We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carrington Motel

Save
Share
61 Carrington Street, New Plymouth 4310 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
US$70
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (17)
Room & Suite (4)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#27 of 29 hotels in New Plymouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Carrington Motel offers a peaceful and convenient place to stay in New Plymouth. We are a local, family-owned business dedicated to making your stay simple and enjoyable. We are located only a short walk from Pukekura Park and the centre of town, We provide an outdoor BBQ area and garden, free Wifi, guest laundry, and off-street parking. We also have Sky TV Guest Select (50+ channels) in all rooms.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Breakfast available
Board games / puzzles
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
BBQ facilities
Outdoor furniture
Parking
Wifi
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Picnic area
First aid kit
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Dining area
Housekeeping
Seating area
Telephone
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Electric blanket
Walk-in shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
75Reviews0Q+A27Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 12
  • 35
  • 17
  • 4
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Jacqui Black wrote a review Aug 2020
18 contributions1 helpful vote
My daughter and I stayed 2 nights to visit family. Studio unit spacious, clean and tidy, had everything we needed. Awesome short walk down Huatoki walkway to city centre, cafe and seafront. Will definitely stay next time we are in NP
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Jennifer B wrote a review Jan 2020
Canberra, Australia106 contributions42 helpful votes
This motel is very conveniently located, within walking distance of town. The room we stayed in, with an additional bedroom, was very spacious, and the kitchen was well equipped. The decor is a bit utilitarian, and I would, if I had the option, rate the motel 3.5 stars - but the very friendly owner bumps it up a half a star anyway. Nice.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from carringtonmotel, Public Relations Manager at Carrington Motel
Responded 31 Jan 2020
Hi Jennifer, Thank you for leaving this nice review for us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay :) Kind regards, Katie (Carrington Motel)
Read more
Julie W wrote a review Jan 2020
4 contributions
I stay in motels all over the lower North Island with my job and this would be the worse motel I have ever stayed in. NO smoke alarms, internal door in your room, that is locked from your side, but the owners and cleaner and god knows who else can access your room, any time. Our jug stopped working, and we have to ring for a new one, No light bulb in one bedside lamp, the other side was faulty, kept going on and off. Alot of the light switches are cracked, as we had a downstairs room the people in the upstairs kept us awake all night. At 12.45am we had, had enough and dial 0 to talk to the owner, they turn all phones off, so not contactable at all. I walked to the house and a light was on, knocked on window , got the son who, was around 15 and he said his mum was in bed and he would go and talk to them, which he or the mother didn't. Don't ever stay in this motel, it's the pits.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't choose the Carrington, sleeping in the car would be more comfortable. Service very...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from carringtonmotel, Public Relations Manager at Carrington Motel
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Hi Julie, I'm sorry to see you felt the need to leave this review for us. After discussing your experience at length before you left, you were not charged for your stay. I would like to address your concerns, beginning with the smoke alarms. All of our rooms have heat detectors, and our fire alarm system is completely in accordance with the regulations required by the local council, and are checked by fire security services monthly. Yes, we do have internal access, and the door to the hallway is open while our cleaners are working. We do have security cameras in the hallways, and have never had an incident where other people have gone down the hallway unnoticed. The doors are in full view from the office. Unfortunately electronics are not always reliable, and you were provided with a replacement jug. You received sincere apologies for the bedside lights and we had not received complaints about this light in the past so it had not been brought to our attention. Some of the plastic around switches is cracked, and we are working on replacing these. It does not affect the use or safety of the switches. Unfortunately our rooms are not completely soundproof and you received our sincere apologies. The office is open 8am-8pm (unless in case of emergency. We need sleep too.), and it was quite inappropriate for my younger brother to be disturbed at 12:45am. You also came in with your story before the office was open in the morning. The people upstairs were asked to quieten down, however we don't have control over other people and did all we could do. The other side of this story was told to us after you had left. The guests around you informed us that you were very noisy yourself, and kept them awake. While we are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, we believe you were treated with respect and had your concerns addressed appropriately. Regards, Katie (Carrington Motel)
Read more
Gavatron07 wrote a review Jan 2020
Napier, New Zealand478 contributions172 helpful votes
We stayed one night at this motel on a quick visit to New Plymouth and enjoyed our stay. It is conveniently located and is within walking distance of the CBD. The unit was roomy and reasonably quiet given the motel is on a popular route. The room rate was reasonable and we would certainly stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Tom H wrote a review Apr 2019
Worcester, United Kingdom162 contributions92 helpful votes
The Carrington motel is a no frills, moderately priced motel up the hill from central New Plymouth. The space in our room was excellent and the staff very accommodating and friendly. Only minuses were the lack of bedside lights, a toilet with a flushing problem and very week WiFi connection, which meant we could only use one apparatus at a time... but these issues aside, the motel is quiet, in spite of being close to a fairly busy road, and we would recommend it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Our room was at the back, which was very quiet with a nice view of the tropical garden
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from carringtonmotel, Guest Relations Manager at Carrington Motel
Responded 29 Aug 2019
Hi Tom, Thanks for leaving us this review and recommending us! We are working on increasing our online presence, which is why you are getting such a late response. My family are the 'new' owners of Carrington Motel and have been here less than a year! In this time we have been getting used to the business, and have started adding some 'frills' to our rooms. We really appreciate you bringing things to our attention that we can improve or investigate. We sincerely hope that if you visit us again you will enjoy our upgrades and let us know what else we can do to improve! Thanks again, Katie
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$62 - US$74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandTaranaki RegionNew Plymouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Carrington Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Carrington Motel?
Nearby attractions include Pukekura Park (0.7 km), New Plymouth Coastal Walkway (1.1 km), and Puke Ariki (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Carrington Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, free internet access, and self serve laundry.
Which room amenities are available at Carrington Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Carrington Motel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Carrington Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Carrington Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Arranged Marriage Restaurant, India Today Tandoor and Bistro, and Koi Spice Craft & Whisky.
Is Carrington Motel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of New Plymouth.
Are any cleaning services offered at Carrington Motel?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Carrington Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hurworth Cottage (7.3 km).