We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rydges Rotorua

Visit hotel website
Traveller (276)
Room & Suite (110)
Video

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Rydges Rotorua is located in a park like setting on the edge of the city's Racecourse. The hotel boasts panoramic views towards Lake Rotorua and Mokoia Island. Along with the most spacious guest rooms in the city, offering FREE WIFI, the hotel also has extensive catering facilities, including the Atrium Restaurant and Bar, Mezz Bar, 24 hour room service and over 560sqm of function. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, Convention Centre and many of the city's main attractions are a short drive away.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room Service
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Indoor pool
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Kitchenette
Minibar
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Park View
Classic
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Offers & Announcements:10% Off Best Price
1,416Reviews
324Photos
5Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 332
  • 483
  • 308
  • 161
  • 132
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Appalling. It was tired when we stayed here ten years ago but now it's just appalling. The first family room we were shown to had poo on the bathroom floor, despite the overwhelming stench of bleach. The second room had what looked like vomit stains on the carpet, both rooms had
Read more
Hotel's Favourite
Spent 2 nights here, ideally located to the racecourse for a function & close to town. Our room was spacious & provided all we need for a great stay, including a spa. The staff in all areas were friendly & helpful. A great Grab one deal! We will be back. Thank you Rydges.
Read more
Response from Monique E, Executive Assistant Manager at Rydges Rotorua
Responded 5 Sep 2018
Dear Sue Thank you for your lovely review. We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. I will be sure to pass your comments onto the team
Read more
We come here every year on a grab one voucher. The rooms are a bit old and need some tlc, a long with shampoo, conditioner, and soap.... apart from that, the room has a spa, is spacious and clean, so for what we pay, inclusive of a gym, and $20 voucher per night for drinks or
Read more
Response from MoniqueE530, Manager at Rydges Rotorua
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Mayana Thank you for your review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the Grab One deal. Hopefully we see you at Rydges again soon Thanks
Read more
We were disappointed with this hotel. It does not deserve a four star rating. On the positive side, the rooms were very large, and we did have a view of the lake, as advertised. However, we were told that the hotel has a pool, and it turns out that the pool closed two years ago.
Read more
Response from MoniqueE530, Manager at Rydges Rotorua
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Lou E Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We don't advertise that we have air conditioning so apologies if you thought differently. The sulphur smell is pretty unique to Rotorua and it is one of our natural treasures that come along with the amazing Geothermal activity that we have here. Kind Regards
Read more
I booked the hotel after visitng Rydges Auckland and was shocked upon stepping into the lobby. Rooms were shabby and very very dated. There was no air-conditioning in room and i was informed by the reception that this is a very “old-school” hotel, and the pool has been
Read more
Response from MoniqueE530, Manager at Rydges Rotorua
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Yinghan12 Thank you for your review, I will pass your comments onto our management team. Kind Regards
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event RoomsFamily and Play Areas
Deluxe spa??? 😳
Towels...
PreviousNext
12345622
What gym facilities are there?
Couple of treadmills and a few weight machines. Enough for a bit of morning exercise.
0 votes
Show all answers
We've just stayed at Rydges Rotorua Sara and can confirm there are some Sky Channels (news etc.) in the rooms.
1 vote
Show all answers
City bus line 11
0 votes
Thank you 892Janpat for the question. We do have tea and coffee making facilities in our rooms, as well as a sink and bench in our rooms. Please do feel free to send me any further questions you may have. Kind Regards, James Billing, General Manager
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi Raj S, Thank you for your question. I am not entirely sure how the rating system works through trip advisor, however we are committed to redeveloping our product offering to meet the needs of our guests. The addtiion of FREE WIFI, our RISE Breakfast and Dream Beds are just a few initiatives that we have recently adopted in this area. More recently the teams effort and passion in this area has been recognised and appreciated by Trip advisor travellers. We look forward to continuing our efforts to improve and redefine our product, and hopefully one day being rated as one of the top ten rated properties in Rotorua.
1 vote
Show all answers
"Great room sizes,could do with some AC"
"Our 4th floor room overlooking racecourse was very large & with a spa"
"Choose another hotel"
"Go somewhere else"
"Upper floor at the rear of the hotel are quietest and provide best views."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$95 - US$233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rydges rotorua hotel rotoruarydges hotel rotoruarotorua rydges hotel
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandBay of Plenty RegionRotorua DistrictRotorua
NUMBER OF ROOMS
135
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing