East West Studio Apartments
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

East West Studio Apartments

Traveller (34)
Room & Suite (18)
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 4 villas in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
UNIQUE accommodation - CENTRAL location in the HEART of Rotorua City, family owned & operated premium in house SELF CONTAINED & SERVICED studio, private bathroom, kitchenette, 2 x adult only guests maximum occupancy, heated pool, off street parking, located within metres of Rotorua Central Mall, cafes, & spas & thermal wonders, and adventure activities close by.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Bathrobes
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Iron
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Modern

Location

6 Toko Street, Rotorua 3010 New Zealand
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 81 out of 100
81
Rotorua Airport
Tauranga Airport
52.8 km
See all flights
77Reviews1Q+A10Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 50
  • 20
  • 3
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Shrapz wrote a review Dec 2014
Taumarunui, New Zealand
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a breath of fresh air this place is! - We are used to staying in hotels / motels and this place tops everything we have been in by far!

Awesome hosts who made us feel right at home, walking around the apartment you can see all the little touches that make this so much more than just a place to stay.

Very clean and tidy apartment with everything you need from a washing machine to a fan for those hot nights. And the shower pressure! Best shower i have had in a long time. Free WiFi was an added bonus too, helps me write good reviews on trip advisor with free Wifi!

We are really enjoying our stay and will definitely be back in the future, our number one choice to stay in Rotorua. Dont change a bit!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KSeastwest, General Manager at East West Studio Apartments
Responded 10 Dec 2014
Thank you so much for your amazing feedback, very much appreciated. It is great to hear all went well and our facilities specially the free wifi, suiting your needs just fine. We enjoyed your family staying with us and hope to see you again on a future Rotorua break! Best regards Kristin & Stuart
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
norlinazli wrote a review Jun 2012
Nilai, Malaysia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family consists of 2 adults & 2 kids. We booked the north apartment but upon arrival we were surprised that Kristin gave a great news that we've been upgraded to Kiwi Cottage. We were amazed with the ambiance of the place that very similar to our own home. My kids were very happy with the dvds and the board games in their room. My husband really enjoyed with the wide selection of channels of the sky tv. After each long day of visiting and exploring Rotorua, we pampered our selves in the private spa bath and not forgetting the warm heated swimming pool. I felt very comfortable with the fully equiped kitchen and the washing machine.

We were very touched with the warm and welcoming hosts. We've travelled to several places but so far this holiday experience is the best. We really hope to come back soon.

Lastly,thanks so much to Kristin and Stuart.

Norlin n Azli.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Responded 8 Jul 2012
Thank you Norlin & Azli for taking the time to provide feedback and posting your family fun photos taken at East West, very much appreciated. We are very pleased your family traveled so far across the world to enjoy our Kiwi Cottage facilities, our lovely heated pool, and found plenty to see and do in Rotorua in all weathers and seasons! We look forward to meeting you, family and friends from Malaysia in the future. Kind regards Kristin & Stuart East West Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
AustFam5 wrote a review Apr 2011
Canberra, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This place was nice and suited our young family well. However the owners, while welcoming, talked to us for 30+mins on arrival and were very rules orientated. The property is covered in labels and rules which can make you feel a little like 'school camp' plus the CCTV in our private yard was intrusive. Overall this property was overpriced in comparison to other 4 star self contained accommodation we stayed in.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2011
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RustyPukehina, Owner at East West Studio Apartments
Responded 9 Jul 2011
We respect accurate feedback however in this case we are concerned that the guests have alleged that CCTV is in their "private yard". This is an incorrect statement as our CCTV operates only over the reception entry, and swimming pool. We operate HOLIDAY HOMES which unlike motels and hotels are completely independant and self catering. We are obliged to ensure our guests in our HOLIDAY HOME accommodation are fully aware of the workings of the houses they have rented. For the overall protection of our guests against noise, health and safety issues minimal notices are in evidence. We are pleased to note overall that they have confirmed that the place was nice and suited their young family well.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Turaga_11 wrote a review May 2011
Taree, Australia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the Garden Cottage which looked and sounded amazing on the website. It stated it had been completely renovated.
In reality the decor looked tired and dated. The furniture was all old. In general the accommodation was clean although many walls were marked.
We did not find the beds to be particularly comfortable and the sheets, although clean were unironed so did not look fresh or inviting.
The rule book for the accommodation was huge and made us feel that we were in boarding school rather than on holiday.
The accommodation was equipped with everything you would expect from this standard of accommodation however it did not have the same feel that all other accommodation with a similar rating has had. It lacked quality.
The worst thing about this accommodation was the smell. It is difficult to escape from the hydrogen sulphide in Rotorua but the fact that there was a heating outlet from the geothermal heating right behind the accommodation meant that the smell here in particular suffocating at times. We made a point of staying out of the accommodation for as much of our time there as possible.
On a positive note, the location of the accommodation is good (if you could get rid of the smell) as it is close to the centre of Rotorua for shops, restaurants and attractions.
The host is helpful on arrival and available if you need help.
It is adequately equipped.
I think this accommodation would be very acceptable if it were rated 2 or 3 star but does not match up to 4 star quality
Read more
Date of stay: April 2011
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RustyPukehina, Manager at East West Studio Apartments
Responded 9 Jul 2011
East West Apartments operates HOLIDAY HOMES, fully independent self catering longer term stay accommodation. Inspection is required on arrival and signed off as acceptable by all guests on registration. Our house policy & local information compendium is the same format as any other accommodation facility to ensure the safety, comfort and health of guests. No guest is under any obligation to accept the booking if not satisfied on arrival. Should any issue arise during the stay, guests are openly invited to advise management for immediate rectifying. Management has no record of the reporting of any issues during this guest’s stay, as any valid issues would have been duly managed. Rotorua is located in a natural geothermal zone resulting in varying levels of sulphurous fumes & activity. East West cannot held be responsible for monitored thermal outlets operating on neighbouring properties or the Rotorua area. East West Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dperrier7 wrote a review Nov 2012
Ottawa, Canada
2.0 of 5 bubbles
...disappointing. Lovely hosts, but the appartment we rented was just ok. It was not very clean: there were finger marks on the bathroom doors and on living area walls and the kitchen smelled grease. The whole place looks like it has started its decline. Not recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2012
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from RustyPukehina, General Manager at East West Studio Apartments
Responded 3 Dec 2012
Thank you for your response, however you may recall you were provided with the opportunity to raise any issues after inspection, registration and signed acceptance of the said property. To our knowledge no issues as stated, were evident or raised on arrival or during your stay in our holiday house accommodation. Unfortunately as you did not check out, return the keys, or settle your account on departure, East West management holds no responsibility over unreported issues. East West Management
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TallulahB wrote a review Aug 2007
New York City, New York
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms at East West are huge and really are apartment style accomodations with added breakfast. The hosts Kristin and Stuart are great. They have a geothermal heated pool on site if you want to enjoy the relaxing waters and were very helpful in getting me booked into one of the local spas (although the spa overbooked and I ended up not getting a treatment just a soak which I highly recommend no matter what). I stayed in the West Wing and the room consisted of a kitchenette, TV, dining area, large bed and small bed. One evening Stuart cooked me dinner at no additional cost and we enjoyed a a very tasty meal with some great NZ wine. I felt like I was staying with an Aunt and Uncle who were keen to look out for me and happy to chat. The political elections were going on at the time and Kristin was actually running for office so I learned a lot about that. The location is close enough to walk to town but on a quiet street. I got some good shopping tips and although Rotorua is quite touristy there are some nice local shops to find as well. This would be a great place for couples or families to visit. FYI They do have a dog on site. I highly recommend this as a B&B accomodation.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2005
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Heathcroft wrote a review Dec 2018
London, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent stay at East West. We were only there a couple of nights but it was great. Kristin especially was a highlight. She is a font of local knowledge and was able to get us discounting kayaking trip and recommend excellent restaurants. She is really friendly and warm and a great host.

They also gave us some freshly caught and smoked trout which was so thoughtful. We would highly recommend this place to stay at. If you are after activities speak to Kristin as she knows the best ones and the ones to avoid.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 2015eastwest, Owner at East West Studio Apartments
Responded 5 Jan 2019
Wonderful review, thank you so much! We are thrilled you really enjoyed your Rotorua experience and trying our local delicacy! Great guests with fantastic attitude towards travel! Happy New Year!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jackson Teal wrote a review Apr 2018
Seattle, Washington
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay at East West could not have been better. We were a little late getting in, but the owners were more than accommodating. The first floor is their home while the upstairs is divided into two spacious apartment style rooms with individual bathrooms and kitchenettes. I believe they also have camper hookups available.

The owners, Kristin and Stuart could not have been more kind and helpful. The room was cleaned while we were out and they provide breakfast consisting of eggs, bread, and fruit each day. The internet was great and we had no issues with noise. It is in a quiet neighborhood and across from a grocery store. They have a heated pool that you are also free to use as well as washer and dryer they offered to us to use. Town is walkable from the apartment, but parking wasn't bad while we were there.

I would highly recommend staying here. The benefit vastly outweighs the generous price. They are great to help find things to do if you don't already have plans.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There are two rooms and it'd be hard to go wrong!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 2015eastwest, General Manager at East West Studio Apartments
Responded 13 Jun 2018
Thank you so much for your terrific review, very much appreciated. Really thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. Happy future travels!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Matthew R wrote a review Mar 2018
Glenlyon, Victoria, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a wonderful stay in the West apartment for 4 nights. It was a very comfortable stay and very convenient to supermarkets and an easy walk to town. Kristin and Stewart are excellent hosts, even had some of Stewart's very tasty smoked trout.
The supplied daily breakfast of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals etc was fantastic. The warm pool is very nice too.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 2015eastwest, General Manager at East West Studio Apartments
Responded 13 Jun 2018
A marvellous response, thank you so very much! We are really pleased you enjoyed Stuart's smoked trout and our breakfast selection!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephen H wrote a review Dec 2016
4.0 of 5 bubbles
East West Studio Apartments were well appointed, spacious and comfortable. It is located just on the edge of the town centre within easy walking distance to all the available shops facilities and restaurants. Continental breakfast is taken in the room for a hamper of items refreshed each day. The hosts are welcoming and provided lots of information about the area and recommendations for places to visit. Wifi is available in the room but tends to be a bit slow when we stayed. We would recommend East west Studio apartments when staying in Rotorua.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BrianH422 asked a question May 2017
Peterborough, United Kingdom11 contributions16 helpful votes
My wife and I are thinking of staying 2 nights in Jan/Feb 2018. Can you please advise details and prices. Thank you.
Answer from Cat P
Auckland7 contributions4 helpful votes
You will have a great time. Book direct.
SteveMac317 wrote a tip Oct 2019
28 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get in quick - there’s only two apartments!"
Read full review
Jackson Teal wrote a tip Apr 2018
Seattle, Washington153 contributions61 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are two rooms and it'd be hard to go wrong!"
Read full review
kdblanch wrote a tip Apr 2017
Sydney, Australia11 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Our apartment had a seperate room - two large beds, one in the bed room one the the main room. This was perfect for us!"
Read full review
Bridget S wrote a tip Nov 2014
Southampton, United Kingdom188 contributions75 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"selection of accommodation to choose from."
Read full review
2basslakers wrote a tip Oct 2014
Orillia78 contributions52 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Both apt, are great."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Rotorua area.
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandBay of Plenty RegionRotorua DistrictRotorua
NUMBER OF ROOMS
1
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

EAST WEST STUDIO APARTMENTS - Villa Reviews (Rotorua) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about East West Studio Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to East West Studio Apartments?
Nearby attractions include Bibleworld Musuem & Discovery Centre (0.5 km), Mountain Jade (0.4 km), and Rotorua Central Mall (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at East West Studio Apartments?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at East West Studio Apartments?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at East West Studio Apartments?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at East West Studio Apartments?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to East West Studio Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Mexicano Zapata Express, Scope Cafe, and Herbs & Spice Thai Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at East West Studio Apartments?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is East West Studio Apartments located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Rotorua.
Are any cleaning services offered at East West Studio Apartments?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to East West Studio Apartments?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village (2.0 km), Te Puia (2.2 km), and Government Gardens (1.1 km).
All Rotorua HotelsRotorua Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in RotoruaHotels near East West Studio Apartments
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire