We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Bradshaw's Travel Lodge

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (16)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

#6 of 8 lodges in Taupo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Room features
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Family
72Reviews0Q+A6Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 36
  • 24
  • 8
  • 1
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
sneakyjoe1234 wrote a review May 2018
Rotorua District, New Zealand3 contributions1 helpful vote
Bradshaws Lodge is by far one of the best backpackers in NZ, Cosy log fires and free (basic) breakfast. The guy who runs the place was really friendly, helpful and a great source of information. The place had tons of personality, and super clean. Highly recommend to anyone stopping in Taupo.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Shyharley89 wrote a review Apr 2018
Edinburgh, United Kingdom127 contributions52 helpful votes
+1
Cons - Shabby, run down, owner's attitude We booked a twin room (to avoid bunk beds) with a photo that showed unsurprisingly two single beds, sides by side. When we arrived we were asked if we still wanted a twin or prefer a double. Which seemed odd, people tend to book twins for a reason. As in not having to share a bed with anybody. When we were showed to our room it contained two sets of bunk beds. When we complained, the owner said the room we booked was occupied and what were we going to do about it? On closer inspection one of the top bunk supports was held together with gaff tape. The mattress cover was also ripped. All except one sheet was marked with blood, contained dirt or pubic hair. Whilst the curtain and towel were mouldy and heavy marked. Pros Two wood burning stoves make the place lovely and warm, which you need this time of year Big communal kitchen and dining room Separate reading/TV room Some rooms have en-suites, others have shared bathrooms Parking 10 min walk into town Cheap
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bradshaws130, Manager at Bradshaw's Travel Lodge
Responded 27 Apr 2018
First off I would like to apologise that you did not enjoy your stay here, we really do try our best to ensure everyone has the best experience possible. I take full responsibility for you not being provided the room you initially booked due to other guests extending their stay by an additional 3 nights. I made the executive decision to put you in the 4 bed dorm room as it was a larger room than the one you booked and had the separate beds you desired, as stated I also offered you a king double en-suite room as you said you were traveling with your partner. I think you may have misheard or misunderstood me as I would never say "what are you going to do about it" What I actually said was "what can I do to make this better" I offered to take out the bunk part of the beds and gave you the option of another room, I was genuinely asking what I could do to correct the situation. Your comments on our cleanliness are concerning and I can only assume one of my cleaners had a cut on their hand while making the beds, and while this doesn't excuse the mess it is the only explanation I can think, as I can assure you all bed linen are fresh for each guest. As I say, I'm truly sorry you didn't enjoy your night here, I hope the rest of your travels go well kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
zacnaffien wrote a review Feb 2018
Milan, Italy4 contributions4 helpful votes
We spent just one night at Bradshaw's. The place is simple, but clean and comfortable. Close to the lake, shops and lots of dining options. The host was very kind and helpful. Strongly recomended to visit Taupo!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Yasmine Y wrote a review Jan 2018
Campbelltown, Australia152 contributions21 helpful votes
We were here for one night and we're pretty pleased with what we got for what we paid. Clean and tidy, with comfortable bed and bathroom. Simple but enough for what we needed. Breakfast was provided with cereal, fruit etc. and in all fairness it was a welcome change to eating out all the time! Staff was friendly and helpful. I recommend this place if you want something a bit cheaper that's comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Emma L wrote a review Jan 2018
1 contribution
Wouldn't ever go again. Stepped foot in the property, run down, not looked after. Wouldnt recommend taking children. Guy was rude, dressed very unprofessional, on his cell phone entire time he was speaking too me.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bradshaws130, Manager at Bradshaw's Travel Lodge
Responded 22 Jan 2018
Emma, while it is true you stepped foot inside, that is literally all you did. you didn't go into any of the rooms. you were clearly just angry that you had not been allowed to check in at 11.55 am when you rang, despite the booking clearly stating, check in at 2 pm. I was on my phone because that's how i access the bookings!!! Yes my attire that day may not be what you would call smart but based on how you looked I would be cautious about throwing stones. I work seven days a week, 12 to 15 hrs a day, when i'm not cleaning or doing maintenance i'm playing with my 2 yr old. I am literally running a backpackers for families why should my jeans having holes in them be an issue?. I have kids of all ages welcome here, including my own 2 who are both under the age of 3. You were trying to say that the pictures were mis-representative I asked you what you meant and to show me, as the pictures are all true reflections of the place and you got flustered and ran away. You were rude from the moment I told you check in wasn't until 2pm and you went out of your way to find an excuse to be angry, i hope its made you feel better about yourself. kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rexy_1976 wrote a review Jan 2018
22 contributions25 helpful votes
Stayed at this hostel for two nights and enjoyed the stay. Although a little run down with a 70’s vibe going on. The accommodation was perfectly clean and tidy . Rooms were small as you would expect from a hostel but adequate. WiFi was free for the first 50mb then purchased at 1gb for $5. Found it difficult to connect in the room so didn’t use this facility. Location was a 5 minute walk away from the town. Easily accessible. The area was reasonably quiet with not much disturbance going on. The breakfast was a choice of cereal and some fruit so not bad for free! Overall a pleasant stay !
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
theha311 wrote a review Jan 2018
Heidelberg, Germany2 contributions
Well, its cheap so you should not expect too much, its kind of shabby. But what really bugs me is the appearance of the guy who runs the place. He looked really scruffy and smelled of alcohol. Thats simply not OK in this business.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bradshaws130, other at Bradshaw's Travel Lodge
Responded 22 Jan 2018
Hi there, all i can say is i'm terribly embarrassed that i smelt of anything, let alone alcohol (beer) I assure you that is not the norm, I am less apologetic about my appearance though as I work near constantly, often v grimy jobs and there is no point in putting on your sunday best to clean a toilet etc. This is a backpackers with the emphasis on being v relaxed and homely, I was wearing what i felt comfortable in and was practical at the time, i'm sorry it didn't meet your standard All the best on your travels kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paul A wrote a review Dec 2017
Christchurch, New Zealand18 contributions14 helpful votes
I wanted somewhere cheap, clean and handy to town. This ticked those boxes. From the outside the building looks tired and the inside was dated. However I was pleasantly surprised as it was very clean and tidy. Breakfast was included in the price as was linen. The location to town was handy and it was a $20 shuttle drive from the airport. The host was knowledgeable about the area and was friendly. I would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
EatStayPlayNZ wrote a review Oct 2017
Wellington, New Zealand28 contributions13 helpful votes
Great place to stay if you are on a budget or are booking at the last minute and need somewhere to stay (I was the latter). Paid $80 for a double room with ensuite. Room was small but comfortable, bathroom was spacious. Good location and great value. There was a common room/kitchen and library/reading room. Overall liked staying here and would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
gyan3043 wrote a review Jul 2017
Sydney, Australia36 contributions2 helpful votes
Nice and quite place.Nice warm kitchen area .bathroom is quite small but other nothing to complain!!I like the kitchen area where the heater is on and where you can keep ur body warm all the time from where you can view a nice view outside.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Taupo area.
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionTaupo DistrictTaupo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BRADSHAW'S TRAVEL LODGE - Reviews (Taupo) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bradshaw's Travel Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Bradshaw's Travel Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Lake Taupo (0.6 km), Maori Rock Carvings (0.5 km), and Taupo Museum (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bradshaw's Travel Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, free parking, and laundry service.
What food & drink options are available at Bradshaw's Travel Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Bradshaw's Travel Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bradshaw's Travel Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Master of India, Malabar Nepalese and Indian Kitchen, and Incredible India Restaurant and Bar.
Is Bradshaw's Travel Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Taupo.
Are pets allowed at Bradshaw's Travel Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.