We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
250 Lake Terrace, State Hwy 1 Waipahihi, Taupo 3330 New Zealand
Booking.com
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (97)
Room & Suite (41)
Pool & Beach (8)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#33 of 66 hotels in Taupo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to Chelmswood Motel Taupo Overlooking Lake Taupo New Zealand. Chelmswood Motel Taupo is a Tudor style complex consisting of 36 units (24) with their very own natural thermal mineral pools. Located at the southern entrance to Taupo with beautiful views of Lake Taupo. One of only 10 properties with SKY Guest Select (60 Plus TV Channels). Easy to find, conveniently located on Lake Terrace (old SH 1) which passes through Taupo on the way to either Auckland or Wellington. Chelmswood Motel Taupo is the perfect choice for the whole family, the couple wanting a romantic peaceful break, the over-nighter looking for a great nights sleep to break their journey, or the club who want all the facilities on one site. (Function room and large kitchen). Secure off road parking for your trail bike trailers, race rigs, boats etc. While staying have a fun filled break and use the heated outdoor swimming pool, redwood sauna, grassed BBQ area or one of our bikes to ride around the lakes cycle-ways,
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Hot spring bath
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Shuttle bus service
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Lake View
347Reviews1Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 152
  • 107
  • 45
  • 20
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Maria S wrote a review Jun 2020
Owhango, New Zealand32 contributions5 helpful votes
We stayed one night, the receptionist was lovely very helpful showed us how to use the pool. The units are clean and tidy and have everything you need. Sorry but the lazy boy chair does need to go. Beds were comfortable, sheets nice and crisp. Nice and warm good heating. The views are lovely of the lake and the outside furniture is good.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Cris101 wrote a review Jun 2020
Auckland, New Zealand110 contributions49 helpful votes
It might have been because we were just a couple wanting to stay a single night, but despite having booked in advance we were given what appeared to be the pokiest unit in the whole place. It was in a corner that got no sunlight, right next to a passageway frequented by noisy guests, an outside light on all night and it had a nasty smell. Even worse, the glasses and cups had lipstick smears on them. The facilities were the most basic and no way was it worth $100 a night!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a room that gets some sun.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Nga padha wrote a review May 2020
Taupo, New Zealand1 contribution
I booked than canceled 1 week before checking in but made a deposit asked for the deposit back and they decided not to reply to me for my refund. I gave notice well before 48hrs so why dont you give the refund back. Toke a very good few months for a reply from them too
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
anth0ny1946 wrote a review Mar 2020
Tauranga, New Zealand25 contributions13 helpful votes
Booked a lake view studio in need of decoration otherwise adequate we planned on staying two nights but due to the country going into lockdown we left early in our haste we forgot our clothes in the wardrobe I called the motel and they organised having them couriered back to us hopefully after the covid-19 is over we can return for a few day as we found its in a great location as you have a good walk alongside the lake to all the restuarants and bars.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ray wrote a review Mar 2020
14 contributions4 helpful votes
The place obviously was built in the 70s, and had not received any upgrades or maintenance since the day it was built. The room we were in certainly required a lot of TLC. The place was full, I think we got the last room, the whole town was full, so we were lucky to get somewhere. Was clean and tidy, just old and worn, a revamp is well overdue.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Swale64 wrote a review Feb 2020
South West England, United Kingdom161 contributions118 helpful votes
We booked here based on very positive reviews in both tripadvisor and booking,com. We chose the 'luxury studio with lake view and private thermal pool.' The room might have qualified for the luxury title 50 years ago but not now. The buildings are cheap and tired as appears to be the management. We were left in no doubt that if we used any crockery or utensils in the room then the maid would not clear them up. This even applied to water glasses in the bathroom!! Talking of which, this room is an amalgam of toilet, washbasin and an open shower with an inadequate curtain. Therefore when the shower is used, the polished tiled floor does not drain properly and remains lethal unless the tiny bathmat is usd to mop up. Furnishings and fittings were drab, not particularly clean and in need of considerable attention. Breakfast of poached eggs on toast was delivered promptly and safisfied our requirements but coffe was self help and do the washing up!! The lake view is certainly there but it is across over 150 metres of grassland, the main road and the beach so the claim is somewhat disingenuous. I fear that this establishment is well past its sell by date and would probably benefit from being dismantled and rebuilt to modern standards or project itself at the backpacker market. Taupo appears to have many other much better hotels/motels.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Mai N wrote a review Feb 2020
Auckland Central, New Zealand13 contributions10 helpful votes
We booked the rooms at last minute for our short holiday in Taupo.They have all what we need for the trip. Our family enjoyed the stay, the staffs were friendly and helpful. Thank you for a good hospitality and definitely will recommend my friend next time when they come to Taupo
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Aldo wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
It was my first time in this hotel, after read some good reviews wanted to try and really enjoyed . Very polite and lovely staff. Rooms are very clean. If I visit Taupo again , this hotel will be my first choice.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
R Chiplin wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
Nothing they did was right, We are a big booking, Taking 5 rooms with friends for the summer concert we been going for the last 5 years. Old owners were lovely and helpful in every way, these new ones could not do anything right or help... Booking was completely messed up even when we booked a year in advance, we were all in different ends of motel not how we booked it, they said we could have a pet and we had confirmed to take our dog on e-mail then when there told no pets! after I said we had confirmed on e-mail she said O.K But then explaining we didn't want cleaning cause dog might get out took them 30 mins to understand even that. We had things in room that were broken , like a toaster and they weren't in a hurry to sort. There was also a price difference between rooms for us all and when asked why we got the run around of so many different reasons I cant even keep up with the lies. We are also still waiting for a picture of all the dog hair my toy poodle!!! left behind everywhere and a wee on the bed.......... waiting two weeks now for it even after 3 phone calls ... and money taken off credit card for this, and I checked the room before we left if my dog had I would have told them ... Never going back this was my worst stay I've ever had in my life in New Zealand.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Chelmswood, Management at Chelmswood Motel Taupo
Responded 8 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Thanks for taking out time and giving your feedback. We apologize for your experience this time at the property. We are sorry that you felt like that however it’s been second year that you have been coming for the summer concert and staying at the property with the same new owners. We do have no pet policy however it was an exception made for you, and it was highlighted before checking in that if any extra cleaning is required there will be charges for that. We were informed about 1 pet but there were 2 pets. 1 room was spotless, and the other room was mess. Extra cleaning was required for the messy room. The reason for different room rates is because different categories of rooms were reserved by your group at different time. We are surprised to see the review as you and your family have made enough efforts to make the reservation for next year. However, because of the highlighted concerns during your stay this year we will not be able to honour the reservations for next year as advised via e-mail. We hope you will get a nice accommodation for the next year summer concert. We like to apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Regards
Read more
Shane K wrote a review Feb 2020
Napier, New Zealand18 contributions8 helpful votes
Stayed here for 2 nights this week. For the price we paid ( 175.00 a night ) we thought it was just average. Badly ripped lazy boy chair in the room made it look shabby. Remote for tv didnt work either . Beds were comfortable and good shower pressure is about all we have to say was good about this place. Rooms and carpet need upgrading . There are far more superior places to stay in Taupo for less money . Were also told we could lock up our bikes but on arrival were told to lock them up to pole outside the unit . Wont be staying here again !
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
chelmswood manor hotel taupo
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Chelmswood Manor
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionTaupo DistrictTaupo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
38
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Chelmswood Motel Taupo
Which popular attractions are close to Chelmswood Motel Taupo?
Nearby attractions include Formula Challenge Racing (3.3 km), Huka Falls tracks (6.7 km), and Lake Taupo (2.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Chelmswood Motel Taupo?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Chelmswood Motel Taupo?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Chelmswood Motel Taupo?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Chelmswood Motel Taupo?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chelmswood Motel Taupo?
Conveniently located restaurants include Incredible India Restaurant and Bar, Malabar Nepalese and Indian Kitchen, and Master of India.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Chelmswood Motel Taupo?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Chelmswood Motel Taupo have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Chelmswood Motel Taupo offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Chelmswood Motel Taupo have airport transportation?
Yes, Chelmswood Motel Taupo offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Chelmswood Motel Taupo?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Chelmswood Motel Taupo offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.