We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park

Save
Share
67 Whittaker Road, Rotorua 3010 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$64
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/05/21
Expedia.com
US$63
View deal
Priceline
US$64
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/05/21
Hotels.comUS$63
CheapTicketsUS$63
Agoda.comUS$64
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (81)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (230)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#34 of 89 hotels in Rotorua
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We specialize in providing affordable accommodation in Rotorua, like our camping sites, powered campervan sites, cabins, self-contained tourist flats and of course our namesake - cosy cottages. While you’re here we have plenty of facilities free for use to keep you relaxed; soak in our geothermal hot pools, cook your own tasty meals from our natural Thermal Steam Cooker. Walks to the Rotorua lakeshore, where you can dig your very own hot pool at the beach. Explore the natural geothermal area around within the holiday park and meet some of the friendly wildlife that shares our grounds. All without hearing traffic noise or having the sulphur smell but within a 20-minute walk to the city. Our staff are all very familiar with the local attractions and activities and are always able to help you get the most out of your stay with us while in Rotorua. We welcome you to come and stay, from the team at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Game room
Fishing
Books, DVDs, music for children
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Spa
Electric vehicle charging station
Street parking
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Hot spring bath
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Dining area
Housekeeping
Seating area
Separate living room
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Hindi
366Reviews3Q+A45Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 141
  • 131
  • 52
  • 25
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Team P wrote a review Feb 2019
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom469 contributions140 helpful votes
We were expecting more but on reflection probably got what we paid for. The service is poor re interest and warmth and reception stunk of curry. The room is very small and basic and you hardly have room to move around the bed. The kitchen has a hob and mircrowave and an old fridge. The shower and toilet is tiny and the walls are like paper. The bed and pillows whilst clean were very uncomfortable but the worst is the heat and flies. There is a fan fixed to the wall but on the highest setting cannot be felt on the bed and as you have to shut the windows as they are infiltrated by trout flies so you are damned if you do and damned if you don't. To then have to pay ¢NZ 2 for a tiny milk and the wifi is weak and limit both in terms of speed and stability and usage is cent pinching.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from CosyCottage67, Front Office Manager at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park
Responded 20 Feb 2019
Thank you for your review and feedback. We are only a 2.5-star holiday park who offer basic, affordable and practical accommodation. We acknowledge the heat and we are looking into inserting more measures to improve the comfort of every guest's experience during their stay with us and for that, we apologize. Unfortunately when our holiday park is very busy the internet/ WiFi tends to slow down due to the amount of people attempting to use it at a time and this is something we are looking into.
Read more
Christophe F wrote a review Feb 2019
Renan, Switzerland5 contributions
Nice place and good facilities! All you need for families: children area, hot pool for adultes, swimming pool, lake, etc. You can also make your own hot pool at the lake. Be carreful, it could be really hot!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from CosyCottage67, Front Office Manager at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park
Responded 20 Feb 2019
Thank you for your positive feedback! We are so glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Yes - some spots of the hot water beach are much hotter than others so we advise you to be very careful especially with little ones! We hope to see you again sometime in the future!
Read more
Sightsee747472 wrote a review Jan 2019
New Zealand3 contributions1 helpful vote
I came to check in, granted and hour and half early, however understood there was a charge and happy to pay, campervans typically leave at 10am and could see plenty of empty spaces. Dawn, who initially served us was very rude would not let me finish my sentence, I could not even ask her anything, she and raised her voice at me and told me to leave in front of other customers it was horrible and I just wanted to cry. We did not want to return back, but we had already paid and had little choice. Then to top it all off, a family parked their campervan the wrong way so we had no grass area to sit outside, not the campgrounds fault but it made our already bad experience worse.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from CosyCottage67, General Manager at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park
Responded 2 Jan 2019
Dear guests We are very shocked by your comment. Yes, we do have the policy for check-in after 2 pm which stated online as most holiday parks or motels do. The reason is our staff need take quite midday time to clean communal facilities, tidy up grounds, collect rubbish, etc. Even it is not safe for guests to walk on the wet slippy floor. Dawn, work at this holiday park for almost 20 years at her 70's. She loves the camp, loves all the guests very much. Some guests especially come back to us after they stayed here 10 or 15 years ago due to Dawn's great hospitality. We never have seen she lose temper for years. We can't understand what happened when you check in. But, apologize from all our team if Dawn did wrong on that day. Appreciate your patience and best regards,
Read more
David-Lee B wrote a review Dec 2018
Franz Josef, New Zealand8 contributions1 helpful vote
Cancelled our remaining two nights after the first. Checked in (having paid through Expedia), then decided we wanted a bathroom in our (very basic) room. We were asked to pay ANOTHER 300 dollars for three nights, despite having spent 5 minutes on site!!! We had to stay the first night as we had to put the baby to bed. We decided to check out after one night and spend our money elsewhere and got a private spa and private bathroom for an extra 20 dollars a night. The internet is 300mb free and then a payment. Everything comes with an additional charge. We feel it was not clear that our room did not come with bathroom when we booked... not something I usually check, does this room have a toilet or shower...?)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from CosyCottage67, Guest Relations Manager at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park
Responded 10 Dec 2018
We're sorry to hear your unpleasant experience within our holiday park whatever the reason is. On the website, the types of accommodation (whether a shower or toilet is included) is stated within, however, to those guests who do not have a bathroom in their room we have our communal facility which is allowed for every guest (kitchen, toilets, showers, etc). As a holiday park, we offer budget accommodation, cabin, as well as motel units. Unfortunately you booked our cheapest accommodation, which doesn't have bathroom. The reception did offer you to upgrade to ensuite room, but not extra $300, but extra $30-40 per night. The price is all online, they won't be able to cheat you. Our room price is $30-50 cheaper than motels around us in 5 mins walking distance (everyone easy check online). Therefore we do have some small charges apply if you need more service. Anyway, we will ask our reception to give more explanation to our guests under this kind of situation to avoid misunderstanding. Best regards,
Read more
Phean wrote a review Nov 2018
Andorra la Vella, Andorra3 contributions1 helpful vote
The good: great location, easy to get to beach, nice layout, great hot tubs. The bad: very unhelpful staff and it felt like they wanted to charge us at every turn: they wanted a deposit to use 5 clothespins, Said it costs $5 to help us after hours when we were asking for change to use the washing machines. The worst was that they opened the kitchen more than an hour late with about 20 guests waiting and trying to get them to open it.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from CosyCottage67, Front Office Manager at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park
Responded 22 Nov 2018
I am so sorry the kitchen was not unlocked at 7 am. We have new staff training and your comments have been passed on. We do charge a fully refundable deposit for the pots for the hangi oven, shovels for the hot water beach, pegs etc. This is the only way we can be assured that the equipment is bought back to us. When staff is called to the office after hours they are rightly paid. The $5.00 charge goes towards paying the staff overtime. I am pleased you found our Location, access to the beach, layout, and the hot tubs great.
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$45 - US$74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cosy cottage international holiday park hotel rotorua, cosy hotel rotorua
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandBay of Plenty RegionRotorua DistrictRotorua
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing