Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Apex on Fenton

325 Fenton Street Glenholme, Rotorua 3010 New Zealand
Having a great time
Traveller (76)
Peaceful bedrooms
Room & Suite (11)
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
$154
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
Get rewarded with One Key
$149
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
Get rewarded with One Key
$140
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#6 of 45 motels in Rotorua
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Apex on Fenton is central to all of Rotorua's attractions and offers comfortable, spacious accommodation for the discerning traveller. We cater for families, business travellers, SENIOR GOLD CARD DISCOUNTS AND DEALS and tourists and will be happy to assist you with any local excursions to the many attractions you may want to enjoy during your stay in Rotorua. We have plenty of Discount Vouchers to many of the attractions. FREE WIFI IS AVAILABLE IN ALL UNITS. Apex on Fenton has a selection of 14 sunny, private units, 4x Large studios "Vintage Cottages" which can sleep up to 4, 6x One Bedroom Spa Suites sleeping up to 4 and 2x Two Bedroom Spa Apartments which can sleep up to 8 people.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Fishing
Spa
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Laundry service
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Housekeeping
Seating area
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars

Location

325 Fenton Street Glenholme, Rotorua 3010 New Zealand
462Reviews3Q+A86Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 262
  • 141
  • 36
  • 15
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
SpicksandSpecks wrote a review Jan 2020
Melbourne, Australia99 contributions82 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a great few days at Apex on Fenton. We booked a large studio, which fitted our family of 4, but was a bit small. If there'd been availability we would have booked a larger room.
It was clean, had the necessary kitchen equipment to make our own meals.
The owners of the hotel were extremely helpful - they lent us extra towels so we could go swimming at no extra charge. They did a load of washing for us ($NZ10), ready in a day. They were friendly and hard working.
Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from APEX325, Manager at Apex on Fenton
Responded 8 Jan 2020
HI Thank you for lovely review and feedback, greatly appreciated. There are 1 bedroom spa suite or 2 bedroom apartment for choosing! Hope we will see you again soon! Kind regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Endicott_Redbird wrote a review Apr 2020
Omaha, Nebraska51 contributions23 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Apex on Fenton offers clean, good sized rooms at a reasonable price. The staff was very welcoming and took the time to find out about us and what we were planning on seeing in the area. They made very good suggestions about dining and when best to see area attractions. I would definitely recommend the Apex to my value conscious friends.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Crissy S wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very clean room with free spa pool, the new built up motels or hotels won’t have the facility. Good for enjoy yourself at night with glass of wine. Shower water volume is okay, good to stay at winter time.
Great location, closed to the popular Chinese takeaway with walking distances. Also close to supermarket and Polynesian Thermal Pools.
Very friendly owner and staff, Great value!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from APEX325, Manager at Apex on Fenton
Responded 7 Feb 2020
HI Crystaljshen Thank you for lovely review and feedback, greatly appreciated. Hope we will see you again in the future! Kind regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Aaron G wrote a review Jan 2020
Tauranga, New Zealand3 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Apex on Fenton, you are a disgrace we did not enjoy the stay, it was dirty old, it smelled (not because of the sulphur either)
The rooms were noisey, bathroom with poor repairs with a shower that was just plain annoying to shower with, sky tv with very basic channels, no movies.
Unfortunately you people don't understand what good service is and it was very expensive for what it is. I do not recommend at all.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from APEX325, Owner at Apex on Fenton
Responded 9 Jan 2020
HI Aaron, Sorry for your unpleased experience with us. The room should be quiet unless you have a noisy neighbor or we running the laundry facility during the working hours. We are curiously that you mention about we don't understand what good service is, but you received our laundry service for only NZD10 a whole bag. (Please understand that we did wash, dry and fold up the clothes were not only cost NZD10, but we charge less as a service) . We are not a new building might not satisfied what you need, but we do our best to keep it tidy and comfortable, that's why we have many repeat visits from senior customer( they love quiet and tidy place). In order to letting our guests have a better sky TV experience, last year we had updated our sky 5+ channel to 50+ channel, which means our guests have more TV channels choices than many of other motels. We also provide some DVD for renting with no charge in our front desk. We know it's really difficult to satisfy all kinds of customer, but please kindly remind us what you were not satisfied when you staying with us. Our staffs are always happy to provide more information or give your room a deep clean to reach different standard.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tiana J wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Wonderful place to stay, very cozy and very good amenities provided. Lovely owners , would definitely recommend Apex on Fenton for anyone who needs a inexpensive place to stay! For sure worth the money and good choice for accomodation. Definitely worth it and look forward to coming back soon!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ChachaHiroki wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Went with my partner & we recommend this motel, the spa was lovely!! The room as a whole was pretty spacious, could've had 2-3 more people with us. But nah it was great for our trip & we fully enjoyed ourselves. Would definitely book here again when we come back to Rotorua.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from APEX325, Manager at Apex on Fenton
Responded 15 Feb 2020
HI Charlotte Thank you for lovely review and feedback, greatly appreciated. Hope we will see you again in the future! Kind regards.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennie wrote a review Mar 2020
3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We enjoyed our stay at Apex. Friendly host and we loved the resident cat. The room was a good size and the spa pool was lovely. Would recommend staying at Apex if you are after down to earth, cozy accommodation.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CSET wrote a review May 2006
Yorkshire England4 contributions31 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We found our friendliest loveliest welcome in our first 5 days in New Zealand, when we arrived at the Collingwood Gables Motel. Its owners Grant and Cheryl are a cheery couple who take time to chat to you and who genuinely seem interested in where you have been and where you are going. We really liked them, and it made for a very pleasant stay. Our room was large, clean and attractive. We stayed in a spa pool unit which is definitely a must - the best spa pool we encountered in a motel during our stay in New Zealand. Ours was in a little room just off our bedroom - In our 2 nights in NZ we must have plunged ourselves in it at least 6 times. The motel can be found on the very very long Fenton Street and is very easy to find. It was great value and we heartily recommend it to you.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2006
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charmaine C wrote a review Mar 2017
28 contributions21 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Before I start my review, I urge you to please check out the photographs attached. They don't lie and neither will I.

