We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Traveller (130)
Room & Suite (41)
Pool & Beach (8)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Pool
Room service
Free parking
Restaurant
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Business Centre with Internet Access
Concierge
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Hot Tub
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
523Reviews
153Photos
4Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 166
  • 184
  • 116
  • 36
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This would normally get a 3 or 4 star rating but it has a couple of major problems - internet and staff training/attitude. The wireless internet is the poorest I have seen in many years. Very difficult to get on to and it cuts you off within minutes. I logged on up to 20 times
Read more
Response from DistinctionHotels, Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I was disappointed to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies. The issues that you have raised are of concern I have shared your comments with the management team to look into all the areas you have concerns about .We wish for all our guests to enjoy their stay. Please get in touch with me if you would like to discuss this further. I look forward to hear from you. Kind Regards Adrian Mc Inroy General Manager
Read more
This hotel was just okay for us. The room itself was a bit dated. There were minor presentation problems such as holes in the curtains, peeling/chipped paint, etc, but it actually had one of the roomier bathrooms compared to other NZ hotels we stayed at. There was no air
Read more
Response from DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Stephanie Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at Distinction Rotorua Hotel. It is a pleasure to read about your visit and to learn that our team were able to help in making the most out of your time in Rotorua . I have shared your comments with the team as I am confident your comments will serve as encouragement as we strive to continuously improve. Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back on your next visit to our beautiful town. Kind Regards Adrian Mc Inroy General Manage
Read more
Okay, it's not a one star hotel, but need to try and correct the four stars it has here, which is very misleading. The rooms were very run down, clean, but very run down - grubby walls, threadbare curtains, torn bed bases... Staff were excellent very friendly and helpful. So
Read more
Response from DistinctionHotels, Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to write and highlight the issues you faced when you came to enjoy your stay at Distinction Rotorua. Please accept my sincere apologies with regards to the room quality this has been discussed with the team. We understand your frustration and we regret this situation occurred. Once again ,my apologies for the disappointing experience . Kind Regards Adrian Mc Inroy
Read more
Our room was dingy, we needed the light on even during the day. Trees outside block all light from ground floor rooms. The corridors were poorly lit and the room itself was shabby. We checked out the pool. It wasn't very clean and some of the paving around it was loose. The
Read more
Response from DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I was disappointed to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies. The issues that you have raised are of concern I have shared your comments with the management team to look into all the areas you have concerns about .We wish for all our guests to enjoy their stay. Please get in touch with me if you would like to discuss this further. I look forward to hear from you. Kind Regards Adrian Mc Inroy General Manager
Read more
A little hidden treasure to go for an excellent coffee in peaceful serene surroundings. Perfect to take my elderly Mum. The young girl on the counter was friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.
Read more
Response from DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Responded 3 Feb 2019
Hi Wendy Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at Distinction Rotorua Hotel where we were able to exceed your expectation with our wonderful team. Kind regards Adrian Mc Inroy
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuitePool & BeachDining Business Centre & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementDistinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Photo provided by managementDistinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
PreviousNext
1234569
Does this hotel accept Q card as payment?
Sorry I don’t know
0 votes
Show all answers
HI Cynthia W, the washers and dryers take $2.00 coins each to run a full cycle. Any further queries, please don't hesitate to contact the hotel directly on the reservations email address (unfortunately I can't provide that email address here due to Trip Advisor's rules, but just look up our website) and your questions will be answered quickly, we don't monitor questions on this website.
0 votes
Show all answers
About $11pp (NZD) and you can also add items to your order. You can see the menu on their website...sorry can't post links here
0 votes
I was in room 402 with balcony for one week two years in a row the shower head was Great 😁
0 votes
Show all answers
"Threadbare curtains and street lights are not a great combo."
"dont get room on Sala Street - very noisy and the beds vibrate with each passing truck"
"Avoid this hotel"
"Rooms on the east side are quieter, 2-5 floors best views"
"did not stay (we live here) - review is on the High Teas (once-were- great)"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$107 - US$237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
distinction rotorua hotel and conference centredistinction hotel rotorua
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandBay of Plenty RegionRotorua DistrictRotorua
NUMBER OF ROOMS
133
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing