We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ashbrook Motel

Save
Share
9 Scannell Street, Taupo 3330 New Zealand
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (11)
Room & Suite (48)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#34 of 65 hotels in Taupo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Featuring free WiFi, Ashbrook Motel offers accommodation in Taupo, 35 km from Orakei Korako - The Hidden Valley and 300 m from Taupo Bungy. The property features a spa & wellness centre, as well as barbecue facilities. The property offers garden views and a children's playground. All rooms in the motel are fitted with a flat-screen TV. Featuring a private bathroom with a shower and free toiletries, some units at Ashbrook Motel also have a terrace. At the accommodation, the rooms are equipped with a seating area. Ashbrook Motel offers 4-star accommodation with a hot tub. A range of activities are offered in the area, such as cycling and hiking. For guests' convenience, the motel has a business centre. Wairakei Natural Thermal Valley is 1.1 km from Ashbrook Motel, while Lake Taupo Hole in One Challenge is 1.3 km away. Taupo Airport is 8 km from the property, and the property offers a free airport shuttle service.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Highchairs available
Airport transportation
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Car park
Wifi
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Seating area
Separate dining area
Sofa
Telephone
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Japanese, Korean
112Reviews0Q+A20Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 71
  • 26
  • 6
  • 1
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lynne J wrote a review 1 May
Wellington, New Zealand62 contributions10 helpful votes
We had the one bedroom, shower studio unit. It was immaculate, spacious and had everything we needed. Greeted in a very friendly and efficient manner. The motel was not quite as close to the center of Taupo as we had hoped, but on saying that it was certainly not far out of town.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
RACHAEL wrote a review Apr 2021
1 contribution
I booked here for 2 nights for April 2021, I booked a 1 bedroom suite. Upon reading a review about the hotel cancelling bookings at the last minute, I called the owner to check that our booking was secure and to check if they were a winz hotel. He advised that they lied to this customer as they don't accept group bookings. When I questioned why they would lie about it, just dont accept a group booking, simple, don't accept the booking and cancel at the last minute then lie about the reason. His response was to cancel my booking!! Honestly this is just nutty, when travellers book accommodation we expect to have honest dealings with the accomodation provider and not be lied to or have your booking cancelled at the last minute.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Ken Liang, Owner at Ashbrook Motel
Responded 3 weeks ago
This review is a false statement, as our motel is one of the few motels that NEVER accepted WINZ emergency house guest to stay. The reason your booking has been cancelled, because when you booked on booking.com, you have provided an invaild kiwi bank debit card, however when we requested an update of your card details, we never got back from you, As in the system of booking.com, your booking will be automatic cancelled if you have not responded to our request.
Read more
Queenslander wrote a review Apr 2021
Hastings, New Zealand161 contributions45 helpful votes
We booked this motel months in advance for 16 people. A few days before we had a phone call to say our booking was canceled as they are now a WINZ motel. This left us in a position unable to get accommodation for us all at another place. ALSO another booking we had for May, when we rang to check our booking, the manager said no they were not a WINZ motel, the half an hour later rang and canceled our booking for 3 people. What on earth is going on here. This motel needs to be removed from booking.com as they seem to cancel at the last minute. As a WINZ motel I believe preference is given to WINZ over traveller's. Not very impressed at all.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Sus1952 wrote a review Mar 2021
Palmerston North, New Zealand1846 contributions554 helpful votes
The Ashbrook Motel is in a good location with a lot of the centre of Taupo walkable from the motel. We were met with a cheerful welcome and found our unit to be very clean and very modern. Our unit (number 10) was rather dark but had good lighting. To be recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
MacKiwi wrote a review Jan 2021
Wellington103 contributions237 helpful votes
We stayed for two nights as a family of four in a two bedroom unit. The unit was spacious, quiet and extremely clean and tidy. The spa bath was an added bonus. Nice touch to have a separate bin for recycling in the well appointed, totally functional kitchenette. The location was in a quiet street and convenient to the big yellow supermarket and the main shopping centre. Even though they were fully booked we heard no other guests. The host was friendly, helpful and professional and he and his staff did a great job. We definitely would stay again. The best rate was booking directly with the motel.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$72 - US$116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionTaupo DistrictTaupo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ashbrook Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Ashbrook Motel?
Nearby attractions include Lake Taupo (0.9 km), Lake Taupo (0.9 km), and Taupo Museum (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ashbrook Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Ashbrook Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
Is parking available at Ashbrook Motel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ashbrook Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Malabar Indian Restaurant & Bar (Nepalese & Indian Cuisine), Incredible India Restaurant and Bar, and Suncourt Indian.
Does Ashbrook Motel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Ashbrook Motel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Ashbrook Motel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Taupo.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ashbrook Motel?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ashbrook Motel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean.
Is Ashbrook Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.