The Metrotel Motel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Metrotel Motel

Comfortable King beds
Traveller (13)
Rooms and my feet on bed
Room & Suite (28)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Wed, 29 May
$209
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Get rewarded with One Key
$209
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
No fees just great deals
$166
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#6 of 15 motels in New Plymouth
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Metrotel is New Plymouth’s newest motel studios. We’ve designed it with our guests in mind and have included amenities like spacious rooms with self-contained kitchens, free wifi, a selection of Sky TV and Freeview channels and off-street parking. We are located directly in the CBD so it’s convenient to walk to many local attractions, restaurants and businesses. We welcome you to stay with us and enjoy what the region has to offer – Taranaki has been rated the second-best region to visit in the world by Lonely Planet. Let us be your base for exploring the area!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Car park
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
Umbrella
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Dining area
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English

Location

22 Gill Street, New Plymouth 4310 New Zealand
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 96 out of 100
96
New Plymouth Airport
10.2 km
See all flights
Auckland Intl Airport
236.4 km
See all flights
82Reviews0Q+A19Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 72
  • 7
  • 2
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Dave M wrote a review Mar 2020
Auckland, New Zealand12 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed a night for a weekend away. Having parking for the rental car was great - we could walk to some key sites and eateries from this location. Service was friendly and efficient. The complex is new, rooms feel large and the bed was comfortable. We’d return to this one.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kcnz2016 wrote a review Jan 2021
Auckland Central, New Zealand54 contributions47 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This motel is outstanding, the staff were all so friendly and helpful.
Obviously the location is great but the rooms were spotlessly clean, beautifully designed and what you see on their site is very accurate.
I cannot recommend this motel more highly if you are in thinking of staying in New Plymouth!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Gill Street
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JohnCart wrote a review Mar 2020
Unsworth Heights, New Zealand27 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great motel right in the heart of the CBD. Close to everything. Staff were very helpful. The room exceeded expectations - we booked a studio room and were upgraded to a room with two king sized beds and a mezzanine. Lots of light, very comfortable bed, quiet. Free parking on-site
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Roaming_Nicster wrote a review May 2021
Canberra, Australia78 contributions30 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Even if I tried really hard, I don't think I could fault this place.
Their customer service was excellent right from the start. I had a particular mobility issue that meant I contacted them before booking. They replied to my email super quickly with extra photos and info. They accommodated my particular room request with no drama, and bent over backwards to give us the extra help we needed.

We stayed in the 2 bedroom studio apartment and it was great. The super king beds were comfy, the kitchen had everything we needed, and the apartment was kitted out to be very comfortable. The heater kept us warm and the place was spotless. We really were very comfortable there.

The location was tops, right in the city one road back from the water. The free parking was great and (if you aren't mobility limited), you would be able to leave the car and get around on foot. Lots of cafes and restaurants handy.

I would definitely stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We stayed in a room out the back and it was quiet. I suspect those overlooking the road could be...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from The Metrotel Ltd, General Manager at The Metrotel Motel
Responded 26 May 2021
Hi There, Thanks very much for your excellent feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is always a pleasure receiving feedback like this from our guests. It makes all the hard work worth it. Have a nice day, Regards Mark
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robby C wrote a review Feb 2020
Mount Gambier, Australia15 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
WOW....
This place is great, the staff are extremely helpful and accommodating.
The cleaners were amazing, they went above and beyond for us, cant thank them enough. We had a pretty boozy few days in New Plymouth and didn’t get up early each day, we made it difficult for them to get in and clean but they worked around our messed up schedule. Thanks again, truly amazing staff.
Our room had a kitchen & balcony, which you can smoke on if you shut he door. The shower was great, plenty of water pressure and hot water. Noise wasn’t an issue, when you had the balcony door open you got a bit of street noise but that was gone as soon as you shut it.
If ever back in the Naki we will be staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
kiwi555 wrote a review Jul 2020
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand27 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Modern, clean and central location. We had a 2 bedroom studio, which was perfect for 2 adults, 2 children. Easy walk to Museum, cafes etc. Great fully equipped kitchen plus dish washer. Good heating. Would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DonnaHewer wrote a review Jan 2021
Hamilton, New Zealand44 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Booking.com had a deal on this hotel but I chose to deal with them directly. Emails were exchanged and I provided my requested credit card details. I missed a call from the hotel and found an email stating the card number was incorrect. I replied with a photo showing it was correct only to be told the room which was the last one had gone. We are now unable to get room in New Plymouth. I usually dont book so close to the date but the visit was due to the serious state of health if a close loved one.

Im not sure what their agenda was but maybe booking through bookkng.com is recommended - you at least get a booking and it will be at a cheaper rate.

Very disappointing and I will deal with my preferred more professional NP hotels in the future!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Mark Drought, General Manager at The Metrotel Motel
Responded 19 Feb 2021
Kia ora Donna, Thank you for taking the time to share your concern. It is sad to hear that you have not received the experience we aim to offer our guests. Also, I am sorry to hear that you think we are overpriced than other online websites. Please let me explain a little. We guarantee our guests for the best room rate while booking directly with us. We advised in the very first email to you that we had only one room left for the requested dates. After receiving your inquiry, the room was put on hold straight away as few necessary details were needed before making reservation i.e., contact number, guest full name, and a credit card detail etc. After exchanging few emails over an hour time frame, the credit card details provided to us through email were incomplete. We phoned to ask for an expiry date of the card but could not get hold of anyone. So, we emailed again and requested to provide a valid credit card to complete the booking also advised that we are trying to contact you by phone but could not get through. Besides, the email received was attached with a credit card photo blanked with expiry date numbers. In the end, after getting no response for 4 hours we released the room online. As there was an event in town which would not allow us to hold the room, while there was no certainty of booking the room from you. I apologies for inconvenience this may have caused and hope to see your faith restored in our service. Thank you again for sharing your concern with us. Kindest regards, Rajeev Dahiya Motel Manager The Metrotel New Plymouth
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dmemullin wrote a review Jun 2021
New Plymouth, New Zealand5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I was recommended to stay at the Metrotel by friends and I wasn’t disappointed.
This was the best Motel I have stayed in. The rooms are so sparkly clean and modern with comfort being the focus. The staff were friendly and we wanted recommendations for local things to do and they pointed us in the right direction. The location is incredible as well.
This was
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Rajeev Dahiya, General Manager at The Metrotel Motel
Responded 3 Sept 2021
Wow, thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciate your help spreading the positive word about our accommodation. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
KPwhanau wrote a review Jul 2020
Rotorua District, New Zealand324 contributions109 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were in New Plymouth for 2 nights for work during the week. We had a 2 bedroom room which was perfect for our needs
Huge super king bed in one room and 2 king singles in the 2nd room. Spacious room with great facilities. Additional TV in king bedroom. Quality linen. Great heating for the winter months. Excellent super hot shower in nice bathroom. Plenty of towels.

Very quiet. Great location right in the city centre and just one block from the waterfront. Loads of restaurants within walking distance. Supermarkets are within 1km.
Parking just outside your room
Definitely recommend this motel and hope to come back again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
leanne363 wrote a review Jan 2021
Hamilton, New Zealand149 contributions62 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms were lovely and large and well equipped. The location was perfect for exploring by foot and within easy distance of many restaurants. The staff were very welcoming and approachable. We would definitely recommend staying here - I hope we get the opportunity to do so again
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Peter E wrote a tip Oct 2022
Levin, New Zealand81 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Prepare for a enjoyable stay."
Read full review
Laura M wrote a tip Sept 2021
Tauranga, New Zealand4 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Super convenient with parking at premises.👍"
Read full review
Roaming_Nicster wrote a tip May 2021
Canberra, Australia78 contributions30 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed in a room out the back and it was quiet. I suspect those overlooking the road could be a bit noisy.."
Read full review
phoebe139 wrote a tip May 2021
Tauranga, New Zealand22 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ring the motel direct to get a better deal."
Read full review
anth0ny1946 wrote a tip Feb 2021
Tauranga, New Zealand24 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"For a couple the studio is ample big enough with a balcony these are on the 2nd & 3rd floors but they have a lift."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the New Plymouth area.
PRICE RANGE
$165 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandTaranaki RegionNew Plymouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
31
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE METROTEL MOTEL - Now $162 (Was $̶2̶7̶2̶) - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (New Plymouth, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Metrotel Motel
Which popular attractions are close to The Metrotel Motel?
Nearby attractions include Pukekura Park (0.3 km), Puke Ariki (0.3 km), and Wind Wand (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Metrotel Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and dry cleaning.
Which room amenities are available at The Metrotel Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Metrotel Motel?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Metrotel Motel?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Metrotel Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Arranged Marriage Restaurant, India Today Tandoor and Bistro, and Wild Pear Kitchen.
Is The Metrotel Motel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of New Plymouth.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Metrotel Motel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to The Metrotel Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hurworth Cottage (8.2 km).
Does The Metrotel Motel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is The Metrotel Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All New Plymouth HotelsNew Plymouth Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in New PlymouthHotels near The Metrotel Motel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire