Carrington Motel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Carrington Motel

61 Carrington Street, New Plymouth 4310 New Zealand
Traveller (30)
Kitchen in room
Room & Suite (4)
Outside Area
Family and Play Areas (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#15 of 15 motels in New Plymouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Carrington Motel offers a peaceful and convenient place to stay in New Plymouth. We are a local, family-owned business dedicated to making your stay simple and enjoyable. We are located only a short walk from Pukekura Park and the centre of town, We provide an outdoor BBQ area and garden, free Wifi, guest laundry, and off-street parking. We also have Sky TV Guest Select (50+ channels) in all rooms.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Breakfast available
Board games / puzzles
Children's television networks
Highchairs available
BBQ facilities
Outdoor furniture
Parking
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Picnic area
First aid kit
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Dining area
Housekeeping
Seating area
Telephone
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Electric blanket
Walk-in shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Family
Languages Spoken
English

Location

61 Carrington Street, New Plymouth 4310 New Zealand
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 65 out of 100
65
New Plymouth Airport
10.6 km
See all flights
Auckland Intl Airport
237.2 km
See all flights
83Reviews0Q+A30Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 12
  • 37
  • 18
  • 5
  • 11
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
bronz99 wrote a review Jul 2022
Paraparaumu, New Zealand5 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very friendly office staff. Thought I'd booked small studio, but was in a large upstairs unit as smaller units were being used as temporary housing. Housekeeping excellent. Buildings past their best, shook when heavy traffic went past, open steps to upper floor a bit dodgy looking and treads not very wide. Bathroom area appeared to have been "refreshed" recently and although very compact, was tidy; good strong supply of hot water in the shower. Best of all, turning on the light did not activate a noisy air expeller. Bed/mattress too soft for my taste, and synthetic duvet and cover not really warm, but excellent wool blankets in spare wardrobe kept me cozy. Housekeeping staff washed dishes I didn't have time for, which was above and beyond my expectations. A couple of shabby features and things needed fixing - but not too inconvenient since I was on my own. Overall my unit was clean and tidy, with sufficient power points, electric blanket, decent hair dryer, and cooking facilities.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gavatron07 wrote a review Jan 2020
Tasman, New Zealand463 contributions178 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed one night at this motel on a quick visit to New Plymouth and enjoyed our stay. It is conveniently located and is within walking distance of the CBD.

The unit was roomy and reasonably quiet given the motel is on a popular route.

The room rate was reasonable and we would certainly stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jennifer B wrote a review Jan 2020
Canberra, Australia114 contributions60 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This motel is very conveniently located, within walking distance of town. The room we stayed in, with an additional bedroom, was very spacious, and the kitchen was well equipped. The decor is a bit utilitarian, and I would, if I had the option, rate the motel 3.5 stars - but the very friendly owner bumps it up a half a star anyway. Nice.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from carringtonmotel, Public Relations Manager at Carrington Motel
Responded 31 Jan 2020
Hi Jennifer, Thank you for leaving this nice review for us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay :) Kind regards, Katie (Carrington Motel)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julie W wrote a review Jan 2020
4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I stay in motels all over the lower North Island with my job and this would be the worse motel I have ever stayed in. NO smoke alarms, internal door in your room, that is locked from your side, but the owners and cleaner and god knows who else can access your room, any time. Our jug stopped working, and we have to ring for a new one, No light bulb in one bedside lamp, the other side was faulty, kept going on and off. Alot of the light switches are cracked, as we had a downstairs room the people in the upstairs kept us awake all night. At 12.45am we had, had enough and dial 0 to talk to the owner, they turn all phones off, so not contactable at all. I walked to the house and a light was on, knocked on window , got the son who, was around 15 and he said his mum was in bed and he would go and talk to them, which he or the mother didn't. Don't ever stay in this motel, it's the pits.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't choose the Carrington, sleeping in the car would be more comfortable. Service very...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from carringtonmotel, Public Relations Manager at Carrington Motel
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Hi Julie, I'm sorry to see you felt the need to leave this review for us. After discussing your experience at length before you left, you were not charged for your stay. I would like to address your concerns, beginning with the smoke alarms. All of our rooms have heat detectors, and our fire alarm system is completely in accordance with the regulations required by the local council, and are checked by fire security services monthly. Yes, we do have internal access, and the door to the hallway is open while our cleaners are working. We do have security cameras in the hallways, and have never had an incident where other people have gone down the hallway unnoticed. The doors are in full view from the office. Unfortunately electronics are not always reliable, and you were provided with a replacement jug. You received sincere apologies for the bedside lights and we had not received complaints about this light in the past so it had not been brought to our attention. Some of the plastic around switches is cracked, and we are working on replacing these. It does not affect the use or safety of the switches. Unfortunately our rooms are not completely soundproof and you received our sincere apologies. The office is open 8am-8pm (unless in case of emergency. We need sleep too.), and it was quite inappropriate for my younger brother to be disturbed at 12:45am. You also came in with your story before the office was open in the morning. The people upstairs were asked to quieten down, however we don't have control over other people and did all we could do. The other side of this story was told to us after you had left. The guests around you informed us that you were very noisy yourself, and kept them awake. While we are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, we believe you were treated with respect and had your concerns addressed appropriately. Regards, Katie (Carrington Motel)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rickakl wrote a review Jan 2023
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand28 contributions9 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a weekend at this motel with intention to enjoy the TSB Lights.
On arrival we were met by friendly owner who handed us room key and a small 500ml bottle of milk.
Room was clean but tired. Carpet was worn with large black fluff patches on either side of bed as if something had been glued down and then partially removed.
Kitchen was small and had no stove. Instead a mini oven which only permitted cooking on top or cooking in the oven but not both at once, so unable to cook a decent meal. The mini oven was dirty inside and no tray to cook on. Only one pot provided. No frypan. Minimum utensils. No can opener. There was also a microwave, toaster and jug.
Good shower and bathroom. Good supply of towels.
There was a separate laundry on site with an oven however we were told the oven didn't work.
Grounds were tidy. The motel is close to the CBD and in a pleasant neighbourhood.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Rooms facing street are quieter.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mumma&Co wrote a review Aug 2022
Timaru, New Zealand6,643 contributions602 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Unexpected. Booked online after reading the reviews & were so horrified we left!

The lady at reception was lovely but everything else was terrible. The carpet was threadbare in places, the blankets had holes & stains, the toilet was SUPER LOUD, creepy knowing the manager could access our room from the service hallway.

I think we were the only guests, the others were social housing tenants & rough as guts! This should have been mentioned on their website!! All appeared to off their faces at 4pm & most in their pajamas! Super noisy upstairs with kids yelling & stomping. Basically we felt super unsafe & had to forfeit our money & leave.

Five minutes after arriving the fire alarm went off & everyone had to meet outside hence we got to meet our 'neighbors'. Tenants kept going back to their rooms, had their fire exits blocked etc. We felt super sorry for the manager having to deal with them & she ended up yelling at them & swearing.

Definitely time for us to leave!! Sad when your teenage kids feel unsafe & don't want to stay. We have stayed in some budget places & aren't super fussy but even for us this was just way too rough!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lynreednz wrote a review May 2021
Hohenweiler, Austria40 contributions9 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Normally a quiet location well suited for our visit. Unit 11 is upstairs and they are not soundproofed. 5.15am-7am Saturday morning four carloads of people interrupted our sleep. Unit a little tired. The mat covering the hole in the carpet near the door needs to be bigger. Clean and well serviced.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Ask for a quiet end unit downstairs.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
peterrM6374WL wrote a review Apr 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand255 contributions14 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Only 10 mins walk from the information centre.
A forest walk beside a small river can be accessed within 100m.
Clean and comfortable.
Free wifi with a fridge that didn't run constantly.
The place had been well maintained and lay outside the hustle and bustle of the cbd
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pammie wrote a review Mar 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The motel is currently used for low cost rental accomodation.
By arrangement with the owner, some of the tenants are required to vacate their units from time to time to provide space for motel guests.
In our case the tenants personal belongings and food were still in the unit and personal photos on the walls.
The whole complex is quite run down and we would recommend giving this place a miss.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Don’t go there
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jacqui Black wrote a review Aug 2020
17 contributions19 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My daughter and I stayed 2 nights to visit family. Studio unit spacious, clean and tidy, had everything we needed. Awesome short walk down Huatoki walkway to city centre, cafe and seafront. Will definitely stay next time we are in NP
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Pammie wrote a tip Mar 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t go there"
Read full review
Rickakl wrote a tip Jan 2023
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand28 contributions9 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms facing street are quieter."
Read full review
lynreednz wrote a tip May 2021
Hohenweiler, Austria40 contributions9 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a quiet end unit downstairs."
Read full review
Julie W wrote a tip Jan 2020
4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't choose the Carrington, sleeping in the car would be more comfortable. Service very poor, The motel very old, inside and out"
Read full review
Tom H wrote a tip Apr 2019
Worcester, United Kingdom150 contributions94 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Our room was at the back, which was very quiet with a nice view of the tropical garden"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the New Plymouth area.
PRICE RANGE
$168 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandTaranaki RegionNew Plymouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CARRINGTON MOTEL - Reviews & Price Comparison (New Plymouth) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Carrington Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Carrington Motel?
Nearby attractions include Pukekura Park (0.7 km), Puke Ariki (0.9 km), and Brooklands Zoo (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Carrington Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, free internet access, and self serve laundry.
Which room amenities are available at Carrington Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Carrington Motel?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at Carrington Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Carrington Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Arranged Marriage Restaurant, India Today Tandoor and Bistro, and Wild Pear Kitchen.
Is Carrington Motel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of New Plymouth.
Are any cleaning services offered at Carrington Motel?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Carrington Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hurworth Cottage (7.3 km).
All New Plymouth HotelsNew Plymouth Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in New PlymouthHotels near Carrington Motel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire