Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Quest Rotorua Central

Traveller (307)
Director's Suite Boudoir
Room & Suite (183)
Director's Suite Dining
Dining (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
No prepayment needed
$240
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#9 of 89 hotels in Rotorua
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
The award winning Quest Rotorua Central awaits your arrival. If you are looking for the best of service, best location and a quality apartment in Rotorua - look no further. We are conveniently located in the heart of Rotorua's Central Business District and enjoy close proximity to local restaurants and bars, shops and activities. We are only 550m to the Polynesian Spa and less than 1km to the Rotorua Lakefront. All apartments are self-contained with laundry and kitchen facilities including hobs, dishwashers, microwaves and fridges. Executive Apartments boast a private balcony and relaxing Hot Tub - ideal to soak in after a day of adventure.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Street parking
Wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Dishwasher
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Business
Languages Spoken
English
1,127Review22Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 911
  • 183
  • 22
  • 5
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
TinaLLea wrote a review Aug 2020
Auckland, New Zealand134 contributions75 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Second time visit - still warm friendly service, clean modern facilities. In a town where accommodation can be run down and overrated this hotel does not disappoint. This hotel does not offer a heap of extras, just great comfortable accommodation in a perfect location for eating and attractions-
definitely recommend
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Glenn Tasker, Owner at Quest Rotorua Central
Responded 8 Aug 2020
Hi TinaLea Thanks for taking the time to place your feedback - It's great to hear our service is still as you remember it. We love welcoming our guests and strive to ensure our standards are kept high. As you say, we don't have some of the extra's of the larger hotels but as a family run hotel we offer comfortable accommodation and a personal experience. We love getting to know our return guests and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you, we really appreciate your feedback. Best wishes Karen and The Quest Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
flymeaway2 wrote a review Mar 2020
Edmonton, Canada1,910 contribution372 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a studio for 2 nights and were very happy with our choice. A well managed, well cared for property. Our welcome upon arrival was friendly, professional, helpful and informative. Staff are amazing, housekeeping was thorough and the room was very clean! The studio had a queen bed, was spacious, the kitchen was well equipped and everything in the kitchen spotless. The bed was two single mattresses which wasn’t as comfortable as one mattress so this would be the only improvement I can think of. We didn’t sleep as well here unfortunately. The property provides a movie channel, the wi fi signal was excellent along with the air conditioning. You have your own washer and dryer in the bathroom for use which I loved. Parking is $5 per night at the back of the hotel in assigned spaces. In addition there is indoor secure parking if you wish for an extra charge. The location is central, restaurants are within walking distance.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from QuestRotoruaNZ, Franchise Director at Quest Rotorua Central
Responded 19 May 2020
Dear flymeaway2 Thanks for your feedback, it’s great to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Our team take great delight in meeting and greeting guests and it’s good to hear you enjoyed meeting them. Our housekeeping team are fabulous and take great pride in the cleanliness and quality of each apartment. Our beds do have a twin mattress to enable easy separation of beds for those wanting single beds on arrival. Our central location makes for easy walking to the many bars, restaurants, and activities that Rotorua offers. Again, thank you for your review, we hope you are able to visit again. Best wishes Karen and The Quest Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SFmama_11 wrote a review Jan 2020
San Francisco, California86 contributions85 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Quest Hotel Rotorua is an efficiency hotel right in the downtown area. It was spotlessly clean and modern. Our room had a kitchen area and a washer/dryer in the bathroom. The hosts, Glenn and Karen Tasker, were very welcoming and quite eager to help us plan our sightseeing around town. It is located on a quiet street in central Rotorua, which is already a pretty quiet place. There are a couple of cafés nearby and five blocks away is Eat St, which has cleverly concentrated all of the lively fine dining spots in one pedestrianized block. (But that means the rest of the area is pretty dead in the evenings.) If you want to stay in town-as opposed to one of the resorts on the edge-the Quest is a great choice.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from QuestRotoruaNZ, Franchise Director at Quest Rotorua Central
Responded 21 Jan 2020
Dear SFmama_11 Thanks for your lovely review. It's great to hear you enjoyed our central location near many of Rotorua's restaurants, parks and activities. We are delighted that we were able to help with some of your planning. We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday and hope you are able to visit again in the future. Best wishes Karen and The Quest Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
OurTravelLife wrote a review Mar 2020
Estero, Florida56 contributions49 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this 4-day stay after staying at other Quest properties. On checkin, the management had to go through all the rules, including no cooking of "odoriferous" foods (as they explained, cooking fish or curries). We asked them specifically if was OK to cook bacon or sausage - no problem. Well, we cooked sausage for dinner one night. When we checked out, the management had to go check the room personally and thought it still had a smell. They asked if we had toast for breakfast (which we did using their toaster). They decided that they would have to charge us an extra $50 for special cleaning to get the odors out of the room (we hadn't cooked any fish or curries). We put up our arguments (including why do they provide a two burner stove and have no opening windows in the apartment if they don't want residents to cook.
Bottom line- don't stay here if you expect to use the cooking facilities in the apartment.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from QuestRotoruaNZ, Owner at Quest Rotorua Central
Responded 8 Mar 2020
Dear Triathlete63 It is disappointing to read your comments. Most guests use the kitchen facilities every day without incident. Your use and the smoke from your cooking activated the fire alarm, which may have had serious consequences. Therefore, we had to check your apartment on departure and noted the need for a professional deep clean due to the lingering burnt smell in the furniture and soft furnishings. Deep cleaning an apartment takes time and requires specialised equipment which adds a cost. Regards The Quest Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sallyzqn wrote a review Jul 2020
Auckland4 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 5 nights here last week & loved it. Paul was extremely welcoming & helpful on our arrival, the 1 bed- apartment was very spacious (for our family of 3) & clean and it's worth paying $10 per night for a car park if you've got a smaller car. The location is so handy to everything in town. We would definitely stay here again & recommend it to everyone!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Glenn Tasker, Owner at Quest Rotorua Central
Responded 27 Jul 2020
Hi Sallyzqn Thanks for your lovely comments. It's great to hear Paul was welcoming and helpful on arrival! We agree our one-bedroom apartments are fabulous, offering extra space and facilities needed for a family of three. We look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes Karen and The Quest Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FrizBristol wrote a review Jan 2020
Nelson Bay, Australia163 contributions23 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in a 1 bedroom apartment for 3 days. The location is great, and the apartment was modern and clean with all of the facilities you need (dishwasher, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, kitchen area). There was aircon in both the lounge area and the bedroom area which was quiet and worked well. The staff were also very friendly and helpful. Parking was a little tight in the secure car park and we would have liked a balcony (the balcony apartments cannot be booked with children). We would definitely recommend this place.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from QuestRotoruaNZ, Franchise Director at Quest Rotorua Central
Responded 31 Jan 2020
Hi FrizBristol Thanks for your feedback, it's great to hear you had a great stay at Quest Rotorua Central and found all the facilities you needed. We agree, our inside secure carpark is on the tight side and we do try and limit the size of cars going into it to ensure everyone can get around with ease. We offer out-door on-site carparking for NZ$5 per night for larger vehicles and have access to an off-site carpark 100 metres from the hotel for NZ$5 per night. Parking is limited and reservations are suggested prior to arrival. We hope you enjoyed your holidays in New Zealand and are able to visit again some time in the future. Best wishes Karen and The Quest Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BrianSydneyAustralia wrote a review Oct 2022
Sydney, Australia129 contributions83 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location and meticulously clean room - a rarity these days. Located in central Rotorua, this hotel had a large apartment style room with full kitchen , washer , dryer, separate bedroom , bathroom and balcony with huge spa bath. Everything you need is within easy walking distance (the Cafe De Paris a few doors up should also be on your radar for coffee and food) . Parking is easy once you work out the meters and signs. If you check in just after 2, you can find a 3 hour meter ( $1NZ per hour) and that will take you through until 9am the next day. Just check the signs in the street as some sections are 1 hour , some are 3 ) We left the car in the street overnight without any issues.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is in the street - check the signs , find the 180 minute section , pay with card or your...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Glenn Tasker, Owner at Quest Rotorua Central
Responded 25 Dec 2022
Hi Brian Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us here on TripAdvisor. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay in your self-contained, comfortable apartment. We also love our central location within easy walk to many of Rotorua's great restaurants and geo-thermal attractions. Kind Regards Karen and the team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angela T wrote a review Feb 2020
Dursley52 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely reception where you are told where to park, the receptionist comes out to the car park and helps take your bags to the room. This might be frustrating if you arrive when the receptionist is helping someone else and you have to wait but we were lucky. Parking is tight but perfectly manageable. We were upgraded to a one bedroom suite which was immaculate and enormous. Washing machine, dryer, dishwasher are all supplied and with detergent so if you’re travelling that’s a bonus. Yes, there’s no view but that was obvious from the website, the reviews and google maps. It was very quiet. We did smell a bit of sulphur one night but that’s hardly the hotel’s fault! This was a really good stay, pleasant and helpful efficient staff and immaculate comprehensive facilities
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from QuestRotoruaNZ, Franchise Director at Quest Rotorua Central
Responded 28 Feb 2020
Hi 104angelat Thank you for your constructive and positive feedback. It's great to hear you enjoyed your time with us and appreciated the efforts our team make to ensure your stay begins on a positive note. We always have two reception team members on duty to ensure that all guests are given the Quest welcome. Lots of our guests get excited when they see the washing machine and dryer in their apartment - it's a welcome addition for visitors who have been travelling. Thank you for your description of your experience here - we hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels. Best wishes Karen and The Quest Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mutt43 wrote a review Mar 2021
Wagga Wagga, Australia84 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Check-in was fast, Customer Service from all staff, Exceptional +++.
Room spacious and clean, the room attendants go above and beyond.
Water pressure excellent, Bed comfy, free movies available. Diswasher, washing machine & dryer in room, there was also a hairdryer.