We stayed in a spa suite , room 6 to be specific and my review will be based only on that room and the service during our 3 night stay.

Please also note that I am not a fussy person. I've stayed in back packers hostels , camp sites to 5 star hotels and seek only the basics and most importantly , my money's worth.

I don't like giving negative reviews, especially for small businesses, so I will start on a positive note.

PROs on Apex at Fenton, Rotorua:

- Location is great! Just a small drive to the heart of town.
- Kitchen utensils and bed linen seemed clean enough.
- The room provided the basics for comfort on short stays: bed, bathroom,fridge, microwave, stove, toaster, hair dryer, iron ,TV, fan, heater storage etc

CONS on Apex at Fenton, Rotorua:

- Please see all pictures- the room is extremely outdated, dusty and 3 star at the most. The positive in this is that it MADE us want to get out. Anything was better than staying in that room. It gave off a really depressing / icky vibe. From the carpet, bathroom tiles, doors, wall paint and decor - the place needs a revamp!

- The toilet was exactly as dirty as it was from day 1 onwards. Housekeeping came in to clean the room while we were out on day 2, yet the toilet remained absolutely disgusting and bins still remained full from the night before. MANAGEMENT- A simple toilet replacement when the current one has reached that filthy-stained state won't hurt! I would rather have used the public toilets!

- wifi was slower than dial up- we ended up using my personal wifi hotspot on my phone and this was a lot faster!

- Upon arriving I noticed there was no split system or aircon. I understand that Rotorua does not get stinking hot, but even so, with a room like this, everything was just so stuffy. I asked reception for a possible room swap right then , if possible or later in our mid week stay , he said they were full. I then asked for an extra free standing fan (in hopes that it might help) first, he asked me what country I'm from and then he explained that aircon isn't needed (I thought this was quite rude). He then simply said they have no aircons in any rooms or extra fans. He then unplugged something from the desk and passed me a desk fan. It's 2017, MANAGEMENT : please give your good paying customers an option for optimised comfort! It won't cost your business much at all for such simple things!

- We paid extra for the spa suite thinking it would be lovely option to have during our stay. We didn't dare jump in. We opened the cover up upon arriving and the smell of chlorine was enough to sting our eyes. One wiff of it was enough to know it wasn't worth going in. It just smelt wrong. The spa also had some hair and a leaf floating around that clearly wasn't mine as like I said, we didn't dare jump in. MANAGEMENT: if you want to charge your customers extra for a spa suite option, at least clean /updated the darn thing! The fake grass was completely tacky.

-Last but not least- please buy your own milk. Please see pictures. We received a bottle of milk on arrival. By the next morning, it turned into a solidified clump. We left if by the sink on day 2 when the cleaners had come in and it was still by the sink when we left the next morning.

All in all, Apex on Fenton was comfortable enough for those not wanting to stay in the rooms for long periods.
The pictures on their website are misleading. Not all rooms are pretty and pastel decorated as they show.

Stay away from room 6!

Also, Apex, the room is worth $90 a night at most , not $140. Revamp and provide the basic modern necessities and that $140 that you charge per night could easily turn into more ....you might even get better room reviews and more word of mouth recommendations!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: stay away from spa suites
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sharon B, Owner at Apex on Fenton
Responded 24 Mar 2017
Please read the previous 100 reviews to get a balanced review of APEX Motel. Firstly - We are shocked that there are persons that are so so ungrateful and nasty to place such a horrific heartless review. You booked a Spa Suite and the photos show exactly what you got. In fact many guests comment on how nice it is to come to a motel and see the rooms exactly as they are in the photo. You will see that the LARGE STUDIO units are in pastel colours. however then, if we had of placed you in one of these (which you DID NOT BOOK) then you would have made a nasty review of not receiving a spa. You need to get your facts right before you start judging and check the website and photos according to the room types. Secondly you were so upset about not have air conditioning and this is what has started you down this path of destruction. We do not advertise that we have ac, and you would find it hard to get a motel in Rotorua with ac, you need to book into Hotels for air conditioning and the prices would begin from $270 per night which I doubt you would want to pay. There is a fan in every room and we did give you an extra fan for your comfort - 100% of guests are so grateful for the extra fan when we give it to them when they request. Thirdly, if you place your 'do not disturb' at your door then the housemaid will not come into your room. Please set yourself free to receive love and in return you will find you will have a thankful and grateful heart and you will have victory over bitterness.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jksouthon wrote a review Sept 2014
1 contribution4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My boyfriend and I go to Rotorua for weekends and we have been through many different hotels. Apex is definitely our favourite and the only place we will stay now on. There is lots of space for us to relax and having the pirate spa is awesome for us after a day of mountain biking. Such an amazing value for your money. I would highly recommend Apex.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vinodn76 asked a question Jul 2019
Mumbai, India72 contributions32 helpful votes
Do you have parking options?
Answer from APEX325
Rotorua, New Zealand1 contribution
Yes, all of our units including car parking space!
Answer from APEX325
Rotorua, New Zealand1 contribution
it will cost $13.5 per person for the continental breakfast or you can have the breakfast and dinner in the city. breakfast choice: Ciabatta (tasty bread, best chai latte and close to our motel) Dinner choice: Rotorua Eat street(there are more than 12 restaurant inside as you can choose whatever you want)
Answer from KEN C
Rotorua, New Zealand
We do not have safes in our rooms - however we can hold valuables at reception behind locked doors
beanandeasy wrote a tip Nov 2019
Falls Creek, Australia203 contributions53 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Would have liked to have been up the back but didn't have a problem with front room"
Read full review
Debra wrote a tip Oct 2019
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Our apartment could sleep 7 guests. Lots of space"
Read full review
Carol D wrote a tip Sept 2019
Perth, Australia339 contributions59 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pay a little extra for the larger spa room which is a little more spacious."
Read full review
Lesley496 wrote a tip Jun 2019
Canberra11 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Choose away from the road front units."
Read full review
BenSoole wrote a tip Apr 2019
12 contributions2 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms at the back of the motel were not out of the way but also very quiet. There is no benefit to being any closer to the front."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Rotorua area.
PRICE RANGE
$137 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandBay of Plenty RegionRotorua DistrictRotorua
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

APEX ON FENTON - Now $134 (Was $̶1̶5̶1̶) - Motel Reviews & Price Comparison (Rotorua, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Apex on Fenton
Which popular attractions are close to Apex on Fenton?
Nearby attractions include Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village (0.9 km), Te Puia (1.2 km), and Rotorua international stadium (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Apex on Fenton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a spa, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Apex on Fenton?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Apex on Fenton?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Apex on Fenton?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Apex on Fenton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ciabatta Cafe and Bakery, Urbano Bistro, and Oppie's Fish & Chips.
Are there any historical sites close to Apex on Fenton?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village (0.9 km), Te Puia (1.2 km), and Government Gardens (2.1 km).
Is Apex on Fenton accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Rotorua HotelsRotorua Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in RotoruaHotels near Apex on Fenton
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire