We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (94)
360
Panoramas (14)
Room & Suite (230)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#4 of 4 resorts in Rotorua
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We specialize in providing affordable accommodation in Rotorua, like our camping sites, powered campervan sites, cabins, self-contained tourist flats and of course our namesake - cosy cottages. While you’re here we have plenty of facilities free for use to keep you relaxed; soak in our geothermal hot pools, cook your own tasty meals from our natural Thermal Steam Cooker. Walks to the Rotorua lakeshore, where you can dig your very own hot pool at the beach. Explore the natural geothermal area around within the holiday park and meet some of the friendly wildlife that shares our grounds. All without hearing traffic noise or having the sulphur smell but within a 20-minute walk to the city. Our staff are all very familiar with the local attractions and activities and are always able to help you get the most out of your stay with us while in Rotorua. We welcome you to come and stay, from the team at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Game room
Fishing
Books, DVDs, music for children
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Spa
Street parking
Paid wifi
Hot bath
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fence around pool
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Hot spring bath
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Express check-in / check-out
Clothes dryer
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Dining area
Housekeeping
Seating area
Separate living room
Kitchenette
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Bath / shower
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Hindi
388Reviews3Q+A51Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 152
  • 135
  • 56
  • 26
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Roving30013519887 wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
On the edge of the lake, surrounded by green space so is peaceful but still only a few mins drive to supermarket and attractions. Spotlessly clean, no musty motel smell or horrid air fresheners, room seemed recently refurbished and was bright and clean. The kitchenette was modern and well equipped with the basics. Swimming pool and hot tubs were great. Communal showers were clean. No time limit on the showers like at some campgrounds! Definitely would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cosy Cottage, Guest Services / Front Office at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park
Responded 15 Jan 2024
Thanks so much, we really appreciate your review and would love to welcome you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
FarAway11439335432 wrote a review Jan 2024
5 contributions
Just left staying at this campground in 2 units, one with bathroom 1 without with 3 kids 2 adults. Very happy all round. Clean, tidy units beds comfy. The pool was exceptionally good on hot days for all. I looked around at the camping kitchen and toilet facility's all very clean tidy and well equipped for tenting and camper vans (I will be back for camping for sure for any of their options to stay). Walk to Lake very close, very handy to the township and other tourist Hotspot. Very friendly receptionist. ... felt definately a cozy camp ground with people coming and going. Will be back thank you
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Good parking. They clean the spa type hot pools between certain times so check when open/closed...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cosy Cottage, Guest Services / Front Office at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park
Responded 5 Jan 2024
Thank you for reviewing us! We really appreciate your stay and hope we can welcome you again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
sheila p wrote a review Nov 2023
Les Menuires, France26 contributions12 helpful votes
Really enjoyed our stay in our motorhome at Cosy Cottage. The free spa pools were a joy at the end of a busy day's sightseeing The facilities are clean. Excellent showers! Some pitches had privacy screening. The lady at reception gave us lots of helpful information about things to do. She also had vouchers for a couple of the attractions. There is a small corner shop and a fish and chips shop nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cosy Cottage, Guest Services / Front Office at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park
Responded 1 Dec 2023
Thanks so much for your lovely review! So glad to hear you enjoyed your time here and got the chance to relax in the hot mineral pools. We hope you can come back again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Freedom33949946894 wrote a review Sept 2023
1 contribution
This Holiday Park was not what I was expecting. It does now look anything like the photos online. We booked out a little unit which was on top of other units. At night time it was very loud when people walked past your room. The bedding and interior of the units was very poor. The beds were springy and weren't even made when we arrived, we had to make our own. The interior was very run down with broken handles off the windows and dirty curtains let alone the dirty microwave and kitchen. The toilets and the showers weren't very nice either they smelt and had mold around. The showers were very dirty on the ground and the toilets were not clean for our arrival. Next the wifi, on the website it says you get 300MB of wifi per day, firstly if you are paying a lot of money to stay you would think the least that they could do is give you unlimited and secondly make sure it works!!! Multiple times I got disconnected and wasn't able to connect back. It was very slow and not good at all. The track to the hot water beach was very muddy and run down. Obviously the Holiday park cant do anything about the weather, but I think in the future they could build a track and make it more inviting to the guests. I think the only thing that is good at Cosy Cottage is there thermal pools, there were hot and looked some what clean. Also the fact that they empty and then refill them each day reassured me. They had a good selection of temperatures and they were run by the thermal Heat underground which is cool. Also the Hangi cooker was cool too, we didn't use it though because it looked very grubby and dirty. I think if you have awesome facilities like that, make sure that they are clean so that people will use it more often. Overall I do not think it is worth the money. Save it a go somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cosy Cottage, Guest Services / Front Office at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park
Responded 1 Oct 2023
Hey there, thanks for staying with us. Sounds like you stayed at a time when all the rooms were booked - we wish you had told us the neighbours were noisy outside, so we could ask them to be quiet. The double bed would have been made up, and extra bedding given for the other beds if you booked for more than 2 people after our housekeepers finished for the day. We would appreciate if you let us know the booking number so we can check the cleaning records for that date. If you let us know about any problems during your stay we would be glad to sort it out straight away. The track and beach are public council land, so we're not allowed to upgrade the track ourselves. The wifi is provided by an external company who set the conditions, and speed may vary at busy times. Glad you enjoyed our natural thermal pools!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Treeby T wrote a review Jun 2023
Brisbane, Australia7 contributions
Love this park, there so much to do and even though a little old the facilities work well and are very clean. Would highly recommend this quiet, friendly park. The cooking facility is a real treat. Thank you for making our stay that extra bit special. 🙏
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: A small distance from town. Uber eats have a great selection for delivery and attractions that...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cosy Cottage, Guest Services / Front Office at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park
Responded 18 Jul 2023
Hi, thanks so much for your review! Yes, some of the buildings are well over 50 years old. We maintain them carefully and many guests enjoy the rustic feel. Glad you liked the geothermal steam oven! Hope you can come back and stay again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
RovingTraveller73 wrote a review Mar 2023
Auckland, New Zealand48 contributions29 helpful votes
Had a top notch stay with friends at this holiday park. It doesn’t look like much from the street but we had a 6 bed cabin which was spotlessly clean (#7 and maybe in a newer part of the holiday park). Access to swimming pool and hot pools to help wile away the day. Short drive or 20 min walk to the Village Green and shops. Would definitely recommend as a good place to stop for a night or two to enjoy this region.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Parking for one car per cabin so avoid a convoy and carpool if you’re a big group
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cosy Cottage, Guest Services / Front Office at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park
Responded 18 Jul 2023
Hi there, thanks very much for your review! Good to hear you enjoyed one of our 2-bedroom units that can fit up to 7 people. Hope you got to try out the geothermal steam oven during your stay! Come back and visit again soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
22tangotwo wrote a review Feb 2023
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom357 contributions157 helpful votes
Stayed here for 3 nights on our visit to Rotorua. Not the best place, a bit run down, facilities are poor. Lots of noise on the site at all times if the night. We would not recommend this site at all. There is also not much ti di or places to eat in the local vacinity. We were recommended to go to the local market on Saturday - don’t!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cosy Cottage, Guest Services / Front Office at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park
Responded 18 Jul 2023
Hello, thanks for your feedback! Yes, our camp is over 50 years old, but we maintain it carefully and many guests enjoy the rustic vibe. Noise is not allowed after 9pm - we do wish you had let us know while you were here, so we could tell them to be quiet. There is a wide selection of restaurants a short drive or 15 minutes' walk from here. Sorry to hear you didn't like the local market, it does change from week to week and depends on the weather. Hope you got to enjoy the hot pools while you were here.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Pip wrote a review Feb 2023
Dunedin, New Zealand22 contributions3 helpful votes
Sorry in advance - it's a bit of a rant. We haven’t stayed here. This is about a booking for March 2023. I don't normally write about bad service. This is only the second time I have done so and only after trying to fix the problem dealing with the place directly, but because they are unwilling to engage, I have put this review out. I have asked outright for them to acknowledge my email but they are remaining silent. Booked (8th Feb) to stay here for one night on our way to visit friends at Mahia Peninsula, Hawkes Bay Area. Since the booking the cyclone and flooding have happened so we had to cancel (17th Feb) our trip to the north island, as the primary reason for the trip was to stay at Mahia with friends. We just threw a night in Wellington and Rotorua in on the way. Cosy cottage did not refund any of the money saying it was less than 30 days notice. How can I give 30 days notice when I only booked this 9 days before I had to cancel and March is not peak season. I cancelled giving them 20 days notice. I know storms etc are not their fault and was happy with the $25 cancellation fee thinking that was what the deal was, but NO they kept $160! They seem to only answer emails after 10.30 at night which makes me think they don't want to deal with it. I have asked if they aren't willing to refund the money, can they at least reinstate the booking... this is so I can gift a night to a couple who have had a hard time with the cyclone and flooding. Someone may as well have a night away. I find Cosy cottages behaviour GREEDY. Everyone else was understanding and kept their refund policy's reasonable. I don't care if this is a nice place or not. I won't be rebooking to find out. I will be telling friends, family, colleagues etc NOT to book with cosy cottage, there are A LOT of other places to spend their money.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
woozie3 wrote a review Feb 2023
Western Australia, Australia760 contributions85 helpful votes
+1
We were in an older styled double room with ensuite for 3 nights, which was spacious and clean enough, except for the bunk bed for our extra person which was unmade and had a stain and some short white hairs on the mattress cover. We had to return to reception to get the extra towel and linen which they forgot to/didn't know they had to hand over though we paid the extra $30/night charge at check-in. Some small annoyances include having no bin in the bathroom and only a medium sized one in the kitchen, the tiniest bathroom sink that really wasn't functional, and no power points by the beds so everything had to be charged in the kitchen, next to the sink and electric cooktop. A medium annoyance (due to our longer stay) was that the TV remote didn't work and the TV itself was very temperamental/had a super slow response. We brought the dead TV remote to reception who told us that someone would come to our room later to fix it. This didn't happen. We used the TV's manual controls, but it usually didn't even turn on unless we turned it off at the power point, waited for the TV's red light to go out before turning it all back on again (and sometimes, again). The biggest disappointment was the WiFi. Yes, we knew there was only a 300MB limit per day per device, and was told by reception that this is enough if you don't do videos. However, what we didn't expect was all the troubleshooting we had to do on our mobiles (different phone brands and models) to get the WiFi to work in the first place. Our phones had detected the connection as unsecure and refused to take us to the terms acceptance page... there's no password; you just sign up for a "trial". We eventually succeeded after a couple of phone reboots, and trusting the connection- use VPN for peace of mind. Even then, we would lose the connection, which would sometimes reconnect OK or more often, find ourselves stuck at the "you've already signed up" page. We can only assume that it's because we've already used up our 300MB allowance, but it's such a short time browsing (emails or researching some sites to visit; definitely no videos) that there's always that doubt and disbelief. Thank goodness we had some of our own roaming data to rely on. At no other place during our 2 week holiday did we have this WiFi connection issue. Also, the others all provided unlimited WiFi which was a life saver when we were stuck indoors due to the bad weather Cyclone Gabrielle was bringing. Some of Cosy Cottage's deficiencies might not have been as disappointing if it wasn't one of the most expensive places we've stayed, though I guess Rotorua accommodation is expensive in general. There's only a fan in the room, which worked fine for us as you wouldn't want to leave windows open due to the lake flies. The bathroom sliding door has no lock, but this seems common in North NZ. Make sure you bring your own body wash and shampoo/conditioner as there's only handwash by the mini sink (another unique finding versus our other accommodations). Bring your own hangers as well to help with clothes drying. We were on the second floor, up a short flight of wooden stairs, with the playground behind us where the campers stay. The room next to us was empty. No issue with excessive noise and we slept pretty well, though the sun glare from the kitchen window will help wake you up in the mornings. Car parking was good.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cosy Cottage, Guest Services / Front Office at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park
Responded 18 Jul 2023
Hi, thanks for your feedback. We apologise for the bedding issue and the TV, sometimes we are short staffed but always happy to fix any problem if you let us know. The wifi company has recently changed the login system so it should be working better now. Lake flies would not come in if you used the screen on the window. Our cabins like the one you stayed in are a bit more basic and may not have all amenities, however if you stay in a bigger unit such as a 1 or 2 bedroom cottage, you will have more amenities as well as more space.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
kerrym490 wrote a review Jan 2023
Timaru4 contributions1 helpful vote
We really enjoyed the hot pools which was really convenient during the rainy weather. They were clean and a range of temperatures. The bathrooms were great, the shared kitchen was basic but entirely usable. We didn't try the steam oven or lake dig but will when we come for a return trip. It was great to have the reassurance of a paved site with the amount of rain, however the paved site spaces are small. We were lucky that our motorhome is 6.9 metres (smaller than most) The reception staff were very helpful and friendly in person and by email. Our only downside was being parked too close to a permanent resident, creating a lack of privacy and a fire safety hazard should one of us have a fire.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Request a paved site close to the amenities so you have 3 metres between you and others.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Cosy Cottage, Guest Services / Front Office at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park
Responded 18 Jul 2023
Hi Kerry, thanks so much for your review! We're glad you enjoyed the natural hot pools and we do hope you will come back to try the geothermal steam oven. Our powered sites were all completely booked during your stay, which means you would have a neighbour on both sides. Our unpowered/unpaved sites are smaller and better suited to tents or small vans. Thank you for understanding that the sites were laid out long ago when vehicles were smaller - however our powered sites can fit motorhomes up to 7.5 metres for sure and maybe 8 metres in a pinch. We look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Rotorua area.
PRICE RANGE
$141 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cosy cottage international holiday park hotel rotorua, cosy hotel rotorua
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandBay of Plenty RegionRotorua DistrictRotorua
NUMBER OF ROOMS
90
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

COSY COTTAGE THERMAL HOLIDAY PARK - Now $129 (Was $̶1̶5̶2̶) - UPDATED 2024 Resort Reviews & Price Comparison (Rotorua, New Zealand) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park
Which popular attractions are close to Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park?
Nearby attractions include Volcanic Air (1.0 km), St. Faith's Anglican Church (0.7 km), and Kuirau Park (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, a spa, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Picnic Cafe, Atticus Finch, and Third Place Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park?
Yes, self serve laundry and a clothes dryer are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Whakarewarewa - The Living Maori Village (4.2 km), Te Puia (4.3 km), and Government Gardens (1.8 km).