How they take it to the next level is via their free Wifi, fast speed, no data limits and no limit on devices.
They are central to everything, restaurants, shopping and farmers market on a sunday
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Glenn Tasker, Owner at Quest Rotorua Central
Responded 14 Mar 2021
Hi Mutt43 Thanks for your feedback, it's lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay, our central location and Wifi! We think the Farmers Market is fabulous and enjoy listening to the live music on Sunday mornings. Thanks again, we hope you are able to return soon. Kind regards Karen and The Quest Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Passport430710 wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Arrived at Quest Service Apartment, Rotorua and felt very welcome by the host, Karen Tasker.
We booked the Executive Studio apartment, it looks new, clean and well maintained with all utilities enable us a comfortable stay.
We were attracted to the hot water tub located at the balcony, it was clean and water bubbles were strong.
Location wise, Quest is located right in the city centre with many food and retail outlets.
Quest is also located near all the places of interest such as Luge, Skyline and Zipline, Redwoods Treewalk,Waiotapu Thermal Wonderland, Polynesia Spa, Government Garden and so on.
Thanks Karen and Team for making our stay so pleasant and memorable.

Esther and William Toh
Auckland
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Glenn Tasker, Owner at Quest Rotorua Central
Responded 5 Feb 2021
Hi Esther and William Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure meeting you both! We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you are able to visit again soon. Kind regards Karen and The Quest Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from ShaunScotland
Scotland, United Kingdom1,787 contribution253 helpful votes
Why do you want to take a dog to a nice hotel? Hotels are for people. Kennels are for dogs.
alexis922 asked a question Jul 2022
Hong Kong, China6 contributions1 helpful vote
About two bedroom apartment: is the second bathroom inside the second bedroom? Or separate?
Answer from Malcolm
5 contributions
They both have ensuites
MarggyCanberra asked a question Jan 2019
Canberra, Australia646 contributions214 helpful votes
Hi, can you please tell me what the cost of parking is? Thanks
1 helpful vote
Hi MarggyCanberra, Parking has to be reserved as spaces are limited but the following options are available: 1. Undercover and secure for $10.00 per night (suitable for small size vehicles, not SUV’s) 2. Off-street parking for $5.00 per night 3. On street parking is complimentary between the hours of 4pm and 10am Monday – Friday and complimentary from 12 Noon Saturday until 10am Monday morning. Kind Regards, The Quest Team
Answer from Colin M
Rotorua, New Zealand25 contributions6 helpful votes
Hi R2701Utraveller, Thank you for your interest in Quest Rotorua Central. There is a washing machine and tumble dryer in every apartment in our property, including the Executive Studio, which benefits from a Hot Tub. For the best available rates, look at the Quest Rotorua Central website. We look forward to welcoming you. Kind Regards Colin Franchise Director
Josiah T asked a question Aug 2017
where are the quotes located
Answer from Colin M
Rotorua, New Zealand25 contributions6 helpful votes
Hi Josiah T, I am not entirely sure what you are looking for, but if you are looking for an accommodation quote, please contact the hotel directly. Our email and web address can be found on the Trip Advisor page or just Google Quest Rotorua Central. I hope this helps. Kind Regards Colin
Carla_M86 wrote a tip 6 Apr
Christchurch, New Zealand438 contributions68 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"if you have airpoints, do your booking directly from the Quest website, as you get double points!"
Read full review
Cliff S wrote a tip 3 Apr
Safety Harbor, Florida154 contributions84 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book directly with the hotel and reserve parking in advance"
Read full review
Kaywol wrote a tip Mar 2024
Queensland, Australia114 contributions29 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Unload luggage out the front before parking out the back."
Read full review
Alan B wrote a tip Mar 2024
Liverpool, United Kingdom3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay here, you will not be disappointed"
Read full review
mblam7 wrote a tip Feb 2024
Seattle, Washington281 contributions138 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't get a room on the westside of the building."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Rotorua area.
PRICE RANGE
$228 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandBay of Plenty RegionRotorua DistrictRotorua
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

QUEST ROTORUA CENTRAL - Hotel Reviews & Price Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Quest Rotorua Central
Which popular attractions are close to Quest Rotorua Central?
Nearby attractions include Rotofobia (0.3 km), Fancy Meow Cat Cafe (0.3 km), and Rotorua Antiques & Collectables (0.06 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Quest Rotorua Central?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, laundry service, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Quest Rotorua Central?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Quest Rotorua Central?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Quest Rotorua Central?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Quest Rotorua Central?
Conveniently located restaurants include EL Mexicano Zapata Cantina, El Mexicano Zapata Express, and Poco Tapas & Wine.
Is Quest Rotorua Central located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Rotorua.
Are any cleaning services offered at Quest Rotorua Central?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Quest Rotorua Central?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village (2.6 km), Te Puia (2.8 km), and Government Gardens (0.8 km).
Is Quest Rotorua Central accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Rotorua HotelsRotorua Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in RotoruaHotels near Quest Rotorua Central
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire