Union Victoria Motel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Union Victoria Motel

Traveller (43)
Two Bedroom Bungalow
Room & Suite (45)
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#25 of 45 motels in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
20 self contained Units, 12x Studio Units, 4x One Bedroom Apts, 2x Two Bedroom Apts, 2x Two Bedroom Bungalows.All units are fully self contained with LCD TV's, Freeview, Sky, Telephone, Wi-Fi. All Units are non smoking, check-in from 2.00pm, check-out 10.00am.Off street parking, Guest laundry, Car wash, Games Room, Bike Hire. Outdoor heated swimming pool & toddlers pool , Covered Spa & Genuine Mineral pools.Continental and Cooked breakfast available on request delivered to your room. Rotorua International Airport 20 minutes drive, Sightseeing and tour activities arranged at reception, Thermal areas 5 to 20 minutes drive,Racecourse and Golf course 3 minutes drive,Intercity Bus Terminal 3 minutes drive,5 minute walk to City centre and Restaurants.Countdown Supermarket & Mall directly opposite the Motel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast in the room
Bicycle rental
Game room
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Golf course
Billiards
Darts
Dry cleaning
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Japanese

Location

26-28 Victoria Street, Rotorua New Zealand
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 83 out of 100
83
Rotorua Airport
Tauranga Airport
52.7 km
See all flights
192Reviews1Q+A32Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 68
  • 70
  • 25
  • 16
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Vicki V wrote a review Apr 2024
Marlborough Sounds, New Zealand2 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location close to everything!
No remote but that was sorted fast, lack of cooking utensils which I'm sure if we had asked we would of received, the Māori lady in charge was amazing and very helpful!
No swimming pool or mineral pools available to use which was a shame as this would bring a huge appeal to us restaying would also add extra blanket and pillows in the wardrobe but apart from that the motel room was clean and tidy so close to everything and again the lady in charge was fantastic!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Suzie T wrote a review Apr 2024
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked online and when I got there , The owner gave me a different room that I booked for . I asked for the room that I booked for took her a while before I got what I booked for . She charged my room . But the room she gave me wasn’t ready and the tv was booked and we didn’t have any pots and pans . I wouldn’t say there again . The own was quite rude .
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Make sure , you get the room that you paid for .
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
noiris wrote a review Oct 2006
Nonthaburi128 contributions32 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The owner, if he is a big man with moustache, is very nice and helpful and takes a good attention for his motel.

Since it is a motel, I like the motel near a supermarket but not next right to a supermarket if you know what I mean. Somehow, you could walk to the supermarket but I would rather drive.

There are one big warm water pool, one small warm pool, and two mineral hot pools, free of charge. It is very relaxing while in the meneral hot pool. Anyhow, some may offense mineral hot water smell. Therefore, some may try just a hot pool. They are not fancy spa pools but they work great and my family was satisfied.

I live in a double room suite. The room has a kitchen and all facilities you needed in the motel room. The room has a very big space. Each furnitures are located nicely in the room space. Anyhow, the hearter is blocked by the sofa but it is not a big deal.

The motel also has a luandry machine and a dryer. Just prepare your coins and powder could be bought at reception.

For those who couldn't be able to carry baggages to a second floor, I would recommend you to book a first floor since there is no elevator.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2006
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesCheck-in / front desk
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesBusiness service (e.g., internet access)
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael S wrote a review Jan 2018
15 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Room was very dirty lots of bugs very dated and tired and they charge 5 star rates could of stayed at much better places for actually less money had burn holes in lounges arm rests worn-out on lounges did not make up room every day,Towels were old, spa was empty, kids game room locked the 3 days we were there had to talk the family to stay because we had prepaid as they wanted to change to another hotel. DON'T STAY HERE
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tmtanz wrote a review Aug 2016
2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Will never go back there we felt unwelcome pool was closed a hole day but when a tour of Chinese came in the pool was open I ask why and he said we were others rooms need to be up dated. When we at friends come over to say hello they would come over to them and say go your not aloud here u want to see them they have to meet u some where else worst time of my life....
Read more
Date of stay: August 2016Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bruce B, Owner at Union Victoria Motel
Responded 28 Aug 2016
Hi, You can never come back again, because we no longer accept Work and Income paid family. Your accommodation was not paid by your family, it was paid by Work and Income ie Ministry of Social Development, literally paid by tax payers. Work and Income required us to accept the families that could not find a rental house and cannot afford other accommodations, which we did, and we treated them equally with other guests, but after a few weeks, we found a lot of problems like constantly many visitors come to the motel rooms. They drank alcohol and made loud noises, they left the room messy, and some families stole property from the motel, they jumped into and put chairs in the swimming pool and damaged the game room. Family violence caused the police to come several times. We decided to stop taking Work and Income families because it is not fair to the other guests. The friend you mentioned, actually stayed here before, he left the room like a rubbish bin, and he let four other young men stay in his room, and was evicted from here before the check out date. You said it was the worst time in your life, but on the first day you moved in, your mum said your family had stayed in a cold shed for a long time, she was grateful to stay in such a cosy and comfortable motel. A week after you had moved out, your mum came back again, and tried to persuade me to take you guys in again, because the motel you moved to is full of the other Work and Income families, they had parties there day and night, all your family could not sleep, I turned her down, because we do not want our motel to be like the motel you were staying at. Thank you for your review, so that I can express my dissatisfaction about your and some other Work and Income families. Manager Yue
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nattie224 wrote a review May 2011
England83 contributions61 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
If you are used to staying in basic motels and aren't fussy where you sleep you probably won't mind this place. We usually pay more to stay in nice hotels or B&Bs but decided to take a last minute trip to Rotorua so thought we'd try a motel - i will not be staying at one again! This place is dated and basic. The oven and decor looked older than me. The locks on the door and windows didn't feel secure and looked like they could be easily broken into and our room was noisy from road traffic. We didn't use the pools because they didn't look inviting. If you paid extra for wifi you couldnt disconnect and restart your connection - once you connected the timer ticked and that was it - this was not the impression given when we paid extra for the wifi. The only positive was the price. I won't be staying again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2011
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carmkol wrote a review Jul 2018
Perth, Australia52 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very clean. Had unlimited wifi and a hot pool and mineral baths. Yes it was dated but you get what you pay for.
Very close to everything Rotorua has to offer including restaurants and supermarkets. Perfectly adequate and we would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
silverthreads101 wrote a review Jan 2018
Palmerston North, New Zealand386 contributions194 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We chose this motel due to its proximity to town and what seemed to be a reasonable price for Rotorua. It was also rated 4 stars so we thought that sounded good. We wonder how this motel got its rating- maybe having both mineral pools and a swimming pool help? Overall the property looks tired and had messy gardens. We did appreciate the owner actually showing us the facilities and taking us to our room. Our room was quite spacious and it also had a separate kitchen with both a stove and a microwave which was good to have for our three night stay. The bed was comfortable and the shower had good pressure. While clean the room looked tired and the pale pink walls were not flattering. We were surprised to see paint splatters covering the coffee table- this could have been easily fixed. The wifi reception was excellent.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Yue S, Owner at Union Victoria Motel
Responded 13 Jan 2018
Hi, You wonder why we are four stars? as you mentioned-" Our room was quite spacious and it also had a separate kitchen with both a stove and a microwave which was good to have for our three night stay. The bed was comfortable and the shower had good pressure, having both mineral pools and a swimming pool, the wifi reception was excellent.". I think you had given the answers. Thank you for your review! Hope to see you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Don L wrote a review Jul 2017
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great location, walking distance to the shopping centre (opposite the road). Specious room with slightly old fashion internal fittings. The outdoor pool was great fun and three mineral/spa pool was a plus for relax.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
morequest wrote a review May 2017
San Francisco32 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed in apartment hotels and motels throughout NZ, and this was the most average one of the lot. It was adequate but looking a little tired compared to everywhere else I stayed on both islands. There's a Quest several blocks closer to downtown; you might want to compare facilities and prices.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
hazel006 asked a question May 2015
How much we will pay for 1day?
Answer from Yue S
Rotorua New Zealand13 contributions2 helpful votes
It depends on the type of room you require and how many guests. If you go to our website all the price's and room configuration are there.
Suzie T wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure , you get the room that you paid for . "
Read full review
Nonna240444 wrote a tip Apr 2019
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for rooms away from the more 'Permanent" residents...but would you really want to stay here?"
Read full review
Poppa D wrote a tip Nov 2018
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't bother I would let my dog even stay here."
Read full review
Valerie M wrote a tip Jun 2018
Melbourne, Australia17 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not 5 because of laundry"
Read full review
Des W wrote a tip Apr 2017
Oakland, California112 contributions145 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Property overlooks a barbed wire fence around a retail lot - close your eyes"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Rotorua area.
PRICE RANGE
$142 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
union victoria hotel, union victoria motel
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandBay of Plenty RegionRotorua DistrictRotorua
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

UNION VICTORIA MOTEL - Reviews & Price Comparison (Rotorua) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Union Victoria Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Union Victoria Motel?
Nearby attractions include Rotorua Antiques & Collectables (0.4 km), Rotorua Central Mall (0.3 km), and Rotorua Rock & Gemstone Shop (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Union Victoria Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Union Victoria Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Union Victoria Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Union Victoria Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Mexicano Zapata Express, Scope Cafe, and Capers Cafe + Store.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Union Victoria Motel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Union Victoria Motel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Rotorua.
Are any cleaning services offered at Union Victoria Motel?
Yes, dry cleaning and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Union Victoria Motel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, and Japanese.
Are there any historical sites close to Union Victoria Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village (2.2 km), Te Puia (2.3 km), and Government Gardens (1.2 km).
All Rotorua HotelsRotorua Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in RotoruaHotels near Union Victoria Motel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday HomesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire