and we reached out for their help. They were amazing, can't speak highly enough about the help they provided and with the warmth and care it was delivered with. The room we stayed in was great for a family - everyone had a proper bed and on our ground level unit we had our own thermal bath which was fantastic. The communal pool was warm and inviting. Would most definitely stay here again, and would highly recommend Baycrest Lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
AzRat wrote a review Sept 2023
Arizona1991 contributions711 helpful votes
August 2023 - Three night stay to visit Taupo. Very clean, well maintained property with friendly onsite proprietors who had great local knowledge and recommendation tips for tourist attractions and local dining options. Bit cold and windy during our winter visit but still enjoyed soaking in the outdoor private thermal tub after long days of touring. Our unit was had everything as advertised and was comfortable sleeping. Room was very clean and had daily service. Not a fancy place but suitable for our self catering needs and the location is perfect - close to town center without the traffic noise. Walkable to a really nice local bar/restaurant, the Mole & Chicken, which was so good we went there twice for drinks and tasty food. Great recommendation from the Lodge. We really enjoyed our stay and have no issue with a recommendation.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
amāoritraveller wrote a review May 2023
Hamilton, New Zealand5 contributions3 helpful votes
Could not fault this place during our entire stay. Check in was an easy pre done process. We walked in and the room was clean and smelled fresh. Laid out well and had all amenities available. Superking bed was extremely comfortable with a nice dark room at night made for a great sleep. Awesome large Smart TV with access to Sky and all your streaming services And the spa!! How cool to be able to control your own thermal water and bathe for as long as you like. Enough room for two adults to fit comfortably and during the cold winter nights we were there. Room was freshened up daily with new towels, dishes done and bed made. Overall could not fault this place. Great price, great location and great facilities.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is a free for all
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jody Semmens, Owner at Baycrest Lodge
Responded 29 May 2023
Thank you for the awesome review
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Theresa P wrote a review Apr 2023
1 contribution
+1
We had the worst time and would not recommend the hotel to anyone. We booked a suite with a private outdoor hot tub months in advance, but when we arrived we were given a room without an outdoor hot tub. When we complained the owners were incredibly rude and impertinent. Mistakes happen - that's generally okay - but the owners did not care at all that they had given us the wrong room. They did not apologize and only gave implausible excuses. Only when we said that we would leave a bad review, the owners even checked whether they could find us a different room. However, according to them, they had no other rooms available. The charged us the full price (even though we were given the wrong room) which we find incredibly shocking. The owners also tried to bully us into not leaving a negative review by threatening to kick us out of the property and to try to discredit us in their response to our review. Because of this, we felt forced to chronicle every detail of our stay and of the suite when we left and when we arrived, so that they could not make up any false claims. In general , you only have to look at the owners' responses to negative reviews on booking.com to see how rude and insulting they are to customers. The room itself was very dated and not clean. Especially the indoor bathtub was dirty (see photos) and there were numerous insects stuck on the ceiling which were mostly dead and had probably been in the room for days or weeks (see photos). The communal areas were also partially dirty (see photos of smoking area).
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Do not go there, it is absolutely awful!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jody Semmens, Owner at Baycrest Lodge
Responded 29 May 2023
Hello Markus. In future it would be helpful if you could write an honest review. On reviewing your booking, you had requested a room on a higher floor. Your request was actioned as per your instructions. We are sorry if this is not what you intended. Your comments regarding the cleanliness of the property are simply not true. Please refer to all previous reviews. Your threatening behaviour towards us was not acceptable in any way.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Stickchukker wrote a review Feb 2023
Norwich, United Kingdom43 contributions12 helpful votes
This motel is ideally situated for the beaches, restaurants and bars in this beautiful location. The bedroom, kitchen, living area is spacious and well appointed. The bathroom is large and has an excellent shower. The bed is the best I have slept in in my two months in New Zealand. The living/sleeping area opens onto a small patio with a thermal spa. In effect your own private thermal pool. I would stay here again without hesitation.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jean wrote a review Dec 2022
Whangarei, New Zealand14 contributions7 helpful votes
We booked because website said breakfast could be ordered but when we asked its no longer available. Rooms not serviced Christmas Day. Thought they were in hospitatality. The rooms were clean enough but not worth the cost. Would not like to stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
midwestchick wrote a review Oct 2022
Whananaki, New Zealand6 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed here for one night and thought the room was pretty tired. The bed was comfy and the location was quite quiet. We booked especially for the private outdoor mineral pool but it was in real need of a good clean up and paint, it had peeling orange paint, chipped pavers, wasn't really private at all and looked nothing like the pictures
Read more
Review collected with Tripadvisor’s Reputation Pro
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Taupo area.
PRICE RANGE
$300 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
flag hotel baycrest
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionTaupo DistrictTaupo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BAYCREST LODGE - Now $240 (Was $̶2̶6̶1̶) - UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison (Taupo, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Baycrest Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Baycrest Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Maori Rock Carvings (0.8 km), Taupo Mini Golf (1.1 km), and Mount Tauhara (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Baycrest Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Baycrest Lodge?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Baycrest Lodge?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, barbeque facilities, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Baycrest Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Baycrest Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Brantry, Mole & Chicken, and Embra.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Baycrest Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Baycrest Lodge?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Baycrest Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
Is Baycrest Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.