We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua

Traveller (68)
360
Panoramas (14)
Pool & Beach (46)
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
We specialize in providing affordable accommodation in Rotorua, like our “world famous” heated camping sites, powered campervan sites, and of course our namesake, cosy cottages. While you’re here we have plenty to keep you relaxed, soak in our geothermal hot pools, cook from our Thermal Steam Cooker to walks to the Rotorua lakeshore, where you can dig your own hotpools at the beach. Explore the natural geothermal area around and within the holiday park and meet some of the friendly wildlife that share these grounds with us. All without hearing traffic noise or sulphur smell but within a 20 minute walk to the city. Our staff are all well versed in the local attractions and can help you get the most out of your stay in with us while in Rotorua. Cosy Cottage is now under new Ownership and Management. We welcome you to come and Stay, from the team at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Spa
Electric Vehicle Charging Station
Heated pool
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Outdoor pool
Paid Internet
Paid Wifi
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Budget
HOTEL CLASS
337Reviews
404Photos
3Q+A
44Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 128
  • 124
  • 48
  • 20
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
I came to check in, granted and hour and half early, however understood there was a charge and happy to pay, campervans typically leave at 10am and could see plenty of empty spaces. Dawn, who initially served us was very rude would not let me finish my sentence, I could not even
Read more
Response from CosyCottage67, General Manager at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear guests We are very shocked by your comment. Yes, we do have the policy for check-in after 2 pm which stated online as most holiday parks or motels do. The reason is our staff need take quite midday time to clean communal facilities, tidy up grounds, collect rubbish, etc. Even it is not safe for guests to walk on the wet slippy floor. Dawn, work at this holiday park for almost 20 years at her 70's. She loves the camp, loves all the guests very much. Some guests especially come back to us after they stayed here 10 or 15 years ago due to Dawn's great hospitality. We never have seen she lose temper for years. We can't understand what happened when you check in. But, apologize from all our team if Dawn did wrong on that day. Appreciate your patience and best regards,
Read more
Cancelled our remaining two nights after the first. Checked in (having paid through Expedia), then decided we wanted a bathroom in our (very basic) room. We were asked to pay ANOTHER 300 dollars for three nights, despite having spent 5 minutes on site!!! We had to stay the
Read more
Response from CosyCottage67, Guest Relations Manager at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Responded 10 Dec 2018
We're sorry to hear your unpleasant experience within our holiday park whatever the reason is. On the website, the types of accommodation (whether a shower or toilet is included) is stated within, however, to those guests who do not have a bathroom in their room we have our communal facility which is allowed for every guest (kitchen, toilets, showers, etc). As a holiday park, we offer budget accommodation, cabin, as well as motel units. Unfortunately you booked our cheapest accommodation, which doesn't have bathroom. The reception did offer you to upgrade to ensuite room, but not extra $300, but extra $30-40 per night. The price is all online, they won't be able to cheat you. Our room price is $30-50 cheaper than motels around us in 5 mins walking distance (everyone easy check online). Therefore we do have some small charges apply if you need more service. Anyway, we will ask our reception to give more explanation to our guests under this kind of situation to avoid misunderstanding. Best regards,
Read more
The good: great location, easy to get to beach, nice layout, great hot tubs. The bad: very unhelpful staff and it felt like they wanted to charge us at every turn: they wanted a deposit to use 5 clothespins, Said it costs $5 to help us after hours when we were asking for change
Read more
Response from CosyCottage67, Front Office Manager at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Responded 22 Nov 2018
I am so sorry the kitchen was not unlocked at 7 am. We have new staff training and your comments have been passed on. We do charge a fully refundable deposit for the pots for the hangi oven, shovels for the hot water beach, pegs etc. This is the only way we can be assured that the equipment is bought back to us. When staff is called to the office after hours they are rightly paid. The $5.00 charge goes towards paying the staff overtime. I am pleased you found our Location, access to the beach, layout, and the hot tubs great.
Read more
Great room (we stayed in Cabin with Ensuite), was very clean and tidy. very short walk to lake front and short drive/walk into town, Staff were very friendly and helpful. Look forward to visiting again in the near future!
Read more
Response from CosyCottage67, Front Office Manager at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Responded 19 Nov 2018
I am so pleased you had a good experience staying with us and we are looking forward to you staying with us again.
Read more
Fantastic! Clean facilities and helpful receptionist. The hot water beach isn’t much to look at and is kind of dirty but the hot thermal pools on site are amazing. Rented a hangi tray and cooked up a storm. Well worth the 3 hour wait, simply delicious!
Read more
Response from CosyCottage67, Front Office Manager at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Responded 19 Nov 2018
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed our hangi oven.We hope to see you again.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorCosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
The Studio Ensuite at the Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorCosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
The Standard Two-Bedroom Flat at the Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorCosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
The Cottage at the Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorCosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
The Basic Cabin at the Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Photo provided by managementCosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
PreviousNext
12345645
Are there any A/C in the units?
Not sure, we had a camper van.
0 votes
Show all answers
Hello, Thank you for your inquiry. Yes we can book your experience here and picks up are around 4.30 or 5pm. They drop off around 8pm. Kind regards Clare
0 votes
Nothing closer than the town, 20-25 Mon walk, $20 cab fare.. They're are closer parks.
0 votes
Show all answers
"We had a two bedroom Motel room and catered for three adults"
"We were camping so didn’t see the rooms etc."
"The family units are excellent! We stayed in number 5, which I can really recommend."
"Rooms are very comfortable and the people respect each-other."
"We selected the room for couples but it also had a bunk bed so could fit up to 4 people."
PreviousNext
1234569
PRICE RANGE
US$61 - US$128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cosy cottage international holiday park hotel rotoruacosy hotel rotorua
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandBay of Plenty RegionRotorua DistrictRotorua
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